Reading Reviews for The Darkest of Roads
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by invisiblemaurader_1 Chapter One

14th April 2009:
Hmm. Well, it appears I never actually left a review for this chapter. How remiss of me!! I've already told you several times how brilliant I think this fic is, but I'll say it again. It's absolutely brilliant!! Edward is one hunky piece of cop. Jayne is mysterious. Cassandra is dead. Riley is a smart-alec with a mouth on her. And Maggie is huddling in a closet with a bloody knife. It doesn't get much better than that.

Oh, and the new banner??? I have to say that it's amazing. David Boreanaz=love, and it's great, because I watch him on Bones, where he plays a hunky piece of cop, and now every time I read this story, I'll get a lovely mental picture of very gorgeous people. So thanks. =]

Author's Response: I agree with you one-hundred percent. I simply adore David Boreanaz and couldn't resist using him as Edward (and besides, Daniel Craig was being used like crazy). Just wait until you see the chapter images I have waiting. Totally awesome.

I warn you, however, that it will take some time before I update. I'm currently rewriting the story to include some interesting plot twists that add to Edward's character. I think everything should be done by next week, if I'm lucky.

Thanks for the review!

-QD


 Report Review

Review #2, by invisiblemaurader_1 Chapter Four

4th March 2009:
Oh, yay!! A chapter is finally posted!! Now, I'm a little incoherent from lack of sleep and a bit dizzy from wearing my glasses instead of contacts, so this review might not make much sense. But still.

Every time I think this story can't get more intriguing, it does. I think that it's a semi-horror story, and then there are bits that make me burst out laughing. I think that I can't be more disturbed-I mean, missing tongues is pretty gross and disturbing-and then it's all "Holy crap! Beast!" I almost expect Jayne to have fangs. And Edward to sleep with a teddy bear. And Riley's still pretty much my favorite person ever, though her uncle looks like he could be pretty cool as well. One question though: is Edward a muggle? Squib? Or is he just a wizard cop? Just because I can't quite remember if it's been stated before. Anyways, another great chapter, and I'd love to see the next one soon!

Author's Response: Yay! A new review!

I'm glad you think it gets more intriguing. At many points throughout writing, I think the stuff I put in there may come off the wrong way. It's nice to know someone likes it.

Jayne does NOT have fangs, although I admit that would be interesting. She will be in the next chapter for sure. Afterall, Edward still has that meeting.

As far as Edward knows, he's a muggle. Technically, he's a muggle half-breed because of the attack he suffered. And that's all I will say for now (his heritage may come up later, i haven't decided).


 Report Review

Review #3, by Miranda Chapter Three

20th January 2009:
Wow. What a way to end the chapter. I can't wait to see Jayne's reaction to when Edward and Riley appear on her doorstep. Things could get interesting.

Can't wait for the update. 10/10

Author's Response: Yes they will. But not for another chapter. I don't think I can fit their encounter in Chapter Four, but things could go either way. I hope to have the chapter up by next week.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Miranda Chapter Two

20th January 2009:
Once again, you've written a wonderful chapter. Edward is quite the character, is he not? He seems to really care for Maggie as a victim, which you don't see too much these days.

Author's Response: Yeah, Edward's quite a card. The fact that he cares for the victims make him a great cop.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Miranda Chapter One

20th January 2009:
I must say, this is an excellent start to this story. Your characters are quite intriguing and make me want to continue reading.

I would like to point out one mistake: when you start off in Edward's perspective, you say 'quiet'. I think you meant to say 'quite'. Just thought I'd let you know.

I can't wait to see where you go with this.

Author's Response: Oh, I didn't even notice that! Thanks for pointing it out.

Glad you like it so much. I hope you keep reading


 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyBlack_ Chapter Three

11th January 2009:
Well, that twist at the end certainly raised the tension. This is turning out to be a wonderful, suspense-filled story. The feelings/the attraction Edward harbours for Jane make this all the more interesting. I love the way your charcters move and interact around each other without having the full picture.

Author's Response: Wow. Thanks. Glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by invisiblemaurader_1 Chapter Three

9th January 2009:
Oh, wow. All I can say is.wow. Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. Just thought I'd let you know, I'm pretty much in love with Edward...the awkward stuttering and random cursing was just too much to resist. And polyjuice potion?? I never would have guessed. Poor Edward doesn't have a chance. The next chapter should be highly interesting; I can't wait to see what the real Jayne will do when he shows up unannounced on her doorstep! Great chapter, and I hope we'll get an update soon!!

Author's Response: I've got a confession: the polyjuice bit didn't actually come until the last few days of writing this chapter. I didn't know how to end the chapter, and then I thought of this. Glad you like it.

I'll try my best to update ASAP. I've been swamped with schoolwork, so you might have to wait a bit. Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by peach_snapple Chapter Three

8th January 2009:
Ooh, now I really want to know who the two men are. This story is much more different than anything else on here. Haha, Edward reminds me a bit of Dr. House if you've seen that show. Really great, please keep posting.

BTW: Was the hangman word supposed to be 'acromantula'?

Author's Response: I love House, so I'll take that as a huge compliment. Yes, the word was supposed to be acromantula. I took it from the beginning of the Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them book that came out.

You'll find out who the men are soon enough. And it may suprise you.


 Report Review

Review #9, by LadyBlack_ Chapter Two

10th December 2008:
This is an interesting chapter which fascinated me. I love the way you charcterize the inspector. He's tough and straight-forward, but I get the impression he really feels for his victims.
I look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Why thank you. I'm working on Chapter 3 as we speak (type?)

 Report Review

Review #10, by invisiblemaurader_1 Chapter Two

3rd December 2008:
I saw that no one has reviewed this chapter yet, so I felt compelled to come back, re-read it and offer my two cents!

First off, I think you did a brilliant job characterizing little miss Maggie. She's both tough and vulnerable at the same time, which seems entirely accurate when describing most sixteen year olds.

Secondly, a few quotes that I enjoyed:
"No, I don't see. But you don't have to worry about me. I'm not going to kick the girl when she's down."

"Should've brought a darn horse shoe. A freaking four-leaf clover. We needed the luck of the Irish with us."

"You're such a big softie, Inspector. Taking care of teenagers."

"You might want to get started on that cleaning, Riley." Edward offered her a thin smile in return. "I think I have some mold dating back to before the conflict."

Riley stuck out her bottom lip. "Meanie."

"You're the moron who volunteered. Don't sign up for something you can't commit to."

Third, I am highly amused by Riley. She's found a way to flourish in what has to be at times a gruesome job, and yet doesn't come across as macabre or gruesome herself. She's able to find humor in situations that are less than ideal and yet still retains a sense of professionalism.

And lastly, I have no qualms about saying this: Edward Mulligan is truly a brilliant piece of work. He's authoritative enough to have you falling in line, human enough to be affected by certain people/situations, broken enough to be compelling, mysterious enough to have you wanting more. By all appearances, he seems quite dedicated to his job, and, more importantly, finding the truth. In short, you seem to have created a spot-on perfect reluctant hero.

Bravissima, and I look forward to reading the next chapter!

Author's Response: Well.

I don't think I've recieved such a glowing review. Thank you so much. I'm glad you like the characters. Keep an eye on Riley. She'll play a part


 Report Review

Review #11, by Aimee Chapter One

26th November 2008:
OMG. That last line was classic.

This is a wonderful start to the story. You're almost immediately drawn in and the characters are wonderful. Really terrific job.

100/10

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Chapter One

18th November 2008:
Hey, it's me, long_live_luna_bellatrix from the forums.

That last sentence was AMAZING! I loved it! This looks so interesting, the story drags you right in.

Everything was great in this first chapter, the plot and charactization is going amazing. It's SO interesting, and Edward was done really nicely. I loved this. Way to go. Definite 10/10.

Author's Response: Well thank you so much. I've been so worried that people wouldn't care to read it. I'm glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #13, by LadyBlack_ Chapter One

17th November 2008:
Interesting start- it really pulled me in! I would love to read more of this, as your charcters are really fascinating...

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you think so.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Indigo Seas Chapter One

15th November 2008:
Aw, nobody's come to review this! Don't worry, I'm here to change that. XD

Anyway, this is a beautifully written story. It flows so, so well, and the details are all superb. I really can't think of a reason this story might need some work. I mean, it was really, really fantastic. 1000/10!

Best,
Indigo

Author's Response: Wow. I mean, wow. Thank you so much.

I was really unsure about it, being the first chapter and all, but I'm glad you like it.

Hopefully others will start reading and reviewing. XD


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login