Reading Reviews for Dark and Dangerous
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Riya Potter Dark And Dangerous

12th March 2012:
A chill ran down my spine while reading this. Perfect dramatic writing. That one was really good.

Keep writing... :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by white_eyebrow Dark And Dangerous

20th December 2009:
I love Bellatrix. And I love her in this - she and Snape mix line oil and water. Good start in the beginning; you have an eye for painting detail

Author's Response: Thanks a million! It was wonderful hearing from you. I'm so very glad you enjoyed this one-shot, along with my take on Bellatrix. She's such a tricky character to write...I doubt I did her any justice. ;)

Thanks again! I hope you have a pleasant week.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #3, by SiriuslyPeeved Dark And Dangerous

7th June 2009:
This was a gorgeously written and chilling piece. I think you have done a very good job with the dynamic between Bellatrix, Severus, and Voldemort; the ending is fantastic.

Author's Response: Thanks a million, SiriuslyPeeved! I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot. Bellatrix has to be one of my favorite HP characters, so I'm thrilled to hear that you think she was in-character. ^_^ I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #4, by JohnnyPickAlot Dark And Dangerous

26th April 2009:
Wow.
That was really, really good. I loved the way you wrote this. And the characterizations were spot on. And really liked how you made Bellatrix acknowledge Snape's superior skill but was defiant enough to insult him and prod deeper to get to know his weeknesses and such.
Well done. I really enjoyed it.
-Sarah

Author's Response: Hi Sarah!
Thank you so much! This one-shot was sort of written on a whim with no plot in mind, so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. :) I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed it, though. ^_^ I hope you have a great week! Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #5, by Varda Dark And Dangerous

14th December 2008:
'...listening to the echo as it tangled about the chandelier above.' -- All I can say is WOW! What glorious wording!

...I had the frightening, yet amusing, image of Bellatrix on all fours with a mouse in her mouth spring into my head. XD

On a side note, I'm listening to a really cheery song right now that doesn't fit with the mood of this story at all... "I'm face to face with the light"? Come on. XD *cough* [/random]

"...And even deftly applied Occlumency was useless against a master such as he." -- Here do you mean 'legilimency', as occlumency is used to block the mind?

Once again, your vocabulary astounds me. While it may not fit for teenagers in a modern time (the trio), it fits marvelously here; you would expect Snape and Bellatrix to use such words when speaking and even thinking. That said, your characterization of the two was spot-on. And trust me-- it's rare when I say I found a spot-on Snape. I also applaud you on your ability to create such not only beautiful, but also original, one-shots. All of the scenes I've read so far of yours are (to my knowledge) unique to the HP fandom. And you should be very proud of that fact.

Marvelous read!

- Alex

Author's Response: Hi Alex!
Thank you so much for the review! *blushes* You are too kind, truly ;) Positive feedback coming from a writer like you is high praise indeed!

Thanks for pointing out the Occlumency/Legilimency flub. I can never keep those two straight, hehe.

Again, I really do appreciate your kind comments. Happy holidays!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #6, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Dark And Dangerous

10th December 2008:
Wow!!! (It's long_live_luna_bellatrix, by the way)

This was a realy nice one shot, I loved it. Bellatrix's feelings were very clear, all her emtions realistic. She and Snape were both written extremely well. Snape's reaction to Bella's insult was perfect, and the title was brilliant. I loved this! Everything was great, no grammar problems. Well done!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, long_live_luna_bellatrix! Your review was so kind-I'm blushing ^_^ I'm so glad you enjoyed this one-shot. Bellatrix is my favorite HP villain and I just had to take advantage of the delicious tension between her and Snape.

Thanks again! I hope you have a wonderful week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #7, by Labby Dark And Dangerous

26th October 2008:
How chilling. I really liked this little bit on Severus and Bellatrix. These two are such interesting characters and stuck in a room together, you really show just how fascinating they can be. I love how Bellatrix was trying to find a fault in Severus, trying to show that she was Voldemort’s top supporter, further showing her love for Voldemort. The two characters both are so good at reading people and it shows even here they’re a good match for one another. I liked that little duel and I just really liked how you had them interact. Great story!

Author's Response: Hello again Labby!
Thanks a million for taking the time to read and review this little one-shot. Seriously, you spoil me with all your great comments.

I'll be honest and say that I love Bellatrix as a villainous character and I'm starting to appreciate Snape more and more thanks Renny's fic. And like you said, I do think these two are a brilliant match for each other. I almost wish Rowling had let them interact more ^_^

Again, thank you so much for all feedback. Your reviews always make my day.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #8, by lia_2390 Dark And Dangerous

17th October 2008:
Hey celticbard, it's Lia from the forums!

This story was so chilling, I was like "Whoa!" I loved your descriptions in here and Bellatrix's thoughts; I think that the only thing she fears is not being the Dark Lord's favourite, there's a kind of desperation to it.

I loved the idea of having this set during DH, like a prelude to the first chapter. You asked me about the plot and I think it is brilliant. I also like the fact that it was Snape who 'interogated' her instead of Bellatrix (she may have gotten a bit carried away).

Your characterisation was good as well, Bellatrix's especially, you have her still reflecting on how great her family was, maybe even showing some regret of how it, in her eyes, has deteriorated over the years. How you wrote Snape just blew me away, he was much darker than how he's usually portrayed. After he left the chamber and the little he chose to divulge about Professor Burbage made me wonder if there was something more between them

His confrontation with Bellatrix was thrilling; it's clear she still doesn't trust him but at the end of the story, I think she's genually afraid of him.

I expected him to insult her but I never expected him to say that, I have to say, I died, lol.

Dark and dangerous indeed.
Lia.

Author's Response: Hi Lia!
I'm so sorry it took me a few days to get back to you. I was away for most of the weekend at a wedding and without internet access.

Your review was simply wonderful, so thoughtful and kind. I truly appreciate it. Thank you so much!

Your comments on plot and characterization were quite encouraging. Snape is such a complex character-I was a bit worried that my take on him might be somewhat cliched. ;)

Again, thanks a million! I hope you have a wonderful week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #9, by Indigo Seas Dark And Dangerous

13th October 2008:
Hello! This is Indigo from the forums, here with the review that you requested.

This is a wonderful little bit of fiction. As you write, we get a short glimpse into the life of Bellatrix, and that is simply fantastic.

The details you provide are amazing. Like when she was stroking the book, or the pulses of Snape's footsteps. All of these make the reader want to continue, and it's a fantastic thing to include as an author. Very, very well done.

Your characterization is spot-on. Everything Bellatrix does is something I would picture her doing. Especially the part, "but Bellatrix was pleased to open her thoughts to him, holding her undying devotion aloft like laurels for his inspection." This just shows us how devoted Bellatrix is, and sticks close to how JKR wrote her.

The plot, even as a short one-shot, was also very good. Sometimes one-shots have troubles fully developing the plot (and having an original one, at that), but I think you pulled it all off quite nicely.

Overall, I think it was an absolutely fantastic little piece. Thanks so much for requesting! 10/10

Happy Writing,
Indigo

Author's Response: Hi Indigo!

Thank you so much for the great review! Your comments were so kind and encouraging. I truly appreciate your feedback.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the descriptive details. As one-shots are quite straightforward fics, I was worried that all the imagery might bog the reader down. I'm so relieved to hear you liked it though. ^_^

As to the plot, yes, I did have some trouble with it. One-shots are indeed tricky to write and I thought perhaps this fic was a little vague. But I'm absolutely thrilled you thought the plot was fleshed-out.

Again, thanks a million for the wonderful review. I hope you have a great weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login