Reading Reviews for Bitter
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tinkerbell01 Forgetting

24th December 2009:
RIN!

OMG! This was the most heart wrenching one-shot! The pain that Hermione feels for Ron dating Lavender is just heart breaking. I always wondered what was going through her mind when she saw him snogging her and now we've got the answer.

You've done an absolutely brilliant job with this one-shot dear and I am in love with it. You've got the emotion for Hermione's feelings towards Ron down pat. I feel like jumping in the story and giving her a great big hug. :(

Wonderful job, hun!


xx

Author's Response: Haha, this is unexpected! Boy, I wrote this a long time ago. It's one of those stories that you wish you could delete because you think you could have done better, but then force yourself to leave it up because it shows your progress. Anyway, thank you so much for your lovely review, dear. I really appreciate it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by RonsGirlFriday Forgetting

30th March 2009:
I really like this because I think you really get Hermione's character right. A lot of people don't understand her, I think, and she's difficult to write for that reason, especially from her POV. But I think you got her, especially with great tidbits like, "It would be stupid to freeze out here, when it could be easily avoided" (I think that was one of my favorite lines here).

You mix a huge amount of emotion with a huge amount of logic, plus a little bit of nurturing and a little bit of irate sea monster, and you get the complexity that is Hermione.

The ending was very sad, but also very realistic (stupid Ron - it's so like him).

Author's Response: Gosh, thank you so much. I was a little nervous about this one-shot, just because I didn't think I got her character entirely down, but I'm really glad you thought I did a pretty good job. It was written for a challenge, and the quote given to me was quite Hermione-ish, so it was a challenge for sure. I'm very, very glad you enjoyed it though. Thank you so much for your lovely review(s)!
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #3, by shaunazombie Forgetting

23rd January 2009:
Rinni, that was really sad! Seriously, I got quite teary. Again, I'm sorry it took me so long to get around to this, but you did a fantastic job, my dear, I promise. :] I'm very glad you decided to join my challenge, and it was well worth the wait.

The emotions were brilliant. I know I've said it before, but you're great at letting the reader know [i]exactly[/i] how your characters feel, whether it's joy, or as in this case, sorrow. I really felt what Hermione was feeling, and she's generally not one of my favorite people, but she had my complete sympathies in this one-shot.

I liked the small details you added, like how the lake was where she escaped too, and having Ron show up was perfect. I really wished he had gone after her, too, but then he is Ron, so I guess that was a bit much to ask for. :] You placed the secret perfectly, I like how she said it instead of thought, it was a very nice touch.

You are a very talented writer, my dear, and I can't wait to see what you'll do next. Again, thank you very much for entering my contest. I'm extending the date, but I'll late you know as soon as the winners are posted!

Shauna. :]

Author's Response: Hey, it was your challenge that inspired me to write this! XD I'm glad you liked the descriptions and emotions, because those were some key elements here. Thank you so, so much, Shauna! Your reviews mean so much to me.

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #4, by WeasleyTwins Forgetting

18th January 2009:
Rin! *hugtackle* I'm so, so sorry that it has taken me ages to get here!

Hmm, overall opinion? Freakin' awesome! I've always pictured Hermione to be very resilient against problems concerning the heart, but this, this was beautiful. You captured her bitter anguish perfectly. The description was just too good. I do wish you had elaborated a bit more her favorite hiding spot and what it did or did not do for her. I say this because you described it so eloquently that I wanted to know more :P

Stunning, 10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Haha, Twinsy, I'm so glad that you liked it! You see, this is, like, the fourth draft of this fic, and I'm still not happy with the outcome... I'm hoping to go over it again soon to smooth out all the rough patches. :P Anyway... That's so much for your review! *tackle*
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #5, by momotwins Forgetting

14th January 2009:
Great job! I could really feel Hermione's pain. Poor girl :( Your descriptions are very vivid.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! Descriptions was something I tried to focus on here, so I'm glad that came out well. :) Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by epsilon Forgetting

14th January 2009:
Good one, i need to do a break up, and i needed some inspiration and this seems to be it but i to do more because mine is Harry and Ginny who are engaged and a year off getting married well by that point it would probably be like 6 to 7 months off, then i need to write her reaction when Hermione and Harry are found out... a lot of emotion... and i also need to have enough of a driver to break them up when they are kind of bringing up Teddy Lopin with Andromeda, sorry but i need to b* about this somewhere

but this is basically one of the most emotion moments i have seen of HPFF so i have got to times that by 10 and its not going to be easy, not by a long shoot.

But enough b*ing thanks for the inspiration

Author's Response: You're welcome! I'm glad you found your inspiration!

 Report Review

Review #7, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Forgetting

12th January 2009:
Oh, goodness that was great! It was so sad, but good. Hermione's emotions are well written, and the plot was good. I loved how she wanted him, but knew she couldn't have him, and that was tearing her apart. . . Nice job!

My only suggestion would be to try and add to it a bit. There are plenty of emotions you didn't write out, or explain fully, like how she felt she would die of despair, how she'd done so much for him. . . I don't know. I just felt there was a little bit missing.

Otherwise, nice work!

~long_live_luna_bellatrix

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for your lovely review! And thanks for the suggestion; I will be sure to look into that. :) I'm really pleased that you liked it so much.

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #8, by marinahill Forgetting

11th January 2009:
Hi Erin :) Here as promised.

This was really beautiful! You had lots of wonderful imagery here, and I felt every emotion hermione did as if they were my own. Your descriptions, likewise, were excellent. I actually feel really cold now! I really loved the concept of Hermione running down to the lake when things got too much, it was realistic.

I had half hoped that Ron was going to turn up, and he did :) I'm romantic like that. Their interaction was sweet, and I loved the quote you were give and how you used it.

Fantastic work, a touching piece :)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks Marina. I'm so glad you liked it. The quote was a little hard to fit in there, but I think it turned out OK in the end. :) Thanks again for your lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by kells<3 Forgetting

10th January 2009:
beautiful !
it made me cry.
so good.
10/10

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so, so much! I'm sorry it made you cry. :) I'm really glad you liked it. Thanks again!

- Rin


 Report Review

Review #10, by Shlesha Forgetting

10th January 2009:
Aw, that was so sad. Do they end up together? It's a cliffhanger :(
That was a great story.

Author's Response: Haha, yes, it is a cliffhanger. :) Well, it's kind of just a missing moment from the 6th HP book, so I guess you could just read the books and see if they end up together or not. ;)

Thanks so, so much for reviewing. I really appreciate it.
- Rin


 Report Review

Review #11, by Lily Roselyn Forgetting

8th January 2009:
Alright, Rin! Hermione's done really well, and the emotions are completely bang-on.

I loved it ; )

Cheers,

Rosie

(PS, I love the banner, too)

Author's Response: Haha, thanks Soph. I'm glad you liked it. :) I was beginning to think that Hermione wasn't characterized very well, but maybe I'm wrong. Thanks again!
- Rin


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login