Reading Reviews for Game
  
669 Reviews Found

Review #1, by larissa_allstar Intervention Convention

13th July 2014:
Okay so the rest of my comment (see chapter 17 first) didn't post >.< gr

Continuing on haha.

I loved the OC in this one. She clearly had a huge adoration for Quidditch and had a humorous attiude, making her narration a treat to read. Though she was fantastic, it was nice to see that she was stubborn and had trust issues. These flaws really did make her seem more realistic and easier to connect. Afterall, we're definitely not perfect as humans.

Reading from Oliver's POV was also enjoyable! I really think you stayed true to his original character, all while building on and fleshing out the Oliver we know from J.K. I really did enjoy how you didn't make him just this arrogant womanizer, and instead made him realistic with his feelings. I also loved Oliver's friendship with Jeremy.

Speaking of Jeremy, you wrote some killer side characters. They were all actually developed (unlike other fics where they're just static and there for the sole purpose of plot progression) and seeing their friendship with Rona was great c: I really do love seeing friendship in a fic, not just romance haha.

Though the romance in this one was too adorable not to love. Rona's and Oliver's shared love of Quidditch brought them together and it was fantastic. They did have their ups and downs though, however navigating their relationship was fun and I couldn't help but swoon during those kissing scenes lol [;

Overall I adored this one and need more! Off to the sequel I shall go haha.

Author's Response: Thank you! This is a super super old fic to me, but I'm glad that there are still readers that enjoy it. It was a launching point for my future writing, and carries a lot of themes I'd explore more later.

I had an issue with rom-coms where the blame was solely on one person, so I wanted to write one where both had clear faults, and some real relationship advice was doled out (communication! it works!). And I love side characters, even if the ones in this fic are largely cheering on the MCs for the duration of the story, I hoped to explore them more in the sequel (which has been on extended hiatus--sorry!).

Thank you so much for reading! ^__^


 Report Review

Review #2, by larissa_allstar The Last Match

13th July 2014:
Hey c: Read this one in a day and boy, what a treat. This is my first Oliver/OC fic and I simply adored it! I'll definitely be reading the sequel and will actually be trying to find more Oliver/OC fics, got any recommendations? (:

I loved all the fluffy moments in this one

Author's Response: Most Oliver/OCs I've found are incomplete sadly :( Or very very old. But 'Brains and Brawn' and 'Flavor of the Month' are complete :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pbe The Last Match

24th March 2014:
Bluidy hell! I've never read such an amazing fic! The grammatical
structure.zero to no mistakes! And everything was tied up so
amazingly! ( I did get really angry when Rona apologised to
Roger, but yeah...) Anyway, the plot is amazing, the close-ups are
funny and cute and overall, I just love it! Will you marry me?

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the fic ^__^ Also you finally got the review count out of 666, hehe. I can't marry you unfortunately, but I can send you a picture of a ringpop, if you'd like.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Beth In Which Oliver is Sensitive

29th December 2013:
Just thought I should mention this: in Britain, if someone is quite handsome, it means they are kind of/slightly handsome ^.^

Author's Response: Ooh I didn't know that! I'll make a note to fix that, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jimmy The Secret Has a Temper

9th August 2013:
Hey I'm not usually one to criticize but I've been reading "and capers ensue" and I think you are a brilliant writer but I can't get into the story like I already have with this one. Do what you want but I like your older writing better. I look forward to reading more of this

Author's Response: That's fine! My stories are pretty different and reach different audiences (And Capers Ensue and etc. etc. are complete opposite stories in theme, tone, and style). Game is probably the only story that's a straight-up rom com with a lot of girl bonding, and I miss writing that a lot too, but I'd like to get back to it one day!

 Report Review

Review #6, by willow1 The Last Match

4th June 2013:
the writing is SO FUNNY, and i love the idea of a ravenclaw strategist it is so perfect! i think roger should have been sold to the twins, i would have loved to see what they would do to him! it was weird for me to read because the whole time i was reading this i could only sympathize with rona because she is exactly like me! I say and do the same things she does exactly (I even have the same kind of friends!) but fortunately there is no oliver i know so im happy!
i wouldn't be suprized if you knew me and you were basing it off of me and you are alligator or ally cat of the alligator ellaphants,
10/10

Author's Response: Ha, that's always great to hear. Rona's a lot like me too, rather anti-social and stubborn, with expressions that do my face no favors c: I can't imagine what the twins would've done to Roger, but I'm sure he would've found some extra loud way to complain about it.

I'm not an alligator, alley cat, or elephant, but I am reputed to be quite the bad idea bear.

Thank you! ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan Fortune Takes a Holiday

29th April 2013:
Not cool Roger, not cool. He just got rid of the reason that their team is even good. Great job Roger, great job. Way to go. I actually want to see how well he does without Rona.

I am in outrage at the moment!

Author's Response: There were people bringing out their pitchforks for this chapter 8D Me personally, I never blamed Roger too much; he's just tactless, silly boy.

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFan Chasing, Seeking, Keeping

28th April 2013:
I can relate to Edie totally. I've got a five-year-old brother who's just the most annoying person to ever exist. He's constantly getting into trouble and I'm constantly having to make sure he doesn't do anything wrong when I'm watching him.

My favourite part about this was definitely the part where it was talking about the party and how you had to care what people were saying. As mean as it may be for me to say this, I agree with that, a lot.

Just when I told myself that I would stop reading and go to bed after this chapter I read the ending. Now I have to keep reading or the curiosity is going to eat away at me!

Author's Response: Ouch, I don't have a brother (or even close male cousins, massively female family here) but I've watched enough movies to imagine what it must be like to have one. Plus I hang around a bunch of boys and they mature slowly, so I'm sure they're not much different than how they were a few years ago 8D

Waving the anti-social flag with pride! Sometimes people just ain't your thang.

c: eee hope you like the rest!


 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan Convoluted is an Understatement

28th April 2013:
Well, Rona certainly knows how to tell a bloke that she likes him. I really can't talk though because I'd end up embarrassing myself if I made the same declaration.

Declaring your liking for someone: Ravenclaw-style.

Author's Response: She's plenty embarrassed too, don't worry 8D But having a bloke that looks Tom Hardy sort of eases the embarrassment. Just a tad.

 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFan Boys Will Be Boys

28th April 2013:
Jeremy has now joined my list of favourite characters. My favourite part was when he broke up the fight peacefully and without yelling. It just seemed so very Ravenclaw-like that I just loved it. Plus the part where he embraces his insanity because he likes Hannah was pretty funny as well.

Author's Response: c: Jeremy's a babe, and thank ye for reminding me of how gracefully he handled this fight. Boys in groups are not the wisest.

 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexFan Well, That was Unexpected

27th April 2013:
Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh what's Oliver going to do! I must find out! Things are about to turn nasty or weird I can just tell.

I love how Edie's just there and stating the obvious "well, that was unexpected."

Author's Response: Hehehe someone has to say it~ Thanks for reviewing! c:

 Report Review

Review #12, by AlexFan The Secret Has a Temper

27th April 2013:
Wow, I think Rona's even more obsessed than Oliver is when it comes to Quidditch. I can already picture her yelling her head off during the Quidditch match because people weren't following her plays (it's something I do quite often sadly).

Author's Response: Rona of all people would be the one to challenge Oliver at that title; she's the only one silly enough to covet the grand trophy of 'most obsessed with Quidditch' 8D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell Spare the Guilt, Spoil the Captain

1st April 2013:
Just read your last response to my previous review. Well, I feel silly for not figuring that out about the April Fool’s thing, though technically it wasn’t yet April 1st in my timezone. My brain was not yet prepared for pranks, so maybe I get a pass? : )

As for this chapter--oh, the misunderstandings! The arguments!
...I adore it.

And I love that Rona sticks up for herself. You go girl!

You’re writing style--dialogue, action, the way you show (or obscure) characters’ emotions--it all seems so effortless and crisp. You really have a gift.

Author's Response: YOU SHALL NOT -- ah, all right, you'll pass :D

Thank you so much ^__^ I edited this story a lot way back when, so even though it's old, it's got a lot of editing to make up for it. I learned so much writing this, and it shows up in my later stories.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Penelope Inkwell Happenstance Happens Entirely Too Often

1st April 2013:
Firstly, Oliver Wood-- *swoon*

And I love Rona’s romantic reluctance, and general stubbornness. All of their secrets and lies are written excellently--sometimes you’ll have told us the truth, and I’ll still find myself believing one of their fibs for a moment, before I figure it out.

Also, I LOVE how you worked in bits from the plot of Prisoner of Azkaban--when Oliver was angry at McGonnagal for not letting Harry have the Firebolt. Brilliant! It’s so interesting reading something that takes place during that Harry Potter time period from a completely different point of view. And really insightful, when you think about it--shows how, apart from the key players in the series, everyone’s lives mostly just went on as usual up until Book 5.

Well done! Loving it : D

P.S. Also, my roommate adores K-dramas, and I’ve watched a few of them when she’s had them on. I thought they were really quite good, and though I haven’t had more time to watch them, I was excited to see you mention it. Not that it’s relevant. Just a sort of fun fact.

Author's Response: I like to imagine everything in this fic as one big web, and everyone's caught in it, twitchy-legged and moaning for water :'D It was never supposed to be about twisty lies, but they sort of piled up naturally, which is exactly what happens in real life.

I didn't pay much attention to canon to be honest, but I tried to put a bit of the books in where I could - at least Quidditch side. There was a whole chapter devoted to Quidditch, after all, so I'd make the most of that.

I grew up on Asian dramas, so it's sort of ingrained into my life. The school-age rom-coms are so cuuute c: I love Coffee Prince, and Nodame Cantabile (Japanese).


 Report Review

Review #15, by Penelope Inkwell Well, That was Unexpected

1st April 2013:
Another great chapter. And wow, I really did not see that ending coming.

And, in continuance, I might be wrong--I had to puzzle them out--but I think you have some autocorrect issues again:

Each time it’s meant to say “eyes” it says “puppies”
-girl = bunny rabbit
-kiss = hug
-face = purse
-voice = underwear
-hamsters = lips
-"respect personal boundaries" = er...snogging? I’m not really sure what that one’s meant to be
-garden shed = I’m really not sure what that signified, either, actually

No one else in reviews seems to have noticed anything amiss? I don’t know if it wasn’t there before or if I’m just out of the loop on a prank, but I thought--if you were to want to edit it--it would make it easier to have a list than to have to comb through it yourself.

Still an excellent story! Just with some rather strange noun substitutions.

Author's Response: I responded to your other review too; bahaha, I wonder how much of the effect is changed with uh, respecting personal boundaries. The latest chapter of etc. has some rocking changes I put on the tumblr - "Civil bunny rabbits and frogs, apples of their mothers' puppies", oh dear that sentence.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell News Spreads Faster Than a Snitch

31st March 2013:
First of all, I absolutely love your work. I’ve been reading ‘Etc. Etc.’, and then I stumbled onto this. I can’t believe it’s your first fanfic! Your writing style is really topnotch. I do believe you’re the best fanfic writer I’ve stumbled across so far. Truly.

That said, I did want to let you know that there seem to be some strange word substitutions in this chapter, though someone has probably already mentioned it.

Like, every time the word is meant to be have “ass” in it, like class or embarrassed or passed, it turns into eyebrow: ‘cleyebrow’ or ‘embareyebrowed’, etc.

What I assume was meant to be ‘voice’ has been changed to ‘underwear’, which is particularly amusing at the passage, He lowered his underwear again. They were drawing an audience.”

And ‘face’ has been changed to ‘purse’.

It was a little distracting, but sort of fun to decode. Just letting you know!

Author's Response: Hey! Glad you enjoy it! I hope you get this response soon: It's April Fools at HPFF, so there are word replacements across the site :) It should clear up in a few days, so you might want to continue reading then.

Thank you so much for reading my stories!


 Report Review

Review #17, by heartjily4ever The Last Match

27th February 2013:
Loved it. Totally amazing. One of the best love stories I have ever read. Really well written. You are awesome

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #18, by spreaddapoo93 The Last Match

13th November 2012:
My Golly... It's done...

I remember feeling this way once, when I exited the cinema after watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part Two with all of my friends, wearing my homemade Hogwarts robes and makeshift wand - the bubble of joy waiting to burst in my heart, and the dawning realisation that it's over... genuinely over... I will keep my lower lip stalwart; it shall not tremble!!!

My, to document the literary journey you've taken me on in these seventeen chapters... It is now 12:41AM, I've read approximately 60 000 words in the past few hours, and I've never felt more exhilarated. I feel this sense of urgency to try to put into words how brilliant and amazing you are as a writer - from the overall plot unfurling and character-moulding to that wondrous, subtle touch; your gorgeously original imagery that always describes the situation so perfectly (as though I could have been searching the whole world for it, and there you come with a heavy-duty Lumos charm to illuminate it for me).

It's strange but I've learned so much from this small wonder of a fan fic, both literary-wise and ... life in general, which is all the more beautiful because it's so difficult to find anything - whether it's novels or music or art, even - in which the content is just as on par with the form. You make me a better reader, and a better writer too.

There couldn't have been a better way to end this story! From the beginning of the end, with the ultra-snog-fest (which was a lot more romantic than what I just said suggests...), the quirky betting game Percy, Hannah and the lot partake in, the little addition of Wood's wonderful line from Prisoner of Azkaban (Eek!)... Everything's just perfect!

I don't think I can thank you enough for the fic - I've had more fun than I can remember having this whole year and my hope in the artistic world (from literature to film) has been restored thanks to you. Of course, this does mean I'll be raiding your page for any bit of lit I can get my digital hands on (including the sequel, for which I am uber-excited about!!!).

I hope to god that you are either working on a novel of your own (which I would literally MAKE galleons to pay for - were that the mandatory fee) or in the process of publishing one, because your writing is just breathtaking.

My dream used to be being part of the wizarding community in the Harry Potter world (with Hogwarts as an obvious home), but now I do believe I'd much rather found a cafe where all the phenomenal HPFF writers can just bundle together, have a few rounds of Butterbeer (or Firewhiskey; however you like them) and be communally awesome.

Well, with that wonderful image brewing in my mind, I think I'll be saying goodbye now (BUT NOT FOR LONG!!!)

P.S. I'm not too sure if you created your own chapter images, but I think the choices for the characters were spot-on! I completley imagined a strapping, young Tom Hardy (manly name for a manly man, no?) as Wood. :) Hope you have a good one.

Author's Response: Aaah, I'm seriously not worthy of the things you say :3 Firstly - sort of randomly - but this review is also really well written xD Like, YOU HAVE A WAY WITH WORDS IN YOUR REVIEWS, IT'S SO POETIC! And I like to reread them because I'm imagining you standing on a soap box with a poet's hat, reciting your review eloquently. Usually the reviewer goes on a journey with the story; I also feel like I went on a journey reading your reviews xD I can /see/ you reading them (in only a slightly creepy way).

And now I shall stop reviewing your review.

But like SERIOUSLY, I am beside myself. Just. I mean, restoring hope in artistic world asglhdkgn. SO not worthy. (Bahah the sequel's just me writing fun little stories PLEASE DO NOT GET EXCITED, but I am very excited for you to see my other stories, because they're a lot of fun, and they're born from the things I learned from Game.)

I'm actually in Computer Science, which I think you've learned now. But I think I would like to try to write a novel one day. I don't want to feel pressured to, because I don't think I could get it done if that were the case.

Shawarma and firewhiskey with HPFF writers! You have put this in my mind and I now demand this to be reality.

I do create my own chapter images; these were the first real set I ever made :D My beta had an obsession with Tom Hardy and thus! Best decision ever.

THANK YOU SO MUCH ♥ LIKE SO SO MUCH ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by spreaddapoo93 Intervention Convention

13th November 2012:
When I was still in high school (which was admittedly only a year ago, but let us pretend I am much older and wiser to add weight to what I am professing), my English teacher said that the most important part of any piece of writing (essays/poems/novels/erotica*ahem*) is the introduction, that opening line which should hook the reader in most completely.

I don't think I've met a finer writer accomplishing such a feat on the internet than you~ With Rona's thoughts "parked somewhere between Guilt Central and Broken Heart Boulevard" how can anyone not resist confining themselves in their bedrooms, sleep deprived, caffeine-deprived and shower-deprived, and greedily consume this godly story till its very end (which I am both dreading and eagerly cheering on!).

I do believe I have fallen in love with you, and you may now begin feeling particularly paranoid of a potential stalker fan-base erupting out of the blue, dedicating many disturbing scrapbooks and such to your Majesty.

*Ahem* Now, back to the chapter; your quidditch game was wonderfully detailed - and reminiscent of the first chapter! It's this strange feeling of going back to the beginning, except... everything's changed. Those changes are emphasised, but there's this feeling that things are starting to fall back into place (almost as they were back in the beginning before everything became wonderfully complicated).

From the descriptions of the dives to Jordan's spunky commentating, you have that Quidditch game set absolutely perfectly.

Beautiful chapter, and... Golly, I can't believe this was the penultimate chapter... I've been revving myself up for this from Chapter ten! Ah, my heart's doing this strange BA DUM BAba*roop BA DUM BA*drop* BA DUM~

P.S. As ever, I love Jason so very much; he's like the cute, little brother every brotherless gal could want! :D

Author's Response: Bahaha, well the first year out of high school, you get wise enough already. Once you get out of high school, really. Waaah, hugest compliment. I am so undeserving ;A; I remember when I first read this review I was like, 'how is this girl still having such nice things to say'; seriously, you can make an author split into a grin so easy :3 like, I'm totally in love with you. LET'S ELOPE~

Heee I remember going around to people asking HOW DO YOU WRITE A QUIDDITCH MATCH, because it's one of those things people avoid writing. Lee shouting random things is the best thing when JKR writes them 8D

Your heart's dropping beats! If it starts doing dubstep, it's probably not healthy.

♥ baww, he so is! You wouldn't want him around /all/ the time, but just as much as you would want a little brother around.


 Report Review

Review #20, by spreaddapoo93 Everyone but the Girl

13th November 2012:
Ah! Percy (whom only a small niche of writers do justice! In case you were wondering, you are part of the few... At the very empyrean of said niche)... To think the ever-stern, ever-serious Percy Weasley would become COMIC RELIEF! I never thought I would see the day... Heck, I never even conceived such a thing from happening; I mean, never mind the red clock scene which was one of the finest bit of writing I've ever seen, the line "there might have been a slight problem if Percy was saying he should go out more often" - now, that's ingenuity right there~).

And Fred and George... Hahaha, Poor Oliver, trying to have his own dramatic, moping chapter, and yet, destined to be ever-thwarted by the awesomeness of the Weasleys! I shudder to think what they may have been doing to the pigeon in the box.

I'll admit I got the shivers when I read "descend on him like Filch on a house party" as such a notion sends fear like nothing else straight into my heart.

Haha, I really enjoyed the overall theme surrounding girls being trouble in this chapter! The talk between Jeremy and Oliver was really endearing and enlightening with regard to both their characters. It was nice to see some open conversation between the two, and I particularly like that touch with the imaginary cups of firewhiskey clinking (as far as I know, never mind the medal, they can have the whole freakin' trophy!). Your beta and I should get a cup of virtual coffee/tea and biscuits to discuss this bromance shipping business, because I'm in the same boat!

Ah... The end of the chapter... It was really nice getting Oliver's side; it's absolutely phenomenal how the writing style becomes completely different... You're like... some Divine Writing Chameleon! Truly, your writing ability is just impeccable, and it's all in the small things - the really, really, fine, minute details... And this chapter did more than meet expectations; it clashed, demolished and floored them (in only the best possible ways, of course!).

Well, onto the next chapter! Haha, *sheepish grin* sorry for the long review~

Author's Response: Ahhh, Oliver and Percy's intro in this chapter is some of my favorite stuff. I LOVE writing him though I'm not sure if I could've kept it up; he obviously only shows up a bit. I have a lot of love for Percy though, second favorite Weasley after Charlie. Someone's got to be the stick in the mud and sometimes, stick in the muds get the best lines 8D

Oliver's PoV is deeaaavastatingly fun. I'm not sure what a whole story would be like in his PoV, but I like his intermittent thoughts and 'oh god why' sort of thoughts on recent events.

The clink heard 'round the world! I unfortunately never got very far into the post-Game stories, but so much of my notes were just devoted to Jeremy and Oliver's derping xD

ahh, thank you so much! :33 I'm now imagining myself as a lizard with a quill.


 Report Review

Review #21, by spreaddapoo93 No One Plays to Lose

13th November 2012:
Oh, Rona~ RONA~ My Darling Rohhna~! (I am thinking of writing a song dedicated to Rona; it's one of those names that come out so nice and smoothly when you sing it. Have you ever tried?)

Oh, the fishiness suddenly bursts! And how else to do it than a shower scene? A hot, steamy, shower scene wherein Oliver becomes the scary, beastly nevertheless hunky man he is and Rona ... Well...

I admit, it was an unexpected turn of events... But Wood is right... Wood is always so frustratingly right. :) To think this all started with an unrequited kiss... Rona should seriously pick up Shakespeare's Othello. It would teach her a few things; but I can't help feeling like I should defend her. Admittedly it may be spurred by her P.O.V. but it's typical of a Ravenclaw like her to analyze the situation and... to be truthful, I think any gal would be wary of a relationship like that... Maybe excluding Hannah and Jeremy (who are so adorable, albeit in their divergent paths now...)

Beautiful chapter - As devoid of fluff as it was, as you so conveniently packaged in your lovely author's note (which I, for reasons unbeknownst to me, look forward to after every chapter!), it was as exhilirating, heart-tugging and expertly written as every other chapter! I'm in this strange mediate condition, between wanting to devour the whole last few chapters, or savouring them (but knowing me, I'll probably choose the former).

Author's Response: It isss such a pretty name. I have no idea why I chose it, but I'm glad that it's pretty.

The best way to do anything is with a shower scene. Rivaled only by a lake scene. But you know, /shower scene/.

It's a very split chapter in terms of reactions. It's like people try to understand him but then they're like, 'But why must he be such a git' and I'm thinking /But Rona's the git/ and truth be told, they're both gits. But I suppose that's why it works :'D

Hee author notes. I could ramble on and on and on. I essentially do, on my blog.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #22, by spreaddapoo93 O Captain, Not My Captain

13th November 2012:
I treasure Jason, the severely misunderstood git that he is. I can just imagine him trying to carry the "marriage" metaphor in a difficult but nevertheless smooth way, and suddenly yelling out Spartan-style: "BRING IN THE BOY!" And let's not forget the ever classic toothpick ("I think I inhaled a splinter" - hilarious!!! Had me clutching my side for a full minute longer than necessary... my sister must have thought I was having a hernia).

Now that I think about it, it's quite a mystery how Jason ever got into Ravenclaw! I never thought about it before, but now... I guess there has to be SOME logic beyond there somewhere, right? Nevertheless, I adore him. :)

And the quidditch team is so adorable - the family/parent metaphor is absolutely spot-on!

On a more serious note, I keep saying you have a wonderful way with words, and I'll say it again (just to wear it out that slightest bit more). That image of "the memories of Oliver continued to crumble one by one under the burden of doubt" is so effective.

Great chapter! :)

Author's Response: He loves a flair for the dramatics, and it's why I love him so ;D his presence in this chapter is one of my favorite things in the whole story.

Bahaha, indeed. There is cleverness in many ways ;) And even Lockhart was a Ravenclaw!

Baww thank you so much! I had such a tough time writing angst back then. My friend had to hold my hand the entire way through xD


 Report Review

Review #23, by spreaddapoo93 Fortune Takes a Holiday

13th November 2012:
Oh, your images kill me! The wondrous picture you created of a disappointed Edie:

"much like that of a bedraggled long-lost puppy limping home in the thundering rain only to find the dog door boarded up in its absence"

It tugged my heart (and to think it's meant to be comedic!).

Oh, Roger, dearest... I guess I can understand where he's coming from. From personal experience myself, I wouldn't be easy to trust anyone with being the brains behind any project if they were head-over-heels in love, never mind with the captain of the opposition... But it's still very harsh.

And, oh... The tension and anxiety is building up! I'm completely tensed up, depriving myself of a relaxing cup of tea because I'm afraid moving from my bed will do unspeakable damage to my body... Sheesh, you do know how to reel a person in.

Wonderful! Onto the next (with trepidation)!

Author's Response: That image is totally inspired by my friend who betas my writing. She has the most expressive face ever and every expression can be related to a puppy in some way. She's got a happy corgi face and terrified pug face and the long lost dripping wet terrier face of sadness quoted above 8D

Legions of readers have booed Roger xD Poor guy, it's not all his fault! It's always been important to me that much of the conflict lies on the shoulders of the protagonist. Roger isn't some villainous captain to overcome; he just wants to do what's good for the team, even if he is going about it a bit jerkishly. (Sudden thought: pretty much the conflict in every one of my stories boils down to conflict of interest, bahaha).

OH dear, hold that tea close. Don't break! You'll spill the tea!


 Report Review

Review #24, by spreaddapoo93 Happenstance Happens Entirely Too Often

13th November 2012:
I don't think I've ever commented on how much I love Hannah, so here it is, point blank - I love her. I absolutely love her. Sometimes she may seem irritating to the heroine, the wonderful Rona, but she's so quirky and happy and girly that it just has to rub off on you~ And she has passion as fierce as they come (which makes it strange that she's in Ravenclaw, but... I'm sure she's as clever and witty as Rona is, even if she's not as booky).

And I have found a new couple to ship! Jeremy and Hannah (Jennah? Heremy?) are so wonderful together, and despite what happens next (whether it be good or bad), I will hold the memory of them dearly in my heart.

Haha, "It's a matter of what will win: Jeremy's sense or Hannah's estrogen." That gave me a good laugh or two~

Your characterisation of the school professors/teachers is so on the dot - First Professor McGonagall, and now Madam Hooch ("degenerated into waxing lyrical about brooms" Ho Ho ho), which is mightily impressive! I always say that it's the characterisation of the sideline characters that show a writer's true talent, and... with that in mine, yours is exceptional.

Oh, Rona and Oliver... They are the relationship I'll never have in this world of forgotten courtesies and romance... And I do agree. First kisses are overrated. ;) I know what you mean about kiss scenes in fics. But worry not! Your efforts shone through after all, and it come out splendidly~

(P.S. Don't you hate how K-Dramas can be so adorably cute and slightly cliched, but at the same time completely heart-wrenchingly sad? I have a feeling that's coming up here, soon.)

Author's Response: Hannah is a total manifestation of my bad idea bear side. She will encourage you to /do things/ just because it will entertain her. She's the person who will question 'What if?' and then make other people test it out :'D

I sadly never got to expand on the cast as much as I would have liked. I'm glad a lot of readers have enjoyed my minor characters, but I believe they're still quite thin. There is more to them in my head (I imagine Hannah somewhat resents not being taken seriously at times, though she doesn't let this show). Game is definitely the kitchen sink and testing ground for a lot of staples of my writing, large casts being one of them, and I've converted what I've learned into my later stories 8D which actually have planned subplots xD

ASIAN DRAMASSS. What a lot of people don't know is that my story structures are hugely based off of Asian dramas xD I love the pacing and plots and characters of dramas, but their cliches can be the most cliche of cliches and I'm like 'Whyyy, it would have been a perfectly good idea without that!' If you ever read Capers, you can totally see the rich boy-poor girl Asian drama influence in it.

♥!


 Report Review

Review #25, by spreaddapoo93 A Sugar-Induced Revelation

13th November 2012:
Haha, typical of Finnegan to be piss drunk - It's the Irish in him!

*Sigh*, did I miss your quirkiness. Every little smidgen of this story is doused with it - from Rona's imaginary "headlines" to her supposed "eleventh hour plot twist". You have a way with words which, to be absolutely frank, I'm absolutely devoted to and terrifically envious of!

Oh, Rona is so beautifully idiotic sometimes... She can see that Oliver really does care for her, but she gets mad anyway (with good reason, I do realise). I absolutely adore her - I love how she sounds like she's completely crazy and ridiculous sometiems (like, "C-candy made me loony"), but it makes complete sense... Does that make sense? How does Oliver put it... Yes! I found it - "Silly" - that's the right word for it!

Anyway, my Spidey-sense is tingling; there's more to Oliver and that little note ("Rona - Revenge") than you let on, darling. Their conversation about Quidditch was awesome; so props to you! I was completely convinced and ready to bet my favourite trenchcoat that conversation really did happen in the magical realm of Harry Potter in the Gryffindor Dorms, and all you did was document what you saw (obviously, you were hiding under an invisibility cloak next to drunken and passed-out Finnegan).

Brilliant chapter! I adored it~

Author's Response: Slowly responding to all of these day by day xD I saw your MTA questions too! &hearts. It'll probably take a while to answer everything but I read everything, thank you so much!

Even as old as this fic, some of my favorite lines come from here. Partially because it was my first real foray into writing so I squeezed out all of the juices that I've had simmering for years. And partially because it's had the benefit of a year and a half of continuous editing as I improved xD oh, those days.

Ah, silly. I love that word. It's like an affectionate 'you idiot' :3

Baaaha, oh if only I snuck into the Gryff towers dressed as a house elf, creeping on Oliver every time he came out of the shower, and then documented the conversation (but since I didn't, I'll be expecting that trenchcoat in the mail soon).

♥!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>