10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Pretense Of Perfection The Waiting Room

7th July 2014:
This was such a touching a sad story. I always love reading anything about the Black sisters, and I think you accurately portrayed Andromeda's character, as well as possibly her own outlook on life.

It seems as though a lot of things have been rather bleak for her, and you do justice to that in the end when she hopes that her time will come soon so she can rejoin her husband and daughter. My heart literally broke for this woman in less than a thousand words, and I may or may not have tears in my eyes.

Amazing.

--- House Cup 2014---
Pretense Of Perfection, Gryffindor

Author's Response: So sorry for this late reply, I don't come here often enough, imagine my happy face when I had 5 reviews waiting for me :D

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review, and what a review :') Thank youuu!


 Report Review

Review #2, by purplepotter77 The Waiting Room

14th July 2013:
I love stories about the Black sisters, and I really enjoyed reading this one! I've only read a few stories about Andromeda before, and it was very interesting to read about her, since she's one of the Blacks that got disowned.

I loved how you used the theme of waiting to connect all the important parts of Andromeda's life. The last sentence really brought the story full circle back to the beginning. For the first four parts, the things that she's waiting for do eventually come, but for the last part, it isn't going to come, and that makes it so, so sad.

Even though we don't know much about Andromeda since she's a rather obscure character in the books, you brought her to life and gave her a personality and characterization. I also love how you've written her relationship with both Bellatrix and Narcissa and her relationship with her husband.

All in all, wonderful job, this was a really lovely fic!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

Author's Response: thanks so much! really means a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Misty_Rey The Waiting Room

23rd August 2009:
Exquisite.

Seriously, if I had only one word to describe this little one-shot, it's exquisite. This is mainly because of the theme of eternally waiting, which I love. It's such a common, simple concept, waiting for something, anything to happen and you took this theme and crafted a beautiful piece. Choosing to feature Andromeda to highlight the theme was perfect. I really liked that you focused on the grey areas of her character than saying out right, "Oh, she was the Black sister that saw the light, is good at heart blah blah blah." By doing this, it allowed for the reader to decide for themselves the content of her character and leaving some room for ambiguity. My favourite parts would have to be i. and ii. The first part was a very well-written but simple way of establishing the theme without smothering the reader too much. The second part, on the other hand, really struck a cord with me, especially the single line sentences about her giving up at specific ages. I can't help but think that if Bellatrix had paid more attention to Andromeda, maybe even groomed her, she would have turned out much differently in the HP series. I also think I really felt it because it's such a universal feeling, waiting for something from someone and then coming to the realization that that something is never going to happen and giving up on it. Did that make sense? Hopefully xP.

You really are at your best when you craft these kinds of one-shots, short but packed with emotional intensity that the reader can't help but feel affected. Once again, an exquisite piece, Stephanie! 10/10

*hugs*
Misty

Author's Response: You make a lot of sense! I'm glad you think so; that if Bella had simply been there for Andromeda, she might have turned out different, might have influenced her from a very early age. I like to believe that in many ways, she was treated differently from her other sister's by her parents as well, and that this, on some psychological level, contributed to the person I imagine she eventually became. Anyways, I'm rambling. I'm very, very happy you liked this piece - it was a spur of the moment fic, and those can either turn out really good or really bad =p Thank you so much for reviewing, Misty. As always, your reviews make my day!

 Report Review

Review #4, by timeturner The Waiting Room

8th August 2009:
This was an quick, interesting read. It moved so effortlessly from one snapshot to the other than I could almost envision this as a movie trailer, if that makes sense.

I honestly don't know a great deal about this character so I don't feel comfortable trying to give out blanket opinions on characterization. However, I can say that the clips you've chosen are seamless and paint a whole picture of a person struggling with many different time periods in their life. The background theme of waiting helps consolidate the entire piece together which works well and provides a nice avenue for you to reach into her mind and you've done it exceptionally well.

I particularly like the way you have her waiting for something that she know won't occur. The earlier clips provide a good indication of what she expects to occur/knows will occur and you balance that well at the end of the story where she continues to wait even knowing she'll face disappointment again. Very nice work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this insightful review, timeturner. It means a lot (:

 Report Review

Review #5, by datbenik513 The Waiting Room

20th February 2009:
Oh.My.God. It's utterly dangerous to enter your fandom, my dearest Steph, I know I will be days under the impression.

This one was simple, yet extremely powerful. The whole life of Andromeda Black summarized in less than thousand words. The tragedy of Narcissa and Bellatrix... her love with Ted... then the pain of her soul ripped into pieces as she learns Ted and Dora are gone forever.

Simply briliant, with a kicker last sentence.

10/10

Hugs,

Zoltan

Author's Response: Aww, Zoltan. I'm very glad you liked this - it was a spur of the moment fic, but I was happy with the way it turned out, so it means a lot to me that it's liked (: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Meeeeera The Waiting Room

22nd January 2009:
That was amazing, it really was. You've taken a character we don't know very much about AS a character, only as a relative of others, and given her personality, compassion and a very real quality. I like that she looked up to her older sister, but when she realised that there was something wrong, she tried to help the younger one take the right path. Her compassion is demonstrated really well in that part.

As for the Ted and Tonks part, that was very sad, and it's good that it was written simply, so as not to overwhelm the actual emotion if the event. Too much flowery stuff can do that. A lovely story :).

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm happy you liked this ^_^

 Report Review

Review #7, by momotwins The Waiting Room

11th January 2009:
Holy crap, that was so good! I thought I would cry at the end, and if I hadn't had to stop reading for a mo to yell at my kids, I probably would have (darn kids). Incredible writing. So evocative, so emotional, so beautiful.

Since you asked:
"ignored to give her younger sibling" - in vignette ii - I think you meant "ignored her" or "never gave her" but as is it's both grammatically incorrect and makes no sense.

I love this. I don't find a lot of really good Andromeda, but you really dug deep into her psyche and came up with a wonderful piece of writing. Great job.

Author's Response: I changed the sentence you pointed out - thanks very much! All in all, I'm glad you liked this piece. I really like writing Andromeda, and I was happy with the outcome of this story. Again, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Lyn Midnight The Waiting Room

2nd January 2009:
Oh, I love the waiting room idea, Steph! It seems kind of desperate, waiting all our lives, but you've managed to convey that it is also with anticipation, and hope that we live and this makes us happy. This story is very sweet, and I think it is an excellent portrait of Dromeda, albeit short. I spotted one typo--knowing that her sister had reach her point of no return-- had reached. And that's it. Keep writing. I love reading about the Black sisters. :)

Author's Response: Fixed the typo, thanks *hugs* And yes, it does seem like that, but... well, as long as one lives while one can. Anyways, I'm happy to hear that you liked this. I loved writing it, however sad it made me.

 Report Review

Review #9, by ginny321 The Waiting Room

31st December 2008:
Wow, that was really powerful.
I've always found Andromeda a very interesting character, because of her past and family. She's suffered a lot, and I think this story really reflects how painful and sad her life really was. It also focussed on some of the happy points of her life, so I think that was beautiful also.
Great job!
10/10.

Author's Response: Thanks, that means a lot to me. Yes, I wanted to focus my attention on both sides, because as much as she suffered, she had happiness in her life. And it's important never to see past that, I think =)

 Report Review

Review #10, by redherring The Waiting Room

29th December 2008:
Oh, the ending was so sad! *sniffles*

Anyway, it was great, I really liked it. The 'waiting' theme was done really well, and the characterisations of them all were really good as well.

Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot redherring! ^-^

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login