Reading Reviews for It Can't Be That Bad
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by OZ123 It Can't Be That Bad

4th September 2011:
Oh I thought his middle name would be Harry. That would have been really sweet.

LOVED IT!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Hyperion is canon - the poor thing! Rose has probably got the best end of the deal: she's got the only one I made up.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #2, by kennedymalfoy It Can't Be That Bad

12th July 2011:
HA! I love this :) I always wondered what in the world was wrong with Draco?! ThANK YOU FOR THE LAUGHS :) Oh sorry caps, oh well

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much for such a lovely review. I'm glad it made you laugh!

 Report Review

Review #3, by NeverGotHerLetter It Can't Be That Bad

27th December 2010:
~PenguinsWillReignSupreme,
This was really sweet, I liked the beginning, how you waited to introduce them by name, how you described their features before letting us know who they were. Also, I liked the detail in the beginning and the way you made Rose so much like Hermione, and Scorpius so different from Draco. Finally, I really liked the middle name conversation and interaction, it really showed us what the trio are like. A great read! Also, if you have time, maybe you'd like to drop by my author's page and read my fanfics? I'd really like to boost my reads :) ~NeverGotHerLetter x

Author's Response: Thank you so much. This is veryyy old and I should probably take it down but I like it too much :P I'm so glad you liked it - I've not got the world's best internet connection at the minute but as soon as I get it back, I'll try and find time to repay the favour.

xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Alyse Guzman It Can't Be That Bad

17th May 2010:
Awesome! I really like this story!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it
^_^


 Report Review

Review #5, by RupertsPheonix It Can't Be That Bad

1st January 2010:
Cute. :) Well done!!

Happy New Years,
Kate/RP

Author's Response: Thank you ^_^

Happy New Year to you too


 Report Review

Review #6, by witch_in_training It Can't Be That Bad

8th September 2009:
Hey, Wildheart here from TGS to review for Frantic Frenzy!

I think I am overly in love with this story! First of all, I love your use of the title. Combined with the summary, it provides wonderful misdirection. I know I was certain it referred to NEWT results.

Second, I think the idea behind it is adorable. It's so easy to make fun of their names! I've come to love all the Next Gen names, but it's still great to chuckle at the absurdity of some of them. I like that you used Nymphadora as Rose's middle name -- I now accept this as canon. :P

Thirdly, I should mention that I will probably be returning to read this again whenever I need a pick-me-up, or a relief from darker stories. It's hard not to squee a little at this one-shot.

I'm sorry I can't really provide any CC, because I have nothing to criticize. It's just lovely.

A definite 10/10!

Author's Response: Ah right, yes! I should not be condoning this if you are not a Wasp but I love TGS a lot AND you're reviewing me so I guess I can't be TOO angry!

Haha, thank you. Yeah, the misdirection is unintentional. I wrote this years ago and the summary was the best I could get and once the misdirection hit me, I kept it :P

Haha, yeah I loved writing this. It couldn't be anything else for Rose, really. I had to think of something ridiculous!

Haha, I shall welcome that :P I have not written anything fluffy since this - gone off it a bit!

Thank you so much. This completely made my day when I read it a couple of days ago (lack of Internet for long period of time postponed the reply!)

Thank you!
x


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gypsy_Girl It Can't Be That Bad

25th August 2009:
Oh, what a cute little one shot! You have this knack for being so realistic about characters from Harry Potter, I love it!

Author's Response: Oh thank you - I try :P
This isn't one of my best so I appreciate the feedback :D

xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by jamesismy_man It Can't Be That Bad

17th July 2009:
haha, this is really well written.
i really enjoyed the story :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much - it means a lot

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Rettopyrrah It Can't Be That Bad

27th June 2009:
hey. i'm sorry that i left a really short review, but i hadn't any time to write anything more.
the only thing i found confusing was when you brought some characters into the room by just really having them say 'Molly said' and suddenly they were there.
if that makes any sense?
sorry if it isn't much help to you.

Author's Response: No worries. I shall try and sort that out when I get time :)
Thank you for letting me know - it's really appreciated!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Rettopyrrah It Can't Be That Bad

25th June 2009:
Cute.
Confusing at times, but cute.

8//10

Author's Response: Thank you.

I'm confused as to where it is confusing though. If you're on the forums, could you PM me and tell me what made it confusing? I've got the same username.

Thank you anyway :D
x


 Report Review

Review #11, by alanapotter It Can't Be That Bad

23rd June 2009:
This was so cute! It definitely wasn't what I thought they would have in common when I clicked on it! You have a nice knack of giving the reader something better than they expected :]

This was so humorous too! You seem to have the wonderful ability to easily mix it in with the rest of your story: it went over really well and I laughed throughout most of it. On a similar note, your characterizations were wonderful!

-Jill

Author's Response: That was what I was going for. I think the summary seems quite serious but when you get inside, it's much lighter!

I didn't want it to be OTT, which often happens in humour so I tried to keep it natural and if I wrote something I'd just think 'Would I/a friend say that?'
I'm so glad to hear that you laughed a lot. It's really encouraging!

Thank you so much for this review. It was very unexpected!
x


 Report Review

Review #12, by RonsGirlFriday It Can't Be That Bad

18th June 2009:
Bilius is totally worse than Nymphadora. ;-)

This is really cute, with all their embarrassing middle names. Albus always gets the short end of the stick when it comes to names, so I'm glad he got a chance to tease someone else about their name here.

"I think my dad was on drugs when he named me"
--That is so cute. And so true.

I loved how you wrote their interaction. It was really cute and felt natural. The ending, especially, was funny, with Rose giving away Scorpius' secret, and Al spraying lemonade everywhere, and Scorpius making a rude hand gesture before taking off. It was a very visually comedic scene!

Author's Response: Ooh, I don't know :P

I worry that some of the names JKR uses are starting to grow on me. Poor Al. I do wonder if I'd like him more if he had a better name :P

-sigh- Visual comedy. I struggled with that part when I first wrote this. I couldn't get it to seem natural, so I'm glad that it's ironed itself out.

Thank you so much for this review. It was totally out of the blue since this story's quite old. Thank you :)
x


 Report Review

Review #13, by redherring It Can't Be That Bad

12th May 2009:
Whoa, I'm having serious deja vu. I'm pretty sure I've read this before, and clearly just not left a review (my bad), so time to rectify that!

Anyway, I loved it! So cute. I know I should hate the names JK gave all (well, most of) the next gen kids, but I can't help loving them. They're brilliant in a really bizarre sort of way, and without them there wouldn't be wonderful fics such as this :)

Brilliant job 9/10.

Author's Response: Maybe it was on another site that you read it? I posted it elsewhere about a year ago.

The names are so unfortunate. I really wanted to name someone 'Nymphadora', and Rose seemed like the obvious choice!
Admittedly, now all the names have grown on me a lot. I'd never consider naming my kids like that, but they could be worse.

Thank you so much for the review - I'm glad you enjoyed it! I've edited it for this year but it's waiting for validation. I think I've fleshed it out a bit.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Narcissa48 It Can't Be That Bad

11th April 2009:
haha really good, i liked the way you wrote James, it was really well done. BTW what is his middle name?
x

Author's Response: Thank you :)
I love James to bits. He's my favourite next gen character.
His middle name is Sirius. I tried to keep to canon but Rose's name wasn't given so I made that one up (to an extent!)
Thanks a lot for the review :D

x


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheDirigiblePlum It Can't Be That Bad

7th April 2009:
I LOVE all their names! I think JK Rowling's a genius when it comes to naming characters. Especially Ron and Percy's middle names... they're so bad they're almost good :D

Anyways I thought you got all their characterisation really good! Weird as it is to have Draco sitting in the Burrow :D

I thought the way the characters all interacted was really flowing and natural, which always makes a story good. Too many stories have characters that don't "click" properly, if you get my drift?? :D

I loved it! Really cute and just just Harry Potterish!

10/10

Author's Response: I know! The name Ignatius is growing on me...Bilius not so much :P

Draco is there because he knows the results are coming. I should make that clearer. He's not there for a friendly chat!

I understand 100% - I'm glad you liked the interaction. I'm proud of that. The writing isn't my best, but I found writing how they interacted fairly easy :)

Thanks so much. This means a lot :D

x


 Report Review

Review #16, by Jellyman It Can't Be That Bad

31st March 2009:
Amazing, that was too good! I loved it! The way you thread it all together was wonderful, your characterizations were excellent and your plot line was very funny :) I also loved how James slipped in and out of the conversation, it was very well done! Nice job!

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much
This has made my day :D
x


 Report Review

Review #17, by Actani It Can't Be That Bad

28th February 2009:
It was nice to see the New Generation characters so alive.
Can I make a Russian translation for hpfics.ru?

Author's Response: Thank you :)

I'd be honoured if you did, as long as I was credited for the original text, and you send me the link when it's up :D

Thank you again
x


 Report Review

Review #18, by TwilightPrincess It Can't Be That Bad

21st December 2008:
I really really enjoyed this. The idea of comparing grades among siblings and friends is something that I actually forgot really happens. In high school, my friends and I always used to compare grades. I think it's great that you incorporated this idea into the Potterverse because sometimes I feel like people forget that even though it takes place in HP world, they are still real people who go to school and get grades. And getting a bad one is still embarrassing. XD

I don't know much about the characterization of the next gen characters, so it all seemed pretty good to me. I do think they were a teeny bit exaggerated, though, but that worked. It's good to use stereotypes sometimes. Especially in humor stories, it's easier to relate and understand a stereotypical character. Since this wasn't really dry humor, it's even better that you had them characterized the way you did. Great job.

This was a cute little one-shot. I really enjoyed it. Thanks for asking me to review! ^_^

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)
I'm glad you enjoyed reading it. The comparing grades is something I'm extremely familiar with so I'm writing from experience!
Thank you again :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by rachm34 It Can't Be That Bad

21st December 2008:
awww this was very good. I really liked your descriptions. The couple of things i can suggest to you is add a couple more transitioning paragraphs. The flow seems a bit choppy. That's basically it. It's pretty funny. But i think some of your characterizations could be a bit stronger. Goodjob

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the advice. I'll work on the transitions. I've already done a bit of work on it to make it a bit 'bulkier' so I hope to have that fixed after Christmas. I agree about the characterisation too. Hopefully when I work on the structure, this will sort itself out too.
Thank you again :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by little_red_riding_hood It Can't Be That Bad

20th December 2008:
ah lol tht was funny!
njoyed reading it!!
:-p

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it :)
I didn't think I was particularly funny, but apparently I was wrong!
Thank you for the review


 Report Review

Review #21, by HP_Ravenclaw It Can't Be That Bad

19th December 2008:
Hilarious, J.K.R could have picked better names...

Author's Response: I know!
Although, if she had, I'd be stuck. Their names are the butt of many jokes in my stories!
Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by GryffindorGal87 It Can't Be That Bad

19th December 2008:
Aww! I loved it! Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login