Reading Reviews for The Badger's Song
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sakurasou Helga Hufflepuff

28th July 2009:
Yay puffs!

This is really sweet and also made me want to cry. You portrayed Helga wonderfully and I loved the Room of requirement bit :)

I'm off to read about the next hufflepuff :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. We at the collaboration really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by SilverShadow04 Cedric Diggory

22nd February 2009:
Oh my goodness all these stories are just tearing away at my heart. They are so wonderful, all of my fellow Puffs are making me so proud ^_^.

Author's Response: WOW! Thank you very much. I'm glad these stories are touching your heart!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SilverShadow04 Megan Jones

22nd February 2009:
Aww this was a sweet story and quite original I have never read a HP fanfic that also incorporated religion and I liked it ^_^.

Author's Response: Thank you for another wonderful review.

 Report Review

Review #4, by SilverShadow04 Nymphadora Tonks

22nd February 2009:
Aww :'( this was so sad and so beautifully written. You did a fantastic job the imagery and descriptions were wonderful. Great story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. We at the collaboration really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Alopex Cedric Diggory

31st January 2009:
Oh, this was a really sad chapter, like the one with Tonks, partly because it's about an event we all have some background with. I like the way this was sort of a stream-of-consciousness thing from Cedric's POV. The first person made it seem more immediate and gave it a stronger impact than if it had been in the third person. There aren't any candles in this story, although I suppose the light at the end could be like one very enormous, waxless candle. Besides, of course it was the light produced by the candles, not the candles themselves, that were important to the previous stories.

At the beginning, there are a few places where Cedric switches between saying "you" and "I." It should be kept consistent. Personally, I'd prefer if he referred to himself, rather than the general "you" since he says he is describing his experience. He should say "I saw such and such" and "It was like I was ripped away" and so forth. Not "you saw such and such" and "it was like you were ripped away."

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the in depth review and the feedback. It is very much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Alopex Megan Jones

31st January 2009:
I like how you're fleshing out characters whose names were mentioned once or maybe twice in the whole of seven books. This story/chapter takes a really fascinating angle! I enjoyed it a lot.

My only criticism is that Megan sounds very, very mature for an 11-year-old. Other than that, she is developed quite well.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review and the lovely comments!

 Report Review

Review #7, by SilverShadow04 Laura Madley

23rd January 2009:
A very inspirational story that was very excellently written. Great job.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I hope you enjoy the other one-shots by my fellow 'Puffs. =)

 Report Review

Review #8, by SilverShadow04 Helga Hufflepuff

23rd January 2009:
Aw, this was both sweet and sad and it really touched my heart. I love the descriptions throughout the entire story and I could visualize everything that took place. Great story guys ^_^.

Author's Response: thank you so much for the review. I really appreciate it. I'm glad that this moved you and that you could visualize everything described. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Alopex Nymphadora Tonks

18th January 2009:
Oh, how sad! This was a really depressing chapter (although good), but at least most of the characters were at peace. I liked the description of Tonks wandering out of her bedroom and going to check on her mother and son.

Author's Response: Thanks again for the review. I'm glad you liked the Nymphadora one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Banba Megan Jones

15th January 2009:
That was very good. You created a very realistic problem that has most likely been faced by many young witches and wizards. Leaving behind everything you have ever known and still managing to be true to yourself. This story reflected the entire embodiment of being a Hufflepuff. Well Done. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review and the rating. It is very much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Banba Laura Madley

15th January 2009:
That was very nice. I liked the last line. It was also pretty cool that you added Denis in at the end.

Author's Response: Thanks very much. The feedback is well appreciated and I'm happy that you enjoyed this one-shot. =)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Alopex Laura Madley

15th January 2009:
Wow, you guys are fast! I'll be getting to the other chapters soon!

I didn't like this chapter as much as the Helga chapter, but I do have a soft spot for the Founders. I think it is a neat idea to develop such a minor character, because you can pretty much do whatever you want to.

My favorite part was Laura's interaction with Denis at the end. I also liked the part about her crawling after Helga's candle; that was a pleasant scene. I am so curious about what was on the right-hand path, though! I'm sure it would have been a second way out.

I do think there could have been better development in this chapter. I know that's a really vague criticism. However, I think you are dealing with a fairly long span of time (a few months, anyway), as well as trying to introduce a character no one knows much of anything about, and a one-shot is a challenging format in which to do that. At any rate, I did like it.

Author's Response: Yep, we are, aren't we? =D

The constructive criticism feedback is very well appreciative, and I'm glad that there was a few things that you enjoyed reading in this chapter. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Banba Nymphadora Tonks

14th January 2009:
The ever just and loyal Hufflepuff. That was a little sad, but it showed a wonderful side to the spunky Tonks that we all love.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review and I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Banba Helga Hufflepuff

13th January 2009:
Go Puffs. I am glad that you guys finally got the colab going. This was a very good story, it had some very neat analogies in it. I wasn't expecting to see the room of requirment in it. I also loved the referance that was implied by using the surname Diggory.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this review. We really appreciate it. It took a lot of hard work to get this up and running and we are thankful that we got this far!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Alopex Helga Hufflepuff

1st January 2009:
I'm excited to see there's a Hufflepuff collaboration going on as well! I enjoyed this first chapter. What an interesting idea regarding the origin of the Room of Requirement! I do enjoy Founders stories, so I hope you can keep this collab going until completion. I suppose Salazar Slytherin will be coming back later in the story, then? That will be interesting. Anyway, good first chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. We really appreciate it. Unfortunately, Salazar won't be coming back into the story because this is Helga's only part. Each one-shot is a snapshot into the life of each Hufflepuff and the adversity they face. Still, I hope you continue to read on because there are some really good characters coming up!

Once again thanks!


 Report Review

Review #16, by LonelyWriter Helga Hufflepuff

28th December 2008:
This is pretty good. It is written really well, and description is really good. And even though we don't know much about Helga from the books, I think you've nailed down her character to perfection. And you described her emotions exactly what I imagined she would feel.

And I love the fact that the muggleborn killed was some relation to Cedric - that was a great idea to add that in. So well done, Hufflepuffs, I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for our first review. We in the collaboration really appreciate it. As for this particular one-shot, I'm glad that you like how Helga was characterized. There was some debate on some of her characterization and I'm glad she came off well!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login