Reading Reviews for Between the Trees
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lady_devil Chapter Two

8th March 2014:
Hi again! :)

This chapter is captivating from word to word and so well written.

The beginning is awesome, jumping straight away into the dream he was having, for a former one-shot as you have mentioned in A/N this is great start. I would be hooked word to word from the beginning to end.

As for the chapter, as I said it's beautifully written, the way you described everything with the surrounding in co ordination with Teddy is pure masterpiece. It really felt like I was dreaming chapter, I can picture everything in my head.

The Founders in this chapter, through Teddy's view, I have no words for this! You really wrote them in such a way that makes them so...so magnificent! There's defiantly an aura of great wealth and high standing as you wrote in your story through Teddy's point of view about them.

I am curious as to why the tree choose Teddy as well, but I am going to wait patiently until you update the next chapter to find out.

Defiantly favouriting this story! :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by lady_devil Chapter One

8th March 2014:
Back for to review another chapter!

Wow, I must admit I am impressed, two chapters in and I am loving what you wrote so far. Even though both chapters are short, it didn't matter since you wrote what was needed to understand about him, which is awesome!

Teddy at 16, you captured him great in chapter story, especially with explain how he is feeling. I love how you begin the chapter with him looking out on the grounds and letting what happens to him as a child just grow with him till it is haunting him.

As for his relationship with Victoire, I love Victoire/Teddy, and you wrote them together perfectly. Especially with Victoire, she sounds so level headed and wanting to help Teddy with what's bothering him, it's lovely to see her as a character like this.

The touch of the letter from Harry to Teddy, telling a story about his parents, amazing! So sweet to read, again I was in awe for that part, especially with Teddy enjoying hearing another story about his parents.

Onto the next chapter! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by lady_devil Prologue

8th March 2014:
For the Blackout Battle!

OMG! Harry and Teddy together, this is adorable!

Seriously that is the first word that comes to my head. When I first came across this story I was hooked from the start, especially with the summary, I knew I had to read find out!

Ever since ever since the Epilogue of DH, I have always been curious about Teddy's life and growing up, especially with Harry as his god father and his relationship with the Potters and everyone else, etc. In the end I defiantly could see him as an adult being happy because he has lots of people who care about him.

But reading this chapter with him as a child it really made me emotional and left my eyes watery, the whole chapter is very touching with Teddy crying and Harry comforting him, I can picture this in my head and wanting to awe every time.

And the ending, I don't know what to say about it, but its perfect - thinking it could be his parents calling out for him.

 Report Review

Review #4, by moonymayhem Chapter Two

30th November 2009:
Only two more chapters? Oh no! I'm so intrigued though, do update soon! Your writing feels very similar to JK Rowling's to me, just in the way you weaved in the dream (was it really a dream?) and your general tone, I guess. Sorry, I'm not doing a very good job of explaining myself! The point is, I'm really liking this story and can't wait for the next update and for everything to come together! Great work.

Author's Response: *dies*

Similar to JKR? :D! That is the biggest compliment I think I have ever been paid! I adore her writing! Thanks so much!

I really appreciate everything you've said. It truly means a lot.


 Report Review

Review #5, by moonymayhem Chapter One

30th November 2009:
It's only been two brief chapters, but I'm liking this story a lot thus far. Perhaps it's just because it's refreshing to see something that's well-written, and it's also relatively new subject matter for me (I'll admit, I'm generally drawn to the fluffy, romatic comedy-esque stories...xP). I like your Victoire, brief as her appearance may have been. I've always pictured her to be very much a figure like that for Teddy--really there for him, and trying to help him through a life that's been tough. I'm looking forward to seeing where this story goes! Great work.

Author's Response: You're making me blush! ^.^

Thank you again for such a wonderful review. It means a lot to hear you connecting so well with the story, and the characters.

:D


 Report Review

Review #6, by moonymayhem Prologue

30th November 2009:
That was so sad! But I loved it. Your Teddy seems very real, even if he's just 5 years old. "...Not until he was older would he know that these were tears of maturity, tears that grown-ups cried when they had come to realize the harshness of the world"--I loved that line. Such an interesting point to make and a unique way to look at Teddy's sadness. I like that you treated him with maturity despite his youth. I can't wait to see how you continue the story. Great work!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks for giving this story a little love. :) It's a favorite of mine, and I'm thrilled you've enjoyed it! Teddy is such a wonderful character. I've loved getting into his mind so intimately.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #7, by pennyardelle Chapter Two

30th October 2009:
Happy Staff Appreciation Day! This is such a neat, original idea for a story, and it's a shame there isn't more to read! Harry's letter to Teddy in the last chapter was so wonderful.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much!

This story is on hiatus for a while, but I promise there is more to come! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by collette michelle Chapter Two

4th August 2009:
Why him?, I correct! I need to know why Teddy!

I love this, Gina! I really do. It is quite different I must say, which is refreshing. I sincerely hope you do continue to write on this because you have really drawn me in quite well. The imagery with Founder scene was very well done.

I hope there is more, I want to see what Teddy sees and learn why he seems to be the 'chosen one' (excuse the lame phrase) as well as what this new found realisation will do for him and his current bit of troubles.

10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind reviews! This is exactly the push I needed to continue writing. I actually do have this written, but I'm currently edited the last few chapters and fixing a few plot holes. So I'm hoping they will be up soon (perhaps before the month is out).

Thank you! *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #9, by collette michelle Chapter One

2nd August 2009:
The relationship of how Teddy feels about his late parents is one hardly ever explored (or if it is, I have missed them). I think you have captured that side of Teddy perfectly. I like how he does turn to Harry for memories, instead of completely shutting himself from the world in remorse and grief.

I really enjoyed this chapter and I cannot wait to see what happens next with Teddy, Victoire and everything thing else.

10/10

Author's Response: AH! I can't say thank you enough! :) I'm on top of the world right now. I'll have to return the favor as soon as I can. I need some reading material this week (I'm getting my wisdom teeth out and will be sitting around doing nothing), so I'll come take a look at your stories! :)

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed my characterization of Teddy. He's such a fun character to write. *squeezes him*

Thanks again, hun!


 Report Review

Review #10, by collette michelle Prologue

2nd August 2009:
Oh, this is quite intriguing, Gina! And so sweet at the same time. I am curious why little Teddy things it was his mum or dad. Must read on. Nice job! 10/10

Author's Response: You are too sweet! :D Thank you so much. Gosh, you're just boosting my ego by miles tonight! I'm so motivated to get working on these neglected WIPs.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rose Wilts Chapter One

9th July 2009:
Hello again!

That was lovely. Wow, you write so well. I especially love it. Haha. I don't read much next gen, but you're beginning to make me like it.

I like the letter from Harry. I've always thought the relationship between Harry and Teddy would be nice. You did a wonderful job.

I also expecially loved this line "the summery weather was reluctant to concede to autumn's chill."
It was beautiful!

You write so well :)
xx

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! *blushes* Not a Next Gen reader, huh? To tell the truth, neither am I. But for some reason, when this idea came to me, I HAD to use Teddy. He just fits perfectly! :)

You know what, I think you\\\'re the second person to point out that line. Haha. I\\\'m so flattered! Thanks again! *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #12, by Rose Wilts Prologue

9th July 2009:
Hey there, Gina :) It's Laura (laura&co'' from TGS)!
I decided it was about time I started to read some of your fics. I didn't know which one to pick, they all look so good!

I'm intrigued. I liked this, you write really well! I can't wait to read on. Poor little Teddy. Haha, I suppose there's not much to say, but it was a great start to the story.

I think I'll read on :)
xx

Author's Response: Hey, Laura! *hugs* So glad you stopped by for a read. :) I\'m glad you chose to read this one. It\'s a very simple, laid back piece, but I\'m rather proud of it. I\'m lacking inspiration for it at the moment, though. Heh.

Anyway, thanks again for stopping by. I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #13, by BKL8008 Chapter Two

19th January 2009:
Very well done.
Can't tell if Teddy dreamed it, or if he was magically transported there somehow. I'm thinking it was the tree he heard when he was 5?
One rough spot was where Teddy realized that he was in a time before Hogwarts, though. Perhaps a landmark of some kind, like seeing part of the lake but no castle? Just a thought.

Author's Response: Curious prediction there. (: I like how you're thinking, but I'm keeping my mouth zipped. Haha.

Thanks for pointing that bit out for me. I was going off of Teddy's feeling - he didn't feel magic in the air, as Hogwarts students do as they are walking through the halls or about the grounds. I should probably make that clearer, and I'll see if I can fit a landmark in as well.

What wonderful reviews! You've helped me out so much, and I am so grateful. Thank you, thank you, thank you.


 Report Review

Review #14, by BKL8008 Chapter One

19th January 2009:
It's great, and a good look into a tortured Soul and what It needs so badly.

One suggestion:

You might consider filling it in a bit, though as going from 5 to 16 is a bit of a jump that leaves us wondering about, say, Teddy's reaction to going away to School at Hogwarts. Perhaps a short bit, about this length, of meeting his friends and hearing this calling when he arrived, as he did when he was 5?

Still, it's great!

Author's Response: I took your suggestion to heart, and I am currently planning another short chapter that will be added in between the prologue and the first chapter. I was worried that something was missing, and you hit the nail on the head. Thank you so much for mentioning that to me. I really, really appreciate it. (:

 Report Review

Review #15, by BKL8008 Prologue

19th January 2009:
Now if that isn't a beginning that just grabs you by the ol' b* and pulls you in, then I've never read one! I'm hook already in ~500 words! Dang, I need for you to write my intro's!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm flattered. (: I was thinking of expanding it, but perhaps I'll just leave it be and add another chapter immediately after it.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #16, by ghostwriter1030 Chapter Two

16th January 2009:
Wow I can not wait to see what ill happen next and how this story will progress. Please keep me posted.

Great job. Good luck!
ChellDaBelle1030

Author's Response: Will do! I'm so glad you liked it, and thanks for leaving me such sweet reviews. (:

 Report Review

Review #17, by ghostwriter1030 Chapter One

16th January 2009:
I loved the interaction between Teddy and Victoire. I also loved Harry's letter to Teddy. How wonderful for him to share such an endearing story about Remus and Tonks with Teddy.

Well done
ChellDaBelle1030

Author's Response: Thanks again! Ever since I read DH, I wanted to write a story that involved Teddy, just so I could explore his and Harry's relationship. They've both gone through very similar hardships, and they can relate on a level that most people just can't understand. I'm thrilled you enjoyed Harry's letter, as it was probably my favorite part to write. (:

 Report Review

Review #18, by ghostwriter1030 Prologue

16th January 2009:
How touching. Poor little teddy. I am wondering how this story will progress. Good job with the prologue though.

ChellDaBelle1030

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! Yeah, poor Teddy's too young to have to deal with that... :(

 Report Review

Review #19, by Liam R Chapter One

16th January 2009:
Hello, I'm back again ^_^

Once again there was some truly beautiful description within that chapter, it was very well written.
This line in particular caught my eye: it was barely October and the summery weather was reluctant to concede to autumnís chill.
That line is just haunting, it's a very accurate and well thought out description.

There were a couple of grammar mistakes here. Night time should be two words, rather than one.

I loved your characterisation of Teddy. In most stories Teddy is alot like the Marauders, which he really is not in my opinion. I've always thought of him as a kind, thoughtful person, and your characterisation matches my expectations.

9/10

Author's Response: Aw, I was rather fond of that line, too. (: I'm so glad it stood out to you.

Thanks for catching that slip-up. It's one of those words that I get stuck on. I'll definitely fix that.

So glad you liked Teddy! I didn't really plan his character, to be honest. It just sort of came out as I was writing, and I really like how he's shaping up. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Liam R Prologue

16th January 2009:
Hello, I'm here as requested.

That was really short. Very short, in fact, but seeing as this started life as a one-shot I think you can be forgiven for it's shortness ^_^

I didn't understand it at first, I was wondering what was happening, and I did wonder how old Teddy was in this throughout until we found out he was five.

I think the ending was very sad, where Teddy said it might have been his mum or dad. That was really heart wrenching. It was short but it conveyed everything that a five year old in that position would feel.

I don't have any CC for you. There weren't any spelling or grammar mistakes that I picked up on, and the story seemed to flow very well, so that's good ^_^

Author's Response: Hello there! Thanks for coming. (:

I agree that it was very short. I think I'm going to expand it by adding different snippets into his life just to build up the background on the story. Then I'll go into the plot.

Thanks so much for the review. I'm glad to hear that it flowed well and that it conveyed the emotions that a young child would feel after losing their parents. Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #21, by OneOfTheWeasleys Chapter One

11th January 2009:
Another great chapter. I really like this story so far and I'm really interested to see where it goes (your summary is what caught me). I love to see that Teddy and Harry have such a close relationship; they both know what the other is going through and its a relief to know that Teddy has a fatherly figure there. It's cute how harry tells his stories about his parents, I think it is what every kid would do if they never met their parents. I've never read a story with Teddy characterized this way...I enjoy it. :D

-OneoftheWeasleys

Author's Response: I'll be honest - I've always been fascinated by the fact that Teddy and Harry can relate in this way. One of the first things that came to mind when I set out to write this story was that Teddy would be close to his godfather not only because he's a fatherly figure, like you mentioned, but also because he's the only one in Teddy's life that has this same sense of emptiness. They can relate on a level that no one else can, not even Victoire (although she really does try).

There I go rambling again! Haha. Thanks so much for the review. (:


 Report Review

Review #22, by OneOfTheWeasleys Prologue

11th January 2009:
That was a good intro. It was a bit quick but the emotion was there and that is what I feel is one of the most important parts of a story. I'm interested to see where this story goes.

OneoftheWeasleys

Author's Response: I really did try to expand it, but I found that I couldn't. The additions sounded forced and didn't flow with the rest. I'm glad you felt the emotion, though. (: And thanks so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by gnilworkj Prologue

5th January 2009:
Nice banner and a really quick read. You are correct. This is itching to be expanded on.
Let us know on eHPF when you update. It will be interesting to see what you have in mind.
I'm pulled to the paragraph about Teddy's tears not being tears that a 5 year old should cry. Will wait to see what you mean.

Author's Response: It was initially around 5,000 words, but I realized that it kind of fell flat because I hadn't really delved into Teddy's everyday life. So I'm currently working on developing his character before I start the main plot (which is already written).

I will definitely let you know when I update. It will be relatively soon - maybe even today - as I have the next chapter written. I'm going to look over it once or twice before I post it up. Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #24, by ataraxy Prologue

16th December 2008:
I loved it! It was extremely unique and different from anything I've read on here before. I wish it was a novel though, not just a one-shot :( But anyway, it was great, although the ending seemed a tad bit rushed. Other then that, awesome job!

Author's Response: I'm actually thinking of turning it into a short story, so keep an eye out. I completely agree that the ending is rushed, which is why I've been itching to get back at it and stretch it out. Thanks so much for the review! It was really helpful. [:

 Report Review

Review #25, by Wicked Vixen (Logged Out) Prologue

6th December 2008:
Wow, this is a brilliant idea- and very original, I might add. I loved every inch of it. Teddy is just how I imagined him to be- and so were the Marauders. Heck, even Henry was a cute OC- reminded me of Ron for some reason. Loved it- do write some more. 9/10!

Author's Response: Awh, thanks! I'm glad you liked it. (:
I was honestly considering editing this and making it into a short story. So I think I'm going to do that... whenever I find the time. Haha.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login