Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for My Identity
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Marshal/Scooterbug8515 My Husband

25th April 2017:
Jumping in right in the middle here but golly wow! What a chapter. It took me a bit to figure out who this was about and wow! Ted/Andromeda! I haven't read many of those and what you have here of their relationship! This is something I have NEVER seen before! Like seriously this is amazing and unique and I love it.

I would never expect that the marriage was something agreed upon rather than love and what was good for Andromeda and the baby. It is clear that Ted cares though! He is so sweet in what little we see of him.

As for Andromeda you handle her voice so amazingly well! Like wow! While she isn't what I expected and isn't what I have seen in the few fics I've seen you have a solid clear voice and it so incredibly works particularly for the unique take of Andromeda having issues with Ted's blood status.

Then Ted, I know I gushed some already but how calm he is with this argument and how he tries to keep Andromeda from going too far. He is an incredible man and my respect for him has soared in this chapter alone. I like the ending bit with his answer and am amused that they think they are having a boy.

 Report Review

Review #2, by adluvshp My Husband

25th April 2017:
Sorry for jumping in right in the middle of the story but CTF!

Aw, so Andromeda got married and she does not feel elated or like new bride at all, which is totally understandable under the circumstances they got married in. My heart broke as she reflected over having let go of the dream wedding - of being beautiful and joyous, so very sad. Obviously I do not understand what happened on that first night in his place but it has to have some bad memories that they are not moving into his apartment, hmm. It makes sense that she would find it difficult to live with someone else after having been alone for so long - you really brought that out very well, using great phrasing. "Solitude" almost has a poetic feel to it and then about the married life becoming a routine, ghosh, I wanted to simply give her a hug. And oh dear, then we have the evil sister Bella visiting. I was almost afraid of what would happen when she showed up! The bitterness in Andromeda's words when she said her husband is not dear and not hers confused me a little but I suppose I will understand better if I read on. Bella's attitude towards her sister was not surprising and her words were vindictive and hurtful so good work on the characterisation there.

Ah so they do not know each other all that well before getting married, now things are starting to make sense. It made sense the way the whole Mudblood thing hit Andromeda though ugh. Her reaction was terrible, she does not like him either, ghosh.

OKAY SO ANDROMEDA IS PREGNANT AND THEY GOT MARRIED AND NOW THIS ALL MAKES SENSE THANK HEAVENS.

Sorry about that but I am finally relieved to make sense of things that are happening in the chapter. I am super intrigued to read this from the very beginning too now. Leaving that aside for now, I loved it. The fight between Ted and Andromeda was believable and I felt for both of them. The whole deal about the mudblood and the son and all, realistically written. Andromeda's character is multi-dimensional and great so far. Great story it seems!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Belle My Denial

2nd July 2015:
At this point I just want Andromeda to die in a fire. Seriously she's the worst.

Author's Response: Hahaha, that's fair. Though thanks for reading this far, though?

 Report Review

Review #4, by merlins beard My Mythos

28th June 2015:
Hey Sam,
I'm really late for this again (seems like it's becoming a habit) and I'm sorry to have kept you waiting. Between the Amazing Race, the site lagging and RL, I'm just now finding time for finally completing our swap.

The following sentence makes me feel a little queasy about this story: JKR created Andromeda. I just ruined her life.
It is now to late to ask myself 'should I be reading this story?' Because it's not like I have a choice anymore. I'll just have to continue reading after this chapter, you've captured me already.

I love your use of beautiful language to describe Andromeda and to draw parallels.

This chapter feels a little bit like a prologue and that's why I'll just stop here and head to the next chapter to leave another review there because this isn't very long and detailed and because I can only twll you so many times in one review how much I love your work.

See you on the next chapter
~anja

Author's Response: Hello!

No worries at all! The moment a House Cup event starts I 100% expect everybody to drop everything else for the time being. I'm actually impressed that you came back to this so soon - I normally go into a review coma after TAR,

Hm... queasy? I'm not sure if that's a good thing. I don't really think there is a good queasy. But all the same, I wanted to be up front about what I was doing in this story, and that's the most direct way to sum it up.

Haha, you have no choice but to keep reading? Wow, then I guess that's a big compliment.

I am super flattered that you love my writing so much and want to keep reading it. I am not as proud of this piece as some others, but it is very close to my heart, due to some of the things that it explores and the fact that it is the first novel I've finished.

You have my permission to tell me you love my work as much as you like in one review. ;)

Thanks for the swap and the super sweet review,

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by tangledconstellations My Changes

23rd June 2015:
Hey again,

Ah this was another super chapter! It was really good to see Bella and Andromeda interacting. I really like the way you've written Bellatrix. The line about her walking with purpose so that people would know that she knows what she's doing was just perfect. She's obviously still young and is really trying to prove something, but she has a dangerous confidence too. It's interesting to notice how a lot of her behaviour has been passed down from her parents. In a way that makes me rethink the 'villain' Bellatrix we see in the books. Maybe if she had come from different circumstances things might have turned out in a different way?

I really feel for Andromeda here. She's pining so bad for that change, and yet at the same time she is at that age where she's becoming self aware and will be growing up into a woman. She's a really interesting mix of excited but also let down - she's impatient, in a way, I guess. I really can relate to her - when I was younger (and still now!) I always used to pin myself to something in the future and get so excited about it, heralding it as the thing that will change me! It's sad because it never usually works out like that and having such high expectations of something always means they won't be met. I feel really close to Andromeda, and really invested in this story. She's just such a nice character, and because she feels like she doesn't really have a place, I just want her to find one. Your writing is lovely in this chapter, and the tone is so solid throughout.

Ahh, I really enjoyed this chapter. I can't wait to read more :) ♥

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Yay, a second review response means I get to tell you you're awesome again!

You're awesome!

All the Bella love. I thought at one point I read something about Bellatrix being one of the top students at Hogwarts at her time. I haven't been able to find where this came from, so maybe my brain made it up, but it's head canon now. In my head Bella is extremely intelligent and powerful. Whatever she chose to do she would have been amazing at. As it happens, she followed her passion. And it's a little hard to condemn her for that.

Andromeda is also a product of her environment. SO MUCH. I am glad you like her. Things happen.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by tangledconstellations My Mysteries

23rd June 2015:
Heya,

I found time to read some more!

This was such a good chapter. I really liked it. I dont know why but I've never thought of the Black sisters as being actual sisters (which is so stupid haha) - I think because we just see them as adults and it's easy to forget that they grew up together. But I think you captured the sisterly relationships between them so well - especially the way Andromeda idolises Bella, up until Bella lets her down by starting to change into the Bella we know in the books. It's really strange but as I was reading this I could totally relate this to myself because I have two older sisters (so I guess I'm the Narcissa of the family) and so the relationships between them that you were describing I could just see really well. I think when you have siblings and you're all quite close in age you definitely do build up a bond - but at the same time you're all so different and you don't really know where you stand with each other, too. You're all at different stages of growing up and finding yourself - and especially with Andromeda as the middle child, being overshadowed does happen.

It was great that you gave us more info on the family, and again we have that question that's going to run through the fic of what identity is. I liked that even though this chapter wasn't fully about Andromeda and you took this time to talk about her sisters, there was still an awful lot of new character facets to her, and I feel as though I can picture her more and more clearly.

This was awesome - on to the next one :) ♥

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much for coming back and leaving TWO lovely reviews! It was a really great surprise. I don't think anyone's reviewed more than one chapter since, like, 2012, so I'm kind of flattergasted (which is a feeling I get that makes me make up words).

I'm so glad to hear that you continue to enjoy the writing, tone, and characters. I've gotten several positive reviews on the first chapter recently, but was starting to think that only that chapter was good. It's nice to hear that you think otherwise!

I love the Black sisters so much. They are three of the most fascinating characters in the books to me, and they all grew up together! That is SO interesting to me, and I could write it a thousand different ways.

You won't be seeing much of Narcissa, but Bellatrix is a very different matter. I really love writing Bella, and I see the relationship between her and Andromeda as very pivotal.

I actually don't have any sisters, but I grew up with three brothers. Sibling politics is so very palpable to me. I'm glad you related to it as well!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by tangledconstellations My Mythos

21st June 2015:
Heya! ♥

I'm swinging by for review tag!

Gah - this was such an awesome start to your fic. I've been meaning to start reading a good-length fic for a while, and y'know what? I think this is the one I'm gonna go for :) This first chapter alone is so rich in tone and I love the way you've introduced Andromeda. I can see her, I can picture her, and, even though I don't know anything about her current life situation as of yet, I feel invested in her. This opening is really beautifully written. I love the way you intertwine the ancient story of Andromeda with the present. I can picture a girl who is a bit lost, her mind fixed elsewhere, but because she is so actively searching for her true self, as you say, she is also very actively in this world too.

I think what is most interesting is that by mentioning the ancient story you set up a level of foreshadowing. Half of me is expecting the rest of this story to follow alongside the ancient one. In a way, I'm already hoping for her hero to come along, to rescue her from the situation she might find herself in. But the other half of me is so fascinated with the tone you've established here, the sort of pessimistic outlook Andromeda seems to have, and so I'm incredibly excited to see that not happen. I'm excited to see how she makes her own name for herself, and just how her happy ending, that she's so sure she doesn't believe in, won't come about.

This was an awesome first chapter. So much intrigue! I can't wait to read on :)

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Gah, thank you so much.

I am pretty self conscious about this story because I wrote it so long ago, but I am also very proud that it is actually finished (the final three chapters are waiting for the queue).

Because I feel insecure about it I haven't specifically requested any reviews for it, so I am always very flattered when somebody reads it on their own. As you can see, most of the later chapters haven't been reviewed, so if you do keep reading I'd be interested to hear what you think.

Thanks much!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella Hunter My Mythos

16th June 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with you review. I was intending on hopping right over to this after receiving your review but then things happened and I was like, "Man, real life is not my friend." But I'm here now and I hope you're ready for some awesomeness!

Hm. You seem to be running away rather quickly...

Anyway, this! I really, really like Andromeda. I have read a lot of stories that feature her but I don't think that they're very common. We usually hear more about Narcissa and Bellatrix and assume that Andromeda was this quirky girl that never quite fit in. I'm honestly not sure what I think about her personality since we didn't get much about her in the HP series but I like what you've done here.

I think that I love most about this is the fact that you've used her name to really get us into her character. You know more about her from how she thinks of her name than you would someone interacting with her. I don't know if that's a weird thing to say or not but I love the fact that it sounds oddly on the tongue and you're not quite sure what to think of her. It's a great parallel for someone growing up in the Black household and I'm sure it's going to be an important factor later on.

I liked the little bit of mythology here that you've added to. She's not a princess but she can hold onto that story for all she's worth because she DOES exist and that's a powerful way to set this story off. I really liked that you didn't have her as this shy, awkward girl either, I sense a lot of personality from her. I think that she's witty, sarcastic and stronger than people have written her in the past. :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Aw, thank you very much!

You actually reviewed a chapter from my story The Rules of Motherhood right after we agreed to the swap, but maybe you forgot about that? Or am I confused, because I don't get the running away comment? Either way, thank you very much for TWO reviews!

I had a lot of fun playing with Andromeda and the preconceptions people have of her here. As you can see by this chapter, she certainly feels like she doesn't fit in, but not necessarily with her family.

I'm glad that you like how I structured her and that you could really get to know her by seeing the way she thinks. She does a lot of thinking in this story, haha.

"witty, sarcastic and stronger than people have written her in the past" is absolutely wonderful feedback to receive and really what I was going for.

Thank you so much!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by cherry_pop94 My Mythos

16th June 2015:
Hi Sam!

I'm here for our swap.

I've always found Andromeda a very interesting character, so I was so happy to find this on your page! This is a really strong opening chapter. You really get the the heart of who Andromeda is (or rather, her confusion over who she is). I love that you've incorporated the myth into this and that she tries to find some connection to herself and the myth. I can definitely already see some metaphorical parallels between Andromeda Black and Andromeda of Greek mythology, so I'm really interested to know how you take this moving forward.

The writing here, Andromeda's narrating voice is really lovely too. You can really sense her unhappiness with her life already. And you've said at the beginning that you're ruining her life! Is it terrible that I can't wait to see how that happens? Haha.

I've always thought Andromeda had a bit of a fairy tale. It's a kind of Romeo and Juliet except no one dies and there isn't the whole weird bit where they're only 14 or so. Anyway, what I mean to say is, that I always thought Andromeda's life was lovely and wonderful in the time after she married Ted and before Nymphadora died. So, I can't wait to read more of this as it seems it will definitely be different!

Thanks for such an enjoyable swap!

Stefanie

Author's Response: Thanks for the swap!

I'm always surprised when people review this story. I wrote it so long ago, and even though I am putting a lot of effort into getting it fully posted now, it seems strange for people to actually want to read it, haha!

Anyway, I'm glad that you liked this first chapter. Once cI looked into the myth of Andromeda everything seemed to flow so perfectly.

Yes, I will ruin her life. Many times. Be prepared. Spoiler: It is not like Romeo and Juliet. Except that people do die.

Haha, so if you do continue to read this, please let me know what you think!

Thanks,

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Unicorn_Charm My Mythos

18th May 2015:
Hi there! Here for our swap!

Wow. Wow, wow, wow! This was such an amazing opening to a story. I know that you said in your author's note that you've written this ages ago, but I thought it was simply amazing!

I loved the voice of the main character, who is revealed to be Andromeda. She seems strong, yet a bit insecure, clever and definitely an over thinker.

I just adored how this opening chapter was her musing about her name. It was a very clever way to introduce who she is and give a glimpse at her personality. It immediately draws you in and you can't help but need to read on.

I loved the story about the Princess Andromeda who she compared herself to. It immediately sounded very similar to her and Ted, which was great because it is a bit of foreshadowing of their relationship. It was brilliantly used.

I really cannot wait to read on (because I definitely am) and see they dynamic between her and her sisters, and the rest of the Blacks. I know you said that this is going to be a little bit of a different take on her compared with other fics, so I'm excited for that, too!

All in all I thought this was a fantastic opening chapter! I'm super thrilled to have done the swap with you! Thanks!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Agh, thank you!!

I am so insecure about this story, because it is really old and so angsty that it hurts. At the same time, it is quite dear to me. I am going through and giving it a light edit and posting all the remaining chapters as fast as the queue will allow. I am mostly posting it for me, and don't expect many people to read it, but if you like it then that is very exciting to me.

Please keep me updated with your thoughts, and do your best to bear through the angst. Insecure and an over thinker is definitely a good way to describe my Andromeda!

I'm glad you enjoyed the foreshadowing. We'll see how it plays out ;)

There is quite a bit of her interactions and similarities with Bella throughout this story, so keep an eye out for that.

I just finished editing chapter 18 of this fic, and I'm headed over to review Painted.


 Report Review

Review #11, by May My Seclusion

17th May 2015:
This is a really great story about andromeda

Author's Response: Oh wow, you read this far? *hides surprise*

The full story is written, and will be posted as fast as the queue will allow. If you're enjoying it, please check back for updates. It gets much more interesting when Ted finally gets involved.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Siriusly3 My Grief

16th May 2012:
Sirius?! Woo! Aww I wish her patents didn't blatantly not love her do much, it's so heart wrenching. Her mothers death was not a shock but I was shocked that she's didn't feel much, it shows what little relationship they had! Update soon! :)

Author's Response: I could try to twist things and say that emotional numbness is a part of shock... But yeah, they didn't have much of a relationship.

You sure make a lot of smiley faces for such a downer of a story, haha!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Siriusly3 My Promise

16th May 2012:
Oh. This meeting seemed a bit out of the blue, I mean, they would have bumped into each other before, surely? Anyway. I liked how angry she got at adriana; very IC. Im glad she has someone that understands her! A friend, finally! :)

Author's Response: I understand what you're saying there. I think I assumed that they would have seen each other around, but were so wrapped up in their own worlds that they never took the time to slow down and spend time together. But yes, you have a point. If I ever get to giving this story a more thorough make-over (as will become evident it needs in certain chapters), this will be on my list of things to address.

Don't get too excited with that friend thing. I just love ruining Andromeda's life. ;)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Siriusly3 My Acceptance

16th May 2012:
Aww. She found her friends, but not the right ones! I hopesay she feels better soon. My heart keeps breaking for her! Bella's coldness is so well played out and in character and andromedas longing for acceptance is so clear! Great chapter!

Author's Response: The sentiment of that first sentence of yours is kind of right on for this story.

Again, great feedback. I'm happy to hear that Bella's coldness and Andromeda's... obsessions... read so well.

This is one of the chapters that felt a little more weird and forced to me, so I'm glad to hear that you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Siriusly3 My First Year

16th May 2012:
Aw. I really wanted her tO find a friend!!! I can't believe how saddening her life is, I just want her to meet ted and be happy!! And I liked the longing to be in a gang. Because every teenage girl has been there! ;)

Author's Response: Stop and ask yourself, with the tone this story has developed and what you know of Andromeda and my writing from the eight chapters that you have read: do you think meeting Ted will make her "just be happy?"

Sorry. =)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Siriusly3 My Destiny

16th May 2012:
Aw. I'm sad that her and adrina are sorted apart. I feel so bad for andromeda! She's such a sweet sad clever little girl and she's do hard in herself!! I lived your style, particularly in this chapter. It's like we can see her thoughts but we don't actually know her that well, she seems formal. On s good way :)

Author's Response: On that note, if you are into that style and this kind of dark feel, check out my One-Shot Confessions of a Marrying Murderess. It is one of my more recent works and I really love it (more than this one, haha). I did some interesting things with style and tone and think you might like it.

Again, thanks for the feedback =)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Siriusly3 My Changes

16th May 2012:
Oh bella, drawn into the dart arts already! I can see why andromeda is excited for hogwarts, her home life seems awful. I think it's so sweet how she was surprised to seer the letter, as if she wasn't expecting it :). Bella's chapters ther gets darker and darker! A great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Siriusly3 My Mysteries

16th May 2012:
Wow again. So informatively lovely. I love bella's character in this. It seems so canonly believe able. And also that narcissisa might have a different dad sees very true also. I love the idea of her being doted upon, it fits perfectly with her character. I'm looking forward to reading more!!!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot.

I really like the new perspectives I brought to all the sisters, particularly the (in this case) more minor and less angsty ones. Bella is one of my favorite characters and I simply loved writing her. You'll be seeing more of her for sure.

I really appreciate that you think she is canon/believable.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Siriusly3 My Mythos

16th May 2012:
Oh wow, that was so beautiful. And dark, kind of. I mean, not much happened but it was a good prologue and I like your style a lot :)

Author's Response: Yay! Thank you for reading and posting so many reviews so quickly! =D

I haven't gotten a lot of reviews on this piece, so it's super great to have someone say nice things about it!

I'll be posting new chapters every week (pretty much right after the last one is validated) and look forward to more reviews from you!


 Report Review

Review #20, by NaidatheRavenclaw My Mythos

3rd January 2012:
I was just browsing on the archives when I stumbled across this story, and I must say that I love it! Even though this first chapter was short, it really gripped my attention. The background on Andromedra's name was really interesting. I'm interested to see how that same sort of story plays out through the novel. And I also love the way you wrote this! The style fits both the mood of the story and Andromedra herself. It's not something I see a lot in fanfiction, but it's one of my favorite styles to read. An absolutely lovely first chapter, and I cannot wait to read on!

-Naida

Author's Response: Yay!

That's great to hear, particularly your comments about the style matching the character. That's something that I find essential in writing and love to do.

Please read on and let e know your thoughts throughout. There should be more posted one the queue opens back up =)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Rose My Changes

24th December 2011:
a really good chapter, some of the best fan fiction I have ever read

Author's Response: Aw, thank you!

That means a lot, especially because this is stuff that I actually wrote years ago and I'm not completely happy with it.

It does have its strengths though, and I'm glad you're enjoying it.

Please keep reading and share! The rest will be posted in time (on hold now for queue closure).


 Report Review

Review #22, by Flora Hanina My Mythos

13th August 2011:
I thought this was really lovely -it's completely believable that somebody about to go against all their family values would be feeling isolated and questioning their identity. My one slight qualm is that it's maybe a bit overwritten - e.g. "One can find solace in history for its firm foundation of fact." - and this can lead to errors - "He is not the man who she had loved and pledged to marry" should be "whom", and you've switched to the present tense from the past. But it's exciting and I want to know what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #23, by mrs_scorpiusmalfoy My Mythos

25th July 2010:
Hello!

I think fate made you review my story. This is unbelievable. I was searching for ways to get in touch with Andromeda's character and here is a NaNoWriMo winner - all about Andromeda Black.

I like the way you made Andromeda unsure. To me, she was a Black. So she was haughty, full of her self. She was raised to believe she was better then everyone else. She fell in love with Ted because he knocked her down a notch and showed her what she was missing out on in life.

But your less-then-1000-word introduction gave me a lot to think about. Maybe she was unsure. Lost. And Ted was the one that helped her out. Ted helped her find herself.

And I really like that thought.

Thank you for posting this. It sincerely helped me. And to further increase my understanding of Meda, I think you should start updating. You did ask someone to nag you about it and I happily oblige. =P

But you promised! *pokes you* You said so. *pokes again* You posted another NaNo! *pokes harder* Update! *chants annoyingly*

I believe I've done a good job with the nagging. It's one of my many abilities.

Congratulations on winning! :) - even though I'm four years late. =P

10/10

Jaz

Author's Response: THANK YOU!

Sorry, had to get that out of my system.

I was just browsing my page and saw 2 reviews listed under this story and said "hm that's odd." To see a decently sized unread review really made my days. Like gave me chills.

I'm really flattered that you liked this so much, especially since it is just a very brief intro. That really means a lot to me, since I admit I have been at odds with this story for a LONG time.

I also am glad that it made you think of Andromeda a little differently, even with just this tiny intro. My main goal in writing this was to paint a very different picture of her than is generally accepted, and I think I have done that. If I have done that well remains to be seen. :) Too many people see her as all Black or all good, like Sirius. In this story I show how she can be both, leaving, as you said, a very lost and confused woman.

Anyway, you're nagging is not in vain! It so happens that, after three/four/however many years, I have finally finished this story. This month, actually. It was really daunting as it has been breathing down my neck for the last several years and I'm really not that crazy about it, but I got it finished, making it my first story to be completed other than a one shot. I am, however, facing a very difficult editing process on it. It has a ton of issues, but I'm hoping to get through a full edit, send it off to a beta, and then finally start posting updates! I just need to stay inspired and determined, and you've just helped me with that.

Methinks I'm going to go get back to work...

Thanks for the review and the nagging.


 Report Review

Review #24, by redherring My Mythos

5th December 2008:
Yeah, good start. I like it. Problem is, now I know I'll have to wait forever for an update... *sighs*

Oh, I don't hold it against you really. Lol :)

Author's Response: I know exactly what you mean - I almost feel the same way (except that I know what is going to happen).

Hopefully it won't be too long before it is up, and I'll try to let you know when it is.

Thanks for dropping the the review, by the way.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login