Reading Reviews for View from the Sidelines
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AngeliqueMonte View from the Sidelines

29th January 2011:
I totally LOVE this story.Its really meaningful,creative yet with humour.And..H/Hr!Great job :3
Can I translate that to russian providing link to original fic and crediting you as author of story?..I've just started practicing in translating fics and it would be lovely to translate this one :D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Yes, of course you can! (I apologize for the late response.) I would be honored. =)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Little Miss Obvious View from the Sidelines

10th December 2010:
Aww come on! I was hoping ofr a scene with Hermione and Harry and Lily smikring from above. Besides, Ginny looks like Lily, Hermione ACTS liek Lily. A bit creepy, I think. The Potter men seem to have the tedency to fall for bookworms. . . (no offence to all the bookworms out there myself included. )

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Sorry I disappointed you at the end.

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp View from the Sidelines

20th October 2010:
haha this was one awesome fic..!! enjoyed reading it a lot...!!

cheers!
AD

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Meg_ View from the Sidelines

24th June 2010:
I liked it. I like the premise too. I have always thought that Lily would love for Harry to be with Hermione... Then again, Hermione is more like Lily than Ginny is aside from the whole looking alike deal. They both were stubborn and bookish. Very intelligent woman those two. Although people always make Ginny out to be some ridiculous idiot of a girl... I actually hate that stereotype. In order for the HHr pairing to work, everyone tries to characterize Ginny as a worthless, selfish young girl. I don't really think she's as foolish as James and Sirius were. I don't think she would've told Harry to hex people for fun. But I do agree with you that James would like Ginny more and Lily would like Hermione more. Just because I can see a little bit of each in the other. Anyway 8/10.
~Meg

Author's Response: Thank you! There's quite a lot of debate about how similar Hermione is to Lily. While I think they have similar core values, I feel that Ginny is almost a carbon copy (red head, feisty, etc.). Somehow I can't imagine Lily sticking to the rules like Hermione did. ;-D But Hermione cares deeply for Harry -- the Harry that isn't just the face of the Wizarding world -- and that's why I think she would've preferred her to Ginny (who often seems to not know Harry at all).

I agree -- Ginny isn't worthless or selfish. Unfortunately her character wasn't written well, which makes it difficult to ascertain WHO exactly she is, but she's definitely neither of those things. But I believe that she IS short-sighted and a little bit too in awe of Harry to help guide him and be there for him in a way that's needed. She would never tell Harry to hex someone for fun, but she would (and did) make excuses for his behavior (and she herself hexed someone because they were "annoying" her).

Thanks for reviewing! =)


 Report Review

Review #5, by cjami13 View from the Sidelines

25th April 2010:
I loved this story. I think you are the best writer on this site. I saw you lost your ispiration. I really hope you get it back. Until I'm just going to have to re-read your stories over and over again

Author's Response: Oh, wow!! That's just ... wow! Thank you so much. That's ridiculously kind of you. I hope my inspiration returns as well! I miss writing for this fandom.

 Report Review

Review #6, by annabelle granger View from the Sidelines

3rd April 2010:
awesome for a one shot fic. but then again, all your stories are awesome.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jamie View from the Sidelines

2nd April 2010:
This was absolutely wonderful. Your plot line was unique, in an odd sense, since many people try this storyline. I definitely enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #8, by auror_snape View from the Sidelines

12th March 2010:
That was great! I love Lily, and you really hit her in this one! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #9, by foxylilraven View from the Sidelines

1st March 2010:
I loved it, and I always thought that was the reason why I had a problem with Ginny and Harry parrings, It looked like James Lilly all over again.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! And LOL, that's one of MANY reasons I dislike the pairing so. XD

 Report Review

Review #10, by miriam01 View from the Sidelines

27th November 2009:
Wow.very creative and the piece was very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #11, by LolaGin View from the Sidelines

16th August 2009:
This was funny. I liked it. Except that, like you point out, Hermione = Lily 2.0, not Ginny. All Hermione is missing is the red hair.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. I am a bit confused however - when did I say that Hermione = Lily 2.0? I reread this fic just to make sure (it's been a while), and the only thing I discuss is how Lily prefers Hermione to Ginny. Personally I think Hermione is only like Lily in terms of her stubborn attitude and top marks in school. Otherwise it's Ginny -- with her fiery temper, good lucks, and popularity -- who's similar to Lily.

Thanks again for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Lindsay View from the Sidelines

16th August 2009:
Lily hadnít much appreciated when the redhead girl accused Hermione of wishing Harry dead simply because she scolded him for almost killing another student.

Sorry had to add this but IMO, this was quite possibly one of Hermione's worst moments ever in the books and I hate that Lily sided with her in this story. Yes Hermione, Harry feels like shit and knows he did wrong and all you can focus on is that you were right and that he's doing better in a subject than you. And then try to get Ron and Ginny on your side by insulting. Try being a better friend there why don't you ? Sorry, I just didn't like that Lily thinks Hermione was right there but seeing as you said they are both so similar in personality, it probably makes sense.

Author's Response: I suppose this has to do with your view point of the situation (and which characters you prefer, since you mentioned earlier that you dislike Hermione). I, for example, while I did not think Hermione was really in the right, did not believe it was at ALL appropriate for Ginny to accuse Hermione - the girl who has stood by Harry's side for years while Ginny has basically been out of the picture - of wanting Harry to get hurt rather than defend himself. I can understand your viewpoint, however.

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Lindsay View from the Sidelines

16th August 2009:
I find this hilarious. I normally loathe Hemione but this was a funny story and I actually enjoyed her. Which is a compliment to your writing because she is one fictional character I do not like and well, even though she's not supposed to be pretty she has guy after guy falling for her and she's never ever in the wrong according to JKR which is very annoying because there are so many times when she's just a pain in the butt but it's supposed to make her cool. But i enjoyed her here .

Though sadly, as someone who has spent years studying this, I feel that I must point out that you seem to have the meaning of Oedipal Complex completely and utterly wrong. Someone looking like your mother ,in terms of hair colour, is not an Oedipal Complex and not creepy IMO. In that aspect I guess I am screwed because my husband and my dad both have black hair. Someone who acts just like your mother and marrying her ? That's what an Oedipal Complex actually is .. and it's very creepy. I think you based it to say why you don't like H/G and prefer H/Hr but if that's what you are basing it on, I think your argument is rather invalid, because well Harry/Hermione would be Oedipal Complex more than anything else.

Sorry just had to point that out.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I'm even happier that you were able to enjoy Hermione seeing as you usually dislike her. While Hermione is actually my favorite character, but I did object to Cormac falling for her (Viktor and Ron is fine, but somehow Cormac just seemed out of place). I do have to object, however, to Hermione "never ever [being] in the wrong." I think it's made clear throughout the series that Hermione's reliance on facts sometimes results in a lack of tact, which often places her on negative terms with her classmates (i.e. in PoA when Lavender was crying about her Bunny or in OotP when Hermione constantly corrected Luna). Then in DH she argued that the Hallows were just a myth, only to be proven wrong. There are several other instances but I'm currently working off of a few hours of sleep, so you'll have to forgive me.

As for your argument about the Oedipus Complex, again I think it has to do with interpretation. Yes, Hermione is similar to Lily in terms of her stubborn attitude and desire/ability to do well academically, but that's where the similarities end. Ginny, on the other hand, is very popular and has a fiery temper -- just like Lily -- and then factoring in the similar looks. I don't know, I've just always viewed Ginny as more like Lily. I don't think I discussed it fully in the story, so that might account for the confusion. Hopefully I make sense now.

Thanks very much for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #14, by Heather View from the Sidelines

5th August 2009:
This was pretty good! But IMHO I think you should write a sequel or something. It would be interesting to see Harry's musings over his newfound feelings, and how he acts on them.

Author's Response: Thank you! If I resume writing for the fandom, I'll definitely consider it. =)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Marianne_Silver View from the Sidelines

29th July 2009:
HOLY SNAP! I think this has to be my favorite HP fanfiction I've ever read. I've always loved Harry/Hermione, but I've never had the gall to write any. And I've always imagined James, Lily...and then Sirius and all the others who died...looking down on things all sadly from the afterlife. Heck, I've written scenes of this sort before.

This is perfection, dear! Wonderful job. It's...kind of odd to me that James and Sirius would think Remus needs to join them already. I figure they'd hope for at least one of their number to have a decent life. However, that's my opinion...the kind of logic you wrote James as having is not that unbelievable. Not at all.

I'm with Lily--the whole "Lily 2.0" thing has bothered me ever since I realized it. Shiver! Why can't Ginny be with...anyone else?!

Thanks for the immense enjoyment this brought me.

Marianne (LiveJournal! :D)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! James and Sirius don't want Remus to die, but when he does I do believe that they would be excited to see him again. It was a joking sort of "He needs to stop being lazy" comment.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Xaviera View from the Sidelines

19th June 2009:
LOVED THIS STORY!haven't seen one like it before

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :-)

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ellaoptimistic View from the Sidelines

4th June 2009:
Loi, I loove Lily! Especially the way you have her here. Excellent job. =D

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I love Lily, too, so I'm glad you like my portrayal of her. Thank you for reviewing! :-)

 Report Review

Review #18, by jamesf141 View from the Sidelines

2nd June 2009:
Wow. That was awesome.
And quite funny! I especially liked the bit about James and Sirius' plan fro Lupin's celebration, and the opening was absolutely perfect - just the right balance between comedy and sensible stuff.
As per usual, a fantastically written story. 100/10

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I\\\'m glad you enjoyed it. James and Sirius amuse me so much...hee. It was fun to write that little bit.

Thanks for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Harrypotterfanforever View from the Sidelines

15th May 2009:
I love this story! I have always wanted to find the best points why Harry and Ginny wouldn't work and you found them. Harry and Ginny are way to much alike to work, plus it's great how you noticed that Ginny looks almost exactly like Lily, though Hermione acts like her. I thought that was cool. I didn't know that James was a chaser I thought he was seeker, but great job!

Author's Response: Oh, God, H/G...so, so many reasons why they wouldn\\\'t work, it\\\'s almost sickening (actually, it IS sickening). I mean R/Hr I can understand, but H/G? Never in a million years will that ship make sense to me. *Sigh*

Hermione definitely acts like Lily, but I think that\\\'s less creepy than someone marrying the exact replica of their mother. I mean most heterosexual men/women are attracted to women/men who remind them of their mother/father (is this getting confusing for you too? lol) in terms of personality, but I think marrying your parent look-a-like goes over the line of creepiness...

Yep, James was a Chaser. In the films, I believe, they said he was a Seeker, but Rowling confirmed that James was indeed a chaser.

Thanks very much for reading and reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #20, by TyrannicFeenix View from the Sidelines

30th April 2009:
OH MY GOD!!! I love that bit at the end about Remus. Hilarious.
Awesome story. Bought time someone took some more direct action to make that thick boy realise Hermione is his destiny.
Great work as always.

Author's Response: LOL. Thank you! I\\\'m glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing! :-)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Harrypotterfanforever View from the Sidelines

29th April 2009:
I loved it. But James was not or is not a chaser he was the seeker. And that is final.

Author's Response: No, in the books he was a chaser. In the movie they claim he was a seeker, but the books and Rowling herself confirm that James was a chaser. Thanks for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :-)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Waterprof View from the Sidelines

4th December 2008:
Yeah i see Harry can be dumb sometimes LOL, lovely story. You know, i read this, but almost forgot to review (I mentally swore to myself that i will always review stories i read)
You like H/Hr pairing right? So i'll now read your other stories and i'll be looking for new ones...

Good luck
*You-Are-Great*

Regards - waterprof

Author's Response: Yes, everyone has their dumb moments, and Harry is no exception. LOL.

And yes, I adore H/Hr! They're my OTP of the HP universe.

Thanks so much for reviewing! :-)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Concused_Duck View from the Sidelines

19th November 2008:
I loved it =] I loved Lily =] Yay. Haha sorry, but I'm a bit hyper today and I havn't read any of your stories in a while and then I was like, "oo i might read I'm not neurotic again." and then I found this... =D

Haha. Anyway, as always I LOVED it! And Ha, I loved harry's reaction, I dunno in my head I could just imagine it and I lol'd. out loud >.<

Anyway, i'm tired so I will go to bed now, but tomorrow i'm gonna catch up on your new story!

xx

Author's Response: Thank you! It's been a while since I worked with Lily, so it was fun to return to her. I'm glad you enjoyed it!!

Thanks for reviewing. :-)


 Report Review

Review #24, by MISSUnique View from the Sidelines

4th November 2008:
that was funny and cute...its going in favs

Author's Response: Wow ,thanks so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reviewing. :-)

 Report Review

Review #25, by piper15 View from the Sidelines

20th October 2008:
that was wonderful and hilarious all at the same time. i loved it. it shall now be added to my favorites.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :-)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>