Reading Reviews for Black Abyss
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by purplepotter77 Black Abyss

16th July 2013:
This was simply stunning. Your characterization of Andromeda was so different than how I'd imagined her to be, but you made it work so well! She seems so much like how you'd expect someone from the Black family to be like, and she doesn't really express any views that are different than the pureblood, Muggle-hating of the rest of her family, but she still understands that maybe being a Black isn't the best thing in the world. Usually Andromeda is portrayed as the good Black sister out of all of them, and she usually ends up rejecting the pureblood mania of her family. I love how there's so much character development for Andromeda (and Ted, too) over the course of this one-shot, and you can really see how she changes from the girl she once was to the woman at the end of this.

It was interesting to see how they both helped each other become better people and that they both needed to grow up and learn a lot about themselves before they could make the relationship truly work at the end. The scene where she shows Ted the grave was so touching and heartbreaking.

Overall, there's not much else I can say except that your writing is stunning and you really showed so much about Andromeda in this one piece. Lovely job!

House Cup 2013,
Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! :) I'm so happy you got the part about Andromeda's characterization, which was my main focus-point. I wanted to portray how you cannot change into a polar-opposite of your family from day one, and that - despite her wishes, Andromeda is very much a product of her family. Her being aware of this is what causes the change - together with Ted of course ;) Thank you so much for that lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by shoveitsunshine Black Abyss

29th June 2012:
This is stunning. I love the image you've painted of Ted and Andromeda.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by leannemariesnape Black Abyss

9th July 2011:
This is so deep and intense. As the story went on, I felt myself becoming more and more involved with the story. Very well written, and there are to many things that I want to talk about, and it definately wouldn't fit into this reviewing box. Her life is so sad, and...well. I don't know how to put it.

When she showed Ted the grave, I did feel a little lump in my throat- it really was a very touching scene. I think that your characterisation of the sisters, and pureblood society as a whole was very well written, and realistic. Obviously, pureblood society can be destructive to people, and this highlights that.

Just, wow, very deep.

Leanne

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review :) the thing I wanted to demonstrate in the story was that Andy WAS a Black, she married below herself in many's eyes. And I just really wanted to demonstrate that she still had some of the Black-streaks in her, even if she tried to escape them. Thank you so much for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Miss Writer Black Abyss

18th June 2011:
Wow. Just wow. You're characterisation of Andromeda and Ted were so strong and interesting. I really loved this. So so much! I've written a one-shot of the two and it's completely different but yours is just so intriguing. I absolutely love it.
The story in itself was very dark, with a lot of strong themes but you wrote them wonderfully.
Andromeda's change was really good and I think Ted was such a great character though he could have been a little more clear in his actions. But nevertheless, it was amazing!
Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review :) I loved Andy and this was how I pictured her. I think it is vital to note that she IS a Black; she isn't all light. Ted helped her become a better person and she learned from her mistakes. Thank you so much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Anica Black Abyss

27th December 2009:
that was awsom. i didn't mind the length at all, i just kept reading and reading. WOW, wat a story

Author's Response: thank you so much :D im glad you liked it. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Brittney =] Black Abyss

19th December 2009:
I loved getting lost in her story. Your writing was fantastic and I love the way you portrayed her charcter. That was one of the best stories I've ever read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review :D Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by lia_2390 Black Abyss

17th December 2009:
This was unlike any Andromeda/Ted story I've ever read before and I love it. It was beautifully written and the lines from the poem were a nice touch.

Lia.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review :D

 Report Review

Review #8, by redherring Black Abyss

12th June 2009:
Wow. That was... wow. Completely phenomenal, actually. I loved your take on Andromeda's life - it was wonderfully original because she's so often shown as the 'good' Black sister, but I think I preferred your characterisation, actually, and it certainly makes a lot more sense, because as you said, she is still a Black. Your writing was utterly amazing, as well, and a complete pleasure to read. Seriously, seriously good. I'm extremely jealous.

10/10, and an instant favourite!

Author's Response: THANK YOU.

This is one of those reviews that make my day!! Thank you so much. Im so happy you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #9, by xBambi Black Abyss

5th December 2008:
This was a stunning story!
I absolutely loved this look into Andromeda's life, which was beautifully told.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Essie Black Abyss

2nd December 2008:
We aren't just reading Andomeda's story, we ARE Andromeda!!

that's the only way I can really put how beautifully you characterise: as usual a delicious read!!

Author's Response: thank you!! you just made my day ^^

 Report Review

Review #11, by Vicky Black Abyss

24th November 2008:
wow... love it... so moving and i really feel for her. i don't normally comment but i thought this story deserved it.

Author's Response: aww.. thank you so much for commenting xD It really makes my day to read reviews:] Thank you so much

 Report Review

Review #12, by Scoot Black Abyss

13th November 2008:
Incredible. You show a side to Andromeda that I never would have thought of, her family life, her relationships, Ted, the baby. Fantastic. I loved it and couldn't bring myself to stop reading. I wish I had your talent. Great job :)

Author's Response: omg... THANK YOU! Im blushing here, ure seriously too kind, thank you so much:]

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login