Reading Reviews for Harry Potter: Darkness Rising
  
158 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Alisha Epilogue

27th January 2013:
I enjoyedyour story and how it all came together so nicely. Wow the elder wand! Didn't see that coming! I am very glad Ginny and Hermione are able to have children now.

 Report Review

Review #2, by C. Wack Waiting

17th January 2013:
Hey there I am really enjoying reading your work. However I found one small mistake in this chapter and thought you might like to know..."Hermione gave an involuntary shudder. She remembered the sound too well. One experience with Fiendfyre in her life was enough." Technically Hermione experienced Fiendfyre twice...once when the Room of Requirement burned and the second time in your story HP and the Shattered pieces when Grimmauld Place burned. Just something small. But keep up the great work!

 Report Review

Review #3, by EmilyPotter2390 Epilogue

18th July 2011:
This story was incredible as well!! I can't wait to read the 3rd one. I will be reading as much of your stuff as possible :)

Em

 Report Review

Review #4, by MichaelTurpin Power

8th November 2010:
Hm... diabolus ex machina, I guess. I don't really like the idea of making someone the bad guy who didn't appear until the moment of the great showdown. When Pansy made her move, that was at least someone we know to be evil.

You build up great tension from chapter one, but when it comes to the showdown, it's somewhat of a dissapointment, there are many many questions remaining unanswered for now.

Mrs. Greengrass - we don't know anything about her except that she wants power. How would owning the Elder Wand make her the ruler of the world?
We learn that she can draw her wand pretty quickly, but that ability alone doesn't make for a powerful wizard. What was the Greengrasses' role under Voldemort? Does she have crazy powers, how come she commands (supposedly dead) Bellatrix Lestrange?
Why do they always have to abduct or injure Ginny (fourth or fifth time they do it)? Why does Mrs. Greengrass not simply go "forfeit the battle or I kill your wife"? Is she, like her husband, too dumb to cast Avada Kedavra?

How come Mr. Greengrass knows everything about the plan, but didn't bother to execute it himself back before he went to Azkaban (it was way better then his own plan of "abducting Ginny, then having himself owned incredibly stupidly").

You have real talent to tell stories, that much is sure, and you can build up tension better than most of the other authors here. But in my opinion, your final showdowns are subpar at best. I hope you don't mind my honest criticism.

Author's Response: Sorry you didn't care for it.

N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #5, by MichaelTurpin Descent into Darkness

8th November 2010:
I really liked the idea of reintroducing Vampires. They made some short appearances in the original series, yet played one of the least important roles of all the magic creatures in JKR's world. From what I understand, you're not trying to make them into a major plot device, though - I'm glad about this.

This far, your second work looks even better than your first one. The only thing I'm kinda missing is the "magic" of the world. Of course, this is still a world centered around magic, but the mechanisms and backgrounds just aren't depicted as deeply as in the original series. Still, this is a legitimate choice to make, and simply a matter of personal taste.
Keep up the good work with your stories!

Author's Response: I wanted to give a nod to the vampires' appearances within the original series. Nope...I think that's the only time I have vampires in this series. My TVD stories.that's a totally different ballgame.



 Report Review

Review #6, by Kelly Epilogue

4th August 2010:
Loved your story! It was wonderful to read something well written on this site, it makes a nice change.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words. I put a lot of effort into the stories, so it is great to know they're appreciated.

Thanks!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #7, by eaglewillfly Diagon Alley

13th February 2010:
i'm thinking azkaban is out of the question...time for those bastards to die

Author's Response: Yes, I agree that they're some really bad guys. You'll just have to wait a bit to see what happens. Thanks for reading!

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #8, by sinwillys822 Descent into Darkness

9th December 2009:
luv the story can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Glad you've enjoyed this chapter. There's still a great deal more to come!

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jessiiicax0x0 Diagon Alley

2nd October 2009:
Okay, I am very glad to say that I was right; Ginny is pregnant! And I'd also like to mention that I love the George/Angelina pairing. But why is Percy/Audrey and not Percy/Leah? Wasn't that his girlfriend in previous books? Just wondering.. Keep it up, I love it!

Author's Response: Yep, this story is "epilogue-compliant." James had to be coming along sometime. I tried to give you hints without coming out and saying it along the way.

Percy/Audrey is based on the Weasley family tree from interviews JKR gave after DH. Apparently, Percy ends up marrying someone named Audrey. I try to stay very true to JKR's world. Thanks for keeping me on my toes!

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jessiiicax0x0 Fan Appreciation

2nd October 2009:
I'm this story as much as the last! And is Ginny mabe...? I dont wanna say it! But I'm hoping!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it. I'm thinking you're right about your guess, but I can't say yet..

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Mrs HJ Potter Epilogue

19th September 2009:
Wow, did you hook me good to this trilogy. I found it when I saw the last of the 3 posted and have spent the last 3 nights reading. Although I really liked the first, this one was fantastic. Can't wait to read the next.

Author's Response: I'm happy to have drawn you in to the story. The first one was where I just saw if I could write something of its length. While writing the second, I felt freer to really explore the characters as they aged. Now, this third story (which you'll be beginning soon, hopefully) is where I'm really expanding my writing and focusing on more characters while telling a post-epilogue story. I'm really having fun writing it even though it is more of a challenge.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Mrs HJ Potter Family Celebration

19th September 2009:
Wow, I really enjoyed the first story, and anxiously began this sequel.it is very good and this chapter was teriffic.

Author's Response: Thanks for letting me know (and also thanks for starting with the first story - it'll make the third story much easier to understand).

This chapter was really fun to write. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Thanks so much for taking the time to let me know!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #13, by art vandelay Descent into Darkness

26th August 2009:
good story although i guess i can overlook a reference to the mother of all non novels, twilight. i hated that stuff but hey thats just me. ill keep reading, going on to the next story, just keep writing.

Author's Response: Hee hee hee - yep, I did throw a Twilight reference in there. I read the book to see what my daughter was going to be reading in school this year. I think it read like fanfiction - it was an enjoyable read when I just wanted "fluff."

I'm glad you've enjoyed this story so far. Thanks for letting me know!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #14, by husain Epilogue

26th August 2009:
Wow the chapter was so sweet.
The story was mindblowing
10/10

Author's Response: Wow! A 10/10 is a great review. I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter so much. It was a fun one to write.

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave all your reviews. I enjoy seeing what you've had to say.

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #15, by pinoy Epilogue

23rd August 2009:
wow! i really didn't notice that it was finished till i reached the bottom. this story was pretty good, a lot of sad parts but still pretty good. i can actually picture some of your material actually being used by J.K. Rowling , that's how good i think your story is.
also your plot was unique and good throughout the story.
9/10

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I'm glad you liked it. I know this story tended to lean to the "sad" side a bit, but I think a lot of the HP stories do that as well.

You've given me a huge compliment. I hope to continue to deserve your praise.

Thanks a million!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #16, by ngayonatkailanman Epilogue

22nd August 2009:
Congratulations on completing a most wonderful and enjoyable fic. I look forward to reading the 3rd installment of this trilogy.

Well done, you.

Author's Response: I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it! I hope the last story lives up to your expectations.

Thanks a million!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #17, by ngayonatkailanman The Elder Wand

22nd August 2009:
Wow! That was exciting.

Author's Response: I have trouble with action sequences, so I'm glad you felt this one was exciting. Thanks so much for letting me know.

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #18, by ngayonatkailanman Waiting

22nd August 2009:
You do have a very imaginative mind. ... a modified Death Eater robe plus sign. and now, a modified fienfyre

Author's Response: I try to be original, so I'm glad these ideas worked for you. Thanks so much for letting me know you liked this chapter as well!

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #19, by ngayonatkailanman Descent into Darkness

22nd August 2009:
Love your use of the vampire angle. Great adventure.

Author's Response: I remembered that vampires occasionally wandered in and out of JKR's works, so I wanted to let this pair come chat for a bit. I'm sure that dark wizards would recruit whoever might listen to them.

Glad you found this chapter to your liking!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #20, by ngayonatkailanman Repercussions

22nd August 2009:
The last sentence is so poignant, I nearly burst into tears myself.

Author's Response: I'll admit it - I had to go back and reread to see the sentence you referenced. This comment came from when Harry made the point that one of the reasons he liked Ginny was that she didn't cry. I think that Ginny probably shed more tears than Harry knew, but she didn't want to add to his burden by letting him see her.

Thanks so much for taking all the time to review. I really enjoy seeing what my readers think about the story.

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #21, by ngayonatkailanman Diagon Alley

22nd August 2009:
Oh Merlin. I am in floods of tears. What did the Harpies do wrong? And Cassie. the poor baby!

Author's Response: The Harpies didn't do anything wrong. They were just in the wrong place at the wrong time.

I really hesitated to have such large-scale destruction, but I think you'll see why I did this as the story goes on.

Thanks again!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Anna Epilogue

9th August 2009:
Totally fantastic!!! I loved the plot and how you have developed the characters through time. I really could not stop reading. Its like being back with a Harry Potter book. Absolutly loving it!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks for the incredible compliment. I'm glad you felt that you were reading another HP book, although I'm not sure if I deserve the high praise.

Thanks so much for taking the time to review. I hope you enjoy the third story in the series as well.

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #23, by potterprof Epilogue

7th August 2009:
I really loved this story and "Shattered Pieces". Can't wait to check out the next installment! Good luck on your book!

Author's Response: Thanks for the well wishes. If only my book flowed as slowly as my HP stories do.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed both of these pieces. I really had an excellent time writing them.

Thanks so much for taking the time to stop and leave a review!

-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Serena Potter Descent into Darkness

14th July 2009:
Hey n.e.p.,
I had wondered why Stefan and Vladimir's name were so familiar to me but your Authors note cleared that up very nicely. Do you also write Twilight fanfiction?
Rita Skita really should learn not to put her nose where it doesn't belong. That woman's got no decency.
Good idea of Harry not to apparate home immediately with how they looked. That would probably got him (and the others) quite the tongue-lashing ;-)
Wonder what Molly'll say to Ginny's news. By the way I love all the investigating going on in your stories. Great job on this chapter.
Looking forward to the next chapter.
S.P.

Author's Response: Oh, it has been way too long since I've written these stories. I find myself having to reread the chapters to answer your reviews.

No, I don't write Twilight fanfiction. I do enjoy Twilight, but Harry and Ginny (and my original series) take all of my writing time.

Rita Skeeter is horrid, and I have so much fun writing her. Yes, she's just a tool for me, but she's a great one to have.

I feel quite certain that Harry and Ron's appearance would have badly shaken an already on-edge Ginny. I couldn't have that happen.

Thanks again for all the time you've spent reviewing. I love signing in and seeing new reviews from you!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review

Review #25, by Serena Potter Repercussions

14th July 2009:
Hi n.e.p.,
Loved that this chapter was so long. I hope Ginny will soon feel a bit better although Harry isn't there. I'm looking forward to reading more about Harry and Ron's undercover work.
Great job on this chapter.
S.P.

Author's Response: We had a lot to get through in this chapter, didn't we? I normally do write shorter chapters, but this one just didn't break easily. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Harry and Ron have a great deal of work to do, and they know it. Hopefully, they'll be able to get home soon.

Thanks again for the review!
-N.E.P.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>