Reading Reviews for The Mermaid
  
81 Reviews Found

Review #1, by JannyV Singing and Seaweed

23rd September 2012:
Hey! I'm not finished reading this story D: its really good and *VERY* original!! i reckon you should keep going! Its great!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by VickyAlice139 Singing and Seaweed

6th August 2012:
Hey I really enjoyed reading this. Its such an original idea. I love how Erin is finding it so hard to adjust to human life.

Is there any hope of you continuing this story? I would love to read more!

~Vicky

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ant. Singing and Seaweed

12th March 2011:
I love this story!

I hadn't read any ff in ages and the first I read was yours and it got me hooked all over again. I keep checking for the next installment- I will be completely patient, just don't abandon this story- it has so much potential.

My favourite thing about this story is that even though you adopted the "mermaid" theme, it's not stereotypical- she's kinda gothic in tone, independent in spirit and kind of unlikeable- she can develop as a character and be a great source of entertainment, rather than just some fluffy romantic mermaid.

Good job!

Author's Response: First of all I have to say thank you for having patience. You guilt tripped me into going through the start of what I've got for the next chapter and adding a few paragraphs, something I haven't done in a month or two. I'm glad that you're enjoying what I've got so far though.

Erin is kind of unlikeable isn't she? I happen to really like her, but she's certainly not going to win the award for being the most popular and kind person. She's a little bit spoiled and a lot bit arrogant. I'm really big on character development (that was the main purpose of this story) so it means a lot to hear that from you. Thanks so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Mel Singing and Seaweed

19th February 2011:
I cant believe how much i am addicted to this story i read all six in like a hour...so good

Author's Response: Addicted? Well, that's very flattering. Thanks! I'm glad that you're enjoying it. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ant. Singing and Seaweed

1st February 2011:
A really fun, quirky story- I can't wait till the next installment.
Please keep it up!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you like it! Quirky is a good word to describe it. I'm afraid writing has pretty much halted at the moment as I'm swamped with doing college. However, I shall strive to write something in random moments of spare time so that I can finish the next chapter and get it up soon. Thanks for the review! :) They really are inspiring!

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheDevilsBestAngel Singing and Seaweed

27th September 2010:
Epicly awesome chapter!!! Love the story! I really do! Please post another story soon!! PLEASE?!?!??!

Author's Response: Another story?! I'm not even keeping up with the ones I've already started! Haha, I actually do have ideas for lots of other stories that I'm dying to write, but I'm really trying to just focus on this one right now. We'll see what comes after that. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by doglover Singing and Seaweed

26th September 2010:
haha she changed her hair!

Author's Response: Yup! Erin and I both just couldn't resist. You'll learn that magic comes easily to Erin. Controlling her temper so that she uses it properly is quite another thing. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Blue Biro Singing and Seaweed

23rd September 2010:
heheh, go Erin!
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G chappie! pleaspleaseplease update soon! im dying for more! loved it!
you rock! (fact!)
your fan becky ;p
:)

Author's Response: You have reviewed every chapter! That makes you absolutely rocking! (And that's a fact!) Haha, thanks so much for the review. I can't make any promises about fast updates, because my life is crazy, but I do seem to be more inspired lately, so we'll see. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by <69 The Fiery Unicorn

16th June 2010:
hi, love your story, it's very different and interesting

hope you update soon

Author's Response: Glad to hear you're enjoying it! I'm afraid that writing has been very slow lately, in fact, practically nonexistent. I'm not sure when the next update will be, I'm sorry to say. Hopefully I'll find some time soon to do a bit of writing and finish up the next chapter. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by naflower05 The Fiery Unicorn

16th April 2010:
good story so far!! cant wait to see where this goes! update soon please! =]

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're enjoying it! I'm in the midst of finals at the minute, but hopefully I'll be able to pick up the pace a bit once I'm out of school for the summer in a week and a half. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Squid7000 The Fiery Unicorn

3rd April 2010:
This story? Awesomeness in it's purest form.

Seriously, you are an absolutely incredible writer, this fic has an absolutely incredible plot, the characters are absolutely incredible and the whole story in general is just . . . reall cool:)

Erin is a really great character; she's far from perfect but still has good points about her. I love her fascination with humans and seeing the world through her eyes. You truly give an entirely different perspective to the world. It's awesome.

I laughed SO hard with the whole "Odd Hair" thing. And "Well I don't even care that you're pretty!" HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Ang, ugh, I really want her to make up with Jack. I LOVE him. Seriously.

Honestly, just the way you write her and how she's so matter-of-fact about everything. "I'm not going to marry you." And "I have the strange feeling he would like to marry Lily." Just everything she says has me in stitches.

REALLY great stpry! Can't wait for the next chapter!

Squid

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, your review made me so freaking happy. Really, I bounced around the room for at least five minutes. I'm so glad that you like my story.
I'm glad that you like Erin and appreciate the need for character flaws. A lot of people think that she's too arrogant, but if she wasn't then it would be more difficult to show character growth.
I'm glad that Odd Hair made you laugh. That was a scene I wasn't sure about when I wrote it, so I'm glad to hear that it was successful.
And oh my gosh, I absolutely love Jack as well. He's by far my most favorite character that I've written about. Don't worry, Jack will return, because he's just too awesome to disappear indefinitely.
I'm so happy that you liked it so much. Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by MorteLlina The Fiery Unicorn

28th March 2010:
I love the fanfiction. It's really good and really kind of funny when she makes analogies to the lake. Keep on writing! I kind of wish Erin wasn't so stuck up.

-Allina

Author's Response: Yeah, I've noticed that when we see something new we relate it to something old. For Erin, something new is everything and something old is the lake. Thus all of the analogies. And yes, we all wish Erin wasn't so stuck up, but everybody has to have something they need to work on. Don't worry, humility is coming! Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Oo PuRpLe BuBbLeS oO The Fiery Unicorn

28th March 2010:
wow!
this looks really good!
pleae update soon?!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you think so. I'm afraid that writing progress has been slow, I'm posting a oneshot to tide you over, but I'll do my best to get another chapter up sometime within the month of April! Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by kelf11 The Fiery Unicorn

25th March 2010:
This is a creative story. You've developed Erin's character so well. Keep it coming, please!

Author's Response: Why thank you. Character development is something that I am actively working on, so I'm glad to hear that it's paying off. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by doglover The Fiery Unicorn

24th March 2010:
james is such a cutie :)
please update soon!!! this is a very interesting story.

Author's Response: Yes, I love James in this story. He is enormously good in this one and much less arrogant than sometimes portrayed. The focus of the Lily/James relationship in this story will be on Lily needing to change more than James. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by doglover Of Jeans, Green Fires, and Odd Hair

24th March 2010:
woohoo the first fight!

Author's Response: Wow. I don't think I've had anyone cheer about a fight before. But yes, you're right, this is only the first fight. Erin has a bit of a temper. All characters need flaws, right? Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by doglover Of Stairs and Fire

24th March 2010:
poor jack. i wonder how he died...

Author's Response: Ah, Jack. He's admidtedly my favorite character in this whole story. As to how he died, well, I'm not sure if I'm going to tell that later on, so I won't say anything about it now. I'm also not entirely sure myself. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by doglover The Unnatural Caves

24th March 2010:
woohoo!!! gryffindor!!!

Author's Response: Yup. A little bit cliche, I have to admidt, but it really is the house that fits her best. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by doglover Legs

24th March 2010:
haha i never realized how talented we are to walk :)

Author's Response: Yeah, we are pretty amazing creatures. Haha. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Luthienne The Fiery Unicorn

20th March 2010:
I really like this story. It's different and I love the Marauder time. I look forward to read more from you.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you're enjoying the story! I really like the Marauder time too. I'm pretty sure that it would unquestionably be my favorite if I didn't like Hermione so much. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by HPsmartone32 The Fiery Unicorn

18th March 2010:
ahh okay. this is interesting. and so new. and i love "odd hair" haha. please update soon!!!

Author's Response: I don't think I've ever had this story called new before, but it sounds like a compliment, so I'll say thank you. I'm glad you like Odd Hair. That was a bit of an indulgence for me, I have to admit. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by ginnygirl808 The Fiery Unicorn

15th March 2010:
haha yay so now she is going to start becoming friends with lily and her crew!! :D it should be interesting and i wonder how long it will take lily to figure out her secret@!! haha keep up the good work! update soon! :D

Author's Response: Yup. Rather cliche to have her meet solely Gryffindors on the train (what are the odds) but that's my literary liscence to make my story easier. And to be honest, I haven't thought about any of the girls discovering her secret. I'll have to take that into consideration. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by dyqw1700 The Fiery Unicorn

15th March 2010:
This chapter was really great! Poor James. And I like Lily and her friends! Please update soon?

Author's Response: Haha, yes, poor James. Don't worry, we all know that this is the year he'll finally get together with Lily. And I'm so glad that you like the girl Gryffindors. I didn't have a very defined picture of any of them before I started writing this chapter, but I think I've got a good idea now of what their various personalities are. And I just barely updated! So demanding! I'll see what I can do though. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by phantasmagoria291 Legs

15th March 2010:
Hey, good start so far! looking forward to the later chapters. =)
-Christine

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked it! I hope you enjoy the later chapters as well. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Blue Biro The Fiery Unicorn

15th March 2010:
YAY! finaly, no offnse, but it's been so long! :) love it though, so worth the wait! no ffense again, but erin really annoys me, she's so stubbporjn and obnioxious!
please update soon!
100/10! you rock!
your fan: Becky!x

Author's Response: I know, it's been incredibly long, and I really do apologize. I had beta problems, so I finally just gave up on it and decided to post. I'm so glad you waited! And yes, Erin is incredibly stubborn and obnoxious. But don't worry, that's going to start changing very shortly as she starts interacting with more people. Regrettably that won't change overnight, but it will be tempered over the story. Erin's character development is one of the main focuses of the story for me. Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>