Reading Reviews for Leather-bound Memories
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jchrissy Leather-Bound Memories

4th August 2012:
Oh my goodness this was so great but so heart breaking.

I loved the movement from entry to entry, it was all very smooth and well done. I also really liked the concept of watching her grow and age through her memories. I would have loved a few more about her life after marriage though, but that's because I'm selfish and really just wanted to read more.

There were some extra spaces that kind of made is seem a bit more choppy than I think you attended, that always happens to be though.

You really have a great ability to bring out those terrible emotions revolving around the darker aspects of Ginny's life, and the ending.

The ending... Harry being murdered after everything he went through... blah. It's too sad ;(

Great job! And thanks for being a lovely Gryffie!



Author's Response: I swear I will never get the hang of the spacing on this site! LOL I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and got a good sniffle out of it. ;) I'm not really a H/G shipper.. or fan... Honestly I usually try to pretend it never happened... LOL.. But maybe one day I'll go back and fill in some of the missing pieces ;)
Thanks again for the R&R!

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #2, by CambAngst Leather-Bound Memories

4th August 2012:
Hi, there! Thanks so much for doing your part to help Gryffindor take the cup! Here is your review.

Wow. I just finished reading this and I feel shaky. I had this awful feeling from very early on that this story was not going to have a happy ending, but I wasn't prepared for anything like this.

It was an amazing ride, following the events of Ginny's life through her own words at various ages. Looking back, she was involved in so many of the pivotal moments of the series. It's striking to see it all filtered from her perspective. Some parts are clearly a bit thin due to the narrator. Her character didn't play much of a part in PoA. But overall I think you did a really good job of picking out the high points.

Her constant obsession with Harry that gradually evolves into love and devotion was striking and very realistic. I'm sure there were many other entries that detailed the mundane aspects of her life, but the clearly weren't as important to her.

This accelerate rather rapidly after the end of HBP, and I really found myself wishing that you had slowed down and given us more of the story from her point of view. I really wonder what sort of things she wrote down from the year that the Death Eaters were in charge of Hogwarts. I wondered somewhat about Harry's courtship of her. I don't think you really needed to invent yards and yards of headcanon here, just pick out some key moments and fill in the gaps a bit.

The ending hit me pretty hard. It seems like such a senseless way for Harry to pass. The war was long since over. Harry had no quarrel with anyone. He simply wanted to live his happy life with his family. One man's twisted notion of vengeance impacted so many lives in such a horrible way...

I'm going to stop before I tear up here. Your writing was fantastic. Everything flowed really nicely and I didn't see any typos or grammatical problems. The piece felt a lot shorter than it actually was.

Overall, a very emotional, very well-constructed story. Nicely done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to R&R ;) This is one of those stories that I love, but can't bring myself to reread very often. Even though I wrote it, I still end up sobbing by the end. LOL. I considered doing more post-Hogwarrts background, but decided that 1. It would slow down the pace, and 2. It would get out of control and take me ou of one-shot territory. As much as we all love extra background stories, this story was meant to be just a quick glimpse into the life and mind of Ginny. I'm so glad you enjoyed in anyway. Hope to see you back reviewing again soon!

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #3, by lilypotterfan123 Leather-Bound Memories

28th April 2011:
The ending to this was so sad; though it was great to see Ginny's thoughts of everything. She was a big part in the series but we didn't get that much of her in really so it was good to see that. I like how you still maintained description throughout and the ending made me want to wipe tears that weren't there from my eyes. I didn't cry but I was close and that ending was just, wow.
When you talked about Harry dying I honestly never saw it coming at all, it was great how you did that though just to keep the readers on their toes!
LpF123 x

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :D I have to admit, I am unable to reread this story myself without sobbing.. and I wrote it! LOL

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #4, by WitnesstoitAll Leather-Bound Memories

29th November 2009:
ha. still teared up and this is read two.

Author's Response: hehe... I know exactly how you feel ;)
Thanks for reading it... both times.. LOL
*huggles*
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #5, by American Ginny Leather-Bound Memories

15th June 2009:
I so desire to cry for this. Oh how I wish my walls of steel fell more often, but alas they do not. It was a sad story. Truly a well written story. I love how you mainly stayed with the books but also added information of your own to help make it yours more. Oh I love this story so much. truly an inspiration :') (if i could really cry). Loved it so much! 10/10.
Love,
Am. Gin

Author's Response: Aw.. thank you so much. You know I am not a Harry/Ginny shipper, and don't think I ever will be... but this story was just begging to be written. For some reason I just don't think that Harry would ever "truly" get his happily ever after and that he was never destined to die peacfully in old age... I just don't think it was in the cards for him.. hence this story ;)
Once again, glad you liked it!
Thanks for the review!
Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #6, by Annachie Leather-Bound Memories

2nd June 2009:
Wonderful story.
I'm a big, big Harry/Ginny person, probably since I first read CoS in 2000, and I loved it.

Journal entry stories always seem difficult, but this gives a feeling of being effortless. It just flows so well.

3 minor things.

"I wonder wear his parents were…" where

4/7/91 should be 4/7/92

"... young girl’s third year at Hogwarts.


16/4/94" This is still Ginny's second year. There was no quidditch in her third year.

But still, a great read, 10/10

Author's Response: LOL, thanks for pointing those out! I don't know how I missed that. Glad you enjoyed the story ;)
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #7, by Unwritten Curse Leather-Bound Memories

27th May 2009:
How did you know I can't resist a *wink wink nudge nudge*? (;

Ah! Stop making me cry, already! Haha. In all seriousness, though, this was fantastic. :) Like I said in my previous review, you have a power when you write. You take people out of their seats and throw them into the story, which I was incredibly grateful for. Because you never named your narrator until the end (even though I was pretty sure it was Ginny), I felt as though I could have been her, reading Ginny Weasley's diary and remembering a life well-spent. I was definitely moved by this even before I got to the ending, but then Harry's death hit me, and I was in tears again. A beautiful piece of writing. *huggles*

10/10, of course. How could I give this anything else? I adore your writing!

Author's Response: I must say, I warned you it was a tearjerker...lol.. then again, most of my stories are... I just can't seem to do happy endings..lol.. well I've done a few, but they're are rare...lol. I'm so glad you were able to dive into my story... in my opinion that's the entire point of reading.. to escape into a different world, if only for a while. I've told people countless times that I am not a H/G shipper, but I felt this was a story that needed to be told. The tragic end of Harry Potter, because I think we all knew that he would never truly get his 'happily ever after.' Thank you for another wonderful review, you've truly made my day... well...night... either way... lol

Hope to see more reviews from you in the future!

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #8, by searching4neverland Leather-Bound Memories

27th May 2009:
This is definitely going to my favorites. I loved everything about it, and the most special thing was how you projected her growing up with the memories she wrote. The first two had me laughing. It sounds so typical of Ginny to want to see Ron hit the wall. He did actually, too bad Ginny wasn't there to see it. :) And it was very sweet how almost every page of her diary had Harry in it, mentioned somehow.
All the memories reflected her age and emotions, and I especially liked the one when she is older and comments about Harry and Cho.

"...He's back! He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named its back! Harry saw him… fought him… and lived… again." - this is one of my favorite sentences in this story, don't really know why, but it just gets to me.

"I can’t remember the house ever being this quiet…" - another hit right there. And finally:
"I can't believe he's gone…" - there is so much pain in this one sentence, it kinda puts together everything else in this story. This story had me hoping for a happy ending even thought there were hints that there would not be one. It was excellent. Congratulations.

Author's Response: I actualy just went back and re-read this for the first time in ages last week.. and I admit, I sat here sobbing. I'm not a Harry/Ginny shipper.. nevre have been never will be... but this was a story begging to be told. I must admit, this is probalby the first time I have ever stuck to canon...lol... but I felt the need to go beyond the epilouge. Happily ever after was never going to happen for Harry, no matter how much he deserved it. As I'm sure you know by now, I rarely do happy endings...lol.. but I'm glad you still enjoyed this story in spite of that fact ;)

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #9, by Meeeeera Leather-Bound Memories

17th May 2009:
Oh, that was really nice. Really sad, but beautiful. I guessed from the beginning when Ginny started crying that something had happened to Harry, but I really enjoyed the little snippets from key events in the series in Ginny's perspective. She was such an obsessive little kid ... but I did feel sorry for her when Harry asked Cho to the Yule Ball. What a git.

It was really well-written - just a few spelling and grammatical errors that you can get someone to look at, if you like. Your description was very good, I could really see what was happening. Keep it up! I really enjoyed this story.

- Meera :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. Honestly, I don't really like this ship, and usualy won't write it, but this story just hit me one night and I had to do it. There are several stories I have to look over for correction and plan on getting to them as soon as possible...lol.. it's a pain when life interfears with your writing.. lol

Once again thanks for the quick review, and you will be seeing me again at your review thread very soon ;)

~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #10, by Golden Snitch Leather-Bound Memories

14th February 2009:
This is absolutely gorgeous! You have an amazing style of writing. I hope you do something with your talent.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. That was probably one of the more difficult pieces for me to write, emotionaly anyway. I sobbed like a baby as I wrote the ending. LOL. As far as doing something with it I'm nearly done with my first original Novel (thanks to NaNo) and I plan to (try) publish it, hopefully before the year is out. :)
Once again thank you so much, not only for your R&R, but for your support as well.

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #11, by dracoslover1 Leather-Bound Memories

16th October 2008:
I liked the story that you have it. I like the flashbacks in the journal and how you have Ginny remembering her life and how it was centered around Harry. Your descripitions are amazing and your characterizations are good.

Author's Response: Aww... thanks. You know I've never really written anything with Ginny as more then a background character and honestly I'm not a fan of this ship... but the story was just begging to be writting so I obliged..lol

Thanlks for all you're lovely reviews!

Much Love
~Moon~


 Report Review

Review #12, by amieharry_ginny Leather-Bound Memories

13th October 2008:
OMG Thea, This is one heck of a story!! I love it ... no surprise there because i absolutely love each and everyone of your stories. This story was especially good because it was sad and refreshing at the same time.

Reading the entries was fun also a first for me. I have read stories before with diary entries but this was sweet and tender. I loved every detail you gave and the way you told about Ginny's life in one-shot was amazing. Hat's off mate.

I'm not going to say this story was sad but it so was. H/G holds a very special place in my heart and reading this story made me feel really good and i'm not just saying things to make you feel good. I really mean it. I love how talented you are, your talent overflows in your stories. You have a great talent of capturing character's emotions perfectly and this story is the proof for that.

Wow got a little out of control there lol But it's all the truth and you deserve even more compliments but i will reserve those for your next stories. :D

Million/10 lol

~Amie

Author's Response: *GRIN* I always end up giggling when I read you reviews (not to mention blushing a bit with all the comlients...lol) I'm glad you liked this one as well because I'm not quiet sure where it came from.lol. Seriously, I was sitting at work on day and the words just started running out my fingers and onto the keybored...lol. I'm not even a H/G shipper, but this one just felt right.

I'm sorry I keep making you cry...lol... *hands you a box of tissues*

Can't wait to see what you think of Saving You, Saving Me (if you get to it and haven't reviewed it all ready)

*huggles and lots and lots of love*

~Moon~


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login