Reading Reviews for Dare You To Love
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tres Amigas de Harry Potter Chapter Four

15th May 2009:
Wow, this is reallly good! :) I love the details about the office, and the lunch detention! I would NOT want one of those :) lol
Can't wait to read the next chappie! :D

-Tess

Author's Response: LOL! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #2, by bexi_potter Chapter Six

28th April 2009:
AHHH! I LOVE THIS STORY! This chapter was absolutely amazing, dear, absolutely amazing. I love the character of Damien and his dynamics with Tristan, and how Damien and Claudette act around each other, the sort of friendship they have.

You're brilliant, love. ;D

Write more soon, I love it!!! 10/10, obviously! (:

-becky

Author's Response: Thanks so much Bex. All your compliments really mean a lot. :)

-Shea


 Report Review

Review #3, by Tres Amigas de Harry Potter Chapter Three

8th April 2009:
Shea,
Love it love it love it! :D I love the bit about the I-Love-Beauxbatons charm, that was really good. And I also liked the details about the outside of the castle :) Very pretty! Nice work!

LYL,
Tess

P.S. Have a good spring break and happy Easter! :D

Author's Response: Thanks! AND YOU TOO! HAPPY EASTER!

-Shea


 Report Review

Review #4, by bexi_potter Chapter Five

3rd April 2009:
This chapter is great! OOF, I love it (:

In fact, it could have been said that we had perfected derogatory look-making to an art form LOL I love you.

I really like this, the way you described everything and everyone, especially Tristan ;) And yeah, Spotted Dick is a bit GROSS. Erugh. =/

Update soon, love, and don't forget to email! ;D

-becky.

10/10, obvz. (:

Author's Response: Hey hon! LOL! I'm glad you liked it... And I'm not surprised that anything actually called "Spotted Dick" is gross. Like, I actually want to know who named these dishes. >.<

Anyway, I swear I'll email soon. High school is slowly killing me! And it's an agonizingly painful death!!! Teachers are the most sadistic of creatures. *cringes*

-Shea


 Report Review

Review #5, by Harriet T Cauldron Chapter One

14th March 2009:
SHEA! So, where have I been as you've been writing up a storm? La la land, that's where. My head is just spinning because of all the things we simply must discuss. Once Lent is over, that is, I've given up e-mail, IM, Facebook, and MySpace for Lent. Yikes!

Anyway, I love it so far, simply adore it. Not something I at all expected from you. Not at all. But I think it is wonderful. Do you know what I mean, when I say it's different for you? Well, I just mean that it's not dark and it isn't made out to be tragic (which is more like your older stuff, but a much more sophisticated version of your old stuff. Look how mature we're all getting). It seems really down-to-earth and I like that a lot. That down-to-earthness. And thanks to the spell check on fire fox, I now know that 'earthness' is not a word.

French is a silly language, I have always thought so myself. Spanish RULES! It's much simpler, everyone knows a little Spanish, one sound for each vowel, all that jazz. Not as much back-of-the-throat-half-of-this-word-is-silent stuff as there is in French. Spanish is sooo the way to go, hun. YEAH! SPANISH BEATS ALL!

And sooo...I am just a wee bit hyper this fine Saturday evening.

Oh my, I'm spending my Saturday evenings writing long-winded fan fiction reviews. Hm, maybe I haven't come as far as I thought.

At any rate, I loved the story and I want him to skip right to their winter "holiday" *giggles at awesome Europeaness of 'holiday'* (Europeaness is not a word either) 'cause I just love the characters you've already introduced and I don't want to meet Damien's mean nasty friends. NO! I WON'T DO IT! So yes, that is what you must do, even though you already have more chapters posted and written.

And now I think all of my excitement has given me a headache and I must be off to not read. But I shall continue to read soon! So don't post too fast (haha) because I've been a little chaotic lately and who knows when I'll next check in again. Absent minded as well...

Well, I'll catch up with you (relatively) soon,
Julia

P.S. And of course INFINITY (plus one!)/10

Author's Response: OHMYEFFINGGOD!!!

JULIA! I haven't heard from you in MONTHS!

LMFAO! Well, I kind of fell off the Lent Bandwagon after the first week (I gave up coffee and any dessert-type food... YIKES!) But definitely email me asap!!! I've missed you!

At any rate, I'm glad you like this. I've got a case of writer's block at the moment, so it was nice to receive such a sweet review. :P

LOL! I totally should just skip to the holiday! :P But I don't know how well that would correspond with the rest of the plot. LMFAO!

I can relate to being busy. This is the first time in a few weeks I've even been on the Internet. Basically I spend 12 hours a day at school now... 8 hours doing actual schooling and the remaining 4 at either track or play practice - by the way I'm in the school play this year. But before you get too excited I'm only in general cast and... *takes a deep breath* the play is High School Musical 2 *cringes* I hate the HSM things, but I have no say in anything, so I'm just gonna grin and bear it and hope I'll get a better role in a better production next year.

I'm going to update this next chapter... I think it's Chapter 5? I'll have to check, LOL. But then there'll probably be like 0 updates for months 'cuz I am A - suffering from WB and B - busy... and C - way too lazy for my own good.

Thanks again for the review, hon!

-Shea

By the way: Spanish sucks, French rocks. Period, end of story! :P


 Report Review

Review #6, by bewitched Chapter Four

4th March 2009:
Aww wow. This places the timescale better for me. Lovely chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)
-Shea


 Report Review

Review #7, by rowenaravenclaw94 Chapter Three

18th February 2009:
watch, he gets chosen now. 10/10! good job... update soon!
-xoxo, rowenaravenclaw94

Author's Response: LMFAO! You're very insightful! I really appreciate your reviews and I'll try to update!

 Report Review

Review #8, by rowenaravenclaw94 Chapter Two

18th February 2009:
i don't care much for claire. she's awful. claudette is cool, though. 10/10! good job!
-xoxo, rowenaravenclaw94

Author's Response: yeah, I don't like her much either. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by rowenaravenclaw94 Chapter One

18th February 2009:
good job! 10/10! poor kid raised by the maid. i'd hate that...
-xoxo, rowenaravenclaw94

Author's Response: LOL, me too! Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Tres Amigas de Harry Potter Chapter Two

13th February 2009:
Shea!
Love it! I love all the scenery descriptions of the beach! I love beaches, and I wish we had some around here! I especially liked the practically-hyperventilating prefect, that made me laugh :) Poor girl! :)

Hey, here's a tip: if you want to mix things up a little, try having your characters say "Salut" for hello sometimes. It's just a more informal version of "Bonjour", and it's good to mix things up (right?). Just an idea! :)

Yeah, I haven't heard from Harriet in ages. It's like she vanished off the face of the earth, LOL :) I really need to call some people this weekend :)

Adios!
-Tess :)

Author's Response: LOL, thanks for the compliments. And the tip! I didn't know they had another way to say hello. Of course, salut is probably the French version of hi or something. I really do need to take French in college!!!

Yeah, I know what you mean. I think the last time I talked to her was November-ish. But she's really busy and whatnot, so I completely understand. :)

I HOPE YOU HAD A HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!!! And I really appreciate the wonderful review! :)

-Shea


 Report Review

Review #11, by alyosha Chapter One

6th February 2009:
Sacre bleu, which is french for: I who am so greviously ignorant at french does not know any better than to choose an erroneously french phrase to express my delight at your story.

There were many good parts in this chapter. But i wish the meditation on his lost innocence, and his confusion with what he wants to do, what he wants to be, was not so completely overshadowed by his petty complaints.

While i got the picture that he was declaiming how others perceive him as being nothing more than a spoilt rich kid, he came awfully close to portraying himself as merely that. And nothing more.

The fixation he had with proving otherwise, for no other purpose than to prove otherwise was, by all accounts, just as shallow as the actions of those who sought to judge him only on his wealth, nobility, and other such characteristics alone.

For he who views himself through external things, clothes, t-shirts etc., is surely as blameworthy as anyone who would judge him by them. I'm not surprised he feels the way he does, if he takes these things to heart so.

Also, if you permit me to say, i didn't really find the kitchen scene believable. I hardly except a vegetarian to go around saying to others "im wont do that because im a vegetarian" because it, again, comes across as though he is doing things only for their effect rather than affecting them himself.

As one who personally does not eat dead creatures, i would venture to suggest that he say something to the extent of "as much as i like ingesting the burnt remains of once breathing animals, i think i'll have to pass." Or, as i say, anything to that effect.

(Actually, i wouldn't advise you to include that in any way and at any point in the future due merely to it being but a spur-of-the-moment creation, and therefore likely to sabotage your story altogether. But i hope you gathered from such an absurd aberration of the written word what my meaning was.)

Not to be a completely pointless reviewer or anything.

So yeah.

I hope that most convoluted of responses helped you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your honest review. You don't know HOW much I appreciate it.

I've read and reread these chapters what seems like an infinite number of times. Always, there was something wrong with the way I was developing Damien's persona, I just didn't know what. I think that because I'm the writer, I was blind to the errors regarding the way I was developing Damien. So I've been sitting here for months wondering what exactly was the problem with Damien and how I was going to fix it. Especially without knowing what this "it" was.

And now, here after reading your review... the light bulb has FINALLY clicked on. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

I don't exactly know how I'm going to edit the story, but at least now I know what was wrong. I think I was trying too hard, and all those details eventually contradicted themselves, as illustrated in your review.

I really don't know what I would've done without your review... well, probably continue ineffectually developing Damien's person. LOL!

Thank you so much, you're review was immensely helpful, really. :) Hopefully I'll be able to come up with a realistically less materialistic Damien soon, while making the slight change correspond with the rest of my story.

-Shea


 Report Review

Review #12, by Tres Amigas de Harry Potter Chapter One

4th February 2009:
Hey Shea!
I love this! The end of the chapter was so sad! But I love it! Great scene descriptions, and I love how you set up the relationships between Damien and the maid and everybody! Awesome! :D
I love how you set the story in France! My school has Spanish and French, so I'm taking French :) Doesn't Monsieur Noir mean Mister Black? Hey, if you ever have any BASIC French issues, I'd be happy to help XD But I've only been taking it for a semester, so I'm probably not too much better at it than you are. :D

10/10!
LYL!
-Tess :D

Author's Response: HEY! How are you! It's been so long since I've heard from you guys!

I'm glad you like the story thus far. I've really worked hard on it, so it's nice people are enjoying it.

I AM SO SO SO UNBELIEVABLY JEALOUS! I'd so rather take French, but my school only offers Spanish so I'm stuck. :( I may actually need help in the future in translating some French. If the online translators don't comply, I'll definitely take you up on the offer!!! I'm so miserable at the language. I basically only know "oui" means yes "bonjour" means hi and the titles.

MISS YOU TESS! THANKS FOR THE REVIEW!

-Shea


 Report Review

Review #13, by Tat Chapter Three

2nd February 2009:
its good i hope you update soon i inagen that dude who played seth on the oc as your main character.
who will he fall in love with is she from hogwards. may be one of flues daughter the younger one Domminique or whateva. i love that he hates his girlfriend its funny.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I appreciate your review, and am glad you're thus far enjoying the story.

 Report Review

Review #14, by missmagic Chapter One

30th January 2009:
I like this very much so far. It's so different from other stories I've read previously. It's a lovely new original idea and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I appreciate the review. Chapter three should be up soon. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by bewitched Chapter Two

30th January 2009:
Oh wow. I have to feel sorry for Damien's views on his friends. But I love the description of the transportation to the school. I always wondered what the other schools used to do for their students.

Author's Response: LOL! Thanks so much for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by bewitched Chapter One

2nd December 2008:
oooh - I like the look of this story! I will favourite it and come back for the next chapter

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I appreciate it. :)

-Shea


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login