Reading Reviews for Pas de Deux
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by adluvshp Pas de Deux

7th March 2014:
Blackout Battle 2/15

This was very interesting! I loved the theme of the dance that was incorporated here, because I am a dance-lover myself.
I think your characterisation of Remus was very well done as well. You really got into his mind and portrayed him just how I'd imagine him to be.
Your descriptions were absolutely spellbinding. There were metaphors and imagery and just so much feeling throughout. I was really engaged while reading.
I think the best part of this oneshot was the death scene of Remus. It was exceptionally well-written. I also liked how Teddy featured in Remus' thoughts as well. Sometimes, writers only focus on the 'love' of the characters and forget about the family - especially a child - and I am glad you didn't do that. Because Teddy and Tonks should hold the same place in Remus' heart.
Over all, this was very sad and painful and I could connect with Remus very well. I enjoyed reading this a lot, and I especially liked the ending the way they reunited.

Great job!
10/10
Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Maelody Pas de Deux

7th March 2014:
I love this dancing theme. It reminds me of the red ballet slippers (I really don't know what that one is called other than maybe Red Shoes haha :)). With how knowledgeable and sweet this pair was, it also makes sense. I don't really find myself asking many questions as to why they are being compared to dancing.

At first I was a little confused, because I thought Tonks was dead, and that was what he was so upset about. Then I thought he was figuring out that it was actually he who was dead and he watched Tonks be brave, but then she was dead again and he was the one fighting at last. I'm still slightly confused, but maybe it's just a matter of going back over and reading it again? :)

It was sweet, and very touching. I could feel Remus' longing to be with his wife again, and the thoughts that consumed him were endearing. At the time, he couldn't think of anything else other than being with her again. I was beginning to think he was being selfish for not thinking of Teddy as he leaps to his death for the most part, but the images that flash before him satisfies me slightly. I hope that doesn't make me sound like an awful person. I just think it would be selfish of the only live parent to give up raising a child to be with their significant other, so the slight guilt he received at the end made me content with the events. :)

How he was welcomed with all the faces of his friends made me smile. Despite leaving Teddy behind, he deserves happiness. He deserves friends again, and a pain-free life from the wolf. So I feel guilty for wanting him to feel guilty xD.

Either way, you caught this moment beautifully and I'm so glad I read it! I love missing moment pieces! I never thought of Bellatrix being the one to kill them, or at least be around as it happened. How awful that she one-upped so many of the good before being taken down herself at last. :(

Great job!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #3, by Renfair Pas de Deux

21st July 2012:
Hi! It's Renny from TGS :) This story immediately came to mind for the Hufflepuff-themed review challenge since I figured I would try to find something about Tonks, and I had just stumbled onto this story a little while ago. Seems to fit perfectly!

This story caught my eye at first since I used to study ballet myself so have seen countless amounts of them performed and I also got to do a tiny bit of partnering myself (which was one of the most fun things I've ever done in my life). I really like your idea of the lives of Remus and Tonks being like a pas de deux since I always thought they complimented each other really well. I like how you take it a step further making their final dance together be the battle in which they both fought together and were ultimately killed.

One thing I really liked in particular was how you had Remus refer to her as Nymphadora throughout. We know from canon that she HATED being called that, but I would imagine she might have allowed Remus to be the one person to use her full name :) It definitely shows a sense of intimacy between then.

Throughout the piece I was a little thrown by the fact that Remus was so focused on Nymphadora as his partner and didn't mention at all her role as the mother to their son, but then you did bring that element in at the end as Remus's final thought which I thought was really nice. It's very believable that in the heat of battle he would be so focused on what's directly in front of him (Tonks dying) that he would forget about Teddy for just a moment. You managed to draw out those final moments really well so that they felt both fleeting and like an eternity.

The section in particular where Remus was forcing himself to relive Nymphadora's final moment was well done. Even when it's something painful (or maybe especially in that case) we tend to go through every detail over and over in order to process it.

"It leaves his wand and fills my body with a warm liquid as smooth and thick as honey. It pours down my throat and into my lungs until Im drowning in it." --That was a really well-done imagine (especially the honey reference, which is obviously something normally sweet and pleasant, so maybe subconsciously not such a bad death because he knew he would be reunited with his wife soon).

I was never a huge Remus or Tonks fan in the books (I didn't dislike them, but they weren't my favorite either) but I was definitely annoyed with how their death was sort of mentioned in passing then never fully explained or acknowledged. I enjoyed reading how you fleshed out that moment and gave them both the dignity and emotion their deaths deserved. Good job!
~Renny

Author's Response: Renny, I'm so sorry for taking this long to respond. But thank you for the review. I genuinely appreciate it!

Gosh, I wrote this so long ago that it seems like it was written by someone else! I'm glad you enjoyed it, though. I do remember that I had a fun time writing it (not because of the subject matter, but the style). I have such a soft spot for Remus and Tonks. I wanted to write their death because they deserved more of a spotlight, and a happy ending.

Thank you again for the review. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by CoLorful DreaM Pas de Deux

19th June 2011:
2 of 15!

And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.
Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche


A very, very interesting quote - loved that detail.

This was really... sad, full of description, full of feelings... You see, there are two things I require from a story, so I could enjoy it. I could easily enjoy it if it is funny, but the way to simply adore it is for it to corner me with feelings. Your stories do that to me...


~Ramona

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I wrote this story so long ago that I had to re-read it to remind myself what I'd written! Haha. I'm glad you enjoyed it and that the feelings weren't too overwhelming. I tried to find a good balance.

 Report Review

Review #5, by DracoFerret11 Pas de Deux

30th June 2009:
Hey there!

Interesting one-shot. I liked it. :]

I thought your Remus-characterization was spot-on.

Very well written.

Great metaphors.

Great descriptions.

:] Kudos to you.

--DF11

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed. :) It was a lot of fun to write.

 Report Review

Review #6, by kait_mcfly Pas de Deux

30th June 2009:
Wow. This story made me cry!
There is so much emotion in it, its incredible.
I love your style of writing.
I think I'm speechless right now.
I can't wait to read your other stories!

Author's Response: Oh my goodness! Wow. :o Glad to hear you had such an emotional reaction to the story. That\\\'s a huge compliment to an author. Ahaha, I\\\'m speechless, too! What a wonderful review! Thank you a hundred times! *bear hug*

 Report Review

Review #7, by Violet Gryfindor Pas de Deux

3rd June 2009:
Wow, this is extremely sad and touching. I've never read a story about their deaths from the first person, and with it, you were able to heighten the emotion of the story. I didn't see the battle taking place, but rather the things going through Remus's mind, and I think that was more powerful - seeing inside a character's head provides a very different vision of what the battle was like.

I really liked the sense of vagueness, how Remus passed back and forth between memories, ghosts, and the harsh reality. My favourite part, however, was when he narrated his own death. It's horrible to have that as the favourite bit, but the way you wrote it was amazing. He fell into death so peacefully, yet you still convey his suffering at leaving Tonks's death unavenged and Teddy alone in the world. That part of the story was definitely the most powerful - a perfect way of ending it.

There was one aspect of this story that I didn't like so much, and that was the overuse of "my love" or "my angel". Once or twice, it would have been okay, but repeated as it was, it over-romanticized things and didn't really suit Remus's character. Other than that, I really thought you did an excellent job with this story. :)

Author's Response: Oh my goodness! *blushes* Thank you so much! Let me just start by saying that you are one of my favorite authors on this site, so such a complimentary review from you is quite an honor. :)

I'm really glad you enjoyed the back-and-forth nature of this one-shot. I was afraid it would be a bit confusing, so I'm glad you were able to navigate your way through, and enjoy it as well. :) And I'm actually relieved to hear that his death was your favorite part. I've never handled a character's death so intimately before, so to hear that I pulled it off is wonderful!

Also, thanks for pointing out my overuse of "my love" and "my angel." Now that I think about it, I did use them quite often. I'll definitely go back and edit a few of them out as soon as I can.

Once again, thank you so much for stopping by with a review! :) I'm so thrilled that you enjoyed it as much as you did!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Skizzy Pas de Deux

9th March 2009:
Uhmm. That was proberly the most well written, best published and absolutely the most wonderful story I have ever read.You should definatly show this to someone really you should!!You are definatly talented, if i could write like that I would be showing the world my friend!!!

Since you seem to like challenges I have two for you!!
Write a novel or one shot on Hermione/Severus.I know it will be great by reading what I have!!

Or if that is not your liking , then another Remus/Nymphadora novel!!
Message me if you want to!

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much for the compliment. (: I'm flattered! I'm hoping to make a career out of my writing, and I'd be so lucky to have the world reading my work. Haha.

Hm, I'm not a huge fan of Severus. Never have been, and I'm afraid first impressions are hard to shake. I have used the Remus/Nymphadora ship in a novel of mine, actually. It's not centered on them, but if you'd like to take a look, it's called 'Unrighteous.' (:

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Firenze Fan Pas de Deux

23rd January 2009:
I saw this story recommended by two people on the forums, and had to read it. Let me just say, it was beautiful. Some fics that show a character's death are sickeningly sappy, but this wasn't. The shock and grief is so realistic - not having him just collapse onto his knees in the middle of battle, struggling to remember and hoping that he might not.

Remus's meories were sweet yet heartbreaking, and his thoughts and actions made me feel like I could be inside his head. I swear, though, I didn't cry! Sort of. I couldn't help but tear up, though that doesn't usually happen...

I loved how you didn't just center around Remus's thoughts for Tonks, bringing in his son, Teddy, was significant as well as Harry and his old friends, who we know were important to him. Wonderful one-shot, well-done with an appropriate metaphor of the pas de deux. 10/10! Now excuse me while I go get a tissue...

Author's Response: I'm so thankful for those recommendations, and that you decided to come take a look! *blushes* It's so nice to know that my writing is being read and enjoyed.

I'm glad you could really understand what Remus was thinking and feeling. I tried to make it as personal as I could, showing both his memories and his thoughts as he reviewed them. It was hard to write, as it was emotional to delve into his head like that, but it was so worth it.

Thank you, thank you! You've flattered me with your kind words. *hands tissue*


 Report Review

Review #10, by fatality Pas de Deux

13th January 2009:
I am-- That was-- I can't...

perfection.

Author's Response: I love this review! Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #11, by A_Johnson49 Pas de Deux

11th January 2009:
Absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking. I cried when he mentioned Teddy...

I love the way your writing flows. The word choice and structure just makes this story so poetic and conveys the emotion behind each phrase.

Excellent story.

Author's Response: You have no idea how much your words mean to me. This review put me in such a wonderful mood. (: Thank you so, so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Pas de Deux

10th January 2009:
Oh, wow. That was absolutely beautiful. I loved it! The words you used to describe it all were stunning, and it was so enchanting.

Above all, I'm really glad you mentioned him regretting not being able to be Teddy's father. Because at one point, when he looked like he was about to give up and die, I was saying "Stop being selfish! You have a son! Fight for him!" because spouses love each other, but they love their children too, and some writers forget that. So I'm glad you mentioned Teddy.

That was really great! I loved it! Definite 10/10! It was absolutely perfect, don't change it. ;-)

~long_live_luna_bellatrix

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! I just had to add that bit about Teddy, because the initial piece that this one-shot was (sort of) based off of was centered around Remus dealing with the fact that he wouldn't be able to be a father to his son, and the fact that Tonks had died was secondary. I obviously changed that around, but I felt that I had to add something about his son, because that is a big deal, too.

There I go rambling again. (: Thanks again for the review. I really appreciate it.


 Report Review

Review #13, by TwilightPrincess Pas de Deux

10th January 2009:
Before I begin the review, I would first like to apologize for the delay. I hate to blame it on real life because I'm sure you hear that excuse all the time, but real life /is/ a bitch sometimes.

Now. I love foreign languages more than anything else in the world. And I applaud you for using one in the title of your story. However, I do not speak French or Latin or whatever language that is. All I know is that it's not English so when I click on this story, I don't know what I'm reading. I don't know what emotion is supposed to trigger inside me when I read your title. I don't know the mood of the story. Titles are important, I'm sure you know, and they are the most important for me as a reader. Please do not let my comments on your title affect your opinion on it. Do not change it if you don't want to. I'm just talking.

That is just about the only criticism I have for this story. That and, at the end, when you name the faces that he sees when he is dying, you need another 's' after the apostrophe in Sirius' and James'.

Other than that, this story is absolutely beautiful. You made a death-filled, treacherous battle into a beautiful scene. I loved the incorporation of the quote at the beginning as well. That quote was fantastic and at first I was a little questioning as to how you would incorporate that into a story like this, but you did so seamlessly. I love the incorporation of the memory of Tonks dying laced between the thoughts of Remus. It was like a prayer to her. It was interesting that you chose to use the words 'remembrance' with that, because I would have thought he would want to forget. He did, actually, but he couldn't. That goes beyond my thinking and therefore is great writing.

Did I cry? Almost. I would say yes but I'm heartless. And because in the middle of it (and I mean smack dab in the middle) the telephone rang. I wanted to launch it at a wall for interrupting me.

I wanted to comment on the voice you chose for Remus. When I first started reading, I thought it was awfully sophisticated for writing him in first person. If it were in third person, I would have been more accepting of it. But I suppose we don't really know what voice Remus thinks in so then I was okay. And then after about a paragraph or two, I was completely enthralled. When I read this, I thought I was reading some sort of lullaby. You string words together like poetry and you choose the most magnificent ones. Sometimes I had to stop and just marvel at your great diction and placement.

Confusing? No. And even if I thought it were, do not change the way you write so that other people can understand it. As soon as I read that you were concerned that it was 'too confusing' I knew that I was going to read something amazing. When you say, "It might be too confusing" or anything of the like, it means that you are above the other writers who read your work. It means that you are more understanding of how the English language can be bent and manipulated. Do not ever sacrifice that for someone who is not up to par with you. In my eyes, if someone tells you this is too confusing, take it as a compliment. Not because you can dupe people, but because it was so well done that it went over people's heads.

You are a gifted writer. I enjoyed reading this very much and you should be proud of this, and of all your works. Please remember what I said about your personal writing voice. I will be more than happy to read and review something else of yours if you choose to post in my thread again.

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Oh my. What a wonderful review! (: I am absolutely beaming right now. This is by far one of the best reviews I have ever received, and I am so grateful!

I had never really thought about the title being confusing, but now that you mention it, you are definitely right. I knew what it meant, but I completely forgot that others might not know what it meant. I feel rather stupid now. It's French for a dance that is meant for a pair, by the way. I think I'll add on to my A/N, and put the definition in there at the very beginning. Thanks for bringing that up! I'll also add an 's' to Sirius' and James'. I've always been confused as to whether or not you add another s when the name ends in s. Heh.

I don't really know how to respond to your compliments - I am so blown away that you thought so highly of this piece. (: I really didn't know how anyone would respond to this piece, because the idea was a bit different and I wrote it with a certain goal in mind, that I wasn't sure I would be able to convey to others. Your words are so reassuring, and I am thrilled you enjoyed it so much. Darn that phone interrupting your reading. (:

As for the voice - I agree that it is rather sophisticated, even for Remus. I struggled between choosing between first and third person, but I wanted it to be very personal. And the memories came out in first person, so I wanted everything to be smooth and to fit together, and I just went for first person. I'm glad that my choice grew on you. (: And I'm also thrilled that you appreciated my word choice. I'm such a perfectionist when it comes to stringing words together, haha.

Thanks again for such a wonderful review! It made my week, I have to say. (: I'll definitely be back to request again, probably when I next update Requiem for the Nameless. I love your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #14, by rachm34 Pas de Deux

8th January 2009:
oh my gosh, this was a lovely oneshot. It made me feel really sad. You did a beautiful job portraying the emotions and I loved your Remus. This was wonderful. I wish you all the best in your challenge by the way also. I loved the descriptions and how we were filled with nearly an almost constant stream of Remus' thoughts. There were one or two sentences up at the beginning which were uncomplete, but i forget which ones those are. I'm sorry for leaving such a short review. Amazing!

Author's Response: Thank you! (: Your words mean so much. I'll definitely look over the beginning again to see if I can fix those sentences you mentioned. Thanks again!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login