Reading Reviews for On My Own
  
24 Reviews Found

Review #1, by charlottetrips On My Own

6th July 2011:
Hi Jacqui!

That was beautiful and bittersweet. The emotion ran clearly throughout the whole one-shot and your imagery and words were poetic prose.

I loved this line "The grounds sparkled as the moonlight and the starlight intertwined in the cool night air, reflected back off the remnants of a rain shower that had passed over during the night." Actually just the whole paragraph really. I know you're just talking about the weather but still. Lovely.

Harry is so Harry here, even if it is just Ginny talking to herself. She did love him and she certainly would've grieved for him for a long time had he died that night. But I think your take on how she would heal is very real and something that would happen.

This was wonderfully written!

xChar

Author's Response: Thanks Char. I glad you enjoyed it, even though it is, as you said, a bitter sweet story. I'm glad I got Harry/Ginny talking to herself right, cause while he is essentially Harry, he is needed to be slightly wiser than he was in life yet still retain his Harry-ness and also be Ginny's mind. It was quite a task.

And you're right, that line is pretty nice, even if it is about the weather

x Jacqui


 Report Review

Review #2, by momotwins On My Own

1st July 2011:
So I clicked on this one because I thought Les Mis as soon as I saw the title. ;) Excellent song choice. And I love a good Harry/Ginny ship, especially during DH.

Your flow and pacing are good, you don't move too fast or too slow. I like the romance, you portray it well. Your characterization is good, if a little on the angsty side, but sometimes that's fun.

Grammatical/spelling errors:
Ginny reached the stairs and began her accent -- It's "ascent", not accent
Harry kissed her forehead and replied, “the pain you feel now -- "the" should be capitalized at the beginning of that dialogue.
Ginny said, nonchalantly -- unnecessary comma
bringing Ginny out of her reprieve -- I think you actually want the word "reverie" there, not "reprieve"
was too much for her to bare -- should be "bear", not "bare"
“I know,” she sobbed, “But this is how I get by -- "but" in that dialogue should not be capitalized.

Nice job! Enjoyable though sad. I think you really captured Ginny's emotions well, and the song is a perfect complement to the story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review and for pointing out all those little mistakes. I've now gone through and corrected them all.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Debo13 On My Own

27th May 2011:
Lovely story. You almost had me in tears for a moment there and that does not happen often! You really did a terrific job with your imagery here and the moment where Ginny sees Harry for the final time was very emotionally touching. Great work, I look forward to reading more from you. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review. I'm so happy that my story could touch you so.

 Report Review

Review #4, by NaidatheRavenclaw On My Own

17th April 2011:
I have tears in my eyes right now. It was so sad, but so well crafted at the same time. All I can really say is wow. The song lyrics just grafted in perfectly with the story. And I really felt was Ginny was feeling. The emotion in here is just incredible. Quite honestly, I can't find a single thing to criticise. The spelling and grammar was impecable, it flowed like magic, and overall, it was one of the best songfics I have ever read. Absolutely amazing job on this. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. It's always nice to hear when a story can bring about so much emotion in someone. Your review really made my day and I've had to read it several times just to make sure I wasn't dreaming.

 Report Review

Review #5, by silverstarletworld89 On My Own

13th April 2011:
OH MOTHER OF MERLIN! I actually had to stop reading this half way through as I couldn't see the screen as my eyes were filled with tears (ok yeah I am a sap and I still cry at the Lion King) But OH MY GOSH, this was amazing, so powerful!!!

The song was perfect, fitting very well with what you wanted to convey and your descriptions, breathtaking! You know what, even though I was expecting this plot, I don't think I was ready for it. (if that makes sense). I should have surrounded myself with tissues lol!! Aww man I love it. Would usually pick my favourite words or quotes and stuff, but in all honesty I would have to write it all back to you, it was great!!

SUPERB
10/10
Silverstarletworld =D

Author's Response: That sounds like a lot of tears. As an author, I am really happy that the story evoked so much emotion in you. And I've never had some one want to quote my whole story before :D

This review totally made my day. Thank you thank you thank you.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Daffodil On My Own

13th April 2011:
Aww.I love this!!! So sad, and it's really well written!! Great job on this fic!

Author's Response: It is a bit of a tear jerker. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheProphecy On My Own

22nd March 2011:
Hey!

I really liked the general Idea of this. I felt you managed to convey whta Harry would do very well. I thought the idea of Harry dropping his wand was a very good one. I felt Ginny was a tiny bit OOC, sure she lost Harry but she is strong and I think her just constantly sobbing would be unlikely, she would be the one who was telling everyone else how wonderful Harry was and to do him justice in his sacrifice rather then just concentrating on her own feelings. That could just be me, and how I see her. But I thought it was nicely written, thoguh a bit jerky at times with the flow but I just think that is the general hazard of a song fic. Well done!

Hannah x

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I admit that Ginny is a little OCC and I agree with the comments you wrote. But for this story, it is the disposition I wanted her to be in.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Rose Wilde On My Own

9th March 2011:
i'm bawling tears! this is soo good!

Author's Response: Aww...so sorry for making you cry but still, it's nice to know the story has evoked such emotion. Thank you for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Hermione389 On My Own

27th February 2011:
So lovely! I can't write a half-decent sad story properly and this is better than any I could write so well done! I've saved it as a favourite.
P.S. Would you mind taking a peek at my story 'Emma'? My second chapter is waiting to be validated but the first will keep you wanting more!
Thank you for writing these awesome stories - they are what fan fiction is all about!
hermione389 :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm really happy that you enjoyed it so much. I on the other hand seem to always be writing sad stories, I guess we all have our strengths.

PS I have left a review for 'Emma' :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by anonymous On My Own

25th February 2011:
It's beautiful. A perfect mix of Les miserables and Harry potter.

Author's Response: Thank you. This story just came to me one day when listening to the song. I'm really happy your enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by elliebutterfly On My Own

25th February 2011:
wow.
i love the song and i loved the story

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by kaileena_sands On My Own

9th February 2011:
Wow! It's rare to find a good song fic! :) I love it. The way you characterise Ginny and describe her emotions is absolutely beautiful! And the song also fits perfectly with the moment, it adds to the character growth that Ginny experiences so well.

What I also like very much are your descriptions in the story - they add to the somehow melancholy and are wonderful without becoming over-the-top or flat. I also love the premise of Ginny having created her imaginary world. It was sad, yet hauntingly beautiful. :)

All in all, wonderful one-shot!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review. It was the first fic I wrote and I still like reading over it every so often. I'm really glad you enjoyed it so much.

 Report Review

Review #13, by HarrietHopkirk On My Own

1st February 2011:
Aaw! This is such a sad story, and it goes beautifully with Eponine's song. I love Les Mis so much, it was such a great choice and it complemented your story really well. Overall, the writing was good! You tend to overuse '...', so maybe replace them with a comma or a colon or a semi-colon. It's not particularly bad, it's just when I see things like that it sometime disrupts the flow of the story and I think flow is the most important thing, especially in one-shots were you have to make an impact really quickly. You had very good characterisations. Ginny's emotions were portrayed particularly well I think and that was where you strongest writing was. Harry was very wise, almost Dumbledore-esque! A lovely one-shot, well done!

Author's Response: I love Les Mis as well, and especially this song. This was the first story I wrote and I have improved so much. I will read back over it and fix all the '...' and such. I don't use them at all any more. I'm glad you like the characters. I wanted Harry to appear rather grown up. In many ways, he is acting like the voice of reason in Ginny's head.

 Report Review

Review #14, by DemetersChild On My Own

31st January 2011:
This was a really beautiful story. I had chills several times and I could really feel the pain that Ginny was going through. I know this song, too, so I knew more or less what was going to happen--that Harry wasn't really there. It was so sad to watch her believe she was talking to him when I knew she was only talking to herself.

The ending was really nice, having her realize that she had to live real life and not in a fantasy, that they would be together again one day.

The only thing I would suggest would be to get someone to read over it for grammatical errors. There are missing commas in the dialogue as well as several places where Harry's name isn't capitalized. It would just make for a cleaner story and better flow.

Beautiful story!

Magically Yours,

Dem

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your compliments. This was the first story I wrote and I've improved alot since then. It is probably time I read over it again to pick up all the errors now that I have an improved appreciation of grammar.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Leigh On My Own

28th January 2011:
Beautifully written! I was crying before I finished! Loved it! -wipes tears from eyes-

Author's Response: I'm sorry for making you cry, but at the same time I'm really happy because that is what I was hoping to achieve. Thanks so much for the review.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Fleur Delacour Potter On My Own

27th January 2011:
This was really nice. The song matches the mood perfectly. I was really upset when Harry died and when Ginny knew what he was going to do. I liked your characterizations of both characters, how Ginny tells Harry about the Potions mark. It really keeps it real.
Fleur

Author's Response: Thanks so much. This was the first story i wrote so many years ago now. It's very reassuring to know that the emotions that I was trying to put across have been conveyed.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Britney On My Own

31st March 2010:
Oh my god! I cried so much that I got cold... Anyways, great writing. I give a 100/100

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm happy that I invoked that much emotion in you but I hope your didn't get too cold. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Nick On My Own

1st November 2009:
Wow Princess - what a shock when I realised it was ginny's imagination ! I had to read a second time after looking up the song on youtube. That was a creative alternitive ending - you have a talent for these song-fic 's. Its kinda like the Decent - when the main character escapes the cave of horrors at the end of the movie, only to wake up still stuck inside - she had only dreamed about her happy ending :( nice work !

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm really glad that you liked the story and the imaginary world that Ginny had created. I do feel sorry for Ginny in this story but she is strong and will pull through.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Megan On My Own

4th August 2009:
how depressing. :( its beautiful, but really depressing and that's kind of a turn off for me. harry and ginny live happily ever after, and emphasis on harry AND ginny live HAPPILY ever after. idk. maybe its just me, but i liked harry and ginny together in the epilogue quite a bit more than i liked this short story. :/

Author's Response: Each to their own. This is fan fiction after all.

 Report Review

Review #20, by writergirl8 On My Own

19th July 2009:
Oh my, that was sad. I cried =[/=] Still that was really great writing and I like how both voldemort and harry died. Of course I wish Harry had lived.. but then the song fic doesn't make sense so... great job! I love this song, btw. ~writergirl8

Author's Response: Yay...you cried...I mean, oh no, that's terrible:)

Thanks for the review. It's geat to know that my story invoked that emotion in you.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Timechild On My Own

5th June 2009:
An interesting chapter. I found the fact that Ginny had created her own world where Harry was still there quite believable. The emotions came through clearly and were shown to be strong as it was written. The detail was just right and the pace was good.

Nicely written

Author's Response: Once again, thanks for reviewing my story, you're amazing.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. It was the first piece I wrote, so I was quite unsure about it when I put it up. Your observations about the story detail and emotions etc are really nice, they make me feel like I can write. I never would have imagined it a year ago.


 Report Review

Review #22, by harrylilyjames On My Own

15th May 2009:
wow!
I kept getting big huge pangs in my heart and at one stage I thought I was literally going to burst out crying...but I kept myself together.
The summary really got me interested in reading this fic, because I really didn't have a clue what it was going to be about and I needed to know.
Some of the dialogue that Harry says doesn't seem Harry-ish its a bit too wisely, its more like a Dumbledore-ish thing to say. Along with some of the stuff Ginny says, it's too grown up for her and because of that they seemed a bit 'out of character'
but it was a nice read, really liked it. =]
7/10

Author's Response: Yes...I nearly made you cry...exactly the effect I was after.

Thanks for the feedback...I love getting them...although I thought for several days it was about another story I wrote and then I just happened to glance at the chapter it was referring to...good thing I saw that before I responded or this could be a rather random comment...anyway, carrying on

Harry is actually a figment of Ginny's imagination...he's not really there...so basically anything that Harry says is really Ginny's subconcious trying to protect and heal her. But say it was Harry's ghost or whatever, he's dead and as I see it, would be profoundly more knowledgeable than when he was alive.

Which runs into the second point. I agree that the thoughts are grown up, but at the same time, she has just fought in the war, lost the guy of her dreams, her brother and many friends. She was already a strong willed and mature character, being the youngest of such a large family. The war would only make her grow up more. There would have been plenty of lonely, sleepless nights of crying between the end of the war and this story for her to contemplate her thoughts and feeling and also talk to other which would all lead to a more grown up opinion on the whole situation.

Thanks for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #23, by Aashna On My Own

27th April 2009:
Hi ravenclaw princess
Beautiful..very beautiful piece of writing. It was perfect to the core with very precise and carefully chosen words. I simply loved it, it was so touchy. The views from Harry's side to make Ginny understand the reality were simply superb! U drew the imagery so well and i would again say dat it was picture-perfect! Outsanding job with words. A complete 10/10. Well done!
-Aashna

Author's Response: Wow...that was an amazing review. Thank you so much. It means alot to know that you enjoyed the story so much. Thanks again.

 Report Review

Review #24, by JunBug On My Own

13th December 2008:
Great songfic you wrote there. Its sad but in my opinion, if there's no sad part in a story...its just boring. I don't know that's just my opinion. But anyways...yeah it was a good songfic. I liked it. ;D

Author's Response: Thank you. Its the first story I wrote so thanks for the positive comments.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login