Reading Reviews for C'est La Vie
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by georgina_bass Une Lettre de la Maison-A Letter From Home

20th August 2009:
haha.so sweet!!!i love the French.

 Report Review

Review #2, by redherring Une Lettre de la Maison-A Letter From Home

22nd May 2009:
Aww, I love that she did the essay just in case! It's just so cute, and I think it says a lot about her as a character, as well.

I also just have to say that I think I'm in love with your chapter images. They're so beautiful, (Annhilation is such a genius - I'm totally requesting from her[?] at some point in the future!), and I love the actress you chose to portray Angelique, as well. I like being able to picture the characters.

Anyway, brilliant chapter! Feel free to request again when the next chapter is up :)

Author's Response: Yes, I thought it was a very Angelique thing to do. :)
Oh, I know! The images she makes for me are WONDERFUL! And she gets them done pretty quickly, too. :)
I will, totally! Thanks a million for all the great reviews! I appritiate all your time and effort.


 Report Review

Review #3, by redherring Et Ils Ne Pouvaient Rien Faire à Ce Sujet-And They Couldn’t Do Anything About It

22nd May 2009:
Another great chapter :) Yeah, it's a bit of a filler, but I loved it all the same. I've just got a few corrections, though:

"She just knew that that night the girls would finally except her and never make fun of her again." - the 'except' there should be 'accept'.

"I never told any of my friends about me and Sirius' arrangement." - I think that should be 'mine and Sirius' arragement'.

I've got another suggestion, as well - in Ange's memories of her life in France, maybe it would be better to just leave out the speaking french parts, and have it all in english, therefore not needing the translations later on. For me, personally, I just find it a bit... awkward. It affects the flow, I think. If present-day Angelique comes out with the occasional bit of French then that's fine, but I don't find it works as well in the memories - after all, every one of them is speaking the same language, so it's nothing different, if you know what I mean? It's just a suggestion, though, and I'm sure other readers are in favour of it, but I just thought I'd say all the same.

Anyway, I really did like this chapter! Onto the next! I'm only technically meant to review three, but whatever, I just can't help reading on, which I'm sure you don't have a problem with xD

Author's Response: Oopsies! I'll take a look at that soon. :)
Alrighty, I'll keep that in mind next time I write one of those scenes.
Haha, I'm glad you like it so much! Happy reading, I hope you enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #4, by redherring Une Journee Dans le Village-A Day in the Village

22nd May 2009:
Lol! Angelique's reaction when she got her hair cut reminds me of the last time I was at the hairdressers! I quite like my hair now, but when I first got it done I was just like ARGH! The way you wrote it was really realistic. I also love the idea of Sirius taking her to get a makeover, and he really was acting like a girl! Made me smile.

Another great chapter! I'm really liking this story :)

Author's Response: Yeah, I can very much relate to that experience, too. I had a foot of my hair chopped off a couple years back, so I kind of drew from that. :) I'm glad you liked that part, I like it too.
Thanks so much for another wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by redherring Vient M’aider, Allez-vous?- Just Help Me, Will You?

22nd May 2009:
Another great chapter! I loved the interaction between Sirius and Angelique, and I think you wrote him really well. Ange's character is really developing, as well. Sorry for the unconstructive review, but I really don't have any CC! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you're enjoying my story so far!

 Report Review

Review #6, by redherring Mon Ange-My Angel

22nd May 2009:
Hey, redherring here with your reviews :) I'm so sorry it took so long! Life's been hectic. Stupid exams...

Anyway, I really liked this as a first chapter. Angelique seems like a promising character, although she comes across as a little bit Mary Sue-ish... But I'm guessing that was pretty much intentional? So we can see the contrast between her now and how she changes throughout the story? Either way, I'm assuming it will work later on.

Great first chapter! Onto number two...

Author's Response: Oh hey, I know how it is. Real life happens. :)
Yeah, it was intentional, this is supposed to be about her becoming un-Mary-Sue in a way. :) Thanks for the review! Happy reading!


 Report Review

Review #7, by scooterbug8515 Une Journee Dans le Village-A Day in the Village

21st May 2009:
Not bad, the one thing I'll point out is in this chapter you say that chap stick is her only form of make up which comes across as that is the only thing she ever wears so you might want to reword it to the only thing she had on that day seeing as she wears more than that as stated in the first chapter.

Author's Response: Eep! I noticed that a couple days ago when I was reading through the published chapters., that's totally my bad, and I'm going to fix that soon. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by scooterbug8515 Vient M’aider, Allez-vous?- Just Help Me, Will You?

20th May 2009:
Angelique is coming together nicely. You held Sirius nicely. I was very glad you had Sirius smile at her request cause that is so him. He would have soo much fun with that request. Oh and the line: "I just want to get it out of the way, yeah?" Made me think of my friend from Hawaii... that is a very Hawaiian thing to say. I don't know where you come from but I just thought I'd point it out. (I don't know if it's French/British or not.)

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you. Well, I'm American, but not Hawaiian, I didn't think too much of it. :) Thanks for another great review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by scooterbug8515 Mon Ange-My Angel

20th May 2009:
Hey first review, I will admit that it was a bit confusing figuring out that Ang was at Hogwarts for a time before her seventh year. It was you mentioning that she was friends with Evangeline since third year. In your first paragraph you might want to make mention of her being 13 or in her 3rd year when the transfer came in. Also as a suggestion that when Sirius makes a his snide remark he should elbow James, it would add a little bit of depth to him and the situation at hand. But a fair start all the same.

Author's Response: Hey! Alright, I'll keep that in mind and think about it especially when I get to looking over the chapter. Thanks for pointing that out! I'm glad that you liked it for the most part.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Emo Mist Une Lettre de la Maison-A Letter From Home

17th May 2009:
I have no CC at all for this! You have a great start to your story here. I think you have a very strong OC. She's very fun! And I love your characterization of Sirius. He makes me smile.

Keep up the good work, and feel free to request when you have the next chapter up!

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much! You honestly have no idea how happy that makes me that Angelique is a strong OC, I was kinda worried that she was a bit unbelievable. :) Thank you so much. Hopefully I'll get the next chapter up soon, I haven't updated in a while.
Thanks again for all the reviews and for all your time and effort!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Emo Mist Et Ils Ne Pouvaient Rien Faire à Ce Sujet-And They Couldn’t Do Anything About It

17th May 2009:
Hey there! Sorry it took me so long to get back over here to review your last two chapters! Life has been crazy!

Anyway, this chapter was great!

Once again, I like how you give us a glimpse into Angelique's past at the beginning and I love how you ended it.

We would be shaped by the mistakes we hadn't made yet, and no one would stop it.

Excellent! Keep that up! Onto chapter five!

Author's Response: Oh, don't worry about it, I know how life gets! :)
Great, I'm so glad you enjoyed it and liked the way I have it structured. This chapter was one of my favorites to write because it has so much foreshadowing in it and tells a lot about what's going to happen, even though people may not see it. ^_^
Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Emo Mist Une Journee Dans le Village-A Day in the Village

3rd May 2009:
Somehow the idea of Sirius giving a make-over always makes me giggle - in a good way. I love when people have teenage Sirius do things like this. It's very good for characterization. Love it.

I mean sneaking out to Hogsmeade would defiantly get us a detention, -- you spelled definitely wrong ;)

This was a very good chapter. It took me a while to read it because I was bouncing around today, but like I said, I am quite fond of Sirius giving makeovers!

Just be sure to watch those awkward leaps in time ;)

Author's Response: I know, me too! It just seems like something he would do, you know? :)
Ahh! I said defiently! I always get on people for putting in wrong words, and here I am, a hypocrite! haha, thanks for pointing it out!
Hey, I know how it is, it's no biggie, just thanks for doing it! And I'll DEFINATELY (heh heh) make sure to watch those leaps.
Thank you so much for the reviews and your time! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by muinthil Une Lettre de la Maison-A Letter From Home

2nd May 2009:
I love that she actually did the assignment, just in case! Overall, this is a great start to your story. I really like Angelique and can already sense chemistry between her and Sirius. One grammar comment, watch your punctuation within your dialogue. You are missing some commas. Not too big of a deal but I noticed it since it is something that I usually forget as well. I will be adding this to my favorites so I keep up when you add new chapters!

I would like to ask if you would take a look at my story, Deepest Star of Night. It is a Sirius/OC, Snape/OC, and James/Lily story set in the Marauders-era. I would love to see what you think!

Muinthil

Author's Response: It's just so Angelique, isn't it? :) Thank you, thank you, thank you, I'm glad you like it!
Alrighty, thanks for pointing that out, I'll watch it, and maybe get to correcting that in the chapter as well.
XD and I'll tell you on your review thread about new chaps as well!!
I would love to check it out! I'll probably do that later today! :)
Thank you SO much for your amazing reviews and time!


 Report Review

Review #14, by muinthil Et Ils Ne Pouvaient Rien Faire à Ce Sujet-And They Couldn’t Do Anything About It

2nd May 2009:
Great job with the foreshadowing at the end of this chapter. It really caught my attention and interest. Can't help but wonder what's going to happen because of the lessons. Also, can't wait to see how Sirius and Angelique are going to get together or if they even do!

10/10!!!

Muinthil

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad it intrigued you!!! Oh, you'll see!
And who knows? They may, they may not! *evil laughter*...ahem. Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by muinthil Vient M’aider, Allez-vous?- Just Help Me, Will You?

2nd May 2009:
Absolutely love Sirius!! I think her goodness intrigues him, in a way. That's why he keeps bugging her. She is a little Mary Sueish but hopefully that will be changing as the story continues. I really like your plot.

10/10

Muinthil

Author's Response: Yeah, I think that's why he won't let her alone.
Yes, yes, the Mary-Sueness is there, it's mostly intentional, but it goes away I PROMISE! :) Thanks for another great review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by muinthil Mon Ange-My Angel

2nd May 2009:
Great start to your story! In the beginning, you wrote: "which meant we would be moving to Europe" but isn't France already part of Europe? Maybe you meant England instead? It was a great introduction to your character. I am assuming that 7th year is not her first year at Hogwarts. You didn't say what year she transferred to Hogwarts. You might want to clarify that. Otherwise, very good!

~Muinthil~

Author's Response: Eeep! I know, someone else pointed that out to me, too! I'll change that soon! *blush*
Oh, totally! I'll be clarifing that soon in chapters, don't worry! ;)
Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Emo Mist Vient M’aider, Allez-vous?- Just Help Me, Will You?

2nd May 2009:
I love the beginning of this chapter. The glimpse into Angelique's past is very nice. It adds to her character.

When she comes into the common room and sits on the sofa, where does the book come from? It's almost as if it appears from thin air (which is possibly could, seeing as they're all witches and wizards) but I think that could be clearer.

literature-induced entrancement - awesome phrase! I love it!

I love the interaction between Angelique and Sirius. The dialogue is very real and enjoyable.

A bit of cc; it kind of distracts from the story a bit to have those time leaps between interactions. It's really not a biggie at all, but it's something to think about.

Very good! Onto chapter three!

Author's Response: Thanks, I really like that part too :)
Oh, I honestly never even thought about that.maybe it was just sitting there haha. I'll try to make those things clearer in the future.
XD Thanks, I like that phrase too, it mostly describes my life...jk
That's good, I'm gald you found it enjoyable.
Oh, thanks for pointing that out, I'll most definatly keep it in mind during future chapters!
Thank you for another great review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Stella Nightingale Une Lettre de la Maison-A Letter From Home

2nd May 2009:
Hi, it's Laur again from the forums. Just got around to finishing your story and have found it pleasant and fun to read. I like your OC and think she has an interesting spin and fun personality. She has depth, and I think you've presented her quite well.
Overall I found you did an excellent job, and hope you keep writing!



Author's Response: I'm gald you enjoyed it!!! Thank you sooo much, I was definatly most concerned about Ang being totally unbelievable. :)
Thanks, thanks, and thanks again for you time and reviews!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Stella Nightingale Mon Ange-My Angel

2nd May 2009:
Hi, Laur here from ze forums. I think your opening was very well done and it certainly captured my attention that I was really intrigued and wanted to read more.

I think there could have been a bit more in the second part of this chapter it felt a bit rushed once they were aboard the Hogwarts Express, but other then that I think you did a great job and I look forward to reading more.


Laur

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad that it got you interested!
Okay, I'll keep that in mind, thanks for pointing that out!
Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Emo Mist Mon Ange-My Angel

2nd May 2009:
Hey, hey! Emo Mist here with your review(s)!

To the first line, since your character is asking; yes, yes I have had a nickname that I can't stand and can't get rid of, "Turtle". To that, I say, awesome way to start a story, I already relate to her!

She definitely has a strong voice. Her characterization is amazing!

which meant we would be moving to Europe -- France is in Europe, so maybe it would be best to say 'which meant we would be moving to England.'

Your description of her was very nice. I like how you described her, but as part of the story -does that make any sense? Probably not, but I mean you didn't sit there and make her say "i had blonde hair and green eyes and I was short." She was getting ready to go and as she was getting ready to go you added the details. Very nice. Same goes for your description of Evangeline.

Remus Lupin asked me. He’s always been the Marauder I like and relate to the most. -- Me too. I love me some Remus! Ahaha :)

BOOO for Sirius being a butthead! What a meanie face.

VERY good first chapter. You've laid out a nice foundation here, so good job!

Onto chapter deux!

Author's Response: Haha, haven't we all? People still call me Blondie, even though I've dyed my hair...:/
Thank you, I work really hard on her characterization and voice, so I'm glad you like it!
Oopsies! *dumb American* I didn't even think about that...I'll get to changing it at some point!
Thanks, I always like to get a visual of what the character looks like, so I try to provide that for my readers as well. :)
Me too! I think Remus is rather underappritiated! Haha.
Thank you so much!!! I appritiate the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Une jonquille Une Lettre de la Maison-A Letter From Home

28th April 2009:
Wow ! What a great story ! I love Angelique's character , she's so complex and wonderful and , well it's quite fascinating hearing the "thoughts" of someone so goody-two-shoes !
Are you french ? Because everything written in french is perfect !
Can't wait to see more !
20/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm gald you like her!
I am French by blood, but I've grown up American, so, yes and no. :) I'm glad my French is on though.
Thanks so much for the review and the fabulous rating!


 Report Review

Review #22, by californialove Et Ils Ne Pouvaient Rien Faire à Ce Sujet-And They Couldn’t Do Anything About It

14th April 2009:
Numero tres. Sorry this came a day late. I was dozing off when I finished the second one. And I feel like a total fool because I read the wrong chapter.

I want to compliment you on having the French within the chapter. It gives a nice mix within the story and I guess gives off a feeling of where Angelique is coming from. It helped me better understand her.

I like the haircut transition. I feel you did a good job SHOWING the new beginning and not so much TELLING. She's standing strong with the whole haircut and getting by just fine on minimum wage. It shows confidence! Yaay!

I also feel kinda bad for Sirius because it's one of those situations where he thinks she doesn't like him so he busies himself with other girls which is foolish.

And honestly, this story is starting to grow on me.

californialove

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're starting to like this more! Thanks for the really helpful reviews!!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by californialove Vient M’aider, Allez-vous?- Just Help Me, Will You?

14th April 2009:
Ok, now I've taken a hint. Sirius is going to help her be a bad girl!

Another thing I found against Angelique's MS traits is that she gets teased and pressured to do things. However another debatable thing is that she worked up the confidence/courage to speak out against Sirius. If the character develops the confidence/courage, its a good trait. I mean, she's overcoming an obstacle. Some would consider this MS like, but I would not.

At times I feel that you could've showed and not really told the reader what's going on. Such as when Lily and James are arguing. Maybe you could've put, "Lily and James were at where the could be found every night in the common room. It's always some little tear, or some little stain, or some little crease that can get Lily so worked up. But James still doesn't seemed to be phased by her cut throat words; if anything, I think he ruins her stuff intentionally." The draw back is, it takes up A LOT of space.

Onward!!!

ca♥

Author's Response: Thanks for the CC! I'll keep that stuff in mind!


 Report Review

Review #24, by californialove Mon Ange-My Angel

14th April 2009:
Hello! californialove here! Reviewing just like you asked! :D

I don't mean to be a buzzkill, but I'm a little confused. Did she start at Hogwarts during her seventh year or third? I wasn't sure.

My first impression of Angelique was a little on the Mary Sue side. (Sorry!) But a thing that started canceling it out was that she gave into the peer pressure of striving for perfection. She felt the need to be perfect, only because others wanted her to do it. She didn't do it for herself which I believe to be a sign of weakness. (By the way, I don't meant to tear apart your protagonist!)

In addition, this whole "I don't want to be a goody good" thing also seems a bit cliche. However, whatever way you have in store for her to not be a goody good, I hope isn't cliche.

Not a bad start overall!

ca♥

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks! Yeah, a lot of those reactions were intentional, she was a Mary-Sue kind of struggling.you know? Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Phoenix_Flames Une Lettre de la Maison-A Letter From Home

10th April 2009:
Wow! Fantastic and wonderful chapter!

I was so excited to see you have updated! I, seriously, have no cc. So, keep up the fantastic work!

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you like it! Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>