Reading Reviews for Tea Blend
  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Nekal Shrinking Solutions

11th June 2010:
Snape is too soft :(

Author's Response: I'm sorry you think so. But as I said before, I wanted to create the Snape that lived inside my mind. I wanted to explore his character and the traits about him that in my heart, make him beautiful and flawed. But I never expected "my" Snape to be anyone else's and of nearly 40 reviews, yours is the first negative one I've gotten, so I guess I'm doing okay. Thanks for dropping by my story...

BB


 Report Review

Review #2, by Nekal A Delightful Girl

11th June 2010:
It's okay, I love how you have created this story and Genera is a very interesting character. I just think you needed to get a bit more Snape into Snape.

Author's Response: Hi Nekal, thanks for the quicky review. I've purposely tried to write away from the usual Snape-cliche's. The whole point of this story was to explore his character as I saw him, gaining some distance from the JK books. Some readers like that, some don't. Guess you can't win'em all :)

BB


 Report Review

Review #3, by Drummergirlred Sincere Desire

22nd April 2010:
I read this during lunch this afternoon and it was so fantastic! I don't even think I can find the adjectives to truly describe how well written and obviously thought out this story was.

I found myself wanting to cry at the end of chapter one. I laughed and few times and my stomach got butterflies when he kissed her and I wanted to stand up and cheer.

Loved the tea at the end, I was hoping she would get a some tea and would drink it on nights she felt lonely. Just great loved your OC and Snape characterization.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This was my first attempt at fan fiction and I think I've been writing this stuff ever since in a vane attempt to capture the real magic that was in this writing. I'm really glad you loved this story as much as I do. Thank you for the review!

BB


 Report Review

Review #4, by Skizzy Sincere Desire

14th June 2009:
Ooh. So sweet. :L I don't know weather to smile or cry. At the moment I'm frowning... Because it ended.

Oooh arewell I still have that other story of yours.

11/10

Author's Response: I'd love it if you cried and smiled, that would make me extremely happy. Thank you for all the lovely little reviews!

BB


 Report Review

Review #5, by Skizzy A Bad Idea

14th June 2009:
Ooooh. I ILY. Your are such an awsome writer...

Your done well. I'm wondering if you would like to write a story on Hermione/Severus? or Lily/Severus. I know you would do great.

Author's Response: I can't say I've ever seriously considered a H/Sev' or a Lil/Sev.' I don't really enjoy either one of those ships and I'm too selfish to share Severus with anyone other than of my own making ;)

BB


 Report Review

Review #6, by Skizzy Lake Monsters

14th June 2009:
:D. OMG I know this sound wierd but that was cool. I love the interracations. Or whateva it is. Ha

10/10

Author's Response: Interactions or whatever, that's a good way to call it. Thanks for reading another chapter, I'm glad you're enjoying the work!

BB


 Report Review

Review #7, by Skizzy A Hollow Shell

13th June 2009:
I don't know what to say. For once I'm left with nothing to say... Uhmmm...

That was. sad...? Ooh

Excuse me I need a tissue..

Author's Response: Skizzy you're fast becoming a local here, I love it!

This is my absolute favorite story up and I'm thrilled you're loving it. Thanks for reading!

BB


 Report Review

Review #8, by Unwritten Curse Not Entirely Bad Looking

3rd June 2009:
Hello again. :) I'm back for another review!

You never cease to amaze me. This chapter was easily as good as the others, and it still felt so effortless that I'm in awe. I did catch a few grammar/spelling errors, but other than that, your writing is wonderful. Truly, you have amazing talent. This was a very laid-back chapter, yet you managed to keep my attention throughout. It was very refreshing.

Sorry for all the rambling... I just can't seem to find the right words to express how much I loved reading this! :) Your characterization, as always, is top-notch. The flow is just right, and nothing seems out of place. I don't know how you do it! I'm really liking how their relationship is progressing, and I can't wait to see where you take it in upcoming chapters. So please, make me a happy reader and request again? Oh, and just a hint -- request over at eHPF, because I leave two reviews per request over there as opposed to the one on the HPFF forums. Shh, don't tell anyone! ;)

Another 10/10. You've got a great story here!

Keep writing,
Gina

Author's Response: Hi Gina, thanks for the tip ;)

I'm so excited that you're excited about this story. I love knowing that something I worked so hard on and had such a connection with is still effecting readers is such a strong way! I love this story and I've said it a thousand times before, but it just tickles me pink when other readers fall in love with it too!

I definitely need to go through and clean it up. Its on the to-do list for my fan fiction. So many fics, so little time...

Thanks again!
BB


 Report Review

Review #9, by snapeangel Sincere Desire

1st June 2009:
very nice story..very sweet and lovely

Author's Response: Thank you Snapeangel, I'm thrilled you enjoyed the read and I'm grateful for the feed back!

BB


 Report Review

Review #10, by Unwritten Curse Shrinking Solutions

27th May 2009:
Wow.

I really don't know what to say anymore. Your writing is breath-taking. You have such a way with words. I said before that nothing is forced, and I once again felt that way reading this chapter. There is such ease in your writing. It's as if you know exactly what you want your readers to feel, and from there, the words are effortless. I'm not sure if that made any sense. Heh. :)

Thank you for switching perspectives. It was a treat to see from Snape's perspective - which is really saying a lot, considering I usually loathe the man. I don't know why that is. He's actually a really interesting character, and you've done a fantastic job with him. I especially liked the part in which he was looking down on Americans for their poor articulation. I'm an American, and I have to say... it's so true! Haha. I also really enjoyed the ending, when Snape is looking at Genera and notices that she is too young to have given up. That was so creative, and it really gave me a glimpse at her character from an outside perspective.

Another amazing chapter! Please come back to my review thread and request again. I'd be more than happy to take a look at the next two chapters, and beyond that. 10/10 :)

Author's Response: I'm so excited you enjoyed reading this! More so since you don't really like Snape. That's why I think this a such a great story, it grabs readers really well!

I'd be thrilled for some more reviews from you and since I'm getting back to be active I'll have the chance to request. Thanks for your time and attention, Unwritten. Iv'e said it before and I'll say it again, you're a dream of a reader!

BB


 Report Review

Review #11, by Unwritten Curse A Delightful Girl

23rd May 2009:
I loved this. Wow.

Uhm, time to form sentences... I suppose I'll just say that you have absolutely given birth to a living, breathing person with your character, Genera. I am astounded at how real she is, and it's only the first chapter! I feel like I know her, or I've at least met her. In fact, the entire chapter felt real to me. It's as if you're there, writing down everything you see, as opposed to simply imagining this world. I felt as though I was a part of Genera's life. I felt her pain, understood her emotions, and saw through her eyes.

Your dialogue, too, is brilliant. None of it feels forced or contrived. It's perfect! I love her interactions with Snape. They're hilarious, which was a nice contrast to the depressing scenario that fuels the plot. He is so very much in character, by the way. And I love that she's irked by his presence. Yet at the end, they have some sort of unspoken connection. Wow. You have such power in your words, and it has hooked me in.

Overall, a fantastic introduction. You jump right into the plot, and introduce your characters on the way instead of opening with a long-winded back story, which was refreshing. 10/10! Off to the next chapter! (Oh, and sorry for taking so incredibly long to review this for you. I hope I'm making it up for it in the length of my reviews!)

Author's Response: Oh my god, how long I have been away! I feel horrible for not replying sooner!

Unwritten, thank you for such a lovely review. I'm so thrilled that the characters touched you and the story seemed sincere.

As I'm sure you can tell, I adore dialogue and never has Snape seemed more potent to me in writing than he did during this piece of work. Both he and Genera had a lot to say and they came through really strong.

Thank you for a delicious review. Now that I have fan fict time again, I'll be back to ask for another!


 Report Review

Review #12, by morgana67 A Hollow Shell

1st March 2009:
I really enjoyed this chapter. It feels that the information is come up slowly but surely, that we are getting to see more into the inner minds of the characters.

In the second chapter, or so, I thought that despite being grieving Genera was a little bit rude to a stranger. Whilst I think it is normal for people to lose their temper when grieving, often they do with people they know well but yes, she was tired also etc. However, I'm now thinking that this story is coming together quite nicely.

Author's Response: Hi Morgana, thanks for the feedback!

I did wonder if Genera was a little too extreme with Severus, but every time I considered going back, and was reading through the work again, the reactions felt so appropriate, I ended up letting things stay as they were.

I'm thrilled though that you like how I've pulled bits together. I really tried to be cohesive with the work.

Thanks again for the review, I appreciate it!

BB


 Report Review

Review #13, by celticbard Sincere Desire

24th February 2009:
What a great ending! This story truly is unique and it was a joy to read. I'm glad Genera was able to make peace with Maggie and that Snape helped foster it. And I'm happy that they parted on good terms after an experience that was rewarding for both of them. The arrival of Snape's tea blend at the end was a lovely touch. Excellent writing. You should be proud of yourself, Blissbug, for creating such a bittersweet, well-written tale.

Author's Response: Aww, thank you Celtic, thank you so much! I'm thrilled this story has another fan. Its a good fic in my own opinion and having readers respond so well just makes me uber happy.

The ending is rather lovely, isn't it? I was thrilled with my the ending myself, something of surprise too, when Snape's tea showed up. If nothing else it confirms my deep belief that at some point the writer stops writing the characters start telling the story.

Thanks for the awesome reviews, I so appreciate it!

BB



 Report Review

Review #14, by celticbard A Bad Idea

24th February 2009:
That was truly a unique love scene. So different from the many canon/OC fics I've read. Genera is being honest with Snape. She doesn't love him. I think she's misguided and hopes to find her way through him. Whether she will or not, I don't know. Either way, it makes for one tantalizing conflict and I cannot wait to find out what happens! ^_^

Author's Response: Yes, isn't it interesting that she's so frank about that? She doesn't love him, know's there's no future for them but is willing to take what she can get in the moment. It's a flaw of hers, but an interesting one. I loved writing that scene, glad you liked it ;)

BB


 Report Review

Review #15, by celticbard Lake Monsters

24th February 2009:
I'm beginning to think McGonagall had ulterior motives when she left Snape with Genera ;) This was a bittersweet, emotional chapter. Genera is so lost. I think her desperation is starting to influence her opinion of Snape. I only hope her feelings are genuine and not the product of her extreme grief.

Your description of the lake was simply beautiful. It's a tempestuous, mysterious place, perfect for such a passionate scene.

Author's Response: I love that you liked the like stuff, I felt like it was the perfect backdrop for what needed to happen between Snape and Genera. I probably wrote that scene out in twenty minutes then went back and debated editing for the next twenty days! Still, the end result was worth the effort.

BB


 Report Review

Review #16, by celticbard A Hollow Shell

24th February 2009:
How sad! I'm starting to sense a great divide between Genera and her sister. A shame it couldn't have been mended sooner.

Snape's growing interest in Genera is quite telling. He's trying so hard not to notice her, but he can't help it. In the end, I think they are both very lonely people and perhaps that singular similarity will bring them together.

Author's Response: Hehe, you might be on to something there Celtic ;)

Yah, there's definitely a distance between Genera and her kid sister, really sad. The regret about that divide is a big motivating factor for Genera too.

BB


 Report Review

Review #17, by celticbard Not Entirely Bad Looking

24th February 2009:
I loved the awkwardness between Genera and Snape in this chapter. All that tension is simply lovely ^_^

You description of Snape's scent was perfect. It seems as though most romance writers go on and on about physical features, but you've chosen something quite distinct. Brava!

I'm off to read chapter four!

Author's Response: Scent is a big thing for me. I really love exploring characters through all the senses but most especially scent and taste. I'm glad you liked the Snape characterization, its definitely how I think he'd smell ;)

BB


 Report Review

Review #18, by celticbard Shrinking Solutions

24th February 2009:
This story deserves a million reviews. It's fantastic. Genera is a smart, witty and unique OC. And Snape is, well, Snape ^_^ You've captured him perfectly. The only error I picked up on was McGonagall's name. I believe you misspelled it ;)

Other than that, amazing writing. I'm off to read chapter three!

Author's Response: Hi Celticbard, thank you for the reads and reviews, they're so deeply appreciated. God, McGonagall's name is wrong? Eep, HP shame!

BB


 Report Review

Review #19, by celticbard A Delightful Girl

14th February 2009:
Hi Blissbug!
Wow, what a great first chapter. It was so atypical-in a good way, that is. The premise of this fic is original and the characters are well-written. Already, I'm intrigued and dying to read more.

Genera is an amazing OC. I like her already. She's realistic, practical, but not without emotion. Her sarcasm was almost painful to read. I get a sense that she's trying to distract herself from overwhelming grief and I can't say that I blame her. Also, her reaction to Hogwarts was so well done. She's clearly curious about her sister's life, but more than a little bewildered by the strange environment.

I only noticed a few minor errors in this chapter. They are as follows.

Genera nodded mutely as the woman placed a gentling hand on her arm.
This should be, a gentle hand

She nodded to Genera once, then quite the room, striding past the other professor.
This should be, then quit the room

I did have to take a thirteen hour fly to get here
This should be, thirteen hour flight

just waiting for a group of energetic youths to come tumbling throuh.
This should be, tumbling through

I'd really love to read more of this fic, Blissbug. Please feel free to request another review from my thread. I hope you have a great weekend!

Best,
celticbard

Author's Response: Hi Celticbard, thank you for such a wonderful review. I really appreciate it when people are specific about errors they see. I mean, its not much help to say, "Hey, there's a problem there," and then leave it at that. I'm so close to the work I can't see the small stuff, so a reviewer who actually goes through and pulls examples is a real boon.

I'm thrilled you like Genera, she IS very practical but for all that practicality, she's also very fragile and desperate for some sort of impractical event to take place. I think that's why she's a good pairing with Snape, they're one in the same.

I'll definitely ask for another review, its great to have such helpful feed back. Thanks!

BB


 Report Review

Review #20, by Phoenix_Flames A Delightful Girl

7th February 2009:
Hi, there. I'm sorry it took so long to get around to your story. I had some internet issues.

But, anyways. Wow!! This story was so unique. I've never read anything like it. I really, really enjoyed it. Everything is near flawless.

Your characterizations were dead on and you write beautifully. You go so in depth with your descriptions, beautiful ones at that.

This was a truly delightful story and I really didn't see any mistakes. Your flow is nice and it's so easy going. I love the way your characters speak. They sound so sophisticated and smart.

I really, really enjoyed this and I can see your wonderful plot forming. I can't wait to see what you have in store for this story. Keep it up.

9/10

Author's Response: Thanks Phoenix, 9/10, awesome! I am particularly fond of this story as well, and though it is currently completed, I'm thrilled it had you wanting more!

I love these characters, they spoke to me so strongly, it comes out in the writing and I'm glad you got that as you read. The plot also moved along at a very organic pace, I hardly had to go back and fiddle with it at all. Isn't it nice when that happens?

Thanks for the great review!

BB


 Report Review

Review #21, by SpringTime Sincere Desire

27th January 2009:
Ah, that was so sweet! What a great ending to such a wonderfully touching story. I trully thought you did an excellent job of portraying two people who needed each other to heal.
It was great to Snape develop also from his Snarky exterior into someone who could possibly be a lovable human being (I know how you love Snape)...
I forgot to mention in the other chapter, but when she said he looked like he could be an Alan...cracking my arse up right now even thinking about it. You are so brilliant! That was hilarious!
Love your story feel free to come back any time and share...I'm gonna miss you when you leave.

Author's Response: Holy crow, you are the first person to get that joke! You just won indecent amounts of cosmic brownie points from me. I've had in total almost a 150 reviews for this story throughout the years, and you really are the first to get it, lol. That makes my whole day!

Meanwhile, I'm really glad you liked my Snape. I so wanted to the reader to feel about him as I feel about him, and I think I've achieved that end. More over, Genera was such an organic character to me, even though these two don't get a happily-ever-after, I do think they get the best ending for them.

Thank you for reading and reviewing Springtime, I can't tell you how much I appreciate it!

BB


 Report Review

Review #22, by SpringTime A Bad Idea

27th January 2009:
What a great chapter! The way that you had him crying at the end, I really felt for him so much.
I liked the way you had their love making scene as well, it is was simple yet beautiful, not everyone can manipulate a scene that way, nice job.
Her need was so palpable here as well, and the way that it just trickled into his need, masterfully done. I really really liked this chapter.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked this chapter, I was really hoping you would respond well to this one, more so than the others. I really think the love scene between them was pivotal, at the time of writing it came very naturally and it only occured to me later how important it was to get it right. I'm thrilled you think I did.

BB


 Report Review

Review #23, by SpringTime Lake Monsters

27th January 2009:
A few more typos in this one...
What a way to end it this chapter, wahoo... way to go Snape, wasn't sure if he had it in him.
You have really portrayed her grief well, her hopelessness and the fact that she is now grasping at straws almost (or in this case Snape).
I liked the break in seriousness too, with the bit about the lake monster. A very entertaining chapter :)

Author's Response: Darnit, typo's are my nemesis, they plague me! I'll fix though, thank you for pointing them out, I really do appreciate it.

And yes, you've totally got it here, they're grasping at straws. Isn't it wonderful and terrible all at the same time. Sigh.

BB


 Report Review

Review #24, by SpringTime A Hollow Shell

27th January 2009:
The only problem I had with this chapter as that you seemed to swtich from Snapes POV to Genera's towards the end.
The little spat at the end was great and the illusions in their conversation about something more was also very tactfully done :)
I am confused though about how her mom died? Was it not in an accident after New Years? Or did she have cancer?
I like the way that you do Snapes POV, even though you have your own OC nailed as well it is nice to see Snape being represented well because it so rarely happens

Author's Response: I do switch POV's, if memory serves. Gosh, its been a little while since I looked at this story, I'll probably need to go through it with a fine tooth comb before voting starts for Elderypuff story club. Hm.

UH, and Genera's mom dies of cancer, like her sister. :)

BB


 Report Review

Review #25, by SpringTime Not Entirely Bad Looking

27th January 2009:
That was a great chapter. I like how you are developing this story. never thought of Snape as smelling good, but I like the idea of it :) The wake up scene was perfect and I could envision it completely, elf and all.
Again I enjoyed her inner comments, they are such nice insights into her mind.
there were a couple of typo's through out 'one that particularly caught my attentions was "like she'd just had a really good drunk" (love the rest of that line by the way, it is a great way to wake up...)

Author's Response: You've never heard that phrase, 'had a really good drunk?" Its the same as saying, I had a great time getting drunk. Its actually a southern phrase, I haven't heard many people say it, but maybe I can rework the sentence to make it read better, thanks for pointing that out.

And yes, Snape smells good. How can he not? I mean, I'm figuring Snape really only has two things going for him as far as attraction goes and they are his talent as a wizard, and the way he smells. You will definitely have to ignore the hair though!

BB


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>