Reading Reviews for Lunch at Maxine's
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HG_HP_fan Chapter 2 - When One's Reality Cheque Bounces

18th August 2010:
Coool! This is some of the best conversation I have ever read. Keep up the good work.

 Report Review

Review #2, by HG_HP_fan Chapter 1 - Getting to the Heart of the Matter

18th August 2010:
Bravo! This is starting out to be one heck of a story.
Point of error:in the first part, Mistress of the Hall

 Report Review

Review #3, by grangerpotter Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

25th June 2010:
Thank you very much for a wonderful story. I'd love to read snapshots of Harry's and Hermione's life together, especially from the Godparents' storyline. I wonder what it'll be like when they have a fight.

I'm very close to finishing all your stories (just the HHr ones). I dread that day and I hope to read more from you.

 Report Review

Review #4, by grangerpotter Chapter 2 - When One's Reality Cheque Bounces

25th June 2010:
Such an enjoyable read. Always leaves me wanting more (good thing I have 2 more chapters to go; bad thing is it's only two more chapters). Great job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by grangerpotter Chapter 1 - Getting to the Heart of the Matter

22nd June 2010:
Beautiful as always. Loved the last paragraph!

 Report Review

Review #6, by ParadoxTremors Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

27th August 2009:
Beautifully written. All lose ends tied together neat and nice. Helen and Molly are on speaking terms and their friendship seems to have grown better and closer with this. I loved the story and do apologize for the lateness of my review. Have a good night my friend.

 Report Review

Review #7, by jerry gross Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

1st May 2009:
Awesome Story Line . . . and I'm a die hard Harry/Ginny match. Great Story@!!

Author's Response: Thanks, and I do apologize for taking so long to get back to this review. No excuses, really, and I hope you forgive me.

I think that good stories are independent of the ship that's written in them as long as they're believable and consistent.

I'm glad you enjoyed this one and hope that you read some of my other offerings.

apAidan


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lierian Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

18th April 2009:
I loved your story! You just don't see enough of the Grangers in fics out there. Mrs Granger's meddling wass o sweet with Harry and Hermione. It was so funny that she won the bet on Mother's day as a gift to herself. Her helping withh Molly's intervention was the mark of a generous woman in that she didn't want to stand back and let Molly ruin her relationship with Harry.

Author's Response: Looking at Hermione, it seems natural that her parents would be where she would have picked up her character from. The trick, I find, is reconciling the way canon deals with her parents (it doesn't) with a pair who could raise a daughter such as Hermione.

Helen cares deeply for Harry in his own right, his love for her daughter adds to that and she's aware of how much Harry has lost over the years.

I'm really glad you enjoyed this story and I hope you enjoy some of the others. Thanks for reading

apAidan


 Report Review

Review #9, by hanna's Mom Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

13th February 2009:
This was great, an intervention, the characters all seemed to be true to themselves. Thanks for a few laughs along the way.

Author's Response: I had really intended for the story to end after Chapter Three, but I realized that Helen wouldn't leave things as they were. She's too fond of Harry to allow him to lose anyone he considers 'family' without some sort of fight.

 Report Review

Review #10, by hanna's mom Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

13th February 2009:
Great Chapter, very enjoyable, love how Helen manipulated everything, just a little.

Author's Response: Helen would categorize it as preemptive problem solving, I suppose. And it's not really meddling if you're just helping people find what they really want. At least that's the story she tells.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dmali Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

25th January 2009:
i loved it...good to the last drop.

 Report Review

Review #12, by brad Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

28th December 2008:
Oh, and I forgot to add for the previous chapter - well done also on the little bit of revisionism, that of Harry sneaking down to visit the petrified Hermione in second year. That's lovely.

There was a story on www dot harmonyforever dot com called 'Hermione Granger, Captive at Hogwarts' which retold the early years from Hermione's perspective and with a H/Hr bias. Brilliant story, inserting varous tidbits of H/Hr value into the canon. This notion of Harry visiting Hermione evoked exactly the same warmth/emotion from me. It was good stuff.

Again, I'm enjoying the adult Grangers' involvement in (a) their daughter's romantic life (or lack of same), and (b) the wizarding world in general. You even address this with Helen's gratitude for Flaubert.

> This half-life you’ve created is too comfortable for both of you.”

Very astute, pushing the story above the pedestrian 'they both discover they're in love" thing.

> this called for overt action

You mean 'covert', right?

Had to laugh with Helen cleaing up on the bets. Good story, thank you!

Author's Response: I think we're both correct on the overt / covert issue, but you might be a bit more correct. I was using 'overt' in the sense of Helen and Harry actually doing something, even though it was covert, rather than simply waiting for the two of them (Hermione and Harry) to grab enough gumption and straighten themselves out.

I always thought that the Australia events were a wake-up call for the Granger parents that they needed to reclaim their place in their daughter's life. Too many stories have them almost out of the picture in her life, and it seemed to me that once they were reestablished in their memories, they would want to ensure they didn't 'forget' their daughter again.

Also, while Helen (at least in the stories I've written thus far with her in it) will shamelessly meddle in their lives, I've tried to cast her as a bit less manipulative than Molly, and much more willing to look at what the two of them actually want.

Eh, no where does it explicitly state he didn't do that. Anything not expressly forbidden by canon is permitted to make a better story (and if you can find a way to explain away something expressly forbidden, it might work also)


 Report Review

Review #13, by brad Chapter 2 - When One's Reality Cheque Bounces

28th December 2008:
Ha! Nice twist at the end, although right now I'm thinking that Harry's something of a coward ...

A little bit over the top, the idea that a couple can *sleep together* for 5 months without thinking there might be something there more than friendship, but hey, I'm a H/Hr man, I'll gladly go along with it.

The idea of the Grangers being friends with wizards other than through Hermione is an innovative one; I don't think I've encountered that before. Hermione's parents seem way more itegrated with the Weasleys, in a realistic way, than I've ever seen. Nicely done.

I also like Romilda's "19 years". Picked that number out of the air, did we? :-)

Author's Response: Somehow, nineteen seemed apropos. Not certain why, but it just did.

The only thing Harry fears is losing Hermione. He's willing to face anything for her, except the chance of losing her.

The sleeping together thing was/is a bit of a stretch, but they'd done the holding the other for their collective nightmares for so long, it seemed to be a natural extension (pardon the pun) of what was going on. Never underestimate the ability of people to rationalize anything if it gives them what they want, deep down.

Thanks, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. Sorry this took so long to answer.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lovehurtssoul Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

20th December 2008:
I'm sorry but what? What was that A.N. about? Haha. Loved the story!

Author's Response: Ah, the first part was a disclaimer about the responsible use of wolfsbane and foxsglove since both were mentioned in the chapter

The second part was in response to a friend of mine asking me about not writing D/G ships. Well, actually she said she didn't think I could write one, and this was my way of agreeing with her. The former Ms Greengrass seems very happy as the current Mrs Malfoy, so who am I to argue?

I'm glad you enjoyed the story.


 Report Review

Review #15, by nickie02 Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

5th December 2008:
I really liked your chapter. It was a good way to end the story. I liked the idea of the intervention that the 'kids' did along with Helen when it came to making Molly see what she was doing to her children.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review.

I've tried to avoid EWS (evil weasley syndrome). Molly, to my mind, was always more determined and misguided than malicious (though I will admit to reading those EWS stories with a bit of interest)

Helen, in my storylines at least, is very taken with Harry and she truly wants both of them to be happy. I always wondered at the absence of Hermione's parents in canon, I imagine that once Hermione was graduated, both of them would work to overcome the distance that had crept into their relationship with their daughter during her time at Hogwarts.

Thank you again for the review, I really appreciate it


 Report Review

Review #16, by something random Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

4th December 2008:
If this is the ending then I have to say it's a very good one. Loved the chapter and the story.

Author's Response: It's the ending, for now.

Of course, some day Helen will have a granddaughter who will be in a quandary over some some wizard.

"Tell me Rose, just how long have you been in love with Scorpius Malfoy?"

Anything's possible


 Report Review

Review #17, by auror_snape Chapter 4 - The Intervention special, with a side of surprise

3rd December 2008:
That was great! I think an alternate title, if you ever wanted to change it, would be Intervention-Granger Style. 10/10

Author's Response: I really wish I'd thought of that. Very good.

Thanks for leaving a review, I appreciate you taking the time, especially with as many excellent stories as you do.


 Report Review

Review #18, by dangel Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

28th November 2008:
Amazing story! I really liked the relationship between Helen and Harry!

Author's Response: Helen has gotten quite fond of Harry, even though he was engaged to the wrong girl until last summer. From Hermione's letters, she always knew Harry was the real one for her daughter. And Harry is much more comfortable with Helen than he is Molly.

 Report Review

Review #19, by something random Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

27th November 2008:
Hehe what a wicked mum. Great chapter. Will you be doing any more chapters?

Author's Response: Isn't Helen delightfully wicked?

I had thought to leave it here, but I do see at least one more lunchtime meeting in the offing. One more person Helen needs to have a small chat with.

Thanks for taking the time to read and review. I really appreciate it and I'm looking forward to the next installment of Calm


 Report Review

Review #20, by MyronWin Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

24th November 2008:
This was a truly excellent story. I had lots of fun reading it. There were several brilliant touches, my favorite being that the date of Romilda's pool entry was the date of DH's "nineteen years later" epilog. Also loved the bit about Hermione not liking her mother's dinner selection (fish and mushrooms), which ties into another of your stories...I like how you've created an unofficial continuity to your stories so the kind of fit together without actually having to. I try to do the same with mine, at least the ones posted so far.

There were only a couple things which caught my eye as possible mistakes: one, you referred to both Healer Dursley and Healer Greenglass, and two you seemed to have Hermione's mother having trouble with muggle phrases, but perhaps that was intentional on your part.

One question: I do not remember Hermione's parents getting first names in the books, were they named Helen and Alexander by JKR or were these your ideas?

In any event, your stories are so very enjoyable and fun to read that I know I shall read them all during the next few weeks, and then be sad that I've read them all. Oh, well. I'll just have to deal with it. Thank you for your story.

Jeff.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the story and some of the touches in it.

As far as I've been able to find, her parents were never named in canon. I've always used 'Helen' as her mother's name, and I've used a couple of names for her father, though Alexander is becoming more comfortable for me so I might stick with that and go back and make some adjustments to pre-existing works.

Healer Dursley is a character of mine, a young healer trainee who was on the run with the Dursley's during DH and became very cozy with Dudley (hence the name change.) Originally she appears in a couple of stories as Chastity Smythwyck. As for Healer Greengrass, I sort of added another older sibling for Asteria and Daphne who was a tooth healer for this work (Healer Patience Greengrass makes a small appearance in "Sixteen Hours" which hasn't been posted yet)

Helen was trying to demuggle a muggle saying to add to Hermione's discomfort level. 'Taking the wizard by the wand' certainly has more levels to it than 'Taking the bull by the horns', don't you think?

Well, to allay your sadness, there are a couple more in the pipeline. The sequel to Godparents is coming along nicely and 'Sixteen Hours', which I mentioned before, is almost ready to be posted. That one was supposed to be my first Harry/Hermione story, until Godparents took on a life of it's own and took that honor. And there are a few shorter works clamoring for attention, so I should be busy the next couple of months


 Report Review

Review #21, by nickie02 Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

23rd November 2008:
Loved it. I think that is all that I can say, it was a great short story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I'm looking forward to the next chapter of your story, btw.


 Report Review

Review #22, by hlpur Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

23rd November 2008:
An absolutly wonderful story. Adding the bit about the salmon and mushrooms was cute.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. It's one of those things that helps tie stories like this to canon.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Nightrunner Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

22nd November 2008:
Conspiracy! Collusion!
Poor Hermione and Harry! They never really stood a chance, did they?
Helen is a wily one, and not a woman to cross, I'd wager. It's good to see that see stepped in ad forced the issue. Otherwise, it probably never would have happened.
This is, so far, a great little story, and I am really looking forward to more.
I can hardly wait to see what Hermione has in store for Vernon, and how Molly will react to the news. That should be fun!

15/10

Robert

Author's Response: I really like Helen, and she's definitely her daughter's mother, so to speak.

I hadn't thought of extending this storyline, but the thought of scripting out Molly's reaction to this turn of events is very appealing


 Report Review

Review #24, by ParadoxTremors Chapter 3 - What A Difference A Day Makes

22nd November 2008:
Loved the story. Masterfully done.

Author's Response: thanks for taking the time to read and review. I'm really glad you liked it, and I do appreciate the comments.

 Report Review

Review #25, by ParadoxTremors Chapter 2 - When One's Reality Cheque Bounces

22nd November 2008:
Man, I am enjoying this more than I can put into words. Trully another great chapter. Mothers always knows best I guess.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying the story. In this case, she does. I hope you like how the story ends up

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>