Reading Reviews for Shift
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane Shift

2nd August 2014:
OK, this is a day late, but I was busy yesterday.

I love stories about OC teachers. I like to read about OCs because there is a huge wizarding world and the books only explore so much of it. And I like reading about teachers, because its a career in which you have to cover up a lot of your own insecurities and worries, so it's interesting to see what they think behind it.

LOVE the idea of McGonagall having been the same since she was at school.

Yikes, that line where she first feels somebody is watching her sent shivers down MY spine. I wonder if somebody really is and if so if their intentions are malign.

Oh, and I've just realised this is probably during the era when each Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher only lasts a year, so probably something will cause her to leave before the end of the year. And a couple of lines later you actually mention that. *laughs*

Ahhh, Rookwood. I'm pretty sure his reasons for wanting to suggest her position may be dangerous are not in order to help her.

Hmm, she does seem to panic rather a lot at the sight of the Dementor. Of course, it is an unpleasant experience and it makes sense she'd be worried about her nieces, but she's a Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher and she repelled it fairly easily, so she seems rather more upset than I would have expected. I wonder if there is more to that.

SO like Dumbledore to find the Patronuses amusing. I suspect he would also be gratified to know the students can defend themselves against Dementors though, considering his hatred of them.

I'm sort of intrigued by the way nobody is there when she looks. Part of me feels that maybe there is nothing there and she is just worrying too much, but another part of me thinks it has something to do with Rookwood, that he is watching her for some reason.

Interesting the feeling of being watched disappears when she's away from Hogwarts. That MAY mean that whoever is watching her is around Hogwarts only and doesn't follow her into London. Or maybe it's just harder to follow somebody in a busy city.

So like Dumbledore to decide she'd be safer not knowing what's going on.

I wonder what Fenrir Greyback wants with her. This is intriguing.

Poor Aminta. That attack seems to have had some pretty unpleasant effects. I hope she feels better soon.

And I wonder what Dumbledore means about it possibly being his fault. Maybe it's just because of the curse on the Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher. Or maybe there's something more to it.

Yikes, I'd forgotten Tom Riddle was at school around the same time as McGonagall. I was wondering why you'd had Aminta at school with her, but I assumed you just wanted to create a friendship between them.

Hmm, that part about the howling possibly coming from her mind makes me wonder how much she might be imagining. From what Minerva says, it doesn't sound as if she is though. But she does seem very stressed, with the difficulty sleeping and all. I suppose it's hardly surprising when she has reason to believe somebody may be targeting her and doesn't know why or what it is she needs to try and protect herself from.

And I wonder why Minerva is looking at her in sorrow. How has being Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher put her at risk? I am rather intrigued.

And even after finishing it, I remain intrigued. I assume he kills her, but it's not certain.

Really excellent story. I'd love to get the full story, but then maybe the slight uncertainty is part of what makes it so brilliantly creepy.

Author's Response: Wow this review is fantastic! Thanks :)

This particular story is a side one-shot to "Unsinkable", so Aminta is a character seen in that story and not all the events are shown - the two sort of complete the story taken together. At the end of Unsinkable, her body is found in the Forbidden Forest, mauled by a werewolf.

I am not a horror writer, so this was my attempt at being scary. I wanted to show her gradually becoming more unhinged through the school year, so her reactions are sometimes overwrought, although with the dementor, it's more that it came after children that horrifies her. Maybe if you're not a mother, the reaction wouldn't be as strong. I didn't really think of that at the time I wrote this.

And yes, I put her with McGonagall because McGonagall and Tom Riddle were school contemporaries, and I found it interesting that apparently no one much remembered him even though he'd gotten that Award for Special Services. He must have taken out the people who knew things but wouldn't join his cause. Aminta knew more about him than usual because she'd had a bit of a crush on him. That's where I was going with that.

Greyback was meant to keep an eye on her, but he's a loose cannon. Definitely unpleasant effects from that one.

Thank you so much for reviewing. I'm glad to know this story still works without having read Unsinkable, and is still creepy. Writing creepy/scary is really hard to do! lol


 Report Review

Review #2, by WishfulMuggle Shift

26th September 2013:
Well that wasn't depressing and dark at all.
I really enjoyed it. It was well written and interesting. I especially loved the part about the strong handshake. I definitely judge people by their handshake, though I am a girl. My parents raised my sisters and me to have a strong, firm grip and I love that you thought about it enough to write about it. Thank you for the story!!

Author's Response: It is a bit, isn't it?

Thank you so much! I'm really glad that you liked the story. I definitely think handshakes show some character traits. It's interesting to me. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TheLadyBee Shift

14th April 2013:
Hi! I read this years ago and came back to your Molly Prewett just recently. I just like to say that I love this story especially, it stands up well over time and you have such a JKR-style. I like to believe that everything in this series actually happened.

I've just finished Midnight Over Broadway as well, and it's lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you like the stories I've written, and that they still read well later on. And the compliment to my writing style, that's huge thank you! In my head, this is how it happened. I like to convert other people to my headcanon ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed the Midnight Run stories too! Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Debra20 Shift

3rd July 2011:
This was A-mazing! I loved it to bits! Something very odd happened when I was reading your piece, that never happened before with fanfiction, only when I was reading JK's novels. When there was a scary moment, or an event that hinted something important would happen a few lines below, or a revelation of some sort, my eyes kept darting down the page! It's a bit annoying but that happened to me when there was a particular moment that kept me on the edge of my seat. I was anxiously trying to find out what it was, so unconsciously, I kept skipping parts of the text.

I hope I didn't confuse you, but I don't get that twitch of the eye too often with stories so I hope you take it as a compliment because it was intended that way :D

Author's Response: Not confusing at all, I know what you mean :) I skip ahead in books too. Thank you very much for the kind remarks, I'm very glad that you enjoyed this story. It was an interesting one to write, so I'm always pleased to hear that a reader liked it. I hope it was scary but not too scary ;) Edge of the seat is good!

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoysCarolinaGirl2010 Shift

20th February 2011:
Wow! This was amazing it was well written and had me on the edge of my seat! The only question I have is Why was she targeted?

Author's Response: I tried to leave it vague as to the exact reason but hinted at it - she knew Tom Riddle at school, and during the time she had a crush on him, found out a few things about him (notably his half-bloodedness) and she knew all his crowd...

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by GinnyCullen Shift

6th June 2010:
OH my! I knew it was fenrir from the time molly and Arthur had heard howling in the forest on Arthurs birthday! pity!

Author's Response: Yes, that was Fenrir at Arthur's birthday. Good call!

 Report Review

Review #7, by theelderwand Shift

21st February 2010:
This tale could (and does) stand well on its own. As usual, your flourishes, such as the fact that she has a history with McG, were quite well done.

In very few words, you capitalize on the suspense until the reveal at the end with Greyback. Also, the reveal with Rookwood in the begining was excellent.

A great tale. I'm curious though, will the tingling sensation she always felt when she was being watched be further explained? If not, I'm assuming it was merely her heightened senses picking up that the Death Eaters were watching her or is it part of an actual curse that's been placed by Voldy on whoever holds the job of DADA professor?

Great one shot.

Author's Response: I was really trying to maintain the mystery of the story, even while it unfolds, so I left a lot unexplained directly in this. It is very different from my usual style, so it's kind of experimental I guess.

It was more the heightened senses thing than being caused by the curse. I think the curse on the DADA job (what a staffing nightmare for Dumbledore!) would have just made something befall them by the end of the year to make them leave. I actually think there must have been just as many teachers who left the DADA job for benign reasons over the years it was cursed, or there simply wouldn't have been anyone willing to take the job. So I had Ampara's predecessor leave because she was having a baby (and in those days, that almost inevitably meant she would no longer be working).

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by witch_in_training Shift

30th October 2009:
Hey Megan, happy HPFFSAD!

This was an absolutely amazing idea for a story -- I've never read anything about the many DADA teachers that were affected by the jinx on the subject!

I liked Aminta; she seemed like an intelligent woman, and an actual competent Defense teacher. All the while I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out, how the jinx would affect her -- a bite from Fenrir Greyback was the last thing I expected!

Minerva's involvement and hints about Tom Riddle made the story even more rounded, and I almost wish Aminta could have found out for sure who Minerva was talking about. I love that name, by the way. Aminta. It's pretty, and certainly unique.

Author's Response: Hi there :)

Thank you! I don't think there are a lot of stories out there about the past DADA staff. I liked Aminta's character very much, I was sad to kill her off in Unsinkable so I wanted to tell her story a bit more. Aminta's first and last names both mean "protector or defender", I was trying for a JKR-style alliterative name with allusions. I like how it turned out. Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by RonsGirlFriday Shift

1st June 2009:
Wow, this was seriously creepy! It filled in so many of the gaps in Unsinkable, where you didn't know what was going on with her. On that note, I'm glad you left it as a mystery in Unsinkable itself.

Aminta is a great character - pity you had to kill her off! All the little details in her, like about her family and her years at Hogwarts with Minerva, really filled her out and gave her depth.

The suspense was excellent. I was on the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen next. It was almost agonizing.

Author's Response: Wow thank you! This was quite a bit different to write from my usual, never really did suspense before. I'm glad it worked out.

I really liked Aminta Ampara's character, but sadly she was slated to die from the word go. I had more backstory on her and her sister but it didn't get used.

I thought it worked better as a mystery in Unsinkable, since it's told from Molly and Arthur's POVs, they wouldn't have known any of this, but then it needed some explanation too.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by MoonNRoses Shift

30th January 2009:
Oh... my... goodness... That last line was so creepy. I've got goosebumps! I'm glad to know two things. One, I was right about who killed her. Two, that she had spirit. She held up a lot better than most would, I'm sure.

That story was so full of so many descriptions and actions. My eyes were glued to it and I could see everything so vividly. The way you described Greyback was incredibly scary. I think you had Dumbledore right on. And Minerva as well. I love that you put a bit of her school days in there. Again, I absolutely love your writing and yes I will read more. :)

Author's Response: Wow I was really unsure that this would be any good, and so far it's gotten great responses! It's quite different from my usual fare. I'm really glad you liked it. And that is was creepy and scary! I was going for that, but I don't write scary stuff much. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Violet Gryfindor Shift

25th January 2009:
Wow that ending was absolutely chilling! I love how the suspense slowly built up, with more mysteries continuously entering into the plot. The details in this were impressive, and really helped to fit the story into the canon seamlessly, as did the spot-on characterizations and the realism of your OC. She just fit into things, and it made sense that people from her year would have been targeted, even if what they knew lay buried safely in their minds.

The werewolf concept was also brilliant in this, once again the flair for detail shining through. It definitely helped to make this story more chilling to read. Amazing work on this! It was a great read, even for a dark gloomy night. ;)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Wow, what an awesome review :) You are too kind. I quite liked Ampara and was sad to kill her off, but it had to be done. I figured, from what Dumbledore says about very few people who knew Riddle being willing to talk about him, that there weren't that many left either... Anyway thank you very much for the wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Georgia Weasley Shift

22nd January 2009:
THAT was awesome. The way you brought in Ambrosius and Augustus Rookwood shows the attention to detail that you are so good at. Her story is harrowing, and the relentless way you have her watched and pursued has your readers anxious for her. Your OC's are always so well developed, and you created a great backstory for her. She went to school with Tom Riddle, but he was so slick that she didn't really think of him as a possibly evil person. Using Fenrir to get to her had me on the edge of my seat. Driving her mad slowly was just done so well. The last line just gripped me. Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This one was hard for me to get started on, it's so different from my usual fare. I'm really glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Shift

25th December 2008:
Ah. . .

That was absolutely excellent. Brilliant. It explained everything from Unsinkable, and slipped in clever things like Cecilia and explaining the dementors. Amazing!

I really, really loved it, the writing was unbelieveable. Great job! This was just. . . beyond great. Great. Love your work. Love it. I re-read Unsinkable almost everyday, no joke. Nice work, 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Wow what a great review! I'm so glad to hear you're still reading and enjoying Unsinkable too :) I'm really hoping to get some new stuff up very soon. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by hsw Shift

10th December 2008:
OMG! I am just about ready to scream myself! The suspense in this story, the way you got into Prof. Ampara's head is just amazing. I felt like I was inside her mind, especially toward the end! I knew something fishy was up the instant Rookwood made an appearance. I actually gasped! I also was able to guess who the "hulking brute" was before you actually named him, thanks to your discriptions which were similar enough to JRK's.

This story just has shivers going all up and down my spine. (I have a very low tolerance for horror-type stories . . . I guess I'm a scaredy-cat.) It was so sinister! All those little things that you put in, the Patronuses (Patroni?), the prickles, the howling, all those added supremely to the effect. I am impressed with the way you accounted for the decline you described in Prof. Ampara in "Unsinkable." The non-fatal attack was particularly creative. I did not expect it at all, but it was the perfect thing to do!

Now about the ending. It was perfect. Absolutely perfect. The only thing I have to wonder is if the "hulking brute" actually was that sophisticated, but monsters like that do unravel, so by the time DH rolled around, he probably wasn't that collected anymore. Besides, that little nitpick doesn't matter because the effect is just stunning. Of all your works, I think this one impresses me the most with your skill. I wish you could see how impressed and awestruck I am right now. I know, I'm gushing like a lovesick fangirl . . . but I am supremely impressed and awed by this story!

Author's Response: Wow thank you so much! I'm not big on the horror genre either, I don't watch horror movies and I get nightmares easily. I was hoping I didn't do too bad here, it's a fairly major departure from my usual romantic-comedy or angsty-death stuff lol. Poor Aminta, I quite liked her and was sad to kill her off, but it had to be done.

Greyback I think would have been slightly less crazy at this point, being some thirty years prior to his appearances in the books. He's definitely a freaky one. The ending was the part I wrote first and from whence the rest of the story came! I just had to do that line. I didn't really think of it as him being sophisticated, I was thinking more like he should have been watching and instead kept harassing her, since Greyback is pretty much of a loose cannon.

I'm really glad to hear you think I did all right in horror/suspense, and your gushing is making me blush! Thank you, thank you! I actually am pretty proud of this one, but I think the Percy piece in the "Defining Moments" collab is my best. It's in my favorites list if you haven't read that collab, there are some very impressive contributions (girldetective85, gryffindorseeker, ginwannabe and other fabulous authors whose names don't begin with G).


 Report Review

Review #15, by Spar Shift

7th December 2008:
Lovely. You have quite a flair for fear.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #16, by BarbaraPotty Shift

2nd December 2008:
I liked this...it's venturing quite far from your usual fluff or depression, but you're doing very well in this area, too. I only wonder what was it she knew...I mean, surely the mere fact she went to school with Voldie wouldn't be enough of a motivation...McGonnagal wouldn't survive a week if that was the case! So I wonder...do you plan on letting us know in another story, or is it some kind of a forever-mystery? :)

I liked McGonnagal in this chapter, and Dumbledore, too. Ampara herself is quite a nice character, too, I wonder why she never had children...

The idea of Greyback being able to influence with a mere scratch of his finger is interesting, too. You certainly made him creepy enough.

Author's Response: It is very different from what I usually write. I think it's the first time I've ever written anything like this. Yeah, some of what Ampara knew about Tom Riddle will be forever a mystery... I tried to hint at it a bit with her remembering how she had a crush on him during his Head Boy year - the year he acquired the ring. They would have just kept an eye on her but Greyback is a loose cannon.

Greyback's attack and the dementor combined to fuel her descent into madness. I didn't want to kill her off, cause I like her character, but sadly anyone who gets the DADA job doesn't seem to get a happily ever after... and I did create her purely for her death at the end of the story. Quite a bit outside my normal fare. I suspect Minerva stays at the school as long as she has for safety, much as Snape did. Hogwarts was pretty much the only place outside Voldy's reach.

Thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login