Reading Reviews for The Ties that Bind
  
114 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MaeAndRee14 Prologue

17th March 2014:
Hi hun! sorry for the super super late review (from our review swap if you don't remember :P)

Characterisation: so painfully perfect! Like seriously, Hermione is just so beautifully portrayed. It really is, her thoughts and her words are just so suited to her character! And you write her in a way that had me wanting to curl up in a ball and cry! So much raw emotion! And Ron! Poor Ron! All throughout the story, you made me want to give him a big bear hug! And the innocence is so childlike! I love love love it! And that sentence, “Do you think he’s really d-d-ea—” was perfect! And how he said how much he missed him! Perfect!!

Description: Gorgeous! Even though you said that you didnt write the first bit, I want to congratulate you on choosing the right part to put in your story! And the image of Ron standing in front of the mirror with a crack through it is perfect! It really is, I could almost see him! As for CC, maybe using more of the senses? This chapter focuses mainly on sight and a tiny bit of feel/touch. Maybe using a bit more smell or hearing? I know its a challenge, but since you're so talented, maybe try going for a challenge (imagine trying taste! :P )

Plot/Flow: Perfect! I love the plot! Sounds so so interesting! :D I really do love it! And the interactions between Romione are perfect!! Kudos to you for portraying this scene with strong bonds of friendship and showing their trust in each other and how they comfort each other! Most of all, thank you so so much for not turning it into a romantic scene!! Thank you! The plot in general, with the brief mention of Dumbledore and Ginny was perfect! The flow was fine and nothing major to comment on!

Great job! :D I love this!! :) We must do more review swaps! Sorry again for the super late review!

-ReeBee :)

Author's Response: Sorry I never got this! Life has been kind of rough.hetic.crazy lately. But this just put a smile on my face. I think we should do more review swaps as well. :) And I really liked your idea to use more senses. I want to incorporate that into upcoming chapters. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Han Alister The Ties of Belonging

29th January 2014:
Love it! I can't wait to read the next chapter. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! Keep your eyes open. I'm working on the next chapter now. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by couldyoureallyknow The Ties of Belonging

12th January 2014:
Your writing style is very beautiful. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm grateful you reviewed. Made my day!

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm Prologue

10th January 2014:
Hi there, here with your requested review!

A few small things first to get them out of the way before going onto the review, I would perhaps separate the quote at the beginning with a line divider to make it a little clearer. Then also, the age of them all was never established, I guessed it was the 5th year from all the references to the Triwizard Tournament but I was never quite sure, so if you perhaps clarify that, it would be great!

I really loved the start to it though as it was definitely dramatic and the summary really helped with pulling me. I really loved the surprise of thinking this was going to be a post-Hogwarts story and finding out that they were actually in Hogwarts because the unexpectedness of it all was really great. I can tell this is going to be a really interesting AU story from that because you essentially have to map out of the rest of the books but without Harry existing at all.

Hermione’s characterisation in this story was really great and really her for this an AU story with that quiet compassion she had and how she just wanted to care for everyone. She and Ginny went really well together and you wrote their friendship just like in the books!

One small thing about the beginning with Rita, I got that you were trying to refer to all the lies that she made it up, it just wasn’t quite clear what she was trying to do with it later on and the same could be said with Neville because what he was saying about Harry wasn’t all that clear either. If you just add in a line or two clarifying things, that would be great!

Overall, I think this story is off to a really great start and I can definitely see it will be interesting you just need to add greater clarity in places!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review. Clarity is something I was worried about and you hit on some really good points. You did get it right; it's set during 5th year. :)

I'm grateful for your review! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Godrics_Helm The Ties that Enchant

19th December 2013:
GReat chapter as always! It was nice to view the situation from the various viewpoints. I hope the next chapter will focus more on Harry and his perspective when he wakes up.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it. :) The next chapter is ready to go in the queue when it opens, and I've tried to make it very Harry-centric. Hope you'll keep an eye out for it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by guest The Ties that Enchant

15th November 2013:
I hope you update soon...this story is soo good and it's getting
really interesting!

Author's Response: The next chapter is just waiting to be validated! I hope you'll check back soon.

 Report Review

Review #7, by FenrirGreyback Interlude

4th October 2013:
Awesome story!!!

When are you updating again?!?!

*FenrirGreyback

Author's Response: The next chapter is just waiting validation. Thanks again for all your help!

 Report Review

Review #8, by randomwriter Prologue

12th September 2013:
Hi there :)
Here from review tag!

Your summary was exceptionally interesting, and I felt like I just HAD to read this. Let it be known, that normally, I would never read AU. I am a canon compliant freak. And when I saw the summary, I thought that it was set after the defeat of Voldemort, and that you were talking about him dying much later. However, i continued reading this because you'd simply pulled me in.
The writing is really good, and it flows well. I like the idea too, and I think whatever characterization we saw was done well. However some clarification about when all of this happens, at the very beginning of the chapter would help. Also. I'm interested to see how the beginning connects with the rest. This was incredibly sad, but it also made me very curious.
Good job! :)

Author's Response: I'm so sorry it took me so long to reply to your review. I am really grateful for everything you wrote. I'm glad I represented the AU genre well. It's my goal to make my AU as canon as possible, that my story is what would have really happened if these circumstances occurred. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lindril The Ties that Enchant

1st September 2013:
Hello,
I really liked this chapter. I think you did a good job with Ginny and especially with Snape. Albus was okay but seemed a little off (I'm not entirely sure of how, he just didn't feel the same). Anyway, I'm looking forward to the next chapter :)

-Lindril

Author's Response: Thanks! I know Dumbledore was the character I struggled most with, and I'm hoping to go back eventually and make it more realistic. The next chapter should be coming soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by FenrirGreyback The Ties that We Ignore

23rd August 2013:
This must've been my favorite chapter out of all of them! You incorporated Arthur brilliantly, PLEASE update soon!!!

Author's Response: You're my 100th!! Thank you so, so much! And another chapter is on it's way, I promise!

 Report Review

Review #11, by zipzin The Ties that Enchant

22nd August 2013:
This is very good. I love the different perspectives and the plot and I want to read more so update soon and quick!

Author's Response: The next chapter is underway and should be up soon. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by FenrirGreyback The Ties that Enchant

21st August 2013:
I really liked this chapter!
It was fun to take a spin from Ginny's POV, though Severus has never been one of my favorites - I enjoyed them both equally!!!

Can't wait to see what happens next, so please please please update SOOON!!?!?!?!?

*FenrirGreyback

PS: Do you update at regular intervals? If so, when do you update? (I check every day... *blushing*)

Author's Response: I am trying to be more regular. Real life is making it hard, but I normally have been updating every 2 weeks or so. But all the reviews are making me work faster! I'll try to do better. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Remus The Ties that We Ignore

21st August 2013:
Heya!! Sorry I've taken forever!! :S

I'm here for more though!

I really like the intro here. I mean, its sooo heartbreaking. James is comparing his life to a shattered ornament and the best way to 'fix' his life is to go ahead and start anew. Forget his past and move on and create something of himself. If he only knew that there are people out there wishing he was still alive.

AND OMG ARTHUR SAW HIM! And I just wanted to Arthur to catch up to Harry and bring him back. And James! Of course he freaks out. However, how come he freaks out? The emotions though. I absolutely love all of them. The desperation, the panic...such great details.

The thing that I would recommend is break it differently. If you had started with James's section then cut it right when he sees the red head and move on to Arthur I think it would just make the chapter a lot better when it comes to flow and then move back to James's POV. That's just my opinion, though. XD

Other than that, that's it! :D Another great chapter and can't wait to read the next one.

Author's Response: No worries! I'll be finishing up your story soon, I hope! I review on my lunch breaks, haha.

I really liked your comment about switching the POV. A lot of times I really don't think too much about the order. But I think that can make a really big difference. I want to pay more attention to that now. :)

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #14, by silverashes Prologue

20th August 2013:
Hello there!

I have to start by saying that you have such a beautiful writing style! Everything just flows so gracefully. I really loved the section about the past. I found that very moving to read!

I can't say that I've ever read a story where Harry has died, and it makes my heart ache. Seeing how upset and depressed his friends are make me want to cry. You really did an amazing job pulling emotion out of the reader. I really felt all of their emotions, like I was there at Hogwarts with them.

To address your concern about it making sense, I think it absolutely does. I completely followed the story line from the very beginning! You gave just enough details for the reader to become interested and to understand what was going on. Instead of throwing all the information into a couple sentences you wove it through the entire chapter. I really liked that! It hooked my attention and made the chapter very interesting to read!

I think you have a good start to a really interesting story line! Wonderful job!

xx Rachel

Author's Response: Thank you for your review!

I am glad that the emotions came out like I wanted them; the rest of the story restores hope. Or at least I hope so, haha. I appreciated your words, and I'm going to take a look at future chapters and see if I can recapture that style after all this time.


 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan Prologue

19th August 2013:
Hello - here for review tag!

I don't read enough AU, and reading a story like this makes me wonder why I don't look at AU much - this is such a cool plotline! To be honest I'd never really thought much about what would have happened if Harry had died during the Triwizard Tournament.

Your characterisation of Ron and Hermione as they try to deal with the tragedy is really good too - I can totally see their reactions being just like this. And oh that part about Ron insisting that Harry didn't want to be a hero - that just tugged at my heartstrings. Firstly because it's Ron who's saying it, and Ron was always jealous of Harry getting all the glory - in this I could almost feel Ron's guilt about that, even though he didn't say it. And secondly, he's right about Harry just wanting to be normal. That scene was just perfect.

And that opening scene - I'm so intrigued about James in the orphanage! This is a really good start to what seems to be a very original story. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad the AU plotline works here. My goal is to keep things canon, but in this crazy new situation that never actually happened. So I'm glad to hear my characterization is believable.

I hope you keep reading, because you'll find out a lot more about James. ;)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Remus The Ties that We Forget

11th August 2013:
Back again for review #2! :D

I really like how so far you've started these first two chapters with what I think is a journal entry. I really feel bad for James who doesn't know what really happened, his past and those that love him are still hoping he was alive. He's so alone even though he says that Will is somewhat his closest friend. And I think the best line from this chapter is:

Sometimes I think it's a shame I don't know them, and then I remember there's a knob on their side as well as mine." --That, for me, felt like he was almost blaming whoever loved him for abandoning him.

Can I just say that I LOVE your Remus and Sirius? Remus will always be my favorite character so I'm always sort of harsh when reading about him. I think you did a fantastic job with his personality. His speech and mannerisms felt very Remus-like. Your Sirius felt perfect as well...was he trying to suffocate himself with a pillow? His raw emotion, sorrow, anger...everything was handled brilliantly with Sirius. I think this line:

Not for Remus, who he hated for being able to look upon the past without breaking down... --was absolutely fantastic. We see that Remus, as quiet as he is, can handle things a lot better. Then again, he's one to hide his own emotions and put everyone else first. I don't think he has properly grieved.

I did spot one thing:



Author's Response: I think some of your review got cut off...

But thank you so much! I am without internet, so I've only got my lunch break to read and review. Your other chapters are on my list, I promise!

It makes me so happy to hear you like my Sirius and Remus, they're two of my favorite characters, and I am glad I'm doing them justice.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Remus Prologue

10th August 2013:
Heya! Perelandra from the forums. So sorry that I took longer than necessary to get here. After I left the other review I got caught up getting ready for work, and then went to work...finally here though! Getting things started.

I have to say, I'm super excited to read this. I love AU stories!

Just to get things clear, this is supposed to be Harry's 5th year?

Anyway, I know this is the prologue and probably won't have much to say but what I really liked from this was how you portrayed emotions. Ron is dealing with Harry's loss in a much different way than Hermione. Even though they both miss him, Hermione is the one who braves it and puts a brave face when going to help Ron.

Ron here broke my heart. I love Ron, he's my favorite of the trio so I can only imagine what he's going through. I mean, he even gets angry at poor Neville who was probably trying to give Ron some much needed comfort.

Hermione's change of heart when it comes to Dumbledore was a bit shocking but I enjoyed that. She no longer trusts the man that was supposed to protect them from harm. I can see her turning a bit rebellious, or even start questioning Dumbledore's actions.

I like how everything is vague in a way! I love a mystery because now I want to know what happens next. I want to know where Harry is. Where Voldemort is or whether or not he's back.

Anyway! Thanks for doing with swap with me! I'm fixing to go to work but I'll get to your second chapter today. :D

--Rosie/Perelandra

Author's Response: Oh my goodness! I can't believe I never responded to this. Thank you so much for your review. I feel so bad I took so long. Forgive me.

This is supposed to be Harry's fifth year. He "died" in the TriWizard Tournament, and it's just at the start of term for everyone at Hogwarts.

I hope you'll continue on. :) Thanks again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by FenrirGreyback The Ties that Reveal

4th August 2013:
Really love your story,
It's a game-changer and I do hope you keep writing it!
Please please please update soon?!?!?!?

Author's Response: The next chapter is in the queue! I hope you'll let me know what you think.

 Report Review

Review #19, by blackballet Prologue

2nd August 2013:
I really love this beginning. I think it is excellently written, and well put together. You really capture Ron's spirit, and what I believe his reaction would be. The fact that they are in the bathroom is pricelessly heartbreaking. I forget the original characters sometimes, in all the fan fiction, but I love you characterization. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks. The next chapter is in the queue right now. I hope you keep reading.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Lindril The Ties that Reveal

20th July 2013:
Hi,
Thanks for clearing up the put-of-order chapter confusion. Poor Will... I really love this story and I'm glad you are getting back on track with this fic! I know how hard it is to write during a missions trip (though not one as long as your's), I just got back from one and had no time at all to write. I can't wait until the next update!

~Lindril

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm trying to contact people who were reading this story, but I can't seem to find them. So I'm glad someone is enjoying it! I hope to update soon.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Lindril Interlude

29th May 2013:
Yes, a new update! Nice interlude, but I couldn't tell if Ron and Hermione knew about Harry being alive. I don't think they did, but I'm not sure. Keep up the great work. I'm looking forward to the next update!

~Lindril

Author's Response: Thank you. See, the site is being weird. This chapter is supposed to be right before the chapter where they find out Harry is alive. But no matter how many times I try I can't get it in the right order. For some reason the validation got it out of order. But I'm hoping when I post another chapter I'll be able to re-arrange it.

 Report Review

Review #22, by rez Interlude

16th May 2013:
oh wow, this story is gorgeous. but with 7 chapters in 4 years im not feeling very optimistic about things continuing.. will be back nevertheless because Ive never read an AU quite as captivating as this

Author's Response: Haha, sporadic would be a good word for my ability to update. I've got some good excuses though. But I'm almost done with the next chapter. After four years I just want to get this done. :) Thanks for the review! I'm glad you like it.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Imogen The Ties that Tell

30th September 2012:
i absolutely love this story! it's so unique and brilliantly written. please please please continue it after your mission (which i hope goes well) because i cannot wait to find out what happens!! :D

Author's Response: I wanted you to know that I'm home off my mission and I've updated. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ray The Ties that Tell

1st January 2012:
This is the best Harry potter fanfiction ever! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! There's finally new chapters up!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Emma The Ties that Tell

11th December 2011:
Love the story!!! Can't wait for the next chapter!!

Author's Response: I know it's been forever, but there are new chapters up! I hope you'll take a look!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>