Reading Reviews for To Understand Another
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AntigoneBlack Feelings

3rd August 2009:
This is a very interesting one-shot. I think that it was a great creative outlet, and gave a different perspective on Luna, which I love. I think that no one shot can be pointless. I think that if you wrote it, there must be a reason that you did. These things don't write themselves. It's very interseting to plan with the idea of not having a sense of touch. I have heard of people not being able to feel pain (Since pain is connected with certain nuerons in the brain) but I have never heard of no sense of touch at all. Whether this condition exists or not, it's very interesting. Thank you for bringing this to me.

Author's Response: Thank you! It definitely was an experiment. I've heard of that too and I was kind of going off that, but just a little more extreme. I'm really glad you enjoyed this! Thank you so much for your lovely review ^_^

 Report Review

Review #2, by miss_ravenclaw09 Feelings

31st May 2009:
Here's the review you asked for! :)

Great, great, great story! I have never really given much thought to not having a sense, and this is probably one of the better ways to describe not being able to feel, which is one of our most important senses ever. I admit, when I first read the summary, I was like "how is this going to work?" but you made it happen. :)

I think my favorite part (as is everyone else's) is the ending with Harry and Luna. You get a real sense of their friendship when they smile together after the last comment, and it really is heartwarming. It made me smile and giggle like a schoolgirl just a little. :P

You are a fantastic writer, and I really enjoyed this story (as you suggested I should). I'll have to go onto your author page and look at some more of your stuff, because I'm sure it's just as good as this one-shot! :D And don't forget, if you need another review anywhere, don't hesitate to ask!

Miss_Ravenclaw09

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad I surprised you. Pleasantly, I hope =)

XD I was kind of giggly myself when I wrote that part.

Thank you! I'm really pleased that you enjoy my writing style. If I may, this isn't one of the best pieces I've written, but I'm glad you enjoyed it all the same. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Starved4Romance Feelings

1st May 2009:
Woah. This is a perfect story. I've never thought of Luna as afflicted with anything. Hmm. CIPA Luna. Woah... This is an extremly realistic story. *sings* I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you! For the idea I had, Luna was really the only character that would fit, and I figured it would be a unique look into why she is so weird. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by subrosa Feelings

22nd April 2009:
I really liked this. It was a beautiful, thoughtful concept that you made believable for Luna. I could imagine that kind of thing being what made her so odd to other people. Her unusual nature was kind of understated, but still there in your writing so it wasn't as if she were OOC. The beginning of this was a little slow for me to get into, but I enjoyed the fact that before you included Luna's name I wouldn't have guessed she was the main character if I hadn't looked at the banner for this fic. Overall, I think you did a really nice job. Especially at the end with Harry.

The only thing I'd say to work on is at the end with Luna's characterization. She doesn't seem nearly as airy as she usually is with her thoughts. I can't see her as someone who would even think about another person as a slob for a second. Great job, though! :)

~Subroa

Author's Response: Thank you! I didn't intend for this to be a look into the reason why Luna is the way she is - I just couldn't imagine anyone else to fit this person with no sense of touch. I agree with you about the characterization of Luna. If I may, she is terribly difficult to write, so I'll be practicing. I'm determined to get her right.

Thank you so much ^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by DracoFerret11 Feelings

15th January 2009:
Hey there, DarkRose from the forums, here to review.

I enjoyed your story, though it was very strange.

It's so hard to imagine NOT feeling, you portrayed it well.

All your characterization was good too. :]

Nice descriptions.

Good job! :D

--DracoFerret11/DarkRose

Author's Response: Thank you. I know it was strange and thank you for putting up with it. Thanks so much for your review! I really appreciate your comments ^_^

 Report Review

Review #6, by WeasleyTwins Feelings

11th January 2009:
Ilia! Hello, hello! I'm dreadfully sorry that it has taken me ages to get here! Life's hectic, as usual.

Anyways, I'm just completely in awe. Completely. I tell you time and time again that your writing is amazing, the description is phenomenal, and the characterization is perfect. I never expect anything less than perfection from you. Ilia, I have never been disappointed by your writing because it is just pure brilliance.

This portrayal of Luna almost seemed canon. It makes one wonder if that's why Luna always acted oddly and looked dreamy. The ending scene with Harry made me want to weep. I have no clue why. The depth of the scene and the emotions were almost too much for me to handle. Haha, I know I'm crazy :P

I'm honestly running out of compliments to give you. Soon I'm going to have to pull out my thesaurus and look up dozens of synonyms for amazing :]

Beautiful, 10/10

Shelby

Author's Response: Oh, Mommy. You are way too nice to me. Do you realize that? I cannot thank you enough, honestly. You know, it was a last-minute decision to make the main character Luna. At first I was just going to have it be a random OC, but then for some reason Luna popped into my head and I thought it would be cool for people to see this side of her. I only put the AU label on it because we don't know for absolute that she cannot feel. But I thought that would be kinda cool. =P

Thank you so much. You're so awesome. Too awesome ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by ForgottenFace Feelings

8th January 2009:
Hi Ilia =)

You know that is actually a condition/disorder, when you can't feel anything. Have you seen that episode of House? LOL

I love the fact that's Luna who has it. It explains why she stares at people with dreamy eyes. I wouldn't be surprised if that was cannon LOL She was in character, in the way she talked with Harry and when she was with the unicorn, she loves magical animals, and they never seem to fear her.

Harry still patient with her LOL

I really liked it ;)

ForgottenFace

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! Yes, I do know it's a real disorder, but no, I haven't seen that episode of house =P

It was a last minute decision to make it Luna, but I had the same thought; there had to be a reason why she was so dreamy all the time. Thank you so much for reviewing. I really appreciate your comments ^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by Femme_Fatale Feelings

7th January 2009:
Oh I loved it of course. Beautiful description and the fact that both Harry and Luna were kind of experiencing the same thing- just like with the thestrals- was wonderful. I also like the fact that you used Luna as the main character, she strikes me as someone who is thick skinned or not very sensitive only because people think she's bit off.

But all in all this was a rathjer enjoyable read. Great Job
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for recognizing the similarities with the thestrals. I was scared that no one would get it XD Thank you so much for the review. I really appreciate it ^_^

 Report Review

Review #9, by harrylilyjames Feelings

7th January 2009:
I don't get it, so Luna can't feel anything?
But near the end of the story, she says. ďThatís impossible. Iím the only one who canít feel. Iím different. Iím strange. How can you not feel it?Ē but wouldn't Harry ask a question about what Luna is talking about? and he wouldn't ask 'I don't. Do you?' as she has already said it beforehand that she doesnt. but i liked reading it, it was was different. =]

Author's Response: That's correct. Luna can't feel anything. I wrote Harry's ... lack of reaction because I wanted to show that he didn't want to be a jerk and be like WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT YOU'RE CRAZY! I kind of saw it as an adult talking to a young child. I had him ask, "Do you?" because Harry wanted her to see what it's like to be asked the same question she was asking him. I'm sorry you were confused but thank you for reviewing. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #10, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Feelings

6th January 2009:
Wow! That was really, really cool. I loved it! It was so unique, and you wrote it SO perfectly. I feel like I say this for all your stories, but, well, you're a good writer. It was such an interesting read, I LOVED it. I can't seem to say anything else. Luna and Harry were written beautifully. 10/10!!! Nice work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I wasn't quite sure what you wanted in that challenge and I wanted to do touch because you said it was the hardest =P Thank you so much! I'm elated that you liked it. ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login