Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Something To Believe
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SimplyStupified77 Something To Believe

11th May 2010:
wow this was even better than the first one! i always wondered how the Founders started out and this seems like a really good idea with great potential. 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #2, by siriuslyhockey Something To Believe

23rd July 2009:
Oo I love this story. I can't wait for the next chapter of Quadrivium, I check back almost every day lol

This story is so good, I feel like its of on of the fantasy novels I used to devour when I was in high school. I'd read through them in a day or two and then wait almost a year for sequels lol.

I'm in love with Godric's personality. He's such a good mix of warrior, nobleman, and selfserving man. I like how he's mean, funny, true to himself, and most importantly he has some sort of honor instilled in himself. Even though he is somewhat rude to Helga he still seems like a man that can be trusted. I love the complexity of his character and in such a short pieced it takes a lot of talent to be able to convey that much about a person.

You are one of my favorite authors even, even including the real ones ;)

Author's Response: Hi sweetheart! Thank you, thank you for such a wonderful review :) I'm sorry to have kept you waiting both on a response to this as well as updating the story, but you won't have to wait for much longer! I am writing away as life becomes a little bit less busy :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and even happier that you liked my portrayal of Godric. He's exactly the way you described him - that's how I think of him. He's sort of an arrogant, brash, sarcastic type of guy, but he's got a very good heart and is a fantastic leader. He's going to be what Hogwarts needs! And he and Helga will have the best of friendships eventually, even if he's a little bit rude now :)

I'm so flattered and grateful that you think of my writing so highly! I think you're a fantastic writer yourself! *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #3, by shadowycorner Something To Believe

22nd July 2009:
Ooh, this was so good! Even better than the first one! First off, I am so unimaginably happy that from now on, while reading your story, Godric will be etched in my mind as Russel Crowe from Gladiator. Then, Helga is...so interesting and captivating. She's bold, but her boldness is so natural and doesn't feel a bit overdone. And don't even let me start on Godric...fallen from grace and all that makes him even more appealing, in my opinion. I think I'm in love. Oh and the writing is exquisite as always. You must've gone a long way in your creativity to start writing this. Because I know that you, as a writer, wouldn't start writing something is you didn't have it planned and prepared one hundred percent. And that's excellent, because for a long time I've been looking for a good Founders story and I'll know this will be top quality because it's coming from you.

You see, your stories, even though they're taking place in the HP world, are like stand-alone novels. They're so original and compelling that I'm simply in awe.

Author's Response: Hello sweetie! Oh thank you very, very much! HAHA yes I just immediately pictured Russell Crowe playing Godric Gryffindor. He's got that arrogant, self-assured, muscle-man type demeanor (at least in the movie "Gladiator") and I could completely see him representing Godric. So glad you can too! LOL.

I'm also thrilled that you liked both Helga and Godric. Helga has never been away from home so her boldness is sort of forced, but she has a very good heart and she and Godric will become the greatest of friends - he'll be sort of like an older brother to her. And Godric has definitely fallen from grace, which you'll see in his story and in Quadrivium itself, but everything happens for a reason and he is meant for so much more than being a king's right hand man!

Thank you my darling, I can't tell you how much I appreciate your reviews. They always make me smile!


 Report Review

Review #4, by ruby_slippers Something To Believe

30th June 2009:
This mini series is really really good so far but i feel like this one should come first - then the helga/salazar one. Just an oppinion though. They really are a fantastic read! Especially for the founder genre - not alot of people pull off fanfiction let alone period fan fiction, well done.

Author's Response: Thanks Ruby! Oh I'm not putting these in any particular order :) They're only numbered in the sequence that I write them. The timelines will be all over the place - it's in Quadrivium that everything will be in chronological order. I appreciate your review so much and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed these!

 Report Review

Review #5, by inkscribble Something To Believe

5th May 2009:
I have a feeling this story of yours is going to be amazing, and that I'll follow it blindly. This was just as amazingly well-written as the last one. I love your charactization of Gordric, and Helga too. She was more of what I always thought of her like, but Godric was extremely different. But I have to say, I like your Godric better than mine. I just love the dragon part - that he told Helga to give her the things that would later become so famous. And that Godric was a part of the court, I really liked that too. Honestly, it's all fantastic. Your ideas and the way you put them down on paper, amazing. I couldn't stop reading the whole time. I can't wait until the next part is out!

Author's Response: You are so, so nice :D I hope you do follow my story and I hope you'll like it! I'm working on posting Chapter 2 this week and I've been having so much fun with it.

Thrilled that you liked my characterization of Helga, that is very promising since she is my main protagonist.

I haven't read your Founders story! I'll check it out as soon as I can :) I want to think of all four Founders as people - sure, they were the strongest and most powerful wizards of their time, but the fact that they had rivalries and different opinions and rifts show that they're just as human as everyone else. Godric is usually thought of as the strongest because he is the leader, but really I think he has a lot of insecurities to have dealt with Salazar that way.

So glad you liked this! I have Rowena's one-shot about halfway done; I'm focusing on Chapter 2 of Quadrivium right now but that will be out soon.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Billion Something To Believe

15th February 2009:
Oh wow. I feel a huge story coming on. I love your characterization of Godric, it's very different from how he's normally portrayed and it's good to know that the founders are not going to be stereotypes of their houses. Or maybe it was just me picturing him as a goody-goody knight in shining armor type? And Helena, or Helga rather, is a lot more assertive than one would imagine a Hufflepuff to be. I saw the summary for Quadrivium start out with "Princess Helena.." and was like...is that a typo? But this story clears that up. It's interesting though that people are beginning to persecute magic users as strange or different while dragons are still around...

Author's Response: Hello hello! I feel a huge story coming on too and it's a little intimidating ... hope I can live up to it and stay organized enough to get things done right. I'm glad that you liked Godric! I thought it might be more interesting if he were a knight in slightly dented armor as opposed to shining :) Yes people have been a little confused as to Helena's identity, but that will be cleared up eventually! And as you'll see from the first chapter of the novel, dragons aren't supposed to be around ;) Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by rosie_sirius93 Something To Believe

21st January 2009:
um, WOW! I liked your Godric, how he isn't the hero everyone would assume him to be! And I think you portrayed Helga just as interestingly! Can't wait to keep reading your other teasers and the story especially with all of the hints at what is to come! Fantastic one shot!
10/10
;D

Author's Response: So glad you liked Godric :) It's funny how I always seem to have a different take on characters than the general opinion. I don't see Godric as a god; yes, he was the main Founder, but I'd like to think of him as a human being who struggled before he became so legendary. I wonder what you'll think of my Salazar and I hope you'll like him too! Thanks a million for your review and I'm excited to see what you think about the novel! Prologue is coming in February so sit tight :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Misty_Rey Something To Believe

13th November 2008:
Thought I'd mention it again but I'm still bowled over by the dedication *blushes*. Anyway, this is a great tease for the epic adventure you seem to be setting it up for. The brief gist of Helga's journey and her association with the mythical dragon was intruiging without revealing too much. Bringing in each of the Founder's respective treasures is a really clever way to bring such different and unique individuals together without being random. I really like Gryffindor here as the 'Fallen Hero' so to speak. It does fit with his personality in regards to his former glory and adds another dimension to his character, desprately chasing after the glory he lost. Helga was so cute and amusing here! I liked the rapport you built between the two, especially Godric's responses. If I may ask, Jules dear, when's the next teaser coming out? I want to read more! xD. You did a wonderful job here, 10/10!

*Hugs*
Misty

Author's Response: Thanks Misty, I'm glad you liked this one :) I don't know when the next teaser is coming out because I'm super busy but hopefully sometime before the end of the year!

 Report Review

Review #9, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Something To Believe

25th October 2008:
That was amazing! Totally grabbed me, I have to read the entire Founders story now. It was extremely well written, and even for a one-hot the plot and flow was fantastic. I love the way you have Godric, usually he's all perfect and godly, but here we see a different Godric, and I'm glad you put him that way. It was a nice change. Helga was perfect too, very believable. I've added you to my favorite authors list, I'm never disappointed by your work!!! You write every era amazingly- this one-shot proved that. 10/10, no doubt about it!!!

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad and I do hope you'll read the novel! I agree that Godric is usually depicted as perfect and brave and everything good, but I'm trying to give people a different take on the Founders. It seems that I usually interpret characters differently than everyone else (like Merope and Tom Sr. for instance) and it'll be interesting to see what everyone thinks of the way I write these four Founders. Can't wait! And thank you very much for favoriting me, I appreciate it so much and it's wonderful to hear that you're enjoying my work. *huggles*

 Report Review

Review #10, by Potterholic Something To Believe

25th October 2008:
Interesting! I love how Helga approached Godric, and I'm curious to the reason why Godric was thrown out of the palace, if it was more complicated than magic. ^_^ A wise, talking dragon? Now I really can't wait for your new novel! =P I haven't seen Godric portrayed as rough, but I like it. Looking forward to the next teaser!

Author's Response: Yes, there's a lot to the story that I didn't want to elaborate on too much. I will be going into much more detail in the actual novel, and you'll learn more about Godric's banishment from court, why they took the sword, where Helga comes from and why she's traveling under an assumed name, the dragon, etc. I'm so glad you liked this one-shot and I can't wait to see what you think of my novel! *hugs* Thanks for the review, dear!

 Report Review

Review #11, by dracoslover1 Something To Believe

18th October 2008:
This is an intersting take on how Helga and Godric meet. If you defiantly talk about the sword and how he was banished from court in the novel, I would most definitly read the story.

Your characterizations were great. It was fun to read them strike up that deal. The length was prefect for the setting. The suspense on reading why Godric was banished from court was great to read--it kept me intrigued throught the whole piece.

Great writing.

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for checking this out :) Oh I'm so glad you thought this length was good ... I'm dying to send some of my ideas out there for you guys to give me feedback, yet I'm stuck because I'm not good at expanding stories much in a one-shot form. That's why I primarily write novel lengths. But this was just a taste of what's to come ... glad you liked Helga and Godric's meeting! I will 100% expand on everything - Godric getting kicked out of court, the sword that was confiscated from him, their quest - and much more on Helga, who will be the main character telling the story.

Thanks a million for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Labby Something To Believe

17th October 2008:
Okay, these teasers are working really well if you wanted to get me to want to read your new story. I really love your characterization of Godric here... he really seems like the Godric I'd imagine and I love his reaction to Helga. I love that it's Helga too that's wanted to start on this journey, and I really want to know exactly what's happening here. You've really sucked me in, especially after I saw that banner Mitch made you for the novel. Wow.. it's really like a little trailor there... it's beautiful. I love your writing as usual and I hope to see more of this story soon!

Author's Response: Yay I'm glad they're working for you! I saw some of Sammy23's trailers for his stories at eHPF, but since I'm computer-challenged, I just decided to do the same for my novel only with one-shots. Yeah this is the way I imagine Godric to be - he has a lot of pride and confidence in himself, but we'll get to see where all of it comes from in the novel. I'll expand on him a lot.

I KNOW - isn't the banner fabulous?! Mitch is a graphic-making wizard, I'm so glad I begged her to do it. *sheepish smile* Thanks for your review Jamie, I hope to have this story up sooner than later and I'm looking forward to hearing what you think of it!


 Report Review

Review #13, by chiQs09 Something To Believe

16th October 2008:
Hi babe, I'm here to re-review. :)
I love this story! Now I understand why you chose Crowe as the model for your banner!
I like his character already, so full of pride and so powerful, also a bit arrogant, maybe? Just by the way he looks down on other people...
I'm intrigued about Helena's character. She sought for Godric's help, and she wants a home and a family that loves her for what she is. But why? Also, why did she use Helga's name? Hmm... you have to post your new novel soon! I'm dying to read it! :D

PS. Thank you for the dedication! *loves*

Author's Response: Hey babe! Thanks sooo much for coming back to review again, I appreciate it *huggles* Yes ma'am, I picked Crowe because he's definitely Godric to me - sort of arrogant and bossy yet he's really a softy underneath. (At least that's the way I think he might be.) Yes Helga has a much bigger story that I'm afraid this one-shot did no justice to ... unfortunately I'm much better at writing longer stories, I can't seem to consolidate an entire plot into a few thousand words :( Need to work on that! You're welcome for the dedication, my dear - you deserve it for all the support and friendship you've given me this past year! And the new novel is coming soon, I swear - GUTF is over this week and I've got two short stories to finish, but definitely before Christmas. (Two months, eek!)

 Report Review

Review #14, by JLHufflepuff Something To Believe

9th October 2008:
JIGGA WHA?!?! This is totally amazing! I love the way you are taking timeless, legendary themes and conforming them to what little we know about the Founders from the potterverse! I was just kind of entranced/spellbound by thinking about poor Godric looking like Russell Crowe and being all drunk and sad and down and out and such that I just totally forgot about the utter importance of his sword. I love the idea of this quest! And Helga is in this teaser, too! YAY! I am just dying now. You are so evil (in a good way)... Please don't stop.!

Author's Response: LOL thanks Jessi! I'm glad you like this teaser! And I think this novel is going to be very Hufflepuff-y because I'm pretty much equal parts 'Puff and 'Claw. It'll be written from Helga's perspective because I really like her character ... Rowena's a little too cold and aloof (at least the way I picture her) to be the main protagonist. HA! Russell Crowe as Godric Gryffindor ... it's really weird but I think it works, I can see him in a suit of armor staggering around drunk and depressed. No phones though - there will be no throwing of phones. So glad you like this, babe!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login