Reading Reviews for Cold War
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RedPrincess Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

31st December 2011:
I love your ending! 'She laughed at my dreams, but I dreamed of her laughter'. That reminded me of the song "just the girl" by The Click Five.

 Report Review

Review #2, by mizzxpearl Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

7th July 2010:
So I decided to take a look at your work and I LOVED this! I was seriously laughing the entire time! I love reading about Lily and James, and I just pretty much loved everything about this story. James is such a fine, young chap! :P

Can't wait to work together with you! :D

Author's Response: Aww why thank you! Yes I figured we had the same humour which is why I volunteered to beta for you ;) Thanks so much for checking my story out though, and I'm really glad you enjoyed it. It was a lot of fun to write.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Potter_fan Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

23rd May 2009:
Lily’s laughter was still echoing in my cranium

lol i love you.

that was one of the most original l/j fix i have ever read... everything else is so cliched and boring

i loved how james actually showed self respect in this one

and some of the lines he said, like about lily being the one with arrogance... they PWNED! lol

real good job...you make l/j seem nice. ;)

Author's Response: Aw well thank you so much, dear. I thoroughly enjoyed writing this one. I'm not even sure who won the contest but I enjoyed putting the work into it nonethless :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by collette michelle Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

4th November 2008:
This was sweet, I really liked it. My favourite parts were a) when you mentioned that James had never kissed, shagged or touched another girl in fear of feeling guilty. So sweet and rather unusual, might i add! and b.) i loved Sirius's line 'I just thought that was a really significant piece of information'

Nice Job!

Author's Response: Thank you :D I'm so glad you liked it, it was a very fun piece to write. I'm happy you thought it was original, thanks for the review!!

 Report Review

Review #5, by hhh Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

25th October 2008:
that was so beautifully written
good job

Author's Response: Why thank you!! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by lia_2390 Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

24th October 2008:
Hey BusinessJournal, it's Lia from the forums with the review you requested :)

You mentioned that you weren't sure if I like James/Lily or not but I do, it was my first favourite pairing actually.

I absolutely loved this, I was laughing from start to finish. This has to be the only story I've read that is full of britishisms (did I spell that right?) in all the right places, nothing seemed forced at all. The beginning, however, with all of the 'perfects' and other synonyms reminded me of Twilight :| - which I hated but I do realise that this is not Twilight.

Writing this is James' point of view is just brillaint and so funny, especially his little asides; it was written very well. I was glad that he admitted those little arguments with Lily were getting old. I was surprised that he walked away from her too. I also thought it was a nice touch when he brought up Snape, I wonder why it didn't occur to him that she called him Severus.

Their argument was so tense, I really expected her to slap him silly! James was right though and I figured she knew he was because she got all teary-eyed. The fact that he did it all on purpose shows how much I underestimated him. When everyone was applauding in the end, I was too.

I had the worst gas build-up due to nervousness in the history of humanity. Does that fit into the category of too much information?
Yes, yes it does :D

The one thing that bothered me was your story title. I don't understand how it ties in with your story at all.


Brilliant!
Lia.

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much!! :D Ah yes, the Briticisms tend to come naturally because I'm from England ^_^ I'm not sure what part reminded you of Twilight exactly, but I'll take a look. My mind was far from Twilight when I wrote this haha. I'm glad you enjoyed the argument, I've never really written one quite like that before. Haha, glad you liked that gas build-up line. No one's commented on it before XD About the title; it's named after the Cold War between the US and USSR actually haha. They used Brinkmanship instead of a full-out war, which is what James and Lily did in my opinion. Not sure if that helps. But thanks for the lovely review!!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by acadia Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

23rd October 2008:
Lol beautiful blossoming barberry. Nice one! Was that the quote right at the end there? It was lovely! Very, very funny, but no surprise there!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! :D I'm glad you liked it! Yes, my quote was right at the end. Glad you thought it fit nicely. Thanks for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Shannon Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

16th October 2008:
AH this was so good!! i think you made James very arrogant just like he should be. you made it seem like he thought he was too good for lily which i thought was perfect because thats kind of how JKR did it in OOTP n snapes worst nightmare! that was so good, im surprised you don't have like a million reviews. it was so funny, your sense of humour is awesome, and you hit the characters spot on!! 10/10, i almost want another chapter!!

Author's Response: Well thanks!! :D Glad you liked my interpretation of James. As for another chapter, I don't think so, but it was great fun to write for a one-shot. Thanks for the great review :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by searching17 Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

12th October 2008:
Aw! That last sentence made me smile so much! I love love love the ship Lily/James, but at first, I did not really think that you hit the characterization of Lily or James fully - there was something missing, probably in the words they used and how they spoke to each other. James must have worshipped Lily, but I think that he spoke to Lily more arrogantly, as if Lily would be lucky to have him.

The first half of the story made me laugh, though, especially the portrayal of Sirius:
Sian rolled her eyes and walked over to sit beside Padfoot, who inched over just at the sight of her. Then when she fully sat down, he got up and walked up to the boys’. Best mate anyone could ask for, Padfoot is. I’d do pretty much anything for the bloke. I faintly heard Sian sigh then leave, and I couldn’t help but smile to myself.

Loved that. Glad you didn't Sirius a stupid person! :]

The last part was excellent - I loved how James was controlling the situation and trying to turn the tables...and I love the argument that was going on. The part where both their friends came down made me want to say, "No! GO AWAY."

I would have liked to see Sian's reaction though - but I don't know if James would have noticed that, for he was in the middle of one serious snog session!

Haha I loved James' point of view, especially in the last half. Very plausible. And as always, great description and dialog. :)

10/10. Oh, and this is on my favorites (you're flooding my favorites.lol i'm joking) ! Now all your stories are. Haha. :]

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much! You flatter me! I feel so honoured! :D Ah yes, I was thinking about writing Sian's reaction, but you hit the reason right on the nose as to why I didn't. Because James was tied up in a serious snog sesh. Thanks for reading and reviewing all my stories, it made my entire day!! :D!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Zaphira Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

10th October 2008:
Loved it!
James is a lot more real in this, a lot less .. err ... girly, I think. Often he's made out to be this sappy emotional lovesick boy, but here he's a lovesick boy with a bit of a backbone, which I think is a lot more realistic. Loved the bits of humour as well, very James.
Was the quote the last part of the last line? I really loved that last line. Well all of it, really.
Great job!

Author's Response: Well, thank you! :D I'm glad you liked my James, that's the first time I've ever written that much about him. Yes, the quote was the very last words of the whole thing, I'm glad you liked that, I was worried it didn't fit well but I'm glad it did :) Thanks so much for the great review!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Sysco Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

9th October 2008:
'Well, I had to do a lot of shagging, but I managed to get the position,' I said seriously, nodding to reinforce the importance.

LOL THat was a great line!!! I loved this story, it was so cute, you have james & lily down to a tee. 10/10

Author's Response: Haha thanks! :D Glad you liked that line ;)

Thanks for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #12, by beautiful_wreck Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

8th October 2008:
Your story is so good. I loved it! I am so glad you were able to work the quote into your story successfully.

I loved that you wrote this story in James' point of view. You gave him a voice that was very believable. Even though I've never really read any Lily/James, I really liked this one. I like the fact that James kind of realized that he was tired of fighting with Lily and that the fact she "hated" him made no sense.

Also I loved how you built up to the use of the quote and you just didn't randomly just stick it in your story because you had to. I like when James is dreaming about her laughter, it made complete sense. Also I loved how you used the quote in your banner. (You banner is crazy awesome by the way! lol)

& my favorite part from your story is this line right here:
‘Yeah, if you weren’t solely devoting your genitals to one woman.'
That made me laugh so much and I can totally see Padfoot saying that. Overall this was a great story :)

Come back to the challenge thread after Nov 30th to see if your story is one of the 3 that makes it onto my signature! And I'll keep you updated in case I do any more challenges just to see if you're interested :)

xoxo

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks so much for that spectacular review!! I'm so happy you liked James' POV, it was probably one of the hardest bits of writing I've ever done, just because it was a male's POV and I am a female haha. So glad you liked my use of the quote :) At first I had a hard time thinking something up because it sounds like it should be a dramatic quote and I'm awful at writing drama haha. Thanks for the banner compliment, I love it too :) Haha, yes that's my favorite line as well, I have to say. Sirius is quite a card! Thanks so much again for the wonderful review, I really enjoyed this challenge! :D I'll make sure to check the thread on November 30th!

 Report Review

Review #13, by RoLo Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

8th October 2008:
LOVE IT!

fabby!

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you :D Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by BalletShoes Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

7th October 2008:
That was really nicely written and really funny. I totally love James/Lily dude they're hilarious. I loved James's silly little remarks in his own mind that was a nice touch, specially the part where he sighs whenever she sighs lol. Right when I get my new account I'll be adding this one to my faves lol it was cute!

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much! :D Yes, James can be a bit of a creeper ;) Glad you liked it so much to make it a favorite! Thanks again for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Poetic_Ruby Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

5th October 2008:
That was really sweet, I must say. And well written.

You know, I always had some suspicions that those two got together after some sort of backlashing by James which made Lily realize that she was being just as crude as she made him out to be. And it's nice to see that someone thought the same thing, too.

Really well done!

Author's Response: Aw :D Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you liked it. And glad you thought the same as me! I've always wanted to write a scene like that with those two, so I thought I'd just go for it :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Rome Don't You Put me on the Back Burner

5th October 2008:
Haha that was so cute! nice ending!! I like this line: 'Yeah, if you weren't solely devoting your genitals to one woman.'

10/10

Author's Response: Haha, hello there Rome :)
Glad you liked it! It was fun to write! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login