Reading Reviews for Trial by Fire
  
218 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Hollyanne The Loner

15th February 2012:
Once again, I thoroughly enjoyed your chapter! I love how you capture Draco so well. It makes it all the more realistic- not that wizards are necessarily realistic but you know what I mean, they're real in our minds ;-). I'm going to have to look up this Silent Hill thing to understand the jist of it- but besides that this story is definitely being added to my favourites and I'm going to read the rest asap.

- Holly :*

 Report Review

Review #2, by Hollyanne The Road to Nowhere

15th February 2012:
This is extremely well written! I haven't heard of "Silent Hill" or what not but this fanfic has got me intrigued. I'm currently in school supposed to be doing catch up work but this is far more fun to do.

As well as your writing being incredible, you've also captured Draco's personality perfectly in my opinion. I can't wait to read the rest of this story.

- Holly :*

 Report Review

Review #3, by ashleydelacour Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

28th October 2011:
Bravo! Bravo!

I know little of the about the Silent Hill franchise, but you tied in wizards in beautifully in with the plot. Writing was absolutely captivating and your descriptions made me green with envy! I wish I could write with the same juicy details you entwine in every sentence. Writing style is a deal breaker for me, no matter how intriguing the plot. But I must say, after reading the first paragraph of the first chapter, you proved to me that this was worth reading. So glad I didn't pass it up.

I admire how you took someone else's idea and made it your own. You really did it beautifully. Very captivating. Very, very well done.

You can be sure that I will add this to my favorites and will keep a close eye on anything else you write. Thanks for such an awesome read. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by lielac Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

10th July 2011:
TOTALLY DIDN'T TEAR UP AT THE LAST FEW PARAGRAPHS

NO SIRREE, JUST DUST

tooottally teared up. -snff- 'grats on making draco simultaneously still himself and also making me want to hug him until he squacks and hexes me.

whyyy did you have to kill cybil -snfflsob-

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review, lielac! I'm so very glad you enjoyed this fic. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #5, by AlsoSprachOdin The Burning

24th June 2011:
You might want to change salivation to salvation.
Anyway, have really enjoyed this fic, I think Cybil's death is a good choice, just to add that extra 'oomph' to the story. Once again Silent Hill performs the part of intervention and psychiatrist for its unwitting victim/patient, and Pyramid Head plays a part of the danger that so binds together comrades in arms, though I think he could have played a larger role in that. And then on the other end comes out a nicer, less racist, less inclined to murder, Draco.
Nice dark thing for a dark night and a bottle of Black Swine.
How a bunch of people survives in an isolated town, and apparently staying inside a church for 20 years stretches my suspension of disbelief just a bit. And apparently, Alessa didn't actually need Draco's help for getting rid of the last survivors - they would have eventually starved.
Anyway, I guess I'll have to see if you have other stories.
ThusSpokeOdin.

 Report Review

Review #6, by NeverMoonAWerewolf Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

19th November 2010:
Amazing story, have you read CSI San Diego by shadowchanger? It's very similiar to this and Willoway which I read (and am waiting for you to update), Another story is "harry Potter and if all hope were lost" it's nothing like yours whatsoever but the writing skills are good!
Don't know how you'll find it though because search bars seem to be non existant on this website!!
(p.s. NO, Im didn't write the stories I mentioned, nor am I a friend of/or related to in anyway to the authors, this is not a desperate advertising campaign!!

Author's Response: Thanks so very much for taking the time to read and review!!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Marzipan Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

24th September 2010:
Holy cow! This was superbly epic and amazing! I zoomed through the entire story, and you'll have to forgive me for being too lazy to go back and leave individual reviews and settle for one massive one here at the end. Although the fact that I couldn't stop reading long enough to leave a review earlier is in itself a compliment, non?

When I read on TGS that you had a story based on Silent Hill I was pretty intrigued. I've seen the movie, and I wondered how you would go about adapting it to the wizarding world. So I hunted it down, and boy am I glad I did because as I think I've already said this was AMAZING. Like, seriously, I loved this. And, having seen the movie it's based on, I can say that not only did you do the film justice, you left it lying wounded in your dust.

First off, characterizations. Draco. Was. Perfect. Such an interesting choice of main character, especially considering this is set in what was a Muggle town. But it works so well - the parallel between the Death Eater's pureblood supremacy and the Flock's non-magical supremacy takes this story to a whole other level - it isn't just a creepy thriller (which it totally is, too!) but it is also a thought-provoking character study of Draco himself, and the challenges to his very belief system that he is met with here. All through this he is kept perfectly within character - his contempt for Potter and Co, and of Muggles in general is clear throughout. Even at the end, after everything he and Cybil went through, he is still confused at finding such nobility in a Muggle. And Cybil herself was wonderful. Seeing things in her point of view, and giving her a back story made her much more likeable and sympathetic as a character than her equivalent in the movie. Film-Cybil I was ambivalent towards until almost the end of the movie, but I feel in love with your Cybil, and was absolutely gutted when she died. I was hoping sooo hard you might find a way around that, but alas :(

Secondly, this was literally terrifying. I think I had almost as much adrenaline pumping through my system as Draco did while I was reading this. I mean, good lord woman! This was one of the most suspenseful, heart-pounding things I have read, both in fanfiction and out! You created the perfect atmosphere, and you maintained it non-stop through the entire story. I am literally in awe of your skills right now - I could almost cry.

And there is a sequel?! MUST. READ. The peak you've posted here is super intriguing. You've drawn Potter into it! Seeing his reaction to this changed Draco alone would be enough to draw me in. I can't wait to read it, although I think I must - a body needs rest at some point, and I've already stayed up far to late to finish this. Once I've caught up on my sleep I shall be sure to return, and who knows, maybe this time I've review a bit more regularly? Oh, dare to dream ...

P.S. If couldn't already guess, this is being added to my Favourites list post-haste!

- Mary

Author's Response: Hiya Mary!
Oh my goodness. I really don't know what to say. Seriously, I'm speechless. What an amazing, thoughtful, insightful, kind review! THANK YOU!!! I'm blushing like crazy right now. You are really too kind. I'm so, so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed "Trial by Fire". As it is, I'm working on the sequel now and your comments have inspired me so much. I am terribly grateful for your feedback. Honestly, a simple 'thank you' doesn't seem apt to convey my deep appreciation of your encouragement.

First off, I'm ecstatic to hear that you liked my take on Draco. Originally, he wasn't in this story at all. Harry and Ron were the ones visiting the US on business for the Auror Department, but after I wrote the first few paragraphs, I felt as though something wasn't right. Then Draco popped into my mind. I'll admit I'd never given much consideration to his character in the past, but he seemed perfect for the role. And after writing this story and some of the sequel, I have to say I've grown fond of him. In the beginning, though, I found it rather intimidating to be writing him. He has such a reputation in the fandom and I wasn't sure if I would ever be able to capture his unique personality. Needless to say, I'm so glad you think he fit this story. ;)

And Cybil was actually my favorite character in the Silent Hill movie. Her sacrifice at the end made me really appreciate her selflessness and I just knew I wanted her to have a major part in this fic. I'm really happy that you found her more likable, and as far as her death goes, believe me, I really didn't want to kill her off. However, I think her unhappy fate was necessary in order to set Draco on the road to redemption and the realization that Muggles actually aren't inferior to wizards.

Lastly, I'm so glad you found this fic scary. I'm a HUGE fan of the horror genre, and to date, Silent Hill is one of the few films that can still scare me. However, I wasn't sure if I'd be able to do the surreal atmosphere any justice through my writing. ;)

Yes! There is a sequel, if you're interested. It's called "Ashes and Dust" and there are three chapters posted on HPFF so far. If you decide to read it, I do hope you find it enjoyable. ^_^

Once more, thank you SO much for the fantastic review. You really made me week. I hope you have a great weekend! Take care and be well!

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #8, by mascarableeds Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

24th February 2010:
Awesome story, 10/10! Once I started reading I couldn't stop, and I loved the bittersweet ending.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It was wonderful hearing from you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this fic. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #9, by Erminia Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

2nd January 2010:
As always, your writing is phenomenal.
You write horror so well! I've been glued to this story for the past hour and a half (and also scared to the bone!). I love how you write your characters, and your imagery is incredible. I'm really speechless. Such an awesome story. Wow!
- Mini

Author's Response: Hi Erminia!
Aww, thank you so very much for the lovely review! It was great hearing from you. I'm so glad this story creeped you out. As a horror writer, that's my ultimate goal. ;)
Thanks again for taking the time to read! I hope you have a fantastic new year. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #10, by FlameWolf3182 Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

24th December 2009:
Fantastic!
I've finally found time to finish this amazing story and I'm so happy I did. You are a very talented author and I hope you continue writing! As for the sequel, it would definitely be interesting, but I would be perfectly fine for the ending to stay how it is seeing that it was a great wrap up.
10/10 for the whole thing!!

Author's Response: Hi FlameWolf!
Aww, thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed this fic and I truly appreciate your support. It's readers like you that make it all worthwhile. Without your encouragment, this fic probably would have never gotten off the ground. ^_^

Again, thanks for everything! I hope you have a great New Year!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #11, by Stacey Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

6th December 2009:
This is an amazing crossover. I can honestly say I've never read anything like it. While Silent Hill scared the living crap out of me, I love the connections you made between the stories and how well they worked together. I can see Draco in a whole new light now : D

Author's Response: Hi Stacey!
Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this fic and I truly appreciate your kind feedback.

I hope you have a great weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #12, by Suzy Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

3rd December 2009:
A great ending to a great fic. You have a talent for writing and being able to keep true to the character's personalities. I appreciate that.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much, Suzy! Your feedback has been amazing. I cannot possibly express how much it means to me. ^_^ I'm so glad you enjoyed this fic.

Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #13, by Suzy The Burning

3rd December 2009:
GOD DAMN IT! WHY DOES MY FAVORITE CHARACTER ALWAYS HAVE TO DIE? Its true she dies in the movie, but in the game, according to how you play it, will decide whether she lives or dies. I know this because I've read about it. Just try wikipedia.

Otherwise. Still. Its been a lot of fun reading this fanfic. All the characters have been delightfully in-character.

damn it.

Author's Response: Hello Suzy!
Thanks so much for reviewing! As always, it was wonderful hearing from you. ^_^

As I mentioned before, I was quite hesitant to kill off Cybil, but it was necessary in order for Draco to come full circle. I agree with you, though,her fate in the video game is much better. :)

Thanks again! I hope you have a pleasant weekend.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #14, by Suzy Sacrifice

3rd December 2009:
NO! Not again. Why couldn't Cybil just jump on the the cable after him? TT.TT Damn it. All my favorite character tend to die. I really hope you don't kill her off.

Author's Response: I agree! I really wanted to give Cybil a happy ending in this fic, but in order for Draco to reconcile his new Muggle sympathies with his past prejudices, she had to die. :(

Thanks again, Suzy! Your feedback has been absolutely wonderful.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #15, by Suzy The Flock

3rd December 2009:
*shudder* Christibella is just as creepy in this fic as she is in the movie. Well written. Did you know that that same actress also played the Borg Queen in Star Trek? Just a random fact from a trekkie. ^^

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying my interpretation of Christabella. I really think she is just downright evil. ^_^

And yes, I did see a picture of her as a Star Trek character, haha.

Thanks again, Suzy!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #16, by Suzy Burning Times

3rd December 2009:
This just keeps getting better and better. *reads next chapter*

Author's Response: Thanks a million, Suzy!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Suzy The Masked Man

3rd December 2009:
O.O epic pyramid head is epic. Thank God for magic. :D

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed Pyramid Head's appearance. He's such an important (and fearsome) character in Silent Hill. I just couldn't bear to leave him out.

Thanks!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #18, by Suzy Midwich Elementary

3rd December 2009:
You're too good at writing this fanfiction! I can't even concentrate on my homework darn you. >o<

Drat.

Now I have to read the next chapter.

Author's Response: Haha, I certainly don't want to take you away from homework! It's much too important. ;)

Thanks again, Suzy! Your reviews are awesome.

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #19, by Suzy The Dark Mark

3rd December 2009:
Just keeps getting better. And to find the dark mark in Silent Hill of all places. I'm very pleased to read that both Draco and Cybil are very much in character. Thanks for that!

Author's Response: Double post, haha. ;) Thanks, Suzy!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Suzy The Dark Mark

3rd December 2009:
Just keeps getting better. And to find the dark mark in Silent Hill of all places. I'm very pleased to read that both Draco and Cybil are very much in character. Thanks for that!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad you think Draco and Cybil are in character. They're both rather prickly and standoffish and I was worried that they would turn out OOC. ;)

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #21, by Not bad The Road to Nowhere

3rd December 2009:
Not sure how I found the 'trailer' for this fic on Youtube, but I'm glad I did. Draco is an underloved character in my opinion and so is Cybil. I'm so happy to see BOTH of them in one fic. How awesome is that?

~Suzy

Author's Response: Hi Suzy!
Thank so much for taking the time to review! I'm so glad you "happened" upon this fic. ^_^ Yes, Draco is rather underloved. I really got to like him as character while writing this story.

Thanks again!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #22, by spreaddapoo93 Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

18th September 2009:
That was... beautifully ended! Oh my holy sweet dungarees! You're brilliant! :D Absolutely, wonderfully, perfectly ended - it's a shame that Cybil had to die... she was such an awesome character. Oh well, you pulled it off, you pieced everything together in your own clever little web and somehow made it one of the best fanfics I've ever come across. Thanks so much for giving such a decent read, I enjoyed it severely.

18903837662514430 out of 10. :D

Author's Response: Hi there, my dear!
All right, before I reply to your awesome review, I have to apologize. I meant to reply to your feedback ages ago, but I've been really under the weather lately and in and out of the hospital with a bad pulmonary infection. Please know that your reviews mean the world to me and I didn't want to leave you with a rushed "thank you".

Now that I've gotten that out of the way...wow, this review is amazing!! I cannot possibly express how happy your feedback made me. And yes, I was quite sad about Cybil myself. When it was time to write her death scene, I found myself hesitating. Unfortunately, she had to die for Draco to continue his soul-searching. ^_^

Again, thank you so much for your continued support! And once more, I do apologize for the delay. I hope you have a fabulous week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #23, by KevinC Epilogue: The Brahms Courier

15th September 2009:
Brilliant! Loved the series! I do hope you'll heed the plot-bunny and make that sequel! Besides, you still have to explain the cabinet of potion ingredients and cover the story of the girl's father. *Jedi hand wave* You want to make a sequel... :)

Author's Response: Thanks a million, KevinC! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed this story. I really do appreciate your feedback. ^_^

I do still intend to write the sequel. In fact, I might make it my project for NaNoWriMo this year, so hopefully I'll have the first chapter posted in a few months.

Thanks again for your support! I hope you have a fantastic weekend. ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #24, by datbenik513 The Burning

8th September 2009:
I wanted to hate your idea of killing Cybil off. On second thought, I realized it HAD to happen. Her death served a purpose, it triggered Draco fulfill Alessa's wish and help her have her revenge.

The ending was similar, yet very different from the movie.

All in all, a wonderful reading experience and a very brave adventure into bringing the two worlds together.

Author's Response: Hello Zoltan!
I know exactly how you feel. I really, really didn't want to kill off Cybil. Even as I was writing this chapter I began to hesitate. She's such an amazing character and I truly admired her bravery in the Silent Hill film.

Unfortunately, her death served a purpose and Draco wouldn't be where he is now if she survived.

Again, thanks a million for being such a loyal and supportive reader. I could not have written this story without your help! ^_^

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review

Review #25, by datbenik513 The Truth

8th September 2009:
B.R.I.L.L.I.A.N.T!

This is the place where the two universes are finally tied together and the whole backstory is revealed to Draco.

Eerily similar to HBP when he was first tasked with killing someone. I wonder if he sees the parallel, but, this time, it might be different. Performing the ultimate sin, he finally might be able to end this purgatory on Earth, this nightmare.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you, Zoltan! I was SO unsure about this chapter. I hate writing exposition and I'm pretty sure I'm miserable at it, haha.

I'm so very glad you thought the two worlds came together sufficiently, even though I more or less massacred Silent Hill canon to fit with HP. ;)

Again, thanks for everything!!! Your reviews have truly been the backbone of this story. ^_^

Best,
Lee Anne


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>