15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pretense Of Perfection The Waning of Love

7th July 2014:
Oh boy, you are breaking my heart here today. what a sad, tender, touching, and beautiful little story. Another one that brought tears to my eyes with less than a thousand words.

I can't help but smile as he remembers their life together, it almost reminds me of the last scene in the Notebook. It was so touching and heartfelt, and somehow managed to showcase their lives and love together in such a simple and poignant way.

It's so heartbreaking to think that after all this time they still feel the same way about each other, and he is going to have to live without her. It's almost cruel how the person you love the most in the world can be ripped away from you in an instant, although rather than being bitter, the MC seems to be happy with the time he got to spend with her.

You definitely have a way with words.

--- House Cup 2014 Review---
Pretense Of Perfection, Gryffindor

Author's Response: I think I had that movie in the back of my head as I wrote this, it worked as an inspiration! So that doesn't surprise me, hihi. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ohtasha The Waning of Love

30th August 2011:
Beautiful, emotive and stunningly fragile; another lovely fic!

Author's Response: aw, thank you so, so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by linerva thetis Jean mcgonagall The Waning of Love

9th December 2009:
this is a good one, i never thought that it would be so romantic,

the boy and the girl underneath the rain and all of it and etc.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rettopyrrah The Waning of Love

9th June 2009:
Oh gosh.

That was so... wow. I don't know what else to say.

I don't usually read fictions in this style of writing, but I was curious and I'm now happy I was curious.

10/10

Author's Response: Being curious is amazing - I just think about everything that I've found out by being curious (well, good and bad, but always for the better in the end). Anyway, end of rambling. I'm so happy you liked this (: Thank you so much for reviewing, this totally made my day.

 Report Review

Review #5, by extant The Waning of Love

19th March 2009:
Really, really lovely :) The fact that this story could relate to anyone is just perfect, and it's a stunningly powerful story whilst only being 800 words. Well done! xD

Author's Response: that means a lot to me. thank you so much, extant!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Violet Gryfindor The Waning of Love

12th March 2009:
This is wonderful! :D I was looking for a nice little story to read, and in choosing this, I got something better: beautiful words to get drunk upon. Beautiful describes everything about it. The words flow perfectly, through life and love and death.

It's so perfect that it's left me speechless. Cheers, Steph. You've managed another brilliant piece of writing. ^_^

Author's Response: Susan! It's so nice to hear from you again ^_^ And thank you very much for this heart-warming review. Your words mean a lot to me!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Magic_Marker The Waning of Love

30th January 2009:
I loved this! It was a perfect encapsulation of a moment, a life and a love. It could just as easily have been a non-fanfic, though, with the subtraction of the few HP references. Which is a good thing; the best stories are universal. Very romantic in a simultaneously humble and epic scale.

Author's Response: *is speechless* Thank you very much for this heartwarming review. It made my day!

 Report Review

Review #8, by SiriuslyCrack The Waning of Love

24th January 2009:
Wow, Steph, that was incredibly captivating. You write so well, it's a crime :P It's really innocent and sweet and beautifully written. And I'm also glad that you kept these characters unnamed. It made the story all the more simple and mysterious. However, I have to say, I did try to imagine who the two characters are. Since I just recently read a Scorose, my brain involuntarily conjured up their images while reading. But they could be anybody else, I guess. My second guess would be James/Lily or Sirius/Lily. Again, well written, Steph. Ily.

Author's Response: *faints* thank you! And you're the first person thus far to think of Scorpius and Rose as the characters in the story, and as it is, those are the ones I had in mind too (I was also in a Scorose phase when I wrote this ^_^) But the beauty of unnamed characters is that they can be whoever we want them to be. And that's always nice. Again, thank you, dearest!

 Report Review

Review #9, by confusedlover The Waning of Love

22nd January 2009:
very lovely.

your writing was absolutely amazing. i was honestly mesmerized while reading through this short little one-shot and can say that it is one of the best that i have ever set my eyes on. not too many authors can capture a reader completely in just over eight hundred words, but i truly believe that you captured me in this story and then let me down suddenly when the end finally hit me straight in the face.

overall, i thought that you did a beautiful job with writing this story and have no criticism whatsoever. i do not know who the pairing is meant to be, but i really do not need to know for a story like this. you are right, it is a joy to take in what reader speculate.

Author's Response: I'm honestly speechless. But... thank you, very much. Your words mean a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #10, by datbenik513 The Waning of Love

21st January 2009:
My dearest Stephanie,
I hate you for making me cry. It was so utterly powerful, astonishingly emotional, heart-wrenchingly beautiful.
I love you for making me cry. How can I ever thank you for this?
Cheers,
Zoltan

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much Zoltan! It means a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by but its true The Waning of Love

20th January 2009:
My God, that was captivating. The writing just flowed and flowed. I found myself reading some parts really fast and slowing down. It was like the writing had me reading on some sort of melody. It was short but well written enough to make up for it. The last paragraph, I must say, was my favourite. It just embodies the feeling of everlasting love.
Oddly enough the couple I had in mind when reading this was James and Lily. Something about the point of view had me thinking Marauders and the wisdom embedded in the writing had me thinking of James. And I just cannot imagine James with anyone other than Lily. Who did you have in mind when writing it?
This one shot was amazing. There really are no words to describe how beautiful it is. The writing is inspiring and I'm desperate to read more of your work. The only criticism I might offer is the use of brackets was distracting. If you incorporated the words with commas or another sentence I think the writing would only be stronger. Keep writing.
-Taylor

Author's Response: First of all, thanks for letting me know about the brackets - I'll look into it (...I just love brackets!) Second of all - wow! This review totally made my day and I'm not sure how to give it justice. But I'll try. The couple I had in mind was actually a next-gen couple, namely Rose/Scorpius. I wrote this while I was in this Scorose phase, and then I laid eyes on the banner for this fic and I began writing the story. But James and Lily is just as plausible! That's exactly why I didn't want to name the characters :) Overall, thanks so much for this incredible review and I really hope you'll like my other stories too ^_^

 Report Review

Review #12, by momotwins The Waning of Love

12th January 2009:
That was just beautiful! I was going to guess Frank and Alice until the end, I'm thinking not though... Well, it doesn't even matter who it is, the emotion transcends ships and couples. The fact that you can write this much emotion into two nameless, faceless characters, and really have your readers connect with them, is wildly impressive. Well done. Very well done.

Author's Response: Well, in an alternate universe, why not? I like the idea of it being them. I had a next-gen couple in mind, personally, but it could be anyone, and I really like to write these kind of stories, with this ambiguous feeling. Anyway, thanks a hundred times over again. You're far too kind *blush*

 Report Review

Review #13, by Unwritten Curse The Waning of Love

6th January 2009:
Beautiful. I love the style you've used for this one-shot. It's extravagant, yet simple at the same time.

I'm so glad that you've kept these characters nameless. It could be anyone here, and the added intrigue of mystery just adds to the effect. I'd like to say that it's Ron/Hermione, but I'm just not sure. I don't really care to know, though. I prefer being left with a little something to ponder.

Great work. 10/10 (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The reason for leaving them nameless was, because, as you say, they could be anyone and it's always nice to think and wonder and to allow the readers to do that. It can say how different readers (and people in general!) look upon things differently. Anyways, I'm rambling. Again, thank you ^_^

 Report Review

Review #14, by arghyoudrewy The Waning of Love

5th January 2009:
wow i really like this story its sweet and innocent :) great job

Author's Response: Thank you! =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Mrs Regulus Black The Waning of Love

5th January 2009:
Wow.
That was beautifully written.
Hmmm I wonder who the couple is? I don/t know why but I think it has a rather Sirius-y feel. Well tbf I think everything has a Sirius-y feeling lol.
Intresting to read, a sad but at the same time fluffy one shot. I think you did very well.
Just out of curiosity who did you have in mind when you wrote this little gem ?
Mrs Regulus Black

Author's Response: Thank you! It was actually... *hopes nobody reads the reviews/responses before reading the story*... Rose/Scorpius. I've been reading a lot of fanfiction about them lately and I just had them in mind. But, to be sure, they can be anyone and Sirius is a nice guess, only it'd be more of an alternate universe, sadly =( Thanks for this great review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login