24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ginger Lust Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

1st January 2012:
Hi... Guess what? It's the first of Jan. today...Happy New Year!!! I really liked your story. Although I am a Ron/Hermione shipper, I love Draco/Hermione stories also. There's more conflict between those two. Plus, Draco is so different from Ron. But, where I love thought of Ron and Hermione getting married, I would never want that for Draco and Hermione. OK, fine! I admit that I like those stories too sometimes...
And Draco having grown up rich, I like yourself, believe that Draco was very privileged and afforded all the opportunities to learn everything of the 'rich and famous'. And although some guys would not take that opportunity to learn what they would consider trivial things, I think Draco would as a way to impress more girls/women to get them in bed. I know I am impress with an intelligent man! lol
I believe that Draco can play not only the piano but other instruments well. I feel that he can dance not only modern but also a little ballroom and I even had him do a lovely waltz with Hermione in one story.
So thank you for a well written story and hope to see more of them from you.
Patty

Author's Response: Hello there! :D

Thank you so much for a very kind review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed the story. I'm such a fan of Draco and Hermione. I think they're both such interesting characters that they would really create an intriguing and dynamic couple. Thank you for reading and reviewing! Have a happy new year!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #2, by Gabriella Hunter Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

24th September 2011:
Hm...i wished my New Years would have been as interesting.

Author's Response: Thanks for another friendly review. :] I appreciate hearing that you like the stories!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #3, by Roots in Water Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

18th August 2011:
It's Roots in Water here with your review!

You have so many different first kisses and ways for them to get together for Hermione and Draco- how do you think of them all?

I never expected Draco to know how to play the piano! It isn't unlikely- he is a pureblood and they probably try to educate their children in all the classic subjects- but how did he know a muggle's song? And he never did reveal why he was in the room in the first place... Did he already have a crush on Hermione? Was this all planned? Is that why he came to the party, not just because he was invited? It would be like a Slytherin to have a secret plan... I did like his New Year's resolution. "To make someone speechless without being a prat"- he did it without words, too!

This whole piece was written well and flowed smoothly. I think you expressed the party feeling very well with Hermione having short, small conversations with many people. I was a little surprised when she went into an empty room to read alone- it wasn't something I thought she would do considering that she had already been talking pleasantly with so many people. Then again, I suppose it was necessary for the end of your story to happen.

The inclusion of Rolf was a nice touch as well- tying this story into canon (even though the main pairing obviously isn't) and from your description he certainly dresses oddly! Luna was acting rather normally though- the bed sheet was a nice touch- but she didn't once mention nargles or any of her strange creatures or make any irrelevant or odd comments. She isn't like that all the time, but I do think she would be more herself for a party.

As I said before, this story flowed very smoothly from one thing to another and I think that you characterized the majority of the characters very well (Ron? Ginny? Seamus? Yes.). There were just two moments when I questioned Hermione's actions, though. In the sentence "Hermione ran to greet her friends, throwing herself into Harry’s waiting arms", I'm not sure Hermione would do that- it seems like something she would only do if she had been separated from them for a long time or one of them had just had a life-endangering experience (as shown in the books). It didn't seem that either of those things were the case in that situation... As well, I think it would help the kisses seem more realistic if Hermione wasn't thinking he was a prat earlier in the chapter. Perhaps if she thought that their animosity had faded or she was thinking that he wasn't evil or that he redeemed himself the ending would seem more likely (not that it wasn't a good ending- I did like Luna's appearance at the end. It made it seem almost as if she had planned this or simply that she was someone who would support them).

There were a few parts that I think you could adjust to help the flow (but please feel free to ignore them if you want). Firstly, in the sentence "Hermione smiled to think she would soon join one" I think that "smiled at the thought that she" would flow more smoothly. Secondly, in the sentence "that was all ready underway" I think it's "already" in that context. As well, the sentence "which Luna had painted canary yellow and in which Hermione encountered Ron" is a bit repetitive, perhaps "where Hermione encountered Ron" would help it. If not, just try switching one of the "which"s. Finally, in the phrase"Hermione explained"- she was asking a question, not answering so maybe you could change it to "and" and in the phrase "Hermione questioned teasingly" - I wouldn't say that what she asked was teasing, but then again you could have a completely different opinion on this.

I think this was a great example of what can happen on New Year's Eve- it is after all the start of a new year and even new beginnings. You did a great job with this and I enjoyed reading it! Thanks so much for requesting a review!

Author's Response: The second I saw how long this review was, I did a happy-dance. :D So...

I'm really glad that you thought Draco playing the piano was plausible. Maybe I'll have him explain the song though...He was in the room because he knew that most people were uncomfortable around him and he didn't want to ruin the party, so he went to be alone instead of in the middle of things--I'll try to explain that better. :] Also, I'll try to put in a part where Hermione mentally explains that she needs a break from all the hubbub.

Ahh...Luna. I'm so terrible at writing for her...maybe I'll find a way to write in an odd creature she mentions or something. I've never actually made her a big part of any story, so I find her difficult to write for.

I'll definitely check out Hermione's interaction with everybody to make sure it's up to par. I've been editing all of my stories and haven't yet gotten to this one, so your feedback is priceless.

Those sentences you mentioned in your second to last paragraph will all be looked at. I can't believe I messed up "already"! What a silly mistake! Thanks for pointing all of those out. I'll go fix them right away.

Thank you so, so much for reviewing. You made my day and I'll definitely return to your thread to continue educating you on Dramione, hahaha. Great review; I loved it.

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #4, by Jessiytots Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

16th August 2011:
Hello!

Here is the review you asked for. C: Please remember I’m not trying to rude, just helpful and this is all based on my thoughts and such… enjoy. ^.^:3

The white line scared meh. I thought it’d ended too soon. :O

I liked Draco coming in with the silence and such… alone, though? I wonder if he would. I mean, there are not many other choices, but it could always be something like… He planned to gatecrash, or dragged a mutual friend. :3 HERMIONE READING. I thought that was perfect. It’s so Hermione like. Totally in character.

I’d just like to point out, whilst reading the word ‘sanctuary’, it came up in one of the songs by Josh Kadison I was listening to. O.e

The whole lead up to/and kiss was perfect. I found it hard to tear my eyes away, to quickly jot down some notes. I loved the blush on her cheeks, but I think that could be explained more… like the look in his eyes affected her, maybe. Draco leaning into her hands was amazing. I could totally visualise that, and Draco was adorable. The resolution was perfect, it helped realise he was trying to change and such, making this work better. Luna walking in was brilliant too, I wondered if it was planned by her then, as if she saw they needed someone since she worked too hard and he was miserable… it wouldn’t surprise me!

Overall, this is absolutely amazing. People who don’t like Dramione will love it by the end of this one shot. It’s definitely added to my favourites. It flows perfectly, works well and I do adore it. You describe well and have a tact at keeping them in character. My main problem is, there is no more!

Hope this helps. C:

Much love, Jess/Jessiytots.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for this review! It absolutely made my night. You're wonderful for all the compliments you left me.

I'm so happy that you liked so many parts of this story. And saying that this will make people love Dramione? Oh my gosh! That's probably the best thing I've ever heard about a story I've written.

I'll check out how Draco arrives and see if it needs a bit of editing. But other than that, I think it's wonderful that you liked it. I'm sorry it ended so soon! I'm a stickler for one-shots...

But I have a bunch more! Never fear!

Thank you so much! You're terrific and I'll definitely request from you again.

xxx,
Emily


 Report Review

Review #5, by kandekisses Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

22nd July 2010:
Aww that was so adorable! I'm actually still smiling.

So sorry I'm a bit late with this review! Life is starting to get really busy once again.

But enough about that. This one-shot was really very interesting. As you know I absolutely love Dramione's and you did a really good job with this one. You made it seem more realistic, like this could actually happen.

I love how you made Hermione a workaholic. Thats exactly how I would picture her at that point. I mean seriously, who else would miss Christmas dinner for work? &I also liked the fact that there is still animosity between everyone &Draco. It just made their whole interaction so special &sweet.

The only thing that stuck out to me was that you put "every pain of eyes" instead of pair. Nothing major at all =)

Excellent one-shot. Oh &I have to say I think Luna was the star here. She was perfect lol. Very good job in writing this!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! :D It means so much to me. :]

I'm so glad that you liked this story. It was written for a challenge, and I have to say, I like how it turned out as well.

I'll definitely go fix that typo, my bad. :P

Thank you so much for reviewing, again. I really appreciate it. :D

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #6, by stepnhunguyen Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

21st April 2010:
I love your one-shots, dracoferret. I saw you on the forums and saw one of your stories and decided to read it. It was lovely as always. Dramione rocks!

10/10

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :D

You're too nice... :] I really appreciate the review and your compliments.

You made my morning. :D

Thanks a billion!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #7, by Clair Clementine Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

18th August 2009:
OK, alert! alert! FAVORITE Dramione story RIGHT HERE! Yeah, out of all three that are actually by you ;) I just love your writing with them so much! I always smile when I see your request going, 'Another Dramione?' Haha! Yes! Another Dramione! You made it seem very realistic in this one. I actually could picture Draco doing all he did. I mean, I don't know about kissing Hermione, if I could've of realistically imagined that, but I LOVED IT when he did! Like I said before, it's a Dramione, so it's gonna be unrealistic, only you seem to find a way to make it really realistic! Haha, I don't know if I've seen the word realistic said so many times...

Oh, and Luna was there. I LOVE HER! She's awesome! I liked that she saw Draco and Hermione too. It definitely seems like her to invite Draco. Luna Lovegood would definitely not care about wat Draco had done before and she would've realistically (there's that word again) :) invited him! So good! So great! You are a really good writer! I can't wait to read more! Request again! Request again! Please!

Clair :D

Author's Response: :D

Thanks so much, Claire!

You make my day with your reviews. Definitely awesome! *huggles*

Your FAVORITE? :DDD Yayyy! I'll see what other ones I can send you to read, I've got over a dozen. :]

Thank you so, so much for your compliments.

I love Luna too! I'm glad you liked her character, I thought she fit in the story. :]

You made my day! I'm off to the thread!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #8, by confusedlover Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

15th August 2009:
very lovely.

i thought that this was another amazing one-shot. seriously, you have a very simple and elegant style and your author voice is absolutely wonderful. i really enjoy reading your stories and i honestly believe that that is one of the reasons why. you always seem to know exactly what you want to happen and for that i am always very pleased. i like it a lot when i can tell that the author put a lot of thought and decision into a story. those are definitely the stories that hit me the hardest.

there were several fanon and unrealistic moments throughout this but that seems to be the case with nearly every Dramione that i read so it really is not a huge deal or anything. i just figured that i would point it out. i am all for Dramiones (silly me) and so i really don't have a problem with how this worked out- i just felt as if i should let you know my opinion.

overall, i thought that this was a wonderful one-shot. it was very short and incredibly sweet. i certainly enjoyed the fact that Luna was the host of the party. i'm not sure why exactly but it really made the story seem happier or something. lovely job. keep up the amazing work and, as always, feel free to come back to my thread anytime that you wish.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

I love reading your reviews; they make me so happy. :D

I really appreciate your feedback, and I totally understand about the "fanon moments." Such as, why on Earth would Draco and Hermione ever be together? :]

Yeah, I know. But I love the pairing, it's my favorite, so I don't complain too much. I just try to make things believable.

Thanks again for your review, I'll be back at the thread soon, haha. :D

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #9, by Viggar Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

20th July 2009:
Another great story from a great writer (:

Very lovely! This is most certainly going on my fav too!

10/10

Author's Response: Aww! Thank you!

I'm so glad that you liked it! :D

Thank you so much for your compliments and for reviewing. :]

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #10, by SiriusxRemus4life Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

28th June 2009:
I liked it. It was sweet and showed a different side to Draco. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much for reviewing!

I'm really glad that you liked it.

This is one of my favorite stories that I've written, so I'm glad you like it as well.

Thanks again, I appreciate it.

--DF11


 Report Review

Review #11, by marie243 Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

5th February 2009:
Oh, that was perfect. So sweet and cute.

marie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!

I really appreciate the feedback. :D

I'm glad that you liked the story.

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #12, by Mrs Roonil Waslib Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

18th January 2009:
First, I want to say how sorry I am for this reivew being so belated! I got caught up in the Holiday festivities and ever since, haven't visited the HPFF forums as much as I used to. That's my lame excuse; a poor one at that. :P

I LOVE Dramione's and this one was great! I thought they weren't TOO much OOC; a very positive thing and hard not to do when writing a Dramione. I get this rush when reading a Dramione and it was ever present while reading this one. Don't you just love the two?

Great, great job! I really liked this one!

10/10

-Mrs Roonil Waslib

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I really appreciate the review, I'm so glad that you liked the story.

Your 10/10 brightened my day. :D

I love Dramione. :] They make me happy, haha.

Again, thanks so much.

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #13, by Vanity_Fair Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

11th January 2009:
I don't usually read Dramione but I have to admit it was quite good :) I love your writing style. You may have just converted me to a Dramione fan! Lovely piece of writing.

Gem

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review!

I'm so glad that you liked it!

I hope you'll read others of my stories if you're interested in Dramione, I'm so glad that I'm helping convert you. :D

Yay!

Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #14, by harryginny1 Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

5th January 2009:
Loved it! I'm not usually a big fan of Draco/Hermione, but I really enjoyed reading this! I really like your writng style, and look forward to reading more of your stories. Thank you!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks for the review!

I'm really glad you liked the story, I had so much fun writing it.

Thanks again for all your compliments.

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #15, by ceci Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

27th December 2008:
O. M. F. G. brilliant! I could just feel the tension oozing out of the page.errr, screen. You had me convinced this would be a great story at the lime green sign on the door and when Luna was paired with not Neville...it's nice to have some fresh blood in the stories, you know? Aww Luna's such a sweetie for inviting Draco =) I love how you manage to keep everyone in character while adding your own personality quirks to each person.

I am shocked, however, that Luna would ever step into such a bungled bureaucracy as the Ministry? Maybe she was pleading a case to free the snorkacks in front of the court =) I believe it.

Author's Response: :] I loved your review, thank you so much!

This really made my night.

I'm so glad that you liked it.

I decided to stay as cannon as possibly with everyone but Draco and Hermione. So, Luna and Rolf, right? :D

Thanks for the comment about the snorkacks, it made me laugh. Tehe

Thank you for reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed.

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #16, by SpringTime Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

26th December 2008:
This was so sweet. I really enjoyed it. I only have a couple of cc's to add
1.) you have Hermione looking at ron disdainfully, that seems kinda harsh, mayb disgustedly would be more appropriate (personall oppinion though).
2.) When Luna says to close the door because the cold is coming in maybe you could have her say something like the narggles could come in, just a bit more Luna-esque (again a personal suggestion) otherwise you have really gotten her character down, and I really liked how you ended it with her.
3.) I think maybe you should give it more that 15 minutes before new years to have Draco come in, one you have Hermione get engrossed completely in a book and then he plays the piano then they talk and he plays again all in fifteen minutes.
Other than those things though I really thought that this was a great holiday fic. I do love a good Dramione, especially when Ron isnt getting the total raw end of the deal. :)

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked it!

I'll definitely take your suggestions into consideration.

Thanks so much for reviewing, it's always good to hear that my characterization is good. :D

Thanks again, I really appreciate it.

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #17, by Elaine Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

26th December 2008:
i love it:] its a really good idea and you are obviously a talented writer. keep it up.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm glad that you liked it!

It's great to hear that you think I'm a good writer. :D

Thanks again.

--DF11


 Report Review

Review #18, by rachm34 Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

26th December 2008:
Hi there!! :) happy early two thousands and nine too. I'm Rachel, here from the forums as requested.

So i thought that this was a lovely oneshot (I'm not normally a Dramione fan. In fact i only let really short stories slide through my queue of them.) but i really liked this. You had beautiful flow, and it flowed nicely throughout the whole story. I loved you're descriptions. Luna and Hermione and Draco were perfectly in character. I loved Luna's character in this.

The one thing though- (i can be very brutal at times and apologise if i'm being to harsh,..) there was one point where Hermione jokingly called Draco: Mr. Malfoy and Draco came back calling her granger. I'm not sure no matter how much she dislikes him if she would end up calling that. That's the only bit that seemed a bit out of character... to me at least. I'm sorry if i'm so harsh. gahhh.

So i really loved the moods in this story they were basically portrayed very wonderful. It's different and interesting how quickly Hermione changed her mind over Draco. I don't feel that it's very likely but i understand this is a challenge.

I wish you the best of luck with your challenge and hope that you have a happy and safe new year and the rest of the holidays are happy for you!

~ Rachel

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review.

I'm glad that you enjoyed it, even though you don't ship Dramione. :]

I'm really happy to hear that you liked my characterization, it was so hard to keep them all believable.

I'll definitely look at that one part and see if I can make it flow more nicely.

Thanks again, I really appreciate it.

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #19, by gitgit Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

26th December 2008:
AW
that was so cute
:D
heheheheh luna lovegood the match maker extordinaire :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing for me! :D

I'm glad that you liked it.

I had so much fun writing for Luna, it was amazing.

Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed and thanks again for reviewing.

--DF11


 Report Review

Review #20, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

26th December 2008:
Hey there. This was really, really good. It was really well written, and the plot flowed nicely, smoothly.

Hermione and Draco were kept in perfect character, as was Luna. She is so sweet and I can just see her reaching out and inviting Draco to her party because he looked sad. Very, very good.

So, I have to say it, but you don't have to listen at all. I can see from all your stories I've reviewed that you're a Dramione fan, and I'm not. It's incredibly hard to write a Dramione that pleases both loyal Dramione shippers and skeptical canon shippers, and for the most part you've done that fantastically. It's just. . . it's so unrealistic. Just think, your worst enemy walks into a room, kisses you, and you immediately love him. It just doesn't make sense, and it seems like it happens with most Dramiones. I'm not asking you to change your story, just. . . I don't know. Think about it, ok?

But overall, it was really good. The writing was fantastic, and I was dragged into the story and couldn't stop reading. Excellent, excellent job!

~long_live_luna_bellatrix

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing for me!

I'm glad that you think I did a good job, even though you don't ship Dramione.

I'm aware that they aren't the most plausible couple, I try to keep it believable... but you probably understand that it's sort of hard.

I'm glad that I did well with characterization, especially sinve I've never written for Luna before.

Thanks again, I'll see if I can fix the plot to make it even more believable since I understand that it isn't... :/

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ellaoptimistic Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

25th December 2008:
I loved that. =D Awesome job there!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I really appreciate it.

I'm glad that you liked it. I had so much fun writing it.

Thank you again, :]

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #22, by chelsae33 Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

25th December 2008:
I really enjoy stories like this--short and romantic, yet still true to the character's personalities. Great story!! =]

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing for me! I really, really appreciate it.

I'm glad that you liked the story. I really liked writing this and I'm so happy for the feedback I'm recieving. :D

Thanks again, I'm glad you enjoyed.

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #23, by Txcowgirljp Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

25th December 2008:
very fun. thank you. i was looking for a new year's fic!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I'm really glad that you liked it. :D

I appreciate you reviewing for me.

--DracoFerret11


 Report Review

Review #24, by cate Happy New Year, Hermione Granger

25th December 2008:
yay, this is really cute!

you can make a sequel, maybe.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad that you liked it. :]

I'll definitely think about a sequel.

I appreciate the review...

--DF11


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login