Reading Reviews for My Little Girl
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by randomwriter My Little Girl

20th June 2015:
Hello Duckie/Sarah :) I'm here to review for Gryffindor for the House Cup 2015! (I feel like that was worded weirdly :S)

Anyway, I've never heard this song, but when I saw that it was a song fic, I played it as a I read it, and it really worked get me into the mood.

This was really sweet. I'm a huge fan of Teddy/Victoire, but I think what I loved the most was how you kept them in focus without it being about them at all. It was a moment for Bill to share with his daughter. All the emotions and thoughts that were flowing into his head were so touching. It's clear that he cares about her beyond anything else, and would do anything for her happiness.

I love how you showed us pictures and snapshots from her 21 years of life before this day. There weren't too many details, but it was easy to get a sense of how she was raised and how she became who she is.

There were also some funny/cute moments in this. Like, Teddy's hair being the 'something blue' and Bil being certain about going after Teddy with a beaters bat if he hurt his precious little Victoire.

I think these are moments that every father goes through at some time (though I wouldn't know personally how it feels to go through them :p), and it was sweet to read through this. My smile never left my face.

Oh, and it fits the song so perfectly. Great job :)

Author's Response: Hi! I was so surprised to see a review on this since I wrote it so long ago. I've totally forgotten most of what I wrote in it, so your review is a bit of a reminder! This is probably one of the fluffiest fics I've ever written.

I love Teddy/Victoire. As soon as I heard this song I knew it fit them. And Bill, of course. I'm glad you liked the little moments! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing My Little Girl

20th June 2015:
Hey!

I'm here for the House Cup 2015 - Gryffindor. Amazing race part 2. I was browsing and this caught my eye.

Um, this was so cute and heart warming to read! You really wrote the father daughter relationship well and the love Bill feels for Victoire is so evident. It really worked well with the lyrics too.

I loved that you gave us a glimpse of the past and how things were when they Vic was young. Her personality was very much how I see her to be in my head canon so that was nice for me. The moments you picked were great though and you got across so much with each one.

I loved the thoughts of Bill with regards to Teddy. He knows he's well suited to his daughter and he'd rather no one else marry her but he still has to check she wants to do it and still had the protectiveness a father should have. The bit about the Beaters bat particularly made me smile. I could just imagine Bill doing that if the occasion called for it.

Overall this was just so lovely to read and I'm so glad I found it. Your descriptions were lovely throughout and it was so inline with my head canon it was uncanny! Great job!

Lauren

Author's Response: This fic is so old it's like a blast from the past to see new reviews on it! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. The song fit Bill, Victoire, and Teddy so well that as soon as I heard it I knew I had to write about it.

I imagine Bill as a very protective father, but he knows Teddy is right for Victoire. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Veritaserum27 My Little Girl

20th June 2015:
Hi there Gryffin_Duck,

Ravenclaw House Cup 2015 Review!

I felt terribly guilty that I hadn't reviewed one of your stories at ALL, and now I've the perfect opportunity to do so! Aww, this was so cute. I was tearing up while reading Bill's thoughts and emotions. Of course Victoire would always have her father's heart, but you've captured his fatherly protectiveness perfectly here. He wants his daughter to be happy, but also wants her to be safe and loved - I guess that's what all parents want, they just don't know how strong that emotion will be until they've experienced it themselves. I also love how you've painted a picture of Victoire's personality throughout this. The story could've fallen flat with just writing about Bill's side of things - but we see how amazing and spunky Victoire is as well! I think my favorite part is that Teddy's hair is going to be the "something blue" for their wedding! So adorable and creative!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you enjoyed it! I wrote it so long ago it's nice to see people are still reading it.

I always saw Bill as a very protective father. But he knows Teddy makes Victoire happy. I love writing Victoire. She's such a great character. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by TreacleTart My Little Girl

20th June 2015:
Hey there!

I'm here for House Cup 2015- Amazing Race Round 2 - Gryffindor!

This was a really sweet story. I thought you did a wonderful job of illustrating a father's love for his daughter. Wedding days really cause so much reflection over the past and how you got to the point you're at...so I thought it was lovely to see Bill recalling all of the specific moment's in Victoire's life. He's right. She will always be his little girl, even when she has little girls of her own.

I also liked how you worked Teddy into the story. It was nice to see a realistic portrayal of their relationship. You did a good job of illustrating the few bumps in the road that they'd gone through and I loved Bill's response to it. The way you described Bill's changing relationship with Teddy also fit really well.

I have to admit that I'm not at all familiar with this song as I'm not the biggest country fan, but the lyrics worked well with the bigger picture of the story. I think it was a good choice.

Great work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: This is such a throwback! This was one of the first fics I ever wrote (that saw the light of day).

I'm glad you enjoyed it. It was a really fluffy piece. The song seemed to fit so well, that I had to write it. It was interesting to write Bill since I am not (nor will I ever be) a father.

I'm glad you liked Teddy's parts. No one has a perfect relationship, although I like to think Teddy and Victoire come pretty close. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by ngayonatkailanman My Little Girl

2nd March 2015:
Aw. you are making me miss my own daddy. He died when I wss just 14 but I worship the ground he walked on.

Author's Response: Aww. I'm sorry. That's very young to lose your dad. Thanks for reading and reviewing. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Percival Dumbledore My Little Girl

21st July 2014:
It was really nice... and emotional too..

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Arianna My Little Girl

22nd June 2014:
I'm just smiling while I read this. Did I spell smiling read? Well, spell check doesn't have a problem, so I guess it's right.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by MissMdsty (not logged in) My Little Girl

7th April 2013:
I am a sucker for country music and I had to read this!

I love this kind of stories, where we see a character reminisce about the old days. Bill always struck me as the fatherly type, the closest to his father in temper and behavior and this story just warmed my heart!

The flashbacks he had I guess are something that happens to every parent. I don't have any children of my own, but I look at my little brother and can't believe how fast he's grown. I guess by the time I have children time will just fly by!

I liked how the story tied with the song, the song being about encouraging your daughter to follow her dreams and be happy and this was just what Bill is doing, even though it leaves him with a bittersweet feeling.

As a side note, Muriel is still alive? What is she, Flamel's cousin twice removed? Oh my!

I loved the simple style of this story, since something so sweet really doesn't need anything fancy. It's just heartwarming on its own! Good job!

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you liked it! I've always thought of Bill as very fatherly, too. Probably comes from having so many younger siblings.

I don't have any kids, either, but I think the same thing with my youngest sister! I can only imagine how fast time will fly when I have my own kids.

I'm glad you liked how the story fit with the song. The song just screamed Bill and Victoire to me, and I'm glad you agree!

Haha, I don't know how realistic it is that Muriel is still alive, but she's funny so I put her in there. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by BambiScott My Little Girl

19th December 2011:
aw so sweet. I so love bill in this.

Author's Response: It was really fun to write Bill in this story. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by NaidatheRavenclaw My Little Girl

13th August 2011:
This was such a sweet story! I really loved it.

You did an excellent job of characterizing Bill. He was definitely in character, and I could practically feel the love for his daughter coming from him. That end was so perfect. "But you'll always be my littel girl." I was aawing for three minutes straight :P

Your writing fit the song lyrics perfectly. I definitely felt the same way I do when listening to the song while I did reading your story. I like how you didn't stick too closely to the lyrics. You took them and made them your own, and you got a really good story out of it!

Happy staff/prefects Friday (even though I'm a day late) and thanks for all you do for the site!

-NaidatheRavenclaw, Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Oh wow, what a surprise to get a review on this story! I wrote it so long ago. I'm glad you enjoyed it. As soon as I heard this song after reading Deathly Hallows I knew it was perfect for Bill and Victoire.

Aww, a day late doesn't matter. :) Thanks so much for reviewing for staff/prefects Friday!


 Report Review

Review #11, by ngayonatkailanman My Little Girl

26th November 2009:
Ah! You cannot help but smile and cry at the same time. What a story...short but very loaded in so many ways.

Author's Response: Aw! I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Liana My Little Girl

31st July 2009:
What's that horrible noise, you say? Never mind--it's just me WEEPING. I cry at weddings as well as graduations. That was lovely. It's hard to believe these kids are all grown up.

Author's Response: It was very strange to write this since Teddy and Victoire are younger in the other stories I write. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Bookworm045 My Little Girl

24th July 2009:
This is really amazing!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I'm glad you like it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Molly Monroe My Little Girl

23rd June 2009:
I really really like your writing, the story lines in your storeys are very beliveable, I expesially like the books on albus and his friends I hope you write more

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I'm so glad you like everything. I will definitely be writing more. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by GryffindorGal87 My Little Girl

19th December 2008:
Awww!!! That was so sweet! I loved it! :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Jen My Little Girl

17th December 2008:
aww *sniff sniff* that was lovely. I'm not crying. there's just a bit of dust in my eyes!
Beautifully done.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by redherring My Little Girl

17th December 2008:
Awww! That was ridiculously cute! I loved it. Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login