Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Sweetest Sadness
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SimplyStupified77 The Sweetest Sadness

11th May 2010:
aww that was great! I hardly ever read Founders stories but yours caught my eye. Off to read the next one, 10/10!

 Report Review

Review #2, by methinksyourock The Sweetest Sadness

5th November 2009:
I cant believe this... I mean... really i cant. I love your storys but these ones seem to be the best. Work hard, I'll be a lifetime reader.Please don't ever stop. Your fantastic.

 Report Review

Review #3, by shadowycorner The Sweetest Sadness

22nd July 2009:
I have almost forgotten how easy and enjoyable it is to read your work. I think it's such a great idea to have these little preludes in criss-crossing timings, like this one, which seems to be at the end of the real, big story. It really makes the reader want to know how the characters have gotten to that point.

Helga's emotions were so wonderfully describe, I could almost feel her heartache. And Salazar drew me in immediately.

Great stuff.

Author's Response: Liz!! How are you?! Sorry I took so long to respond to this review. I've been horrible about these lately! Oh I'm so glad you liked this story. I like angst a lot and I can completely imagine Helga's unrequited love for Salazar. They aren't very compatible, are they? But I feel that she would have loved him in her own quiet way, something that would definitely be rejected by him because they're just too different and also because he knows he would only hurt her if they were together. Thanks so much for your wonderful review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Harry_Potter_Mom The Sweetest Sadness

13th July 2009:
Oh my goodness... after all this time, and I stumble again to another amazing piece by you! How do I miss these amazing stories?

My eyes are filled with tears and my heart aches for Helga... what a wonderful weave. I always envisioned Salazar as a harsh and cruel man, saving love for nothing but power, but you've (yet again) shown how small my mind wraps around these characters. Helga is proud but longing for something just out of her reach... my, how I understand that...

The greatest honor that you could give is to dedicate something so lovely and breathtakingly beautiful to me - thank you. Such an inadequate phrase, but I am truly honored. You have impeccable taste and a gift with words that would make any writer utterly jealous... please continue to use that gift.

Humbly Yours.

Author's Response: Hi Teresa! *hugs* Thank you so much for coming to read my story!

No, your mind wraps around the characters wonderfully! I just like to imagine all of these long-winded things about them that probably don't make sense :D I can never think of people in black and white, even if they're fictional characters. Salazar must have been a harsh and cruel man later on in life, but I want to think of him differently as a young man since the Founders were once very good friends. You'll see what kind of background he comes from and why he has such strong prejudices.

You're so, so welcome! You are one of the few authors on HPFF that I completely admire and want to be like, and it's an honor to me to have you read and review my work. You're a lovely person and thanks so much for being a good friend! *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #5, by JaimePotter The Sweetest Sadness

31st May 2009:
Why do all of your romance stories make me cry? (by that I mean, they're so good they make me cry)

Author's Response: Sorry Jaime :( Haha but I'm glad you enjoyed this! I like my angst I guess. I need to start writing happier stories *sigh* Thanks for your review, dear!

 Report Review

Review #6, by inkscribble The Sweetest Sadness

5th May 2009:
Wow! This was fantastic. There's not enough Founders stories out there, but I'm very glad I found this one.

Your writing is fantastic, I really like the way you wrote Helga and how Salazar was in love with Rowena and Helga with him. They must have had their love-triangles even back then. (; What I especially liked about this was that we know so little of this era, and I really like how you added so much to how little we know. Like, Salazar leaving. We know that, but you put so much more to it. Like him living in the forest, because I suppose that's where he was? And the way you described the expression Godric somtimes wore. I can really imagine all of it actually happening, too.

I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you, ink! I know it's somewhat cliche to have Founders love triangles but hey, it's possible right? :) I like that about the Founders era too, the fact that we know so little about it. I have a lot of freedom to do what I want because people can't say "Hey, that didn't happen!"

I meant for Salazar to live in the Forbidden Forest shortly after departing from Hogwarts. He had to have a way to be close to the school (and access to build the Chamber of Secrets) and he probably also had some lingering attachments to the place.

Thanks so much for your review, glad you liked this dear!


 Report Review

Review #7, by VeraSabe The Sweetest Sadness

18th March 2009:
Wow. This one-shot was really beautiful and romantic, but it totally depressed me in the end.

I can completely relate to Helga and can totally feel her pain. I understand where Salazar is coming from, but he just broke Helga's heart by letting her go.

I can understand why he didn't want to taint her and why he didn't want to be with her. However, it was still sad because she really did care, understand, and love him... unlike Rowena. *sighs sadly*

I love Helga/Salazar fics and this fic is no exception, by any means. Though it broke my heart, like Helga's, in the end, it was still lovely and sweet.

I hope that you will write more Helga/Salazar fics in the future. Keep up the beautiful work. =)

P.S. Of course, the title does state it all. It fits the story perfectly, actually, because that's the way I'm feeling right now, lol.

Author's Response: Thank you, Vera! I'm sorry it depressed you in the end :D I've noticed a kind of trend with my stories that I usually gravitate towards angst and depression, which is weird because I'm a very happy person.

I'm glad you like this pairing! I have read many stories in which Rowena and Salazar are paired together and very few in which Helga and Salazar are together. I can see how both make sense, but I like the second pairing better because they complement each other. Rowena seems fiery and so does Salazar, but Helga has the right personality to keep him in line. Unfortunately they could never be because as you put it, he didn't want to taint her :(

Thank you so much for your nice review!! I hope you'll check out my Founders story which features Helga and of course there will be more Helga/Salazar. Hugs!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Billion The Sweetest Sadness

14th February 2009:
Ok now why did I not read this before? But I guess it's kind of good that I didn't cause now I'm much to excited for your Founders' story. It was short but you set the tone and background so perfectly that we're able to infer so much more than what's presented. The atmosphere of what it must have been like during the split was captured well. Did I mention I'm looking forward to the rest of the story? Just kidding, no need to rush, I'll wait patiently. :)

Author's Response: Hi Billion! I've actually just posted the main story :D I'm glad you liked this prelude - I meant to write four of them (one for each Founder) but I sort of stopped after Helga and Godric and decided to jump right in. The Rowena and Salazar one-shots will be up some time, though they can't exactly be called "preludes" anymore. I'm very excited for the novel itself and I hope you'll let me know what you think! Thanks for your review, dear :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by siriuslyhockey The Sweetest Sadness

22nd January 2009:
Wow! I'm really looking forward to reading more of these characters. They are so dynamic, especially Helga. And Salazar is the biggest jerk ever, I can't believed he kissed her like that and then just disappeared.

Your writing is nothing short of emotional and I love it. This story made me care so much about these characters in such a short space of time. Well done!

I'm really looking forward to meeting the other characters, Rowena and Godric.

Author's Response: Hey Kristina! Thanks for checking this out :) I'm glad that you enjoyed the way I wrote the characters, especially Helga - she's going to be the main protagonist in my full-length Founders story. Salazar was trying to be noble by keeping her away from himself. He could have been selfish and agreed to let her go with him and be all tainted by association or whatnot, but he didn't want to sacrifice her friendship with the other Founders. So he kissed her and left, pretty much :) Thanks so much for your review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by rosie_sirius93 The Sweetest Sadness

21st January 2009:
I haven't read founders fics before, but now I really want to read your other teasers and the story! It was pure genius, so well written! I think you did a brilliant job of portraying the four different founders and that your characterization of them was amazing, even though Rowena and Godric weren't mentioned much and I thought the love triangle was very interesting to include!
10/10
;D

Author's Response: Ooh thanks for giving this a try! I personally love the Founders era, but a lot of people aren't big fans so I'm really glad you gave this a shot! Yes this one-shot is very Salazar and Helga-centric. I'm planning on writing three other one-shots and you'll be seeing more of the four Founders in those as well as in the main story. Thanks so much for your review, Rosie :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Misty_Rey The Sweetest Sadness

27th October 2008:
Hiya Jules! I'm back for your teaser trailers xD.

One of my favourite things about this particular one-shot is how character-driven it seems to be. The descriptions are simple and at the same time pretty but what makes this a short but wonderful story is the way you weave your characters to be complex. Neither of them are one-dimensional, which is usually the trap of Founders-era stories. I was, at first, uncertain with the characterization of Helga and Salazaar but on further thought, you were merely brave enough to explore other sides of their personalities that are connected to the personalities we know them by as told by the Sorting Hat. I'll start with Helga. This was a very intricate Helga Hufflepuff. Her willingness to accept others was prevalent here as well as her association with house-elves, all of which was classic Hufflepuff. And then there was her deeper side, her raw emotions. I loved how, underneath it all, she was struggling staying loyal to such opposing sides as well as her bitterness of being a victim of unrequited love. That really, she was angry and upset that Salazaar started the Founders fued but couldn't bring herself to completely hate him. The inner struggle was wonderfully written. And then there was Salazaar. You threw me another curveball with him as he seemed much... softer than I imagined him to be. I expect that it's the exhaustion of being slowly consumed by bitterness and vindictiveness. I would've personally have liked to see him a bit... gruffer I think but nevermind ;). He seemed to be a catalyst to Helga and her emotions which is cool. A short but superb one-shot. 10/10!

*Hugs*
Misty

Author's Response: Eek thanks Misty!! Your opinion means a lot to me - you are one of the HPFF authors whose feedback I always eagerly await. I'm so glad you like this "teaser trailer" LOL and I am SO excited to see what you think when I post my actual novel. This Founders story is going to have a lot of elements that I want to include in my original novel, so it'll be nice to get some preliminary feedback before I turn away from fanfiction and concentrate on my own work permanently.

It's so great that you like the characterization. I know that we often fall into the trap of expecting a character to be a certain way. Even though there are a lot of popular perceptions of the Founders, I do have my own personal interpretation of them.

I'm thrilled that you like Helga because she is going to be the main protagonist in the novel :) I'm almost equal parts 'Puff and 'Claw, and I think it'll be really fun to write from Helga's POV since she seems so ... above it all. At least the way I picture it, she's the peacemaker and the one who holds this fiery group together. Godric, Salazar, and Rowena all have strong personalities that clash, and I see Helga as the glue and everyone goes to her when the pieces fall apart - which they definitely will.

I'm glad you like Salazar too! I want people to sympathize with him in this story. I see a task ahead of me that's kind of similar to what I faced with Tom Riddle Senior in GUTF ... I want to make this "villain" more than just a bad guy. Plus I never thought of Salazar as the bad guy - he shouldn't be labeled as evil simply because he has different perceptions of the way magic should be. I don't know... we'll see how that all turns out!

Thank you for your brilliant review darling, I'm glad you liked this! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #12, by REKNOWNED The Sweetest Sadness

26th October 2008:
This is so sweet and well written. You're right, I don't usually read founders era fics either but I quite enjoyed this one.

I am glad you wrote in modern terms but I wonder how you would have changed it to fit the time period.

The descriptions are perfect. You really couldn't tell that it wasn't a Hogwarts era fic, where we have the descriptions of the school set forth for us.

The idea was even something that I would have never thought of; a love triangle amongst the founders. And Salazar caring for someone other than himself. It just doesn't seem to fit with the modern perception of Slytherins but I like the idea. Usually when people come up with "crazy" ideas it is not out of malice. I don't think Salazar's reasons for promoting pureblood rule was conceived out of malice but took on a disturbing (to be polite) meaning as his life progressed and his anger took over.

At least that is how I see it, but having him portrayed in a human manner is refreshing.

Great Job! 100/10 of course!

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you very much for coming to read and review :)

I'm glad that even though you usually don't read Founders stories, you gave this one a fair try - very brave of you as most people see the Founders tag and shy away from it. It can be a difficult era to read.

I've seen a lot of stories with Founders love triangles, but I don't think I've seen one where Salazar is between Helga and Rowena.

You got exactly what I was trying to do with Salazar. Just because he sees things differently from the way that the other Founders do, doesn't mean that he's a bad person. He believes he is doing the right thing for something he's so proud of. I can't wait to expand on his character - he's going to be a tough one but it'll be an amazing challenge.

Thanks a million for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by lyrix82 The Sweetest Sadness

25th October 2008:
Excellent one shot. I have never read a founders era story before, I'm much too busy with Next Gen and Harry/Ginny stories,but I thought I should take the blinkers off and broaden my horizons and I am so glad that I did! Thank you for this great story, I'm looking forward to reading your story now, Thanks xx

Author's Response: Lyrix! Thanks for trying out my story even though you've never read this era before :) It's my first time writing in the Founders period. I'm glad you liked this and I hope you'll try out my novel. It will be more like a fairy tale/fantasy story, and I hope it'll be as fun to read as it will be to write!

 Report Review

Review #14, by searching17 The Sweetest Sadness

25th October 2008:
I loved this part: He stared down at her, his green eyes bright in the darkness. "A cautious person. A wise person."
It sent shivers down my spine – it really did. :]

I loved how you introduced and presented bits of the plot as the story went along, not just dumping the whole load of it on the reader.

The last paragraphs was the sweetest and most touching throughout the story. I especially enjoyed this bit: And she left him standing there with her heart in his hands.
That made me picture Helga holding out her heart in her hands to Salazar, and him rejecting it.

I really liked the portrayal of the founders, even Rowena and Godric even though they weren’t really in the story. I completely fell in love with Salazar, and the reader actually gets the chance to symphatize with him, despite everything they’ve read in the Harry Potter books.

Great job – superb writing. This is on my favorites! 10/10.

~Estrella

Author's Response: Hey again! I'm so glad you liked this portrayal of Salazar and Helga! This is my first attempt at writing in the Founders era and I really enjoyed it. I can't wait to start work on my novel, because you'll get to see much more of Godric and Rowena in there too. Thrilled that you sympathized with Salazar ... that was my intention. I don't think he was evil because he saw things differently from the other Founders; he may have been a fanatic, but he did what he believed in and I just picture him as kind of an over-enthusiastic, fiery-tempered man.

Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by amieharry_ginny The Sweetest Sadness

25th October 2008:
OMG that is one of the best one-shots i have read so far. You know what i thought this story was about ... pure brilliance. I mean you are amazing. Your writing is so perfect the way you expressed Helga's feelings, the description, the details and the emotions captured in this one little story was perfect. There were no flaws ... you have such talent. *gapes open-mouthed*

Honestly, this was my first ever founders story, and this was one of your first story that i ever read and i can't believe i didn't ever try both before lol When i first started reading this i thought Helga and Salazar were in love i mean that didn't right? But then Salazar asks that "question" i absolutely love that whole conversation. You know what else is weird ... Salazar was in love with Rowena and Rowena's Daughter was in love with Bloody Baron ... co-incidence? lol

But i sure loved your story it was so refreshing and i absoluetly adore your writing ... your writing makes me feel like i'm 9 and an immature at that :(

Anyways i'll shut up now :P Great story i already added it to my favorites wonderful job 10101010101010101010/10 ^_^

Author's Response: Hee hee I had so much fun reading your review, Amie! :) You are way too kind, I'm thrilled that you enjoyed reading this story!

Thanks so much for trying out my work and picking out a Founders story, at the same time! You are brave :) This is the first Founders story I've written, actually, so we're in the same boat!

Aw don't say that about yourself :( Everyone's writing gets better with practice and I've been practicing for a long, long time, plus I just really love it and I read/write all the time which helps me improve. I'm still improving every day - I think writing is that kind of thing where you can never really reach the peak. You can always get better and better.

Thanks my dear, this was such a nice review to wake up to :) *huggles* And good luck to your House for the Review-fest! (But watch your back *evil laugh*)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Potterholic The Sweetest Sadness

25th October 2008:
Hmm, I thought I've reviewed this before, but I supposed it got lost in the crash. =/ Anyway, I love this one-shot! Helga/Salazar is rather unusual because I'm so used to Godric/Helga, but I love how you wrote this. The emotions were written beautifully, and I could just picture her walking through the forest to find him. Keep up the good work! *huggles*

Author's Response: I think it did get lost in the crash :( I lost so many, but I guess I shouldn't complain because I know people who lost upwards of 400-500 in one go.

I'm glad you like this one-shot!! I like Helga/Salazar myself. In my Founders novel, Godric and Helga have a very close bond similar to a brother and sister's bond, but her relationship with Salazar is slightly different. I think Helga would be drawn to the one who isn't always included - it's a Puff value to treat everyone equally and I think she'd be attracted by the fact that Slytherin is such a dark horse.

Thank you so much for re-reviewing, dear! *huggles back*


 Report Review

Review #17, by dracoslover1 The Sweetest Sadness

18th October 2008:
First can I just say that I love your writing?

Now that that is cleared up, I like the descripitions that you have here in the story. The descripitions here in the story convey to us as the readers that she truely wanted to be with him for the rest of thier lives, but he wouldn't allow that to happen because he was in love with someone else.

As for characterization, I don't think we got a chance to really connect with Helga and Salazar. From the story we get that Salazar is, in short terms, simple minded when it comes to girls and that Helga is passionate about those who matter most to her. Maybe write what she likes about him and what Salazar likes Ravenclaw and Helga's feelings about how she can't live up to what he likes in thier friend? It would help, I think, build the tension even more of when she leaves and tells him that she won't help him anymore. But it is your story, so you can totally throw this suggestion aside if you want to!

Overall good story. I thoughly enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Haha thank you so much! :) Glad you like my writing - I like to write!

I absolutely agree with you ... I'm not very good with one-shots because my writing style requires a lot of room to expand on characters. Some people are amazing at one-shots; in just a few short paragraphs, we know their character inside and out. I'm still working on it! Thanks so much for pointing it out *sheepish* I promise you I'll expand on their characters a LOT more in the novel, they won't be as flat and as "blah" as they were here.

I'm glad you liked it in general though! I just wanted to throw some ideas out there and it doesn't seem like anyone's adverse to the Rowena-Sal-Helga love triangle so that's a good thing! :) Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by chiQs09 The Sweetest Sadness

18th October 2008:
This was a great but short one-shot. :) Works fine as a teaser! :)

Salazar seems to mean a lot to Helga, she shows her affection by caring for him, listening to him, and even remembering his favorite wine. :) Since we can't see much what's going on in Salazar's mind, I think that he's distancing himself emotionally from Helga. Or he's just too oblivious about her feelings, because he loves somebody else. Or it's true that he thinks she deserves someone better than him, and yet...if she were Rowena... hmm...

I hope to read the new novel soon. :)

Author's Response: Hey darling, I'm glad you like this "teaser." You know what, you're right about Salazar - he is definitely distancing himself from Helga because ... well, because he doesn't want to taint her by association. He's not in a good place with Godric right now, if you know what I mean, and he just doesn't have the same views that the other three have.

Thanks so much for your review, I hope to post the new novel soon! Maybe seeing everyone participating in NaNoWriMo will inspire me to write write write too!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Labby The Sweetest Sadness

17th October 2008:
Wow, I really liked this piece. We didn't get to see much into the mind of Salazer, but from here I liked him a lot. He doesn't seem to think very highly of himself and he tries to protect Helga from something that won't work out. That seems pretty respectable, but again, I don't really know too much about him from just this bit. So you're coming out with a Founders story? Interesting.. I'm excited to read more about the Founders since I haven't read too many Founders stories. Is this just a little tidbit from that? I really enjoyed what you wrote here.

Author's Response: Hi Jamie! Thanks for coming back to review *hugs* I seem to have this thing for converting bad boys. First Tom Riddle Senior, now Salazar Slytherin ... I guess I just can't accept that they are the villain. I think all villains (maybe except Voldemort, who is 1% carbon and 99% evil) have gray areas - well, it's often more interesting if they do anyway. Salazar has a heart - but he can't help it if his goals are different from those of the other Founders. He has a reason for being so fanatically against non-wizards and I'll get into that in the novel length...

Yes ma'am! My Founders story should be coming out within a couple months - I'm in love with this era and I've read some really great stories (check out "The Founders Four" by Klw) from it. It deserves more attention I think.

Thanks so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by JLHufflepuff The Sweetest Sadness

9th October 2008:
Again, thank you so much for the dedication! I really appreciate your friendship and encouragement and (of course) all of your wonderful writing. It means a lot, especially since wonderful Helga is one of the characters involved in this story. This one-shot tantalizes me, and I wonder what sort of things are coming up in Quadrivium! You evil (smart) person!

Anyway, I like the way Helga feels such a conflict within her about wanting to be with him although what he wants for the school and his inability to compromise seem to keep them apart. There are some hints in this chapter that make me wonder about the details of their relationship before what we see in this chapter... :)

Author's Response: Oh you're so welcome! I thought it was time to give some recognition to my homies who have been there since the beginning and who are always supporting me and challenging me to write more. I love Helga too, she seems like such a wonderful character and I hope I can do her justice since she's going to be the main protagonist in my story. Poor Helga ... old Sal doesn't really know what he's missing out on since she's such a good kind soul. I like the idea of having them have this connection - she's all for equality and treating everyone the same even if they screw up. Thanks so much for reviewing again Jessi! *huggles*

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login