Reading Reviews for Betray the Night
  
74 Reviews Found

Review #1, by couldyoureallyknow Chapter the Fourth

2nd October 2010:
i really like this!! please write more soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by hermione_weasley_angel Chapter the Fourth

12th September 2010:
I found this story and started reading it a while ago, but I don't think I've reviewed! Anyway, I'm glad I found it, because I REALLY enjoyed it, and it's interesting to see what might happen between Draco and Hermione later on.
Pleaseee update ASAP! :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! :D I'm glad to hear from you that you enjoyed reading this. ^_^ Hopefully I'll find inspiration to update it soon!

 Report Review

Review #3, by obiwancrazy Chapter the Fourth

1st September 2010:
He he, I just skipped the first three chapters 'cause I wanted to read about Draco losing his mind!!! But now I suppose I will go back because this is pretty amazing stuff- well done!

Author's Response: Haha! That's awesome! It's wonderful to hear that you liked this chapter and want to go back and read the rest. I hope that you enjoy it! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by MajiKat Chapter the Fourth

22nd August 2010:
"Oh. What a dreadful saying. Where had he picked that up from? This is what came of having a Weasley in your household, even for a short period of time."

hahahha there were moments in this chapter where i had to stop myself laughing (the bubby is asleep in the next room) but i actually had to cover my mouth at that line! excellent!

i love your draco so much. and his madness. this was a great chapter susan; nicely paced, not too much going on, just those little things, hints, that i love, like wondering how long since he'd been in astoria's chambers etc. and cliffhanger! i hate those things. update soon?

i am so sorry it took me so long to read this chapter. im really enjoying this story and the wonderful way you're telling it

kate xx

Author's Response: I love how, in that line, Draco makes being a Weasley into a disease - it fit well with the main plot of this story, and I'm glad that you liked it. I've always loved making people laugh, and this story is a great outlet for that. ^_^

Draco as the mad pureblood would make a hilarious Gothic novel. XD He's much too fun to write because he's so crazy - or rather because I make him so crazy. I wonder if he acts this way in order to distract himself from his situation in life - he knows he isn't a very good father or husband, and his economic status is always in question. There's a lot of seriousness in his life (now I'm wondering why I make him so humourous).

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing this, Kate! I just feel remiss in not getting a new chapter out faster and will definitely try to think of what I could have happen next. ;)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Arithmancy_Wiz Chapter the Fourth

21st August 2010:
I've been meaning to review this for months. Nothing like a house cup competition to kick my butt in gear. This is actually my second read-through, and hopefully you wont mind I didn't review sooner if I promise not to make this one a novel like the last review.

I continue to love this story and your writing for its perfect blend of wit and drama. There seems to be a great balance between not taking the characters and theatrics of it all too seriously while still paying well-deserved attention to the people, plot and details. You've got these great dramatic elements like the imprisonment metaphor and Draco's love for "peace the most." But you counter that all with comments about her "low" accent and him imagining Hermione melting...and of course a few choice words for a stubborn desk.

What really caught me in this chapter, besides your continued mix of humor and horror, was Draco's characterization. He's not likable, but he is enjoyable, if that makes sense. It's exactly how I picture an adult Draco to be. I love that you didn't compromise him to fit a plot, nor did you have to stretch the realm of believability to create a plot that brings him together with Hermione.

Since I can't help myself, I'll offer two super nitpicky suggestions. First there are a few sentences with words that hang at the end a bit. Two examples: Draco slammed the door of his study shut AND Not that derision bothered him any. Obviously they aren't wrong, and this is more perhaps my opinion than actual critique, but perhaps they would be a bit punchier or stronger without the last word, or in the case of the first "slammed shut the door" instead of "slammed the door shut?" I may be off on this, I'm not great at all the rules of grammar, but just thought I'd mention it. Also, there were a lot of parenthetical asides that I thought slowed down the flow a bit.

I know you're a busy lady but I hope you continue to work on this. I always check back on it from time to time. Great job, as always.

Author's Response: And it's taken me months to respond, too. *headdesk* You shouldn't worry about not reviewing right away, or even at all - it's wonderful to receive one from you (especially one as long as this!), but I know how busy you must be. I really appreciate that you did take the time to read (re-read) and review this story. :D

It's a strange story to write because of that balance - I'm constantly wondering how far I can go with both the humour and the drama without overdoing either. I can't take this story seriously, and that may be the downfall of it. It helps a lot that Draco is such a dynamic character, and he brings the humour to the story while Hermione provides more of the dramatic elements. Draco is very much a Slytherin, but I like to make him a silly one - he's snooty and arrogant, but life hasn't turned out well for him, making him a bit of a joke. Keeping him (and Hermione, for that matter) in canon is a challenge, and I'm still trying to figure out how, if ever, I can create any romance between them.

I got those changes as soon as I read your review. Those things make a lot more sense, and I'm glad you pointed them out. Editing isn't really my thing, as I tend to tear apart everything I do edit, so having other people let me know about these things is a great help. :D

With the reviews for this story as positive as they are, I guess I should keep writing it. It's not a story I planned ahead, so I'm just making it up as I go, really. ;)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Alopex Chapter the Fourth

17th August 2010:
Well, this review really will be shorter, like the last. For one, I don't want to repeat myself too often in the same day, and for another, I've got to be going but wanted to finish this up first.

So let's see. Again, I enjoyed your portrayal of Draco; it is still very good. I find myself unsurprised that he would worry about his own face melting. I am a bit surprised at his response earlier, though. Surely if he was so worried about the disease, then he would have been more concerned about the Ministry's visit? But wait. He was concerned, wasn't he? He took care to lock the door so no one else could enter the room, and he was convinced he'd be carted off to Azkaban (though I couldn't tell if he was being paranoid or not).

I got a kick out of Malfoy trying to open Astoria's desk. I knew he'd get it in the end, somehow or other, but that was quite amusing. His thoughts amuse me. I'm a bit suspicious (though not surprised) that Astoria's accounting doesn't square with what he thinks she's been spending. However, it doesn't seem like a good omen that she bought the last two elves someplace else. I wonder what Malfoy's up to? Surely he's not going to try to leave the Manor to go there? But I can't really see him telling Hermione yet, either, not before he plays the hero and figures it all out himself (or screws up royally in the process).

I need to stop saying I'll be leaving brief reviews.

Author's Response: It will be shorter, but isn't. :P That's fine, really. I'm glad that you're finding so much to say about this story, as it's really interesting for me to look at it from more of a distance to try and get back into writing it. It means a lot that you've read and reviewed the whole thing. Thank you! :)

I'll remember his fears of the Ministry for the next chapter. The thought of him imagining his face melting was far more enjoyable, but I see what you mean - he should be extremely bothered to have the Ministry's presence when he hasn't had proper time to prepare both himself and the house for such an invasion. Although he doesn't like be trapped within the manor, I think he's a bit relieved that it also means that no one else can come in. It buys him the time he wanted.

The desk scene gets everyone! I can't even remember how or why I came to include it, but I'm very glad that I did. Making magical furniture have attitude is very much something JKR would do, and it doesn't happen often enough in fanficiton. Astoria seems to becoming the villain of sorts, though I'm still not sure whether she will be in the end. There is something fishy about her, but at the same time, I don't need her and Draco to separate after this story concludes.

Draco playing the hero? I wasn't thinking of that, but it does sound rather good. Screwing up royally, however, is a definite. ;)

Thank you again for reading and reviewing this. I'll wrack my imagination to see whether an update will be possible in the near future.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Alopex Chapter the Third

17th August 2010:
Haha, Hermione's reaction to the events of the previous chapter at the top of this chapter were fun to read. Yep, she's the same ol' Hermione, getting her buttons pushed. But by now, she's mature enough not to totally fly off the handle, I suppose.

I liked the way she handled Pokey to figure out what life was like at Malfoy Manor and what sort of orders he was under--much of her probing was very discreet and clever. I'm impressed at her shrewdness. Also, she's ver observant, which of course helps you describe the setting to the readers. ;)

A disease, hm? This bodes ill. And she's an unwelcome guest at Malfoy Manor? That's the understatement of the century.

Author's Response: It's funny how, even as an adult, she can't help having an emotional reaction before her rational side kicks into gear. I guess it goes along with being a Gryffindor. But she is able to at least contain her emotions instead of shooting canaries across the room (I really want to have her do that now, oh no).

I'm not entirely sure whether making Hermione so observant and shrewd is a good thing, but it does help with descriptions and atmosphere, as Draco cannot be relied upon for either of those. Maybe I'm making the mistake of identifying myself with Hermione, but whether I am or not, I'm glad that it's working for you. :)

It's fun making up a random disease, you know. :P It's only there for the sake of the romance, of course, which makes it only more random. Haha, this is an insane story, and now you're making me want to write more of it! Thank you (I think). ;)

I really appreciate you taking the time to read and review this story. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #8, by Alopex Chapter the Second

17th August 2010:
Wow. What a portrayal of Draco Malfoy. First off, I really like that you're referring to him as Malfoy rather than Draco. I remember the first time I re-read all the books after beginning to read fanfiction, I was astonished that JKR refers to him as Malfoy almost exclusively--and then I was equally astonished that I'd forgotten how astonished I was that so many fanfiction writers called him Draco. Funny how we get used to things.

Well, that's not really important. The way you're portraying him, Malfoy as opposed to Draco sounds very appropriate. The way he's so bitter, angry, stuck in the past . . . it's all a bit pathetic and very Malfoy-ish. It's just him! It really is. I love it. The image of him rushing around, hiding papers, trying to make a lordly impression, hoping to prevent further Ministry interference . . . nice.

You also gave him two fabulous lines. I cracked up when he made that comment about the state of the economy. Also, though it's a bit awful, I was amused when he snapped that he wasn't in the habit of killing things he'd paid for. That's a good point, actually, though it hasn't always stopped people.

And yes, it was amusing the way he managed to get a rise out of Hermione. On the one hand, I almost want to say it's a bit cliche to have someone goading her about house elves--but JKR set that up herself, now didn't she? And what better way to bring those two together? It didn't feel like a cliche at all.

I was also amused that Malfoy thought the house elves seemed to be acting more pathetic than usual, as if putting on a show for Hermione (which they very well might have been--would YOU want to "work" for Malfoy? I wouldn't.).

Author's Response: The funny thing is that I hated Draco while reading the books and most fanfiction. It's hard to find a story that makes me like him, yet I egotistically like my own version of him in this and "Harry Potter is Dead!". He has a lot of potential to be at once a funny and darkly serious character - there are a lot of contradictions to his character which are interesting to explore (and exploit).

How an author chooses to name a character is fascinating to me - Rowling uses certain titles for certain characters, and for Draco, it's always his last name. That's his identity, as a Malfoy, and the Trio certainly don't see him any other way, though Hermione might change as time passes.

The end of DH created a strange and awkward situation for the Malfoys - they were treated poorly by the Death Eaters and weren't part of the dark side any more. Narcissa had saved Harry, Harry had saved Draco, and there wasn't much left of Lucius's pride. I tried to place Draco on the edge of society - still a pureblood, still obsessed with money and status, but not very well-accepted by the rest of the wizarding world, which makes him bitter and unhappy. He's not at all romantic, that's for sure. :P

Haha, you're very right about that cliche! I hadn't thought of it before, but like you said, JKR did set us up for it. It's almost expected that Hermione should have to go check on the house elves at Malfoy Manor, and of course, that must make Dramione canon, right? *rolls eyes* The house elves do seem to enjoy exaggerating their roles, yet at the same time, I wonder how much of an act it is. They are working for a Malfoy, after all.

Anyway, thank you so much for continuing on with this story. I hope that you can try and enjoy the rest of what's here. Updating it should probably be on my to-do list. ;)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Alopex Chapter the First

17th August 2010:
I thought it about time to delve into another of your chaptered works, seeing as I've only poked my nose into one of them so far. And Hermione as an adult? Now, that is difficult to resist.

Your writing is very rhythmic. It has a flow. It's rather like being caught up in a gently but firmly flowing stream. You hardly notice you're drifting (reading) at first, but soon you find you've come much further than you thought, and you can't pull yourself away.

I thought you did a good job of conveying Hermione's discontent with her life. The part you included about her listing all nice things in her life and trying to convince herself that she's content was great. People really do that, of course, and I'm sure Hermione would. It felt very realistic that she would become irritated with her children, disappointed with Ron, and feeling overwhelmed by her job. All those flapping messages conveyed the discontent very well. One can sense that there are all these things pressing on her that she is ignoring, ignoring, ignoring, finally pretending to pay attention to, until she just has to throw up her hands and shout, "Enough!"

I enjoyed the overall atmosphere of this chapter . . . it was a bit dark and gloomy. Of course, you used specific words that conveyed the effect, but it was more than that. The tone, the flow . . . everything just took on a certain, almost palpable atmosphere.

I loved the way you described Draco and Astoria's relationship as a marriage alliance. Personally, that seems more likely to me than some passionate love affair.

Author's Response: But this story? Really? :S I have to say that it's not my best - I started it as a total joke, just to see whether I could manage a Dramione, and even now I cannot take the story seriously. It goes downhill from this first chapter in my opinion, though perhaps my bias against Dramione is affecting my opinion of this story.

It is, however, fantastic to hear your opinions of any story of mine. I'm glad that you liked this chapter - it is one of the few portions that I've really liked - and even moreso that it had that flowing, rhythmic quality and portrayed her life in a realistic way. It can't be all glory and fun for the trio as they age, especially since Hermione takes a separate career path to Harry and Ron - she's divided from them, and it leads to alienation.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story. I'm curious as to what you'll think of the rest with all its strange twists and turns. ;)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Tashi Lupin Chapter the Second

28th July 2010:
I am to impressed and engagded for words.

Author's Response: That's very good to hear! Thank you very much! I'm glad that you're impressed by the story. :D

 Report Review

Review #11, by RonsGirlFriday Chapter the Fourth

22nd July 2010:
I really loved the part where Malfoy tries to gain access to the desk - it fit so perfectly into the Potter-verse, a desk having a mind of its own. And Malfoy's frustration was so comical. "Open sesame!" I giggled at that, because I had such a ludicrous image in my mind of this snobbish, highbrow man saying, "Open sesame." And then, of course, what he says next is even funnier. A nice, slightly humanizing moment for him, even if it is just him being irritable, because even he has his moments of foolishness where he breaks his facade (albeit when nobody else is around).

What a mystery, with this rune and tulip business! Sounds dark and ominous and other excellent stuff that I'm sure will add greatly to the tension here. I have a really unpleasant feeling that you're going to sneak this Draco/Hermione romance-y business into the reader's consciousness slowly, and actually make me start wanting it to happen! You and your crafty writing ways. But I will resist it! -clings to R/Hr-

XD

Looking forward to further updates!

Melanie

Author's Response: I can't even remember where I got the idea for the desk, but it made me laugh to write it because I could see it happening - the straw that broke the camel's back in Draco's very bad day. It's an easy way to create humour in a Potterverse story - make the objects come alive and be stubborn to their owners.

At the same time, the desk symbolizes something darker in Draco's relationship with his wife. Even the desk is trained to not release its secrets to him.

Slow sneakiness is the only way I can think of making their romance plausible! Even I'm not sure of how it'll happen in the story because it's so hard to make them fit together - they're too incompatible, and it'll take a lot of whittling down to break them entirely.

It's really cruel to torture the characters like that. :P

Haha, thanks for the review and the compliment! Hopefully I can actually live up to those crafty ways. ;)


 Report Review

Review #12, by RonsGirlFriday Chapter the Third

22nd July 2010:
Plot thickens!

At the risk of being completely redundant, the characterizations are progressing so well. Hermione is so unbelievably believable. XD Her passion for social justice, her silent frustration at feeling like she's the only one who cares about these causes. She seems so completely invested and competent in her work.

And you've done such a great job of setting the mood here. It's perfect, really. Their interaction and attitude towards one another just jumps off the page, like they're right here in the room with me and I can see how they're looking at each other and hear the tone with which they're speaking to each other. It's a really well-crafted setup.

Melanie

Author's Response: Definitely good to know that Hermione is also turning out well in this. She's harder to write, probably because she's so into the mystery and serious about the whole matter, while Draco is very nonchalant. She puts her heart into her work, and capturing that is... almost strange. Not used to feeling that way. XD

Really?! That's truly awesome to hear! With this story, I'm trying to keep the descriptions and plot simpler, without any distractions - it's technically a closed-room mystery, and hopefully that'll mean more of that well-craftedness will come in future chapters. ;)

Thanks so much for the reviews, Melanie! It's fantastic to receive reviews from you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by RonsGirlFriday Chapter the Second

22nd July 2010:
I thought I had reviewed this chapter before, but I guess not! Anyway, I saw that the story was recently updated and wanted to get back to reading it.

Malfoy is characterized so excellently here. I don't even know where to begin. Still set in his beliefs and his way of life and his disdain for people who don't fit into that way of life. This is how I pictured an older Malfoy - less shady than his father, living a fairly quiet life, but still a total jerk. His biting internal commentary here is great. I also really liked this line because it was so perfectly in character: "I can assure you, Granger, that I don't go around killing the things I've paid for."

Malfoy irritates the heck out of me, but reading a fic where he's in character is such a pleasure.

Melanie

Author's Response: It's fantastic to see that you've come back to this story, Melanie! I laugh at this story too much, not to mention belittle it, even though I actually have fun writing it, so it's always a bit of a surprise to have people like it. :D

Draco's the one thing that makes this story amazing to write. He's just so... Malfoy-ish, an absolute snob. It shouldn't be as fun as it is to write him! He is a jerk, and I'd love to find more stories with him acting like that - it'd make Dramiones a lot more interesting to read.

I'm incredibly glad that you enjoyed the chapter! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #14, by draco-crazy Chapter the Fourth

13th July 2010:
gosh, this is a really exciting story, very well-written! please update soon!
xxx

Author's Response: It's great that you like it! Thanks very much for reading and reviewing! :D

 Report Review

Review #15, by luckistars Chapter the Fourth

24th June 2010:
Susan, it's tiffany from tda! i'm absolutely in love with this story, and desperate for your to update! please do so soon!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Tiffany! It's fantastic to hear that you love the story and want an update. I'll try to get one of those out for you soon. :D

 Report Review

Review #16, by sm Chapter the Fourth

18th May 2010:
Great chapter with a nice cliffhanger! I'm glad to see this was updated since I love a well-written, post-Hogwarts D/Hr mystery. Hope to read another chapter soon.

Author's Response: Thank you! ^_^ Haha, this story seems just perfect for you, then. I appreciate hearing from you and hope that you enjoy the rest of the story!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Destiny Kae Chapter the First

16th May 2010:
I really love the way this is writen! The way Hermione is missing hanging with Ron and Harry is very true, and I feel bad for her just sitting here. You are an awesome writer.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D It's wonderful to hear that you're enjoying the storyline and the characters. Hermione is interesting to write in this - it's very cruel of Ron and Harry to have left her like that, but as she and they have such different jobs, it seems realistic that it could happen.

 Report Review

Review #18, by confusedlover Chapter the Fourth

16th May 2010:
very lovely.

i'm really excited to see that you posted another chapter of this story! i kind of forgot about it for awhile. great job on this one and do update when you can. i'm really looking forward to seeing where this goes. keep up the fantastic work! have a beautiful day!!

Author's Response: It's great that you came back to read the new chapter. It's been nearly a year since I last update, I think, and it's easy to forget about a story in that length of time. Hopefully it won't take me quite so long to update again. ;)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! It's fantastic to hear that you've enjoyed this chapter! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ardeel Chapter the Fourth

16th May 2010:
Susan! *gasps* Yes, an update! I'm so excited. *goes to read*

That was really good! I might have mentioned this, I don't know, but I really like how you keep him calling her Granger. To me, Draco would call her Granger even if he married her lol. I don't know it seems too OOC to call her anything else.

So you know I have to ask...what did the rune mean? Or do I have to wait? haha. Glad you updated!

Lady Malfoy

Author's Response: Finally an update, right? :P It's a harder story to write, and it means having to be in just the right mood to write a ship I still can't see as plausible. XD

I do enjoy writing Draco and how he continues to call her "Granger", knowing how much it annoys her. He probably would still call her that no matter what - it's just how he is, reminding her constantly of who she is in comparison to him.

Now I have to figure out runes in order to answer your question. Oh dear. ;)

Thanks for the review! It's always a pleasure to hear from you. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #20, by Ardeel Chapter the Third

18th March 2010:
Oh this is so good! You've kept Hermione in character by keeping her wits and also how she picks up on things and is able to solve the mystery. She's very independent and is clearly capable of handling herself.

I really hope you update soon! =)

Author's Response: Hermione makes a good detective - she has the right mind and love of logic/order to piece together the clues and find the solution. I'm looking forward to have her leading the way through the mystery side of this story. :D

Thank you very much for the reviews! It's been wondering to get encouragement for this story as it's the one I feel least confident about writing. It's rather out of my depth. XD


 Report Review

Review #21, by Ardeel Chapter the Second

18th March 2010:
Love it =).

The way you write is so well done. And your characterizations of both Hermione and Draco are spot on. I found myself chuckling every so often at the two of them; both so proud and stubborn. What I like most is how you kept Draco calling her Granger instead of 'Weasley' or 'Hermione.' It keeps him very in character.

Nice job! =)

Author's Response: Thank you! :D They are oddly fun to write in this story, maybe because I'm still skeptical of the ship and am making fun of it and myself as I go along. I like writing Draco and do look forward to working on this story during the summer. ^_^

 Report Review

Review #22, by spreaddapoo93 Chapter the Third

31st December 2009:
Brilliant story so far!!! I love your descriptions. There are hardly any typos or spelling errors too, and those pop out to me like I have no idea what. I love it all so far! Everything seems so realistic, believable and so true to the original story! Great job and hope you update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! :D It's wonderful that you've liked it so far - I do hope to get my inspiration back for it before too long. It was an interesting story to write, and I'm very glad to hear that you want more of it!

 Report Review

Review #23, by RonsGirlFriday Chapter the First

28th October 2009:
I have been intrigued about this story ever since you mentioned it in your Author's Note in Winner Takes All. You probably know I'm not generally a fan of Dramiones, but I occasionally read them because there are certain authors who can handle writing that ship - and since everything you write is phenomenal, I figured this is bound to be one of the best, if not the best, Dramiones ever.

(All of that was meant to be flattering and not pressure- or anxiety-inducing, by the way.)

I could tell right away that you put such clear and deliberate thought into crafting Hermione's character at this stage in her life. The entire first paragraph of this chapter is wonderful, and I think it just about sums up the whole chapter, and Hermione's entire situation.

I think you've elicited a couple of poignant facts about the post-war Hermione. First, as horrifying and trying as their adventures were, it would be very difficult to transition from that life, to a life of Ministry paperwork - even meaningful paperwork dealing with rights and liberties. To be honest, I can see Hermione being happy with a steady, ritualized can of work and life that many would see as tedious - but I can also see her evolving into the person you've described here. Her character here is engaging because it's so true and relatable.

The second thing is the fact that Harry and Ron are Aurors and continue to go on adventures together - that seriously changes the group dynamic, as now they have a bond in which Hermione can't really share, even though she may have shared it in their younger years. Along with boredom and discontent, I can imagine there might also be feelings of alienation there.

I think this kind of character development is crucial to a good Dramione, because the problem I have with Dramiones is that they're usually unrealistic and unbelievable. But when you take into account this kind of character evolution, you can begin to see how the Dramione scenario might be remotely possible.

Looking forward to reading on!

10/10

Author's Response: Wow, long review! Thank you very much for this, Melanie - it was such a surprise to see this review and I appreciate how much detail you've put into it. ^_^

Haha, the best Dramione? I don't think I can handle that pressure :P especially since I can't take this story seriously at all. I've tried to write new chapters, but it's turning into a farce instead of the deeper type of story I'd been hoping for (more like Winner Takes All - maybe I have to finish that story before I can move on with this one). I can get Draco and Hermione separately written, but together, they seem so discordant in personalities.

You've referred to my favourite aspects of this first chapter, how Hermione isn't able to cope with the changes in her life, even this long after the war has finished. A lot of my plans for this story deal with her trying to come to terms with many things in her life, including her torture at Malfoy Manor. Perhaps if I focus on her character more, I can return to the serious tone of this first chapter.

Let me know what you think of the next two chapters! It would be wonderful to see how they compare to this first one so that I can think of how to continue writing this story. :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by MajiKat Chapter the Third

26th September 2009:
oh magnificent!! this was an excellent chapter Susan! as always, your writing was impeccable - i really love the narrative voice of both characters and i love it when POV switches from chapter to chapter. its a great way to make the reader more inclusive without having to write in 3rd person omniscient.

hermione and draco are very well written - im a big fan of post-hogwarts fics because i believe there is more space to work the characters however you wish, and you have done a wonderful job! they are both as they were in school, only older, more mature. the key traits are still present!

im loving what could possibly come of this new predicament!! can't wait to read the next chapter and sorry its taken so long to read this one!!

kate xx

Author's Response: Wow, Kate, it's so brilliant that you like this story! I feel awful for not being able to come up with a half-decent next chapter. It all feels so fake when I try, but I will try harder. ^_^

With the switching characters, I wanted to provide insight into both characters, as both of them have to go through significant changes/development within this story. It wouldn't have been "fair" to focus on one or the other, and not only would it have been difficult to choose just one of them, but it also may have made this story too run-of-the-mill (as I would have probably chosen Hermione, and then Draco would become the cliched villainous seducer :P). I'm glad that the narration I've chosen for the story works to include the reader and makes the story interesting. :D

Post-Hogwarts is more fun to write in, both because "canon" matters less, which widens one's horizons, and I enjoy the characters more as adults. They're not immature or teenager-ish, so I feel that I'm able to do more with them psychologically.

Thank you again for this wonderful review! It means so much to hear from you, and that you enjoy this story! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #25, by ParaSiempre Chapter the Third

28th August 2009:
Lol at the first sentence: "He was a git!" Well, I'm really curious about what kind of diease Dratty was infected with-if it was a diease anyway. Melting skin! What an intriguing subject! 10/10. Update as soon as you can, please!

Author's Response: Intriguing, yes, that would describe it. It's very strange, and I don't exactly know why I chose melting skin - perhaps it's just the weirdness of it. I'm still trying to work out the details of this illness, figuring out how it will affect the characters. ;)

Thank you very much for all three of your reviews. I've really appreciated hearing from you. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>