Reading Reviews for Mischief Managed
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rowling82 First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

25th April 2014:
Hello TidalDragon!

I favourited you as my favourite author(though you already know that)! Please continue! This is a wonderful book! I was planning to write something like this!
Hope you write more!

From
You know who I am!
Do you?
I'm so far the only one that has favourite you!
Callista G.

 Report Review

Review #2, by gladys_sama First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

28th March 2012:
This series is amazing too! I do hope you'll continue!
Thanks for the fun I got out of these 3 chapters. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Creepy Spiders First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

8th February 2012:
I loved those three chapters! You need to update!! Please?? Pleeaaassseee?!?! I'll be eternally grateful! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Creepy Spiders First Year - The Beginning (Part II)

8th February 2012:
Loved this chapter too! Aww poor Sirius, not having any fun toys, only boring things like chess sets. Short review, I know, but I can hear the next chapter calling to me. It's whispering (or shouting, actually) 'read me, read me, READ ME, READ ME RIGHT NOWWW!'

So I think I'll go do that now.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Creepy Spiders First Year - The Beginning (Part I)

8th February 2012:
Ooh, I quite liked that. Okay, I loved it, actually. Quite brilliant. I loved how James and Sirius met! The whole train scene was definitely one of the better ones I've read before. And I loved the ending! Sirius saying mudblood just because James told him not to, thinking that he wouldn't hit him...Hehe, not very smart of him. I'm off to read more! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Raquel First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

27th March 2010:
This is great! I can't wait to read more. Please update soon, along with your other story, In My Time of Dying. I love reading your writing and I really enjoy the scenes and stories that you come up with. Thanks, and I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you :D I hadn't been planning to update this story until IMTD was finished, though, because it was too hard to try and get my mind to jump between them...

As for IMTD, I plan to update it soon :) I just needed a short hiatus to get away from it for a few weeks. Thanks for being patient!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Serrafinna First Year - The Beginning (Part I)

21st January 2010:
*claps*
Maybe or may not be the first believable portrayal of Sirius I have read. I am in love with how you actually acknowledged the level of messed-up-ness he would have been, after growing up in a family like that.

Huzzah to the James character.

Must read some more :)

Author's Response: Thanks. Believable or not, I hope you liked Sirius! I had a lot of fun writing this chapter (and the next two) and feel terrible about having to put the story on hold - I was enjoying it and I'm glad you were too :) I really don't think people give the Black family enough credit - Sirius is a child, and of course he would feel bad for leaving their ways, or guilty, or ashamed. After he got a little older, maybe then he'd hate them or be angry, but I wish people (including JKR) didn't have him ready to abandon his past and join Gryffindor the instant he's on the train.

 Report Review

Review #8, by breezieair First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

17th January 2010:
WONDERFUL WONDERFUL!!! I love love love it!!

10/10
breezieair

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm afraid this story doesn't get much attention, and it's really nice to see a review for it :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumor First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

3rd November 2009:
I know you're busy with the other Marauder story right now and this is probably an old piece of work you've forgotten about, but it's really fantastic.
I LOVE James and Sirius in this. They have so much personality, so much energy! I can already see how close this friendship is, even though at this particular moment, Sirius is facing some intense issues. Everything is just so perfect! Down to the last detail. I especially liked the part with Sirius walking proudly down the hall and James trying to trip him, and when they decided not to take the boats.
This whole story (and your style in general) is a pleasure to read. Your writing comes so easily and it's really quite enjoyable, and just flows perfectly.
I'm really excited to read more of this story, if you get around to it!

Author's Response: Hey Rumor,

I really liked writing this and definitely haven't forgotten about it, I just really want to get the other one done. Hehe I'm glad you like James and Sirius considering they're my favourites. Some people have said they think they seem a little old, but I don't know, I just think they're intelligent. They were definitely fun to write.

Sirius definitely has some big decisions to make and I don't think he was fully prepared to meet somebody like James right off the bat.

I'm so glad you liked it, I don't think this story gets enough attention due to the fact that I don't update it lol. Thanks for reading it!


 Report Review

Review #10, by pennyardelle First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

30th October 2009:
Happy Staff Appreciation Day! Oh, this was amazing. Are you intending on writing more? Or is this it? I would love to read more of these! I loved, loved, loved that Sirius and James didn't immediately get along on the train; if I were writing it, that's just how I would have had it too. And the Blacks would bring a house-elf to 9 3/4, wouldn't they? Sirius calling Lily a Mudblood, and James' reaction, were so perfectly in-character it was almost unbelievable. In fact, everything in this was beautifully in-character it's like JKR wrote it herself. You are officially my Marauders hero!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I've gotten a few reviews for this staff appreciation day, and it has caught me entirely by surprise. I wasn't even aware this was happening!

This is one that I definitely intend to continue because I had a lot of fun writing what I have so far. It's just that I want to focus most of my concentration on my other novel, plus I also have a story about an OC going on, so 3 WIP's were a little much for me. So it's just on hold for a bit :)

Considering how Sirius was brought up, I was really surprised when JKR's writing seemed to imply Sirius and James were friends. I never thought they would be, so I tried to keep my original ideas about it in whilst still including JKR's scene.

I love the Marauders, so I am very pleased to be your Marauders hero. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by BlackWordsmith First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

2nd October 2009:
Finally! A story with good detail and writing. You've actually stuck to the plot!! Please, please, keep it canon (and coming)!

Author's Response: Thanks! What I have so far has been a lot of fun to write. I'm a canon freak - my other novel won a Dobby for best canon - so you'll definitely be seeing that. And I do plan to continue with this, I just have 2 other WIP's going and I'd like to finish at least one of them before I pick it up again.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Radcliffe_PotterFan319 First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

28th September 2009:
Well, I must say I'm incredibly impressed. You have a wonderful writing style and it flows very, very well. The characters are all deep, even the ones you barely get to know. Each one is realistic and the story falls into our actual knowledge of the Marauders very well.

And thank you so much for not making Sirius know that he was never meant to be in Slytherin. I find it incredibly annoying when he's always been "different" and hated by his family. You wrote this very well. I always believed that Sirius would want to live up to his name before Hogwarts.

Fabulous job. I cannot wait to see what you do with this. :)

Author's Response: Hey! You used to read my stories when I wrote as Bibbs :D

Thank you for the compliments on writing style. I really enjoy how everyone write's a little differently (or a lot differently), and am quite pleased whenever somebody likes mine. Also, I am thrilled that you find even the minor characters to be deep!

I really hate the idea that Sirius has always been a rebel right off the bat, and I hate when people do it, and I hated that JKR had him suddenly abandon his entire life on the Hogwarts Express in Snape's memory. I can see Sirius being a trouble maker and having an eye for mischief (which could help him with his decisions), but at age 11, who could abandon their entire family and every belief he's been raised with? I think you and I see it the same :)

I don't want to lead you on with this, so I must warn you that this story is temporarily on hiatus. I really like what I have so far, and always wanted a novel of my own that went over these first few months with the Marauders, so I plan to finish. I just barely have time to update my main story right now, let alone this one :(


 Report Review

Review #13, by Erin First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

14th August 2009:
Are you ever going to update this???

Author's Response: Yeah... I actually really enjoy writing it. It's just that I have two other WIP's also (one of which is taking over my life right now, another thats more original that I'm super excited about). So yeah, I plan on updating at some point, I really liked this one, probably not until I finish one of my other ones though.

 Report Review

Review #14, by padfootandprongslover First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

9th July 2009:
I really like your story so far...the characters seem realistic and funny! Keep writing!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! They\\\'re a lot of fun to write :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Dellacqua First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

18th June 2009:
Yesss, another amazing chapter! You really do get the characterisation spot on and are brilliant at including the child-like behaviour of them as well.

I especially like how you wrote Dumbledore, he's somebody who I always think people either get very, very right, or massively, massively wrong. You got him exactly spot on, exactly as I would expect him to act and speak.

One of my favourite parts was the conversation between Sirius and the Sorting Hat, in particular: "“Well, you are certainly a surprise,” mused a voice suddenly in his ear. Bollocks, thought Sirius, going rigid in surprise." That bit was comedy genius and really made me laugh.

I loves James' unending pursuing of Sirius, never finding offense in his anger and always maintaining this strong belief that Sirius is meant to be in Gryffindor and most importantly meant to be good. This is obviously something which we know of James later, with his obsession with Lily and never letting her rejection push him away or upset him.

I really think this is fantastic, I also loved the introduction (to who I can only assume is Remus) as having "a look of hopefulness about him." Bless his heart, that is exactly right.

Anyway enough of my mad ravings. Me reviewing this, by the way, doesn't mean I disregarded In My Time of Dying, it's just that when i looked at the two I saw this was meant to be a prequel so thought I might as well try this first. It might be the case that I hop to a couple of other people in my review queue before I get to In My Time of Dying, as long as you don't mind, purely because those after you are a 2 chapter and 1 chapter story so I might as well get them done now before I get stuck into yours.

Nonetheless, dark or not, I'll definitely be reading your other fanfic because you have a fantastic writing style and are so brilliant to read, I can't wait! Easily 10/10.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you keep mentioning the child-like behaviour. I actually worry about that! Seriously, I do, because I actually had a review saying they seemed a little too grown up. Which is fine, and everyone has their opinions - I think they're both really intelligent, so I thought I could get away with them being somewhat mature. They both have somewhat elegant upbringings as well. Oh look at me, trying to convince you, sorry!

Dumbledore is such a challenge to write. I've written him a few times now, here and in my war fic also. He's tough, but it feels really good when you're done and you're pretty sure it turned out okay. I'm glad you liked him, because I'm always proud of Dumbledore's parts :)

James was tough to write, for while I've put a lot of thought into Sirius's childhood, I haven't put much into James. I know he's immature and a bit of a bully, but I also know he's loyal and intelligent. I truly do think he saw something in Sirius that he wasn't willing to let go, and I'm glad you find that to be in character for him. I think he's patient and caring and forgiving underneath that arrogant exterior.

I'm pretty sure that is, in fact, Remus. I haven't read the chapter over in a couple of months, but that sounds like him.

I'm thrilled that you've decided to read both stories. This one will, in fact, be a prequel someday. It began as just a spur of the moment thing because I knew I couldn't get away with never writing them in Hogwarts. I'm excited for it, but my priority is the other one right now. Take all the time in the world, I am ecstatic beyond explanation that you are giving my stories a shot at all - most people take one look and run, not wanting to read anything long.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Dellacqua First Year - The Beginning (Part II)

18th June 2009:
Another brilliant chapter. This just seems like the perfect way that the Marauders would begin and how they would make their way up to their own sorting.

I was literally on the edge of my seat when Sirius was with Lucius and Narcissa in the carriage, practically shouting at the computer screen "don't leave James behind! Make the right choice!" I'm so glad he did, this was the first big step in his move away from the Black family I think.

It's interesting as well because it's made me change some of my perceptions of Sirius as a whole, his usual arrogance which is associated with him I always thought would just be a side effect of his and James' looks and personality but I don't think it is. Your story instead makes me thinks its more the influence of his family and that pride he has over the Black family name (however much that seems to be decreasing). In this story of yours he alwasy has this in built confidence purely because of his heritage and the way he's been brought up, it shows that despite how things go with his family, some elements of his upbringing will always stay with him.

Anyway excuse me for ranting so much! Onto the next chapter.

Once again I love the balance between their childlike behaviour - which you've captured beautifully - and the essences of their personalities which we know will be so prominent in them later.

Author's Response: Haha. I figured I would start them off as already getting into a little innocent trouble. I think Sirius, coming from his family, would think himself above such things as riding in a boat with a half-giant.

LOL! It's really nice to hear that you could get so into the story and want to shout on James's behalf. You are right, this is his first beig step away. I think Sirius has a bit of a heart where the rest of his family doesn't, which works well. He'll try to do the right thing, but that doesn't automatically make him against his family, either. At least not until later :)

You are exactly right - I think Sirius and James show off for the attention. Occasionally I think they got into some of the trouble they did because the pranking allowed Sirius to hide some of his other issues. I do think that James was flat out arrogant because of who he was, what he looked like, his Quidditch skills. But I am convinced that Sirius was arrogant because of his background and the way he was raised. It's funny that you mention some elements of his upbringing will always be with him - because even years later in my other fics, he still does some things, and he's still embarrassed by them.

Rant away, I thoroughly enjoy hearing it. Please haha.



 Report Review

Review #17, by Dellacqua First Year - The Beginning (Part I)

18th June 2009:
That was amazing! I really can't tell you how much I enjoyed that chapter. (This is Dellacqua from the Forums by the way - I should have introduced myself first really).

Anyway I think this was a fantastic idea for a chapter, I enjoyed so much the insight at the beginning into the Black family. In any Marauder era fanfics theres a tendency to focus on Sirius hating his family so it has been so interesting to have that pre-moving out of the Black family scene to show what it was really like for Sirius beforehand.

I think all the members of the Black family you included were completely perfect in their characterisation and it was really intriguing to see Sirius' mother when she doted on Sirius because he was the heir to the Black fortune.

As if the story wasn't already good enough the first meetings he had with James were brilliant and fitted exactly with both the childish instincts they both would have had as well as the influence of their families.

"James shrugged casually. “Perhaps if I can make friends with you before you’re released to the Slytherins, maybe I can save the rest of the school. Maybe, if I were to make your horrible future known to you, you’ll decide not to act that way. If I can show you how ridiculous it is, I mean.” James looked curiously at him, and then added, “Maybe I can save you from being like them.”" I thought that was fantastic, a really amazing bit of writing. It so beautifully foreshadows everything that we know will come later and shows through the naivety of a child the real reality of a situation. James no doubt means it all so innocently but it is what changes Sirius' opinion and ultimately makes them friends and there was just something about those few lines which especially struck me.

This was such an interesting way of enveloping that scene on the train which we knew from the HP books and I especially liked your ending, it was absolutely perfect and seemed to in-keeping with the relationship between the two boys.

Absolutely brilliant stuff, can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Hehe, I know who you are! *cheer* Well, I am really glad that you enjoyed this. It's always made me a little on the fence, because there's SO many Marauder stories like this, and they meet on the train, etc.

I really don't think that Sirius hated his family at such a young age! I don't think he even hated them when he ran away from home years later. I think he might claim to to cover it up. I'm glad you liked the Blacks' characterisations (they're a lot of fun to write - I thoroughy enjoy Sirius's homelife for some reason). I think the whole family doted on Sirius for being the heir! He had it good.

I'm so happy you liked James's conversation with Sirius - I've always been worried it was a little out of place and not really the sort of thing that an eleven year old would say. And at the same time, I think James is "different," and I think he could see right through Sirius. For some reason, I think they understood each other really well right off the bat, even if Sirius fought it, and I think that's why they were such fantastic friends.

I hate having to paraphrase what J.K.R. writes, but I was happy to do so in this chapter, for I kind of hated the way she had Sirius say "Maybe I'll break the tradition" or something similar (in regards to his whole family being in Slytherin). I don't know why I hate the idea of him already turning on his family, but I was glad to make some changes and I'm pleased you liked it as well.

Thank you for the wonderful review, I wasn't expecting such a great one when I requested! And I'm sorry it has taken me a full day to respond. I check for new reviews every day, and for some reason, it didn't dawn on me that my review count had changed.


 Report Review

Review #18, by scooterbug8515 First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

21st May 2009:
This chapter was brilliant! I really enjoyed it and I have a number of notes once more! Though this time they are all good!

The yes ma'am from Sirius was funny to be so out of character for in a good way seeing as we know things like that will vanish for him. It was a very nice touch to show his training.

The bit with the hat was so unique and well done. I don't think I've seen a Sirius sorting quite like it. His being upset and snubbing James was perfect. I always imagined that Sirius spent the night sulking and being rude. I am REALLY glad you played that out so many people make him all happy about it and I just don't see that happening when you are eleven you are scared and upset by something of the like.

Then Sirius getting a re-sorting! I never thought of that I just always imagined that Sirius got a no at every turn to get resorted it was fun to read!

Over all FANTASTIC job! I am really liking this and shall be putting it on my favorite's list to watch for more updates! (I especially liked Sirius' sulking there at the end!)

Author's Response: I am hoping to be able to show a lot of changes in Sirius as time goes on. Not really "big" changes, because the real Sirius has always been there underneath, but I want to see him become himself slowly :) So I'm glad you liked his politeness.

Whenever I read Marauder fics that involve their first year, the sortings always seem exactly the same. And usually its Sirius telling the hat he WANTS Gryffindor. I really don't think he'd have been thrilled :) As you said, he is only 11, and this is his first day away from home.

I think Dumbledore is the type of guy to allow Sirius to resort :D He let Harry double check, after all. Dumbledore probably could tell all along what Sirius would grow up to be like - he seems to know those things.

Thank you so much for obliging to read my story. It's been so long since I got any reviews on this one :) I'm really pleased you liked it so much, and am honored that it is now on your favorites list.


 Report Review

Review #19, by scooterbug8515 First Year - The Beginning (Part II)

21st May 2009:
Very unique. I never would have imagined something like this when it comes to the marauders, but it is quite fitting and very Sirius like. I like the idea very much. It was very well played out.

Author's Response: Thanks! I haven't seen anything remotely close done before, and to be honest, it wasn't planned. The idea hit me as I was writing. They were trouble makers and pranksters, and I wanted to show the mischief they could get into, and how they could unite over such a thing! The moment I decided to have them cause some sort of trouble (initially I thought overturning their boat in the lake or something), this idea popped into my head.

I do think Sirius would have found himself to be above such things.


 Report Review

Review #20, by scooterbug8515 First Year - The Beginning (Part I)

21st May 2009:
I have to say right off that I loved this! Superb! I have a lot of notes for you but most of it positive. There is one downer that I want to mention and I'll start that first before 'squeeing' over your fic here. The downer is you have one canonical error. You stated how Andromeda was starting her 7th year. She's actually a year older. She finished her 7th year Spring of '71 while Sirius stated his Fall of '71. But not a HUGE error.

I ADORE how you have the Blacks functioning. I mean Walburga taking control was fantastic. I love the interactions between them all how you placed the interactions for all. I have to remark of doing a very nice job of having the Lestranges of an older age. (I have an odd adoration for Rabastan Lestrange).

Beyond that, your James was spot on! I fell in love with him right off. So many people struggle with James but you have him done well. I LOVED the line "You look like a loat." I literally cracked up and it is so a James and Sirius interaction.

Also James tackling Sirius and pinning him to the ground is something I've always seen happening. Sirius can just be a jerk and deserves to be knocked down. And the last part was perfect too I loved that he tested things and James hit him for it. SO them! 10/10

Author's Response: Hooray! I know there's sooo many Marauder fics like this out there that start out with them meeting, etc. And I know people kind of look at them with dread. For that reason, I'm so glad you liked it :)

Thanks for the correction on Andromeda - clearly, I need to check my facts before writing :P I don't know what I will do about it - I liked having her there for what she added to Sirius. Perhaps she can be seeing off a friend. I don't know yet ^.^

I think the Blacks are so much fun to write, even if I hate them as individuals. I like trying to imagine what they were like and I figure they werent always terrible towards Sirius.

I love James to death :) I'm so glad you loved him too. He's a lot of fun to write, and I think he's really intelligent and has so much more to him than just a Lily obsession. His interactions with Sirius are a blast. And I think things could have been pretty testy between them at first, considering their differint backgrounds. So I totally saw a little scuffle happening too! :D

Thank you so much for the wonderful review - it was a joy to read and respond to.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Heaven First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

17th February 2009:
I just checked out this story after your reading your last one and I really love it so far. :) They're so cute as first years!

The only thing I'd have to disagree with, since you are trying to stay canon is Sirius's denial. It's just a bit too long, I think, because I recall Sirius saying something like, "Maybe I'll break the tradition."

Please update! I really like it so far! :O
10/10

- Heaven

Author's Response: I know what you mean! It kind of bothers me, the way JKR wrote it. To be honest, I couldn't have that quote in due to the copyright things, so I kind of had to write my own thing anyway. Even though I'm trying to stay canon, I still kind of think that Sirius wouldn't have been so quick to cross over. Not after eleven years of being a Black, and then just one day he meets James and drops it all!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Gutterflower First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

21st January 2009:
This is amazing. Not only is it brilliantly written, but I love how you're focusing on a period that people often neglect. I like the portrayal of James and Sirius, especially his issues with the house and himself - it's more believable than the usual happy acceptance of Gryffindor-dom. I also like the relationship between the boys, how you're developing their friendship slowly. You've given James Potter a really apt history and personality, for once I can really see a reason for him befriending Sirius. I can't wait to read the rest. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I've had a lot of fun trying to portray Sirius. I think, up until Hogwarts, he more or less followed his parents' rules. It's been fun having him struggle after meeting James, though I worry sometimes that he's back and forth to the point of being confusing.

So glad you can see why James might give him a chance. That was the hardest part - to give reason for them to talk in the first place. I wanted to do something different than the usual "all the compartments are full, can I sit with you."

Thank you so much for the review! This story seems to be lacking in them :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by GinnyChaserSuberb First Year - The Beginning (Part III)

20th January 2009:
hey this chapter was really good I cant wait to see the reactions of sirius family!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's a little hard to find time for it between my other stories, but I'm really looking forward to write more on this one, as it's been a lot of fun so far.

 Report Review

Review #24, by andris53 First Year - The Beginning (Part II)

12th January 2009:
I really enjoy your style of writing. I also like the gradual friendship of James and Sirius, different from the usual immediate friendship. The chemistry you are creating between them is great. Udate soon please.

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) I wanted their friendship to start out slow and natural, and have it's ups and downs. But as you said, the chemistry is there no matter what they go through.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Kara First Year - The Beginning (Part I)

11th January 2009:
bloody brilliant, this is! can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response: thanks so much :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>