Reading Reviews for The Blanket
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mrs_Draco_Malfoy123 The Blanket

25th April 2010:
Interesting, I love the idea :D
Yet it was a little choppy, still loved it!
mrs draco malfoy

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll take it ;)

(Sorry for the delay in responding!)


 Report Review

Review #2, by milena The Blanket

2nd December 2009:
oh that was so great. loved the whole story so much!

Author's Response: Thank you!

(Sorry for the delay in responding!)


 Report Review

Review #3, by datbenik513 The Blanket

11th March 2009:
Hey Marni,

I've just realized that I'd read this story of yours at least 5 times being too lazy to leave a review.

It's wonderfully built around Hermione's blossoming feelings towards Ron, triggered by a simple act of Harry covering her with a Ron-scented blanket.

Her feelings of love, mixed and blended perfectly with her feelings of pain and hurt and loneliness are palpable. You managed to capture her character as only a handful of writers here had managed. This is the real Hermione Granger, not the mask she's wearing; the fragile, young woman craving for someone to love and being loved.

My only remark would be in the last paragraph. She'd never beg Ron to come back. She'd cry, she'd be hurt but she'd never kneel before him. As much as she loves him, she'd still let him go, after and many sleepless nights and shed and unshed tears alike.

A brilliant piece of writing.

Zoltan

Author's Response: First, my sincerest apologies for taking so long to respond! School has been insane this past month or so, and I just haven't had time to.

I agree completely with you - Hermione has so much depth and emotion to her, and this story really allowed me to explore that. Being abandoned by the only person you'd ever really loved had to be the most devastating thing to happen to her, and the shock and hurt would take a long time to heal.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review, and it warms my heart to know that I created a real and very believable character.


 Report Review

Review #4, by SpringTime The Blanket

4th January 2009:
Hello! I saw you on eHPF and noticed that you are a R/Hr fan too so I thought I would check out one of your fics. I really thought that this was such a tender insight into such a hard moment for Hermione. I never noticed that it had been from Ron's bed either, but I know that that is something that would definitely cause a painful reaction in her.
Very sweet letter/fic :)

Author's Response: Hi! Sorry I haven't responded sooner - I've totally been distracted by all my schoolwork. I'm really proud of this one-shot, and it always makes me happy to have such a great review. Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #5, by HermioneWeasleyFan The Blanket

23rd November 2008:
Holy wow! That was amazing! I almost have shivers! I bet that is EXACTLY what Hermione was thinking when that happened. (yes I live is a world where these characters are real and this all happened heehee)

Very Very good Story! The words flow so beautifully and it was just a wonderful experience to read.

Author's Response: I don't blame you - that world exists for me, as well!! I absolutely adore these characters and I LOVE writing about them! I'm very glad you thought that this was accurate - it's how I see it happening from her perspective, so it's nice to know that people agree. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by weasley_gang The Blanket

30th October 2008:
aww

this is so sad! i hated ron when he left. how could he do that? the moment you read the thrid hp book u can see their relationship different then the second... it really is more obvious =] lol

ron is an idiot...

i luved this story, and know im going to read the sequel =] lets hope thats when he comes back!

Author's Response: I hated it when he left, too. It's so horrible and it's so easy to see her obvious pain. They've been through so much that it had to feel like complete abandonment when he left. I'm excited for you to read the sequel, and I hope you like it! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Georgia Weasley The Blanket

26th October 2008:
The simple fact that the blanket is his, and smells like him, is very powerful. Sometimes your senses overload your emotions, and something like that hits you like a ton of bricks. This is done so beautifully. I think you capture the essence of how important Ron is in the Trio. The other two just can't function without him. Well done, dear. I'm off to read The Letter!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry that it's taken me so long to respond! I've been absolutely swamped and haven't had much chance to reply.

I was really happy when I noticed that in the book, because I wanted something really strong. I'm so glad that I managed to show how important Ron is - he totally is the glue and he's more important than he knows!

Thanks so much for such a lovely review! xo


 Report Review

Review #8, by Labby The Blanket

26th October 2008:
Oh, I never even remember Harry placing the blanket on Hermione. What a great idea! It must have reminded her of Ron a lot. This was such a heartbreaking story. I love Hermione reminiscing of Ron and missing him. It seems to true to canon since Hermione and Harry were having such trouble when Ron left. Ron really was the key... the glue that stuck them together. I really like the emotion that was put into this. It's a beautiful story.. great job with it!

Author's Response: Although I read the words every time, it was only during my latest re-read of Deathly Hallows that I made the connection. It had to be such a horrible feeling :( I always felt bad for Ron when he thought he wasn't important. He was more important than he thought he was. Thank you so much for a wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by amieharry_ginny The Blanket

26th October 2008:
Awww amazing story *sniffles* I have never read any authors stories so much but i'm glad i took the time to read all your stories and i loved this story as well. When i first started reading this i was so immersed in this story i thought it was from Hermione's POV but then at the end when i realized it was a letter from her to Ron i was so shocked. But i felt like crying when i reached the end it was so amazing my favorite part was when her mother says “You’re one of Harry Potter’s closest friends, and yet I know more about Ron Weasley,” That was adorable. Great story 10/10

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you did take the time to read them! You seem to have enjoyed them, and I've enjoyed your reviews. Thank you for that!

I wanted to incorporate a twist, and so I made it seem at first as though I was just writing in first person. I knew from the start that I wanted it to be a letter, but I kept myself from saying that until the end. Thanks again, and I'm so glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Moondanser83 The Blanket

26th October 2008:
*sniffle*
it's the letter from the other story... *sob*
that was so good, I got sucked into it so quickly I even surprised myself... just incredibale

Wonderful wonderful job
~Moon~

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it!! I really wanted to show Hermione's pain at the same time as showing her love for Ron and the hope she had that they would someday work it out. Thank you so much for leaving great reviews!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by lyrix82 The Blanket

25th October 2008:
aww,that's lovely, and it's just what she would write too! Very well written piece, thank you! xx

Author's Response: Thank you!! I can't tell you how high of a compliment that is to me. It really means a lot to me to get reviews, so thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by searching17 The Blanket

25th October 2008:
Aww that was so sweet. I love the one-shot title :The Blanket. It suits it so much! I loved the bit where Harry gave Hermione a blanket and Hermione realized that it smelled like Ron and had a mental breakdown. :[

It really delves into Hermione's emotions after Ron left in the 7th book, and really gives readers a taste of her confusion and anger and love for Ron all mixed together. She felt as if she was betrayed by a lover. :/ It's so sad. But at least we know that Ron comes back!

A sweet and sad one-shot, and the writing, as always, gorgeous. :] 10/10.

~Estrella

Author's Response: Surprisingly, the title came to me very quickly. Normally it's one of the last things I add, but as soon as I got the idea, I knew it had to be called The Blanket. After all, that's why I wrote it!

I really love what you said - "She felt as if she was betrayed by a lover." It probably would have felt that way, especially since they were making such awesome progress (finally!). The song that always comes to mind when I think of them at that point in time is Almost Lover by A Fine Frenzy. If you haven't heard the song, I recommend it.

Thank you so much for an awesome review, and I appreciate it so much.


 Report Review

Review #13, by I_LOVE_love The Blanket

24th October 2008:
This story is sooo sad and slightly heart-braking!! I'm just so happy that I know that they already end up together, and that Ron comes back! I can definitely see Hermione feeling this much pain when Ron left them, and, though it was sad, I really enjoyed reading this little story! =]
10/10
*love*

Author's Response: I completely agree. It was such a heart-breaking time in general for them, so I knew this story had to be. I'm so glad you enjoy it, and I hope you check out the sequel (The Letter). Thank you for reading and reviewing!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Kathris89 The Blanket

20th October 2008:
I loved your story!! It's so beautiful and probably the way I think Hermione took Ron's departure, I love this couple!!! Congrats!

Author's Response: Thank you! I see it as happening very similar to this as well. Upon seeing him again would have brought back the initial feelings of anger and abandonment. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I love them, too :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by HermioneGronaldW The Blanket

17th October 2008:
Ah! This is soo good! Like I'm tearing up! It was fantastic, very very very enjoyable. This is exactly how I imagined Hermione feeling and to put it in a letter was a fantastic idea. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! I'm glad you enjoyed it, because I definitely enjoyed writing it. The idea to put it in a letter didn't even occur to me until halfway through, and I think it was a good choice =)

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #16, by _fan_1 The Blanket

16th October 2008:
Great! Most fics like this aren't that beliveable because they are too fluffly and lovey-dovey. This is just right.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I wanted to add a bit of angst to it, because love isn't always roses and butterflies. A lot of it is dealing with difficult issues. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #17, by nini807 The Blanket

16th October 2008:
Cool. I really like the way you've written this coz it's not your average story yet it says it all. I've always thought of the sheets Harry threw over Hermione to be a comfort to her, though it would make her miss him more. But anyway, as I said, I think the way it's written is great and it's different too which is something I like. The only thing I was thinking whilst reading it was that maybe more dialogue would add a bit more drama but then I got to the end and realised it was a letter. So yeah, it's great though and I think Hermione's written perfectly in character too.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!! The first few times I read it, that was what I saw - Harry trying to help her by putting a blanket over her. I realize still that he was only trying to help, but it had to be hard when she realized that it was Ron's blanket. I'm glad you really enjoyed it, and sorry about the dialogue - I felt it worked better this way.

 Report Review

Review #18, by ollieb The Blanket

15th October 2008:
awww
very sweet and well written
10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #19, by Shane The Blanket

15th October 2008:
Hi,RonHermioneForever246

Nice story... it really captures Hermione's emotions... 10/10 from me

Love, Shane

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I tried my best, and I'm really glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Evanlyn The Blanket

15th October 2008:
This story is cheesy and corny, and its so cute it made me go 'aw'. It may not be as heartbreaking as it could have been, but its still really gorgeous. I would add it to my favourites if my account still existed.

Author's Response: Well I'm very glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and I hope you can get your account back!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login