19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by J_O_I_Rowling The Male Mind

28th January 2010:
i laughed most at the ravenclaws. oh, wait, no i think it was when (crabbe? or was it goyle?) tried to stun someone and ended up mutilating everyone, and nott told them {{“Sweet Salazar, Crabbe! How many times have we told you? You and Goyle aren’t to use your wands around other human beings,”}}


other human beings! lmao!
great humour, loved the story, keep writing!

Author's Response: I think the Ravenclaws were a bit of a favourite of the reviewers on this story XD. And yes, Crabbe and Goyle are probably two of the most stupid people in existence :P.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the story, and took the time to leave such a wonderful review. This is quite an old piece of mine, but if you want to see some more of my humour stories you could check out 'Viktor Krum: Sex God?' Again, thank you so much for your feedback!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Wendie The Male Mind

23rd January 2009:
That was pretty funny. That was really a good idea that to make them all talk about it the girls i mean

Author's Response: Thank you very much, boys must talk about girls as much as girls talk about boys Lol, Even as I typed that I was doubting myself! Thanks so much for reviewing

 Report Review

Review #3, by Antipodean Opaleye The Male Mind

10th January 2009:
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! LOVE IT!!! You are fan-bloody-tastic!! I'm reading all your stories now!

Author's Response: Thank you very much lol, although I can't promise much humour in all of them!

 Report Review

Review #4, by cheese_77 The Male Mind

29th December 2008:
hey that was great!
the ravenclaw one to me was the best, that was gold

wish the whole story was longer though...
you should make a sequel or something? hopefully?

Author's Response: I liked the Ravenclaws best too, they were the most fun to write. I'll keep it in mind, but I've got a lot of story ideas and stuff going at the minute. I'm glad you liked it- sorry it wasn't longer for you lol, and thanks for taking the time to review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by super Granger The Male Mind

26th October 2008:
That was pretty good. I have to admit that I got a bit lost on how it all ties together, but it might just be me. Probably is. I'd say this is a... 9/10 I think it's pretty cool, but could maybe use some more humor.

Author's Response: Well, it was supposed to tie together as they're all insights into what Hogwarts boys do without any girls being there, but humourously Lol
Maybe it didn't work as well as I'd hoped!
Thanks for the review =]


 Report Review

Review #6, by stoirmeacha The Male Mind

24th October 2008:
I loved the humour in this, and the way everything was exaggerated. I loved how some of the stereotypes were reversed and some of the characterisations (like Draco's) were exaggerated and made fun of. I loved the way you looked at each of the different houses in turn. I loved the way the Gryffindor guys thought about the girls, especially the mascara. (My dad's always thought that my hair straighteners look like torture implements.) It's really unusual to read about things from a guy's perspective, so I liked that too. I felt more accurate characterisation in the dialogue could have improved the Gryffindor boys section maybe, but you did say it wasn't canon.

Overall, it was really good, and I loved reading it. 9/10

Author's Response: Sorry it took me ages to respond, it just completely slipped my mind =S
I'm glad you found it funny-my first try at humour went better than I thought it would. Stereotypes are a big thing within the houses especially in ff, so I just wanted to have a laugh with them.
Haha, I completely understand that, fathers are terrified by straighteners.
In my opinion I thought that the Gryffs section was the weakest too, probably because I did it first, but it was a great challenge.
Thanks for the review =]


 Report Review

Review #7, by IS bookworm The Male Mind

12th October 2008:
Very good! I didn't like the Ravenclaw one as much. It didn't seem to be written as well though something like that must be very hard to write. The rest of it was awesome! Keep writing! :7)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, thanks so much for reviewing! =]

 Report Review

Review #8, by wronskifeinter The Male Mind

11th October 2008:
very delightful story
i thourougly enjoyed it!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, thanks so much for reviewing =]

 Report Review

Review #9, by dramione 4 ever The Male Mind

10th October 2008:
that was most hilarius and awesome!! If you want a banner for a story I can make you one! Mail me your details at ginzz _ 2007@ yahoo.co.in (without the spaces) if you want a banner!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your review, I think I'll be taking up your offer =]

 Report Review

Review #10, by FanofCards25 The Male Mind

9th October 2008:
That was great! I loved the way you used all four houses. I can totally see Draco being all self absorbed like that. I would have to say that my favorite part was the Hufflepuff group in Trelawney's class. Very creative. Keep up the good work! 10/10

Author's Response: Draco, we love to hate him Lol
I gave the Hufflepuffs a bit of attitude, well in comparison to their usual selves!
Thanks so much for reviewing =]


 Report Review

Review #11, by dracoslover1 The Male Mind

9th October 2008:
Ok first off I have to admit I love the story! I couldn't help but laugh as I started reading the story. I loved reading the different reactions that each house had about the girls being away and looking into the male mind.

I like how each scene developed and you could get a fit of giggles just by reading the situations they were in.

The only house/area that I think needs a bit more improvement is Gyffindor. It was good and it was funny reading about how the guys wanted to try the different things girls did, but I think the lack of descripition in this area didn't make me burst out laughing entirely. Maybe adding a bit more descipition to it?

Other then that one part, it was amazing! 8/10

Author's Response: Yeah, as Gryffindor was the first bit I wrote it may lack a bit of whatever the others have-I actually found it hardest to write.
Thanks so much for reviewing, I'm really glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Marauders001 The Male Mind

8th October 2008:
Hello there!

My true honest opinion about this fanfic is- AWESOME!
I absolutely love it. It's smart, funny and completely in-character.

The actual idea and the way you set out the story is very clever. Having the four different houses and their thoughts made me think and i could imagine them sitting there talking to one another about girls. Every one of those viewing points had at least two things that made me laugh!

One of the main things i love about this is that you've kept it nice and simple. It's the perfect size for a one shot, not too big, not too small-just right (I feel like I'm reading Goldilocks and the three bears again)

Your description isn't too fancy-don't worry i won't do the whole 'just right' thing again. Its sweet simple and easy to read.

Your paragraph and sentence structure is great. You don't have any paragraph long sentences and the paragraphs themselves are perfect.

Your story is very funny, ideas such as Neville teaching Harry to dance, the way you portrayed Crabbe and Professor Trelawny coming up to ask '...Have any of you spotted the Grim at all lately' had me in fits of laughter.

Keep up with the great work. This is a work of art, be proud! Funny and Creative, i wouldn't be surprised if you are working as a comedian or author, or plan to become one! 10/10!!!

Can't wait to read more of your work, its fabulous!
My best Wishes,
M001-I.E-Iman (either one)

Author's Response: Awk, I'm so chuffed with this review!
It's just right, I feel that now is the right time to reveal that I am in fact Goldilocks =P Lol
I'm only an author in my dreams!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. =]


 Report Review

Review #13, by Leo072491 The Male Mind

8th October 2008:
Interesting view on Hogwarts's males. I've never read a story like this so congratulations on coming up with something unique and all your own :) I like how the Gryffindor boys were more willing to do something daring and the part where you mwntioned how the Ravenclaws didn't idolize Madame Pince, much.

Although I liked the idea the plot seems a bit random. Like your ideas are scattered all over the place. I suggest trying to make a plot chart or something. That would really help in organizing your ideas. The only other potential problem I saw was that the reasons why they boys were where they were and why they were talking about what they were talking about wasn't made clear so you might want to think through that a tad too.

Other than that nice first chapter and continuing writing! :)

~Leo

Author's Response: Well, the idea wasn't completely my own, it was for a 'Male Mind' challenge, but I'm glad you liked it anyway.
It's just meant to be a funny one-shot, so there won't be any more chapters, but I appreciate your comments.
Thanks for the review =]


 Report Review

Review #14, by Emerald_Girl The Male Mind

8th October 2008:
This was a really funny one shot! I just loved the whole idea XD And I really liked how each situation related to one word of the title. I found that really clever. It was well written too, and wasn’t one of those silly stories that go no where and is boring. This was funny and interesting, and kept my interest the whole time. Good job!

Your idea of having the girls go experience some French culture wasn’t silly to me either. It actually did make sense, and was actually and interesting thing, not a cliché or anything. Quite clever actually.

I enjoyed that you kept the characters interesting, in canon and also a few OC's. They were good too. Even though we only saw a few snippets of each character, I feel you did a good job with characterization. You didn’t go overboard with house stereotypes, but still had some of the house qualities there. That was brilliant!

This really made me laugh. I still have the image of Ron in a skirt and the Gryffindors dancing around awkwardly. Hilarious! The Slytherin part was a little confusing, but that’s just me. I love how strangely funny the Ravenclaws were. They were a bit odd but I liked it. And the Hufflepuffs were hilarious. Gotta love Trelawney! Excellent job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you found it funny, I was a bit worried that it would just turn out stupid!
The challenge was really fun and it really inspired me to write a bit of humour, my worst nightmare would be someone getting bored.
I needed a way to get rid of the girls, so they were shipped off to France Lol
I got the other character names off the Lexicon, apparently they were in earlier drafts or something...
Thanks for the review I'm really glad you liked it =]


 Report Review

Review #15, by lia_2390 The Male Mind

8th October 2008:
Hey Eridanus!

I really enjoyed your story; it seemed to be that you were kind of satirising the stereotypes for each house (you had the brave kids, the vain ones and the nerds but you gave Hufflepuff some edge) was that your intention? I honestly thought the Ravenclaw scene was gold though :D

I also noticed a few typos, mainly your quotation marks -
[...drawled Blaise while the other three boys guffawed at Draco’s current predicament.”] - the inverted commas shouldn't be there. Another one is missing from the beginning Anthony's speech in the library - [Those are all valid points...] and you're missing a word from here -[declared Zacharias contentedly as he his seat on a particularly comfortable pouffe.]

It wouldn't hurt to include "said" sometimes too, even if you use words like "demanded" or "murmured"; I know you used it in here but it's kind of overshadowed by its alternates, to me it seems overdone (at least sort of).

Overall I think it was well written, those Hufflepuffs are a witty bunch, aren't they? I can't believe Zacharias had a thing for Trelawney XD

Good Job!
Lia.

Author's Response: Hey,
You're completely right, I was trying to make fun of their traits whilst giving the Huffepuffs a bit of street cred Lol They get overlooked a lot. I liked the Ravenclaws best too, I think it's because I could easily imagine them like that!
Typos etc. all fixed now and I understood what you meant about the 'said's and added some more here and there.
Why not? She's so... to be honest there are no words for her Lol
Thanks so much for the review =]


 Report Review

Review #16, by long_live_luna_bellatrix The Male Mind

8th October 2008:
Very, very funny. I liked this. Was it in response to that male mind challenge? I thought I saw one like that once.

I think the Ravenclaws were the funniest of all! The Ravenclaw Self-Confidence Society? Hilarious! I really cracked up on that one. I also liked Draco moaning about his reputation.

Great job!

Author's Response: Yeah, that exact challenge, it was a great one. Thanks for the review, everyone loves the Ravenclaws Lol.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ria_Lee The Male Mind

8th October 2008:
That was very entertaining, I enjoyed it a lot. Hmm, I'd never really thought about what the boys would talk about when alone, you thought up very funny conversations. I especially liked Gryffindor and Ravenclaw conversations. Good job, 9/10.

Author's Response: The Ravenclaws were so much fun to write, I don't know if any of it is realistic, except the Slytherins Lol, but I'm glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lunicle The Male Mind

8th October 2008:
First of all, you have no idea how excited I was when I saw this was for a challenge by one of my favourite authors!

Second of all, I think it's... bittersweet to have done a story about the way that 7th year for the students the Trio's age at Hogwarts could have turned out happily.

I think it was really cool how we got to see the kind of ridiculous conversations that probably would have gone on in each common room/dorm.

It was also nice to read a nice, light fic for once- I just finished writing one where someone attempted suicide. :O Thanks for brightening up my day! LOL!

Happy writing!

-Luna-

Author's Response: It was a really interesting challenge to do, just a lot of fun really. Thanks for reviewing, I'm glad I brightened up your day, the favour was returned 'cause reviews tend to do that too =] Happy Reading!

 Report Review

Review #19, by CheleCooke The Male Mind

7th October 2008:
Hi ya. I'm gonna jump into nitpicking to get it over with. I apologise in advance that I just jump from thing to thing without a link.

Upon hearing this Harry choked out through fits of laughter. - For some reason, this reads a little odd to me. It could just be me, but I think if you break it up, and have 'Harry choked out' after he speaks, it might work a little better. So you have him bursting into laughter, talking, then explaining that he choked out the words.

'exclaimed Ron turning gradually redder' - You need a comma after Ron.

"It's just that you know that little sticky thing looks like it could poke your eye out..." - that line is just PERFECT! Fantastic explanation about boy's minds. Really good.

"if you're too embarrassed just admit it" - needs a comma between embarrassed and just.

"what has It been now 5 months?" - no capital I for it, comma after now, and I’d write the word five instead of the number (but that one is personal choice.)

Sweet Salazar - That is the most genius exclamation I have heard in ages!

*cries with laughter* Oh my god, the Ravenclaws were fabulous! The poor boys!

'You got what you deserved... now bloody well stop slagging Zach' - Personally, I don't think slagging is the right word here. Slagging someone off involves actually malicious intent, and if this is just banter, then something along the lines of 'taking the mickey out of Zach' would work a lot better.

Wow. This review is a lot longer than I intended. Lol. I really like this story. It's very light hearted and easy to read. You've not taken yourself too seriously which a lot of people writing humour try to do. They try to make every joke clever and witty instead of just funny, you seem to get all three in there in places naturally. It's very nice.

Author's Response: It sounded weird to me too as I was writing it, but I couldn't think of another way to put it, so thanks for the help. You can't understand how much I love those Ravenclaws Lol. They were just so much fun to write!
I must say I'm going to stick with slagging though, cause Zacharias is quite annoyed and that's the context I would normally use it in, I suppose it's just a matter of personal opinion.
Thanks, I'm glad you found it funny, one thing I've learnt from your reviews though is that I badly need a beta! Lol =]


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login