Reading Reviews for Forgive Me
  
71 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ThestralPrincess One

12th September 2013:
I want you to know that this work of art finally convinced me to beleive in the Remus+Tonks ship. :) It is so sweet and lovely!

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! Remus/Tonks isn't one of my top ships, I'll admit, but this song really seemed to fit them. I do always love converting people to a ship I like ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Beeezie One

17th July 2013:
... And there's another couple I usually can't be bothered to care all that much about that you've gotten me invested in. In a songfic. In a songfic. I mean, really.

Why haven't I been haunting your page before now? Not having time is no excuse. Your stories are just brilliant. You are even making me love songfics!

Anyway. This was beautiful, in a kind of heartbreaking way. You pulled me into Remus's frame of mind and emotional state, and made me understand what he felt for Dora and why he left. I especially loved the lyrics at the beginning - he's still learning how to navigate these waters, and he's not doing it perfectly, but he's trying to learn. That just resonated with me so strongly. I loved it.

When Dora opened the door and he sank to him knees, I really felt his anguish and her vulnerability, and I really started to care about them as a couple.

Amazing job. Though, of course, I probably shouldn't have expected anything different from the Head of Ravenclaw. ;)

House Cup 2013 - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Is it weird that I mostly dislike songfics? Somehow I've written two of them. I'm not sure how that happened.

I have to admit, Remus/Tonks is not a ship I'm super invested in. This song really called to me though, it just seemed to suit them so perfectly. It's a very sad story, and the song is a bit mournful. I thought they worked together and couldn't resist.

I have always pitied Remus, he's too hard on himself and he's had such a rough life, so I do want him to be happy. Sometimes I feel like motivations need more explaining than we got in the books, and Remus's little emotional breakdown over Tonks's pregnancy was definitely one of them for me. It just seemed so... messed up to do that to your wife, you know?

Thank you so much for reviewing, and och you're too kind - Ravenclaw forever!


 Report Review

Review #3, by DancingMooncalf One

11th January 2013:
I was looking for this kind of story, I am so glad I found it. It is beautiful! Thank you for writing it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Magical Me 123 One

10th July 2012:
Awesome! i never thought of the after-effects of when harry said that. Really good strory writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by HermionelovesRon24 One

4th November 2011:
Thanks! I really wanted someone to write about Tonks and Lupin's baby! Great style of writing 10/10 :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by GinnyWeasley_13 One

4th November 2011:
What a beautiful story.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Akussa One

10th August 2011:
I am simply speechless. This is one of the most emotionally powerful stoy I have ever gotten the chance to read. I have tried to tackle this moment before but couldn't find the right words to do these characters justice. You did. You found the perfect words and pinpointed the right shades of emotions that my heart imagined but my brain couldn't write.

From beginning to end, this got me at the edge of my seat. I wanted to scream and cry. I wanted to laugh and smile. I wanted to be the one to hold Remus' hand and the way you wrote it, I almost felt like I was the one doing it. Remus' heartache and shame was so real and raw, you wrote it in the perfect colour; not trying to romanticize or excuse him. These were the facts and these were the emotions that came with the actions. You deal, you feel and fing the strenght to move on and become stronger.

I was glad Tonks took him back, forgave him and gave him the support he needed. Their love felt so strong and necessary; You could tell Remus felt like he didn't deserve it but would't turn away from it either.

This was a truly beautiful work of talent and a work of the heart. You moved me to a point where, this is the last piece I will read tonight. I will go to sleep now, with your prose in my mind and all this hope that now fills my heart as well as Remus'. Wonderful piece. I feel like thanking you for writting it down and sharing it with us; so thank you.

Akussa (Gryffindor)

Author's Response: Oh wow, you have no idea how flattered I am at this review! Thank you, thank you so much!

I didn't give him excuses for his behavior, because really there isn't a good one for abandoning one's pregnant wife like he did, but it was what it was for him. And he seemed to find the strength to go back, after Harry's verbal kick in the behind, in canon - since he did go back to Tonks. Which I am glad of, because Remus's self-loathing needed some tempering and I think Tonks was good for him.

I don't even know what to say to such a beautiful review. Thank you again, sincerely, and big hugs. I feel like I'm going to revert to pidgin in a minute so before I start saying plenny mahalo, I'll just sign off. Thank you for this review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by writeyourheartout One

5th August 2011:
Oh WTM. This was just beautiful. Stunning, really. From top to bottom, I was completely and entirely captivated, just swept away by the power of this story.

Fury and Humiliation - I couldn't think of two more perfect words to describe this first moment with. I think everyone has been in a position where they've allowed anger to get the better of them and they lash out and say things they don't mean and it's that burning, passionate anger - that desire to just let that rage control you because deep down, even though you know you're wrong, you'd rather rage than admit it - at least for a few moments. And then that humiliation of having completely overreacted, of having let bitterness and stress and absolute fury control your rational mind, and you're embarrassed because you acted so stupidly. I think everyone can relate to Remus' emotions in this moment, and even more so because you described it so clearly, with the perfect words to sum up exactly what it's like to feel that way. It's being trapped in by yourself. And having such a relatable opening - it just sucked me in and held me throughout the story.

This line: "Harry knows quite as much about heartache as you do. Quite as much as your son will know, because his father abandoned him. At least James did not go willingly from his son." - Ah! This is my favorite kind of line; the kind that just punches you right in the gut! And an author who knows how to write those... Talent, my friend. TALENT!

I couldn't be any more in love with that moment when Tonks opens the door to Remus, with that faith still alive having known that he would return. It's such an overwhelmingly touching moment. And his realization of her unwavering faith in him was just brilliant, gorgeous. There's nothing in the world like having a person know you better than you know yourself, having someone who holds on to your faith for you when you've given it up. I may have grabbed a tissue in this moment... my memory is foggy. *cough*

That ending: "...he stroked her belly and sent up a silent prayer that their child would be like his mother, would have all of her and none of him..." - ah, my heart! My heart breaks for Remus all of the time. And that final sentence is so perfectly him, which is exactly WHY my heart breaks for him. He will never see himself as worthy or good enough, and right up to the end he keeps that mentality that he has close to nothing to offer and that the only reason Tonks loves him is because he was hit with some stroke of brilliant luck. I just want to shake him here! Tell him that his child would be lucky to take after his father! And you've made me feel really passionate about this yelling and shaking thing because you write him with such ease, with such clarity. The greatest kind of author is the kind that can make their readers really, truly Feel for a character, and the fact that I sat here wanting to slap some sense into one of yours, well, I couldn't give you much higher of a compliment from me than to say that you make me feel.

Remus has always been one of my absolute favorite characters and so I'm very picky with him and with how he is portrayed in fanfiction. I have to give you just my absolute highest praises because you definitely hit the nail on the head. You captured his constant and consistent internal battle of human versus wolf, of man versus monster. It was the perfect showcase of just how furious our usually gentle Remus can become, but how he also understands the importance of allowing that voice of reason to bring him back to reality and to convince him that it's time to get over himself and own up to his mistakes. And I really love how you also portrayed his internal struggle so that we both know where exactly he is coming from with his decision to leave and then again where his voice of reason is coming from. It's the perfect showing of how Remus is fighting what he thinks is right with... well, what he also thinks is right!

I have to say, because I've read a few of your stories before, back before I ever reviewed anyone, and I just have to tell you that with any and every canon character you write, you never fail to amaze me with your ability to truly understand exactly who that character is. I would trust you with any canon character and know without a doubt that you could write them as if they were yours all along. I'm both jealous and in awe of your talents. It's quite unfair. ^.^

So I don't know why I've never been much into song fics, but they never really did much for me. You now, until now. The song choice... I mean, it was just perfection. I just feel like with a lot of song fics, people choose the wrong song - the lyrics work against them, taking away from the story rather than adding to it, but this is the perfect example of how to make a song fic shine. It might also help that I adore Missy Higgins, but yeah... I would pay for a little 'Where I Stood' song fic from you, I think... yeah... *pulls out wallet temptingly*

I believe my point here is that you are a brilliantly talented writer and this is a brilliantly written story and that I'm beyond thrilled to have stumbled upon it.

Tanya
WriteYourHeartOut
Hufflepuff

Author's Response: This is such an incredibly lovely review, I feel totally speechless! I'm trying to think of a response that will do this review justice.

Thank you so much, and I'm so happy that you liked the story. I feel like, from your comments, you really understood what I was intending with this story, and I really love that. :) I'm glad you liked my portrayal of Remus as well - I'm pretty sure this is the only time I've ever written him. He's a sad man in a lot of ways, and far too hard on himself. I think he's a better man than he believes he is, you know? He needed a kick in the behind for leaving Tonks while she was pregnant, and I think his run-in with Harry at Grimmauld Place would have given it to him. I haven't seen a lot of Remus stories that I really thought got him. Although really, most Remus stories seem to take place during his teenage years, rather than as an adult. Ah Marauders. But, since he's one of your favorite characters, I'm very pleased that you feel I wrote him well.

I've actually thought of writing to that song, now that you mention it. It's one of my favorites of hers. Great for belting out in the car! I might do that one day. I'm not a huge fan of songfics, to be honest, despite winning a Dobby for this one. Obviously I was very pleased and proud to win it, of course, I just prefer a regular old story, if that makes sense.

Thank you again, so very much. This review really made my week. :) *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #9, by ravenclaw_princess One

10th July 2011:
I was in the mood for a Remus/Tonk story and you really delivered with this one.

This scene in the books was quite powerful in terms of Remus' character and Harry's perception fo him. Especially after all that Harry had to go through. You captured this moent perfectly and really encaspulated all of Remus' internal conflicts.

Remus naturally would have some doubts about bringing a child into the world, and because of his condition he also seems to feel that he doesn't deserve to be love. He thinks of himself as a monster and in this instance, he acted like one. This point came across really clearly and I like how you constantly made reference to him being a monster in him man form because of the way he was behaving. This line is just perfect and sums up everything beautifully "He couldn't take away the wolf, but he could take away the monster."

The ending was very sweet. I love how there was no dialogue and everything between them was conveyed through their actions, which spoke louder than any words could.

The story flowed really nicely and fitted in with the song perfectly. The emotions that Remus went through, from anger to regret, to heart ache through to desperation for fogivenss were wonderfully portrayed through out the story. Your word choice is impecatble and you have a great ability to put across the imagry of the scene and the emotions you are trying to portray. I don' just read your stories, I feel them as well. they really are a pleasure to read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so pleased that you liked this story. I am still pretty fond of this one - it was a challenge to write without dialogue, since normally dialogue is my favorite thing to write.

Remus is an interesting character really, and I don't feel like he got enough screen time in the books. Probably why he's so popular in fanfic, but I really feel like his character has so many contradictions, and maybe he never said in canon what he really felt or thought, which is kind of sad. I like to think he and Tonks were happy those few months between him going back to her and the Battle of Hogwarts.

Thank you again! I am so glad you came by and reviewed another of my stories :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Steph One

8th June 2011:
There is so much in this story to love!

Firstly, you not only used one of my favourite songs by one of my favourite artists, but an Aussie artist at that! You get points for knowing who Missy is, and for loving her!

Second is this line: 'He couldn't take away the wolf, but he could take away the monster.' So perfect, so poetic, so beautiful.

Third is the lack of dialogue. I adore the silence of this piece.

And of course your flawless language and characterisations are always impeccable.

Once again, thank you for writing this. Unfortunately I have to go and sit an exam now, so I can't gush more.

Author's Response: Good luck on your exam! Hope it went well.

Missy has some fantastic music, this particular song is one of my favorites. I deliberately had no dialogue, and since that's probably my favorite thing to write, that was hard to do :) I think it turned out pretty well. I'm pretty fond of this one-shot, although I still don't think songfics will ever be high on my list of favorite formats.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Definitely made me smile :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by Crescent Moon  One

29th April 2011:
Really sweet!! Loved it XD

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Sincerely_Snape One

20th February 2011:
Again, this was wonderful, and the song was perfect!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #13, by LilyFire One

8th February 2011:
I'm nearly speechless. It is amazing. I love it...I...don't know what else to say. Remus and Tonks are two of my favorite people, and I think you've captured everything, their crazy mixed up relationship, perfectly. Great job(:
~LilyFire

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it so much :) Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Rumbleroar goes roar One

2nd January 2011:
AWWW! That was so cute ^__^ Seriously!

I loved the characterization of Remus. I think you got it spot on. And reading that story had me smiling goofily to myself at the end.

I seriously loved it ^.^Well done!

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked it :D I think this is just about the only time I've *really* written Remus, so I'm happy it turned out well. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Nynfadora One

11th December 2010:
Wow, this is amazing! I love Remus/Tonks fics, and this is definitly one of my personal favourites now!
The way you describe Remus' feelings is what really put this story ina different catorgary than the rest, it feels much more true than other fics where Remus would probably be portrayed as 'angry' and 'sad'. Not only are those words two small and nowhere near powerful enough, they don't seem as accurate, especially when compared with what you used; 'rage' and 'humilitaion'- it makes it seem much more realistic and, to be honest, it made me think- of course Remus would be humiliated, he'd just been serioulsy berated by one of his best friends sons! So, that being a main point, just wanted to say that its appreciated all the thinking that must of gone on for Remus' feelings to be made so clear, in a style which appears effortless but is really deep. So, basically (because I'm rambling) I like the fact you choose accurate feelings, not just the obvious ones but the hidden ones too, that you have to think about to find.
The description is great too, the way its just added in just makes the text flow so well, I love it!
The actual plot was really thought out too, loved the way that Tonks accepted Remus again, and the way you depicted both charactors was similer to J.K's basic moulds- I hate it when charactors are out of charactor!
So, thanks for putting such an epic story up, loved it and its given me something to think about too-now going to try and think about my charactors feelings and actions more, so again, thanks for teaching me that :D
Overall, an amazing, insightful, epic, incredible one shot.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! This review really thrilled me - I hardly ever get long reviews, so it really made my day. I do think Remus would have been feeling a lot more strongly than he's often depicted. He's just roiling with emotion at that point in the books, almost to the point of madness (even Harry notices), and he doesn't keep it in terribly well. I like Remus, I think he's too hard on himself, but running out on his wife was a pretty crappy thing to do, really. Understandable, given his mindset, but I'm glad Tonks forgave him.

Thank you again for reviewing! I'm really glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #16, by saraie12 One

7th August 2010:
This is the most random, angsty, and sweetest couple. I've never heard that song before, but it seems to fit in perfectly. Beautiful job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I thought the song fit them so well, and it's really a great song. I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Sirius Black Dog One

20th July 2010:
I can only think of one word to describe your story; BEAUTIFUL! Truly one of the most beautiful things i've ever read :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by baletgir One

2nd July 2010:
That was simply wonderful! Great job, I enjoyed this so much. I see why you felt this song fit Remus/Tonks so well. It was a perfect fit! I love these little missing moments, and I really feel as if this is how it all could have worked out. I also think you nailed Tonks and Lupin's characters. Everything just seemed right.
:)BaletGir

Author's Response: I still think of Remus/Tonks when I hear this song. It's a lovely song, if you haven't given it a listen yet, you should check it out. :) Thank you so much for the kind comments on characterization, I'm glad you think I got them well. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #19, by ekroman One

29th June 2010:
Aww!! I love the way she accepts him right away without giving him a hard time. She probably knew that h had been giving himself a hard time and didn't want him to suffer more than he already
did. Wonderful writing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yes, I think Tonks knew him well enough to know he'd probably spent the entire time they were separated beating himself up over it. He was always very hard on himself. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by sofimac16 One

1st June 2010:
Wonderfully written!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Jasaline One

27th May 2010:
Wow! I really loved this one-shot! You've made me love the Remus/Tonks pairing ten times more than I had before reading your story. I love writing styles, so I have to point out that your lovely and natural prose = LOVE :D

-Jasaline

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm quite fond of the Remus/Tonks ship, so I'm glad it was believable - this is the only time I've written it! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #22, by obiwancrazy One

15th May 2010:
Oh my gosh, that was positively amazing. I love anything with Remus in it but this was genius. You wrote his thoughts so well, and the song flows seamlessly with the words. I loved it!
Remus had more than his share of sorrow in his life. But he was a better person for it, in the end.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! He did have a heavy dose of sorrow along the way. I hope he was happy at the end though, with Tonks and their new baby, even though it was only briefly. He certainly deserved to be happy, he was a good man.

 Report Review

Review #23, by kavya One

4th May 2010:
omigosh. thats thats ..so very sweet.i simply loved it

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #24, by artemisia One

15th March 2010:
Ok, normaly I hate song-fics, tragic I know but yours was really good I got a little teary eyed!! *laughs* the way you used the song to was very good, I loved how you dipicted remus in the beginning the rage/ anguish was very clear *duh* but not over done. I loved it!! I'm sorry about your reviews also that really sucks!!!

Author's Response: Hey don't feel bad, I don't care for songfics much either. Hence this being the only one I have written :p I'm glad you liked it, though. Thank you so much for the review! I'm pretty well over the loss of reviews, the server crash was a long time ago, but I appreciate the sympathy :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by pthgrl One

9th February 2010:
love it. thanks so much.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>