Reading Reviews for Coveted
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by gingersnape Coveted

7th April 2011:
Oh wow, this really drew me in! When I first read it, I was unsure of just how on earth you were going to make the Draco/Ginny thing work at all, as it really can be a challenge from some of the Draco/Ginnys I've read, but then when I got into it, I felt like it was believable. The time skips and how this didn't take place over a few hours or just one day or so, really made me feel like this could have happened and it was something that fully engaged my attention as I was reading to the point where I could hardly tell I was listening to music! :)

One of my favorite things was that Ginny didn't end up with Draco and that they didn't have a happy ending. I can imagine if there was a happy ending, it would have been beautifully written, but the way you wrote Ginny not absolutely falling for him because he was there was definitely something that added to how simple yet lovely the fic was. Wonderful story and have a fantastic day,
-Annie :D

Author's Response: I know exactly what you mean, I never thought the who Draco/Ginny thing could work either! But a friend of mine kept asking me to write a D/G and I finally gave in and wrote this... but I just couldn't let them be together at the end! LOL

I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #2, by Owlpost68 Coveted

5th April 2011:
wow, I never thought I would read a story like this and like it. I just didn't think it was possible lol. There are a lot of things I like about this, and there are some things I don't, but also don't matter too much in the grand scheme of things. For example there are quite a few spelling errors that aren't misspelled but aren't the right words. Like you use the word 'Wondering' when it should be 'Wandering' There are a few other words that have the same problem. They weren't spelled wrong, just not used correctly :)
Otherwise, I really liked the story. How it was in Draco's point of view, how he didn't know why he liked her, he just did. There were a few points where I think you had the timing wrong of Harry and Ginny's relationship started. 'Cause they started going out when they won the quiddtich house cup... so maybe if instead he was just jealous of someone else she was going out with before Harry it might make it more realistic for me. But I like the story though.
Great job

Author's Response: LOL, I'm a horrible speller, so if spellcheck doesn't catch it I usually hear about it from someone on here. ;) When it comes to the timeline, I usually don't worry about it overly when I'm going this far into AU because most of the times AU doesn't fit perfectly into the canon Potter-verse anyway, but I'm glad you enjoyed the overall story :D

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #3, by Akussa Coveted

3rd April 2011:
Hello dearest!

What a nice story; I really like the pace you chose. Going from Draco's point of view in this very instrospective piece was a really enjoyable experience.

I found it hard to place this story in the timeline though, especially considering that at this piont in the canon timeline, Draco is hard at work with his mission. But I can live with that for the sake of your story!!

I noticed a couple little errors and mistakes in your spelling and overall structure. I chose to present you some of the ones I think are more distracting so you can improve your already great story if you wish.

''I strode angrily across the lawn towards the Forbidden Forest , towards the...'; 1) the first 'toward' shouldn't have and 's' and 2) there shouldn't be a space before the coma

''She had attractive little body''; she had 'an' attractive...

''I could live with that theory, but it still didnít feel quiet right.''; should be 'quite' not 'quiet'

''...a few couples left scattered around the Black Lake .'; the problem here is you put a space before the point

And I had defiantly not expected her.''; 1) it should be 'definitly'; 2) you shouldn't begin a sentence with 'and'; gives an incomplete sense

''...but I was in to mood to celebrate.''; do you mean 'in 'no' mood...' or '... not in the mood to...'

Oh and finally, when Pansy speaks to Draco, she first calls him 'Dracie' and later it's 'Drakie'; personnaly, I prefer the second spelling of the nickname but it's up to you; you should chose one spelling and stick to it!

Overall, it was a nice story; great detailing and a slow, upclose and personal trip in Draco's life. Great work!!

Akussa

Author's Response: Thanks for the CC... For some reason when I copy and paste from my email it always throws off the punctuation.. talk about annoying! And I'm a horrible speller, so any help there is always appreciated ;)

Glad you enjoyed the story anyway!

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #4, by Mintleaf Coveted

2nd April 2011:
Dracie. What an appalling nickname, but exactly what I'd expect from Pansy haha. This is also great characterization of her: 'She stuck her lower lip out in a pout and stared at me. What on earth were they arguing about? I wondered.'

I also really liked the line about how much making up with Pansy was going to cost Draco haha. I think that throught this your characterization has been spot on! Good work!

'this affect one me.' on me?

'I had last sent he Snitch' last seen the Snitch?

I do find it odd that no one saw Draco save Ginny. Weren't they on the pitch in front of everyone? Or am I misunderstanding the context?

'Her lips we a breath away from mine' were a breath away?

You know, I actually find Draco and Ginny to be just as believable a couple as Harry and Ginny haha. Anyway, this was a well written and enjoyable piece! :)

Author's Response: Pansy is such a fun character to write regardless of she's a main character or just back up cast, there's just so much you can do with her! LOL
I agree the Quidditch scene is a little confusing... I'm going to have to go back and see if I can clear that up when I get a chance.

Thanks for the R&R!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #5, by Septyrikon Coveted

26th April 2010:
Heh, I half expected them to get together, but that was a nice twist you did :) this makes it more "true" to canon in a way, as in it could've happened ( though I
find it hard to believe ), But that's what makes it a good read for me, if the story could've happened in canon, and isn't all to farfetched and imaginary.

Again, good work ;)

Author's Response: LOL... I know what you mean.. I am NOT a D/G shipper... but a friend kept requesting that I write a story with that ship so I did it for her... but I just couldn't bring myself to actually let them "get together" .. not even for my Amiee.. lol... But I'm glad it kept you entertained for a bit ;)
*huggles*
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #6, by navygirl529 Coveted

15th September 2009:
I like the way you ended it. I am a sucker for all things canon, and I truly feel like even if something happened between these two, it would have to end in precisely this way. Maybe with a bit more anger on Ginny's part haha! You are extremely descriptive, which paints a beautiful picture. On occasion, however, it can get very distracting. In one paragraph for example, you use 'his eyes' three times in as many sentences. Maybe it is just a personal pet peeve...

The story reads well, and has a great idea behind it! I also love that you stepped out of your forte to write it for a friend, and to challenge yourself. It worked very well!

~navy

Author's Response: Thank you again! As I've said, repeatedly.. lol.. I am not a Draco/Ginny fan.. but there's always that little inkling in the back of your mind that asks.. what if? Well this is my 'what if.' I'm glad you enjoyed it, and honestly I haven't had a chance to go back and do a major editing on it.. hopefuly once I do some of the discriptions will be less competitive.. lol

Thanks again!
Much love
~MooN~


 Report Review

Review #7, by nichola Coveted

21st July 2009:
i loved it , it was a shame that nothing else happen between them but tha is how it would have happened though i suposse :) it was really good and i couldn't stop reading right up untill the end.(where stpping seemed like a must due to there being nothing else lol.)

Author's Response: LOL. I'm so glad you enjoyed this story :D I'm not a D/G shipper... I just don't see it happening, but I could see this, this single moment where lust and curiosity overrides commen sense for just a moment... and then life goes on... I hope that is the image I convayed in this story. Either way thank you for your R&R and I'm glad you began at the begining and stopped when you got to the end.. lol

Thanks again!
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #8, by harrylilyjames Coveted

29th June 2009:
lol, I never read Draco/Pansy but the 'Dracie' just made me laugh, because it's the firs word any of the characters say and it sets a nice tone to the story without having to read on. I like the way you wrote the character of Pansy, it's spot on.
I love the part where he thought about Ginny catching Harry with Hermione, hehe.
During the Quidditch Match, wouldn't everyone's eye be on Draco and Ginny because they were going for the Snitch and that would of grabbed everyone's attention.
Some of the scenes seem to just fly past, like there wasn't much point to them.
I'm not a Draco/Ginny fan- but it was nice to read something different for a change, I liked it immensely.
8/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the R&R
I know what you mean with this story, I\\\'m not really a Draco/Ginny fan and this was written by request so I felt a little out of my element. Not sure what happened with the Quidditch thing, guess the story just sort of took off on it\\\'s own...lol.. but I\\\'ll go back when I get a change and see if I can tweek it a bit so that the scene makes more sense ;)
I\\\'m glad you enjoyed this story and I look forward to more reviews from you in the future ;)

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #9, by Annachie Coveted

2nd June 2009:
Congratulations on a great story.
I've lately found myself reading quite a few Draco/Ginny stories, and this one is amazing in how you have kept true to the characters. I have seen so many spotless leopards it's almost physically painful. (The leopard's have not only changed their spots, they removed them totally)

After drowning in a sea of mediocraty this blessed island was an extreemly welcome relief.

Well done.

Author's Response: Wow. That was a great review :) I know what you mean though, there are so many stories where all of a sudden Draco goes good, Ginny goes bad and *poof* we have a D/G!
I just couldn't bring myself to do that. I could see how Ginny might find, not Draco himself, but the 'bad-boy' personal slightly appealing, especially after constantly being around people who do the right thing time after time. But I could never see it going any further than that. She might take a sample, a taste *wink* if you will, but she would never buy the cake...lol. On the other hand I could see Draco having the 'wanting what you can't have' syndrome very easily. But once again, it would never go any further than that. If he ever got ahold of Ginny, it would be no more than a conquest... just something to throw back in Ron's face... but that's it.
I hope I captured that veiw in this story...
Either way I'm glad you enjoyed it and thank you for reviewing!

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #10, by miss_ravenclaw09 Coveted

29th May 2009:
Okay, here's the review you requested! :)

Wow! I have no idea what to really say about that fic except for it was brilliant! The ending is definitely the best part, and though some people may feel like they've been sort of 'cheated' by it, I think it is the perfect ending for a Draco/Ginny. Mostly because it goes back to what she says: it's never going to happen.

Most Draco/Ginny stories end up with her falling for him, and for a moment you had me, and I was like, "Yes! They're going to end up together!" but you pulled the rug out from under me and the rest of the audience... in a good way. :P Even though I love Draco/Ginny stories, sometimes you need that one that keeps Ginny in character so much as to make her at the end STILL hate Draco just enough to turn her away. Great job!

The descriptions were also very good in this fic, I think, because you can really feel Draco's pain and his sort of paranoia/obsession as he keeps seeing the red hair around Hogwarts. I also liked how he saved her when her broom was hit by a bludger. That made my heart melt a little bit.. :)

The only complaint I have in this story, and it really is not that hard of a thing to remedy, is that you watch your grammar and spelling. I am a stickler for spelling, so I will just point out as an example: 'defiantly' should be changed to 'definitely' (you have no idea how long it took me to learn how to spell that right, so don't worry :P ). That was one of the only spelling errors I found besides in the word 'double-pained' it should be 'paned' as in glass. Other than that, just watch your grammar and be careful with your spelling.

I really enjoyed this fic (as you mentioned I should.. :D), and I believe you are one of the brilliant authors that can take a ship or a story and add just that one little twist to it to make it stand out of the ordinary. Awesome job!

If you ever need another review, don't hesitate to ask! :)

Miss_Ravenclaw09

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I'm really glad you enjoyed this fic. I never intended to write a Draco/Ginny story... but a friend *coughamiecough* kept asking for one, so I finally broke down and wrote one... and wow! It actually came out pretty good. LOL

I had to throw that twist in because even though I'm not really a Ginny fan... and very rarely a H/G shipper, I just couldn't see her turning to Draco.. now Hermione.. that's a differnt story... actually... several different stories... lol.. but anyway... lol

I think my favorite part of writing this story was the kiss and the moment right afterwards.. I could totaly see Ginny doing that and could hear her say that line, her eyes burning with a mixture of lust and rage, then walking away... never looking back.. THAT is how I think of Ginny.. don't know why..lol.. I just do.

As far as the errors, there are several (well proably all) stories that I need to go back and edit, and when I get around to it I'll keep those errors in mind ;)

Thank you again for a wonderful review! Expect to see me requesting reviews again in your thread soon!

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #11, by Meeeeera Coveted

28th May 2009:
Wow, Moon, that was really nice :). I don't read many Draco stories, so I'm not sure how his characterisation in fanfiction is different when compared to his characterisation in the books, but this story was really sweet. I liked that Blaise and Pansy were in the story, as reminders of what was meant to happen to him. I especially liked Blaise - funny guy :). And Ginny? Ginny was great. As sad as it was that she and Harry were at outs with each other ... the Draco/Ginny was well-written.

I really enjoyed this! Can't wait to read more from you :).

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this one. I had never planned on writing any Draco/Ginny stories, but after months of Amie asking me to do it I gave in... sort of...lol. As much as I dislike Harry/Ginny I could not get behind a real Draco/Ginny story.. lol.. but I think I solved that problem with this story... and have the advantage of a great smooch in it ;) As you read my stories you'll realize pretty quickly that I love Draco, and have a slightly softer view of him then what is given in the books.

Can't wait to hear from you again
Thanks for another wonderful review!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #12, by alanapotter Coveted

24th May 2009:
Firstly, sorry this took so long... I was having problems with my internet... :/ But I'm here now!

Whoa! Not how I expected this to turn out at all when I started reading!

Very nice, though. I like how you kept this idea of a forbidden relationship and how they stayed in their places, so to speak, at the end. It made your piece more original than many and I actually felt like you're writing in the last bit was a lot stronger than the beginning.

I think you wrote Draco really well. It's not very often that you see this softer side of him, and you really worked that to your benefit. It was a nice reprieve from his normal bitter snappiness.

I would, however, suggest that you work on your commas. There were a few missing. And I would also suggest a proofread and putting in some synonyms... there were a couple paragraphs that sounded really repetitive. The specific words I remember were eyes and air... your writing would be much stronger if they weren't used in every sentence.

Pansy's nickname for Draco (Drakie/Dracie) is spelled a couple of different ways... I would stick to just one.

Overall, great job! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: :D No problem, I'm just glad you found time to come review with all that's going on. I'm so glad you liked the direction this story took, and I admit, It could defenitly use a bit of editing... I'm really bad about that because I get impatient...lol, but I will go back and clean it up as soon as the possible :)
Thanks again!
~MooN~


 Report Review

Review #13, by Alopex Coveted

19th May 2009:
There is a particular mistake that is a pet peeve of mine, and you have it twice in here. I don't really know why, but I see it all the time: people write "defiantly" instead of "definitely." Definite and defiant are completely different words. I suppose "definitely" is misspelled "definatly" and then that is typo'd into "defiantly." There are a couple other places where you have typos. Wondered instead of wandered, one instead of on.

I found the plot rather predictable (boy likes girl, boy rescues damsel in distress) until the end. I wasn't expecting the twist where Ginny rejected Draco. I found it a little weird that Draco kept referring to Ginny as "the red-haired girl" in his thoughts. At first, ok, but throughout the whole story? I guess I'm not a big fan of the mysterious effect you were going for there.

You did a good job describing the romance in this story, though. Even though I thought Draco was being ridiculously absent-minded, I enjoyed the tension you built up. I liked how he had planned out where he was going to stand and everything when he finally decided to approach Ginny. I was definitely expecting the (well-described) kiss to spawn a big-time snog fest, as was Draco, apparantly, but then you pulled that little twist on us. I thought the final paragraph didn't flow as well as the rest of the story, but the conclusion of this piece was interesting and unexpected.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'll have to go back and fix that typo.. I admit, I'm a terrible speller and if spell-check doesn't catch it I usualy won't either. This was a story I had never planned on writing. A friend requested a story with this pairing (though I don't see it working.. usualy... even in fanon) and maybe that's why it didn't flow as well as some of my other work. I appreciate your compliments on my disciptions and am glad that you enjoyed the twist at the end.

Thank you for your review!
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #14, by Erudessa94 Coveted

13th February 2009:
... ... ...that is me gaping like a fish=] cause i have no clue what to say, that was brilliant! Amazing fantastic wonderful! It was written beautifully and it had an amazing plot, and even though i prefer the endings when they get together the ending made it perfect!=D! I loved it

Author's Response: *blush* thank you so much :D So many compliments in one review, you have me cheeks burning my dear ;)
I'm so glad you liked it. I wasn't really confident about this story because I'd never written a D/G before... and I'm not a fan of H/G... so having both in one story was really strange for me... lol
Thank you so much for your R&R
It is truly appreciated!

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #15, by darker side of happy Coveted

13th February 2009:
Wow!
That was an excellent story!
I absolutely loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm so glad you enjoyed my story :D Hope to see more reviews fromy ou in the future!
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #16, by Manwe Valarian Coveted

6th February 2009:
A well written 'stolen moment'. I guess that is what you could call it. I liked how you moved Draco's charactersation up to and through the point of coveting Ginny. Ginny's charactersation was good. It could fit in with what is known of her in canon. Even though they are both OOC, it is not so far out as to make it improbable. When stories are so far out of character I lose interest very fast.

Author's Response: Thank :) 'stolen moment' is exactly right, and what I was shooting for. I'm glad you liked my characterization. I tried to keep the characters true to form even though the situation was highly unlikely in canon. :)
Thank you once again for your wonderful review :)

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login