Reading Reviews for Game
677 Reviews Found

Review #1, by edielee  Let the Game Begin

15th August 2016:
Omg, I've never seen my name in a fanfic before!

Author's Response: You're the second person to say that in a week! Is there an Edie convention I'm not aware of?? I already see the story in your favorites, but you should def read Keep Calm and Carry On by my_voice_rising! Can't beat a lead Edie!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Edie Let the Game Begin

12th August 2016:
Omg dude my name is Edie! I've never ever read a fanfic that has used my name before and i just got so excited haha

Author's Response: I love the name Edie! my_voice_rising actually has an Oliver Wood/OC with a lead named Edie :D you should go check it out!

 Report Review

Review #3, by NadiaX Intervention Convention

19th July 2016:
Hi :)!

So I don't know if you remember me, I was out of this website for a while.
I was wondering if you'd mind if I translated "Game" into Polish. For some time now I intended to translate a long - but not too long - fanfiction into Polish and, well, this one makes me the most excited among these with the right length.
So yes, I'd like to translate "Game" and post it on ff net and probably on one or two other websites on the Internet. I will write that you're the author and I'm just translating it, of course. And I'll add links to the original.
How do you feel about that? You can write me back here or on ff net (NadiaG).


Author's Response: Hi again! I don't mind; It's such an old story, and I'm just glad people are still enjoying it. Send me a link when you can (easiest way is to message me through my tumblr)! It's so cool you're doing this! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by Esme The Last Match

11th October 2015:
Beautiful! Beautiful story!

So well done, and much better than the stuff I usually find on here.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoyMannor The Last Match

26th June 2015:
aww this fanfic was so cute and fluffy :)

loved the ending being sweet :)

Author's Response: Thank you! ^__^ It's definitely amongst the fluffiest of my fics!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MalfoyMannor Boys Will Be Boys

26th June 2015:
I love Jeremy the most out of all the guys :P
especially now since he wants to be with Hannah the most eccentric one out of all the gals

Author's Response: He's a sweetheart :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by MalfoyMannor Well, That was Unexpected

26th June 2015:
gosh I love this :) especially this chapter with the twins in it :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Glad you're liking it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by randomnickname Spare the Guilt, Spoil the Captain

20th June 2015:
"And his boggart will be me" => nice!

Author's Response: Teehee, I miss all of the cheesy comebacks I was able to stuff into this fic.

 Report Review

Review #9, by LucidDelight The Secret Has a Temper

20th December 2014:
I'm on a reading spree. You have brilliant fics and even better characters. I've already read this one over at ff quite recently, so I'll re-read it another time. But here's a thumbs up for this one anyways

Author's Response: Thank you! :) This was my first fic, a bit rough, very old; I'm glad someone's still enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #10, by larissa_allstar Intervention Convention

13th July 2014:
Okay so the rest of my comment (see chapter 17 first) didn't post >.< gr

Continuing on haha.

I loved the OC in this one. She clearly had a huge adoration for Quidditch and had a humorous attiude, making her narration a treat to read. Though she was fantastic, it was nice to see that she was stubborn and had trust issues. These flaws really did make her seem more realistic and easier to connect. Afterall, we're definitely not perfect as humans.

Reading from Oliver's POV was also enjoyable! I really think you stayed true to his original character, all while building on and fleshing out the Oliver we know from J.K. I really did enjoy how you didn't make him just this arrogant womanizer, and instead made him realistic with his feelings. I also loved Oliver's friendship with Jeremy.

Speaking of Jeremy, you wrote some killer side characters. They were all actually developed (unlike other fics where they're just static and there for the sole purpose of plot progression) and seeing their friendship with Rona was great c: I really do love seeing friendship in a fic, not just romance haha.

Though the romance in this one was too adorable not to love. Rona's and Oliver's shared love of Quidditch brought them together and it was fantastic. They did have their ups and downs though, however navigating their relationship was fun and I couldn't help but swoon during those kissing scenes lol [;

Overall I adored this one and need more! Off to the sequel I shall go haha.

Author's Response: Thank you! This is a super super old fic to me, but I'm glad that there are still readers that enjoy it. It was a launching point for my future writing, and carries a lot of themes I'd explore more later.

I had an issue with rom-coms where the blame was solely on one person, so I wanted to write one where both had clear faults, and some real relationship advice was doled out (communication! it works!). And I love side characters, even if the ones in this fic are largely cheering on the MCs for the duration of the story, I hoped to explore them more in the sequel (which has been on extended hiatus--sorry!).

Thank you so much for reading! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #11, by larissa_allstar The Last Match

13th July 2014:
Hey c: Read this one in a day and boy, what a treat. This is my first Oliver/OC fic and I simply adored it! I'll definitely be reading the sequel and will actually be trying to find more Oliver/OC fics, got any recommendations? (:

I loved all the fluffy moments in this one

Author's Response: Most Oliver/OCs I've found are incomplete sadly :( Or very very old. But 'Brains and Brawn' and 'Flavor of the Month' are complete :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Pbe The Last Match

24th March 2014:
Bluidy hell! I've never read such an amazing fic! The grammatical to no mistakes! And everything was tied up so
amazingly! ( I did get really angry when Rona apologised to
Roger, but yeah...) Anyway, the plot is amazing, the close-ups are
funny and cute and overall, I just love it! Will you marry me?

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the fic ^__^ Also you finally got the review count out of 666, hehe. I can't marry you unfortunately, but I can send you a picture of a ringpop, if you'd like.

 Report Review

Review #13, by Beth In Which Oliver is Sensitive

29th December 2013:
Just thought I should mention this: in Britain, if someone is quite handsome, it means they are kind of/slightly handsome ^.^

Author's Response: Ooh I didn't know that! I'll make a note to fix that, thanks!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Jimmy The Secret Has a Temper

9th August 2013:
Hey I'm not usually one to criticize but I've been reading "and capers ensue" and I think you are a brilliant writer but I can't get into the story like I already have with this one. Do what you want but I like your older writing better. I look forward to reading more of this

Author's Response: That's fine! My stories are pretty different and reach different audiences (And Capers Ensue and etc. etc. are complete opposite stories in theme, tone, and style). Game is probably the only story that's a straight-up rom com with a lot of girl bonding, and I miss writing that a lot too, but I'd like to get back to it one day!

 Report Review

Review #15, by willow1 The Last Match

4th June 2013:
the writing is SO FUNNY, and i love the idea of a ravenclaw strategist it is so perfect! i think roger should have been sold to the twins, i would have loved to see what they would do to him! it was weird for me to read because the whole time i was reading this i could only sympathize with rona because she is exactly like me! I say and do the same things she does exactly (I even have the same kind of friends!) but fortunately there is no oliver i know so im happy!
i wouldn't be suprized if you knew me and you were basing it off of me and you are alligator or ally cat of the alligator ellaphants,

Author's Response: Ha, that's always great to hear. Rona's a lot like me too, rather anti-social and stubborn, with expressions that do my face no favors c: I can't imagine what the twins would've done to Roger, but I'm sure he would've found some extra loud way to complain about it.

I'm not an alligator, alley cat, or elephant, but I am reputed to be quite the bad idea bear.

Thank you! ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFan Fortune Takes a Holiday

29th April 2013:
Not cool Roger, not cool. He just got rid of the reason that their team is even good. Great job Roger, great job. Way to go. I actually want to see how well he does without Rona.

I am in outrage at the moment!

Author's Response: There were people bringing out their pitchforks for this chapter 8D Me personally, I never blamed Roger too much; he's just tactless, silly boy.

 Report Review

Review #17, by AlexFan Chasing, Seeking, Keeping

28th April 2013:
I can relate to Edie totally. I've got a five-year-old brother who's just the most annoying person to ever exist. He's constantly getting into trouble and I'm constantly having to make sure he doesn't do anything wrong when I'm watching him.

My favourite part about this was definitely the part where it was talking about the party and how you had to care what people were saying. As mean as it may be for me to say this, I agree with that, a lot.

Just when I told myself that I would stop reading and go to bed after this chapter I read the ending. Now I have to keep reading or the curiosity is going to eat away at me!

Author's Response: Ouch, I don't have a brother (or even close male cousins, massively female family here) but I've watched enough movies to imagine what it must be like to have one. Plus I hang around a bunch of boys and they mature slowly, so I'm sure they're not much different than how they were a few years ago 8D

Waving the anti-social flag with pride! Sometimes people just ain't your thang.

c: eee hope you like the rest!

 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFan Convoluted is an Understatement

28th April 2013:
Well, Rona certainly knows how to tell a bloke that she likes him. I really can't talk though because I'd end up embarrassing myself if I made the same declaration.

Declaring your liking for someone: Ravenclaw-style.

Author's Response: She's plenty embarrassed too, don't worry 8D But having a bloke that looks Tom Hardy sort of eases the embarrassment. Just a tad.

 Report Review

Review #19, by AlexFan Boys Will Be Boys

28th April 2013:
Jeremy has now joined my list of favourite characters. My favourite part was when he broke up the fight peacefully and without yelling. It just seemed so very Ravenclaw-like that I just loved it. Plus the part where he embraces his insanity because he likes Hannah was pretty funny as well.

Author's Response: c: Jeremy's a babe, and thank ye for reminding me of how gracefully he handled this fight. Boys in groups are not the wisest.

 Report Review

Review #20, by AlexFan Well, That was Unexpected

27th April 2013:
Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh what's Oliver going to do! I must find out! Things are about to turn nasty or weird I can just tell.

I love how Edie's just there and stating the obvious "well, that was unexpected."

Author's Response: Hehehe someone has to say it~ Thanks for reviewing! c:

 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFan The Secret Has a Temper

27th April 2013:
Wow, I think Rona's even more obsessed than Oliver is when it comes to Quidditch. I can already picture her yelling her head off during the Quidditch match because people weren't following her plays (it's something I do quite often sadly).

Author's Response: Rona of all people would be the one to challenge Oliver at that title; she's the only one silly enough to covet the grand trophy of 'most obsessed with Quidditch' 8D

 Report Review

Review #22, by Penelope Inkwell Spare the Guilt, Spoil the Captain

1st April 2013:
Just read your last response to my previous review. Well, I feel silly for not figuring that out about the April Fool’s thing, though technically it wasn’t yet April 1st in my timezone. My brain was not yet prepared for pranks, so maybe I get a pass? : )

As for this chapter--oh, the misunderstandings! The arguments!
...I adore it.

And I love that Rona sticks up for herself. You go girl!

You’re writing style--dialogue, action, the way you show (or obscure) characters’ emotions--it all seems so effortless and crisp. You really have a gift.

Author's Response: YOU SHALL NOT -- ah, all right, you'll pass :D

Thank you so much ^__^ I edited this story a lot way back when, so even though it's old, it's got a lot of editing to make up for it. I learned so much writing this, and it shows up in my later stories.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Penelope Inkwell Happenstance Happens Entirely Too Often

1st April 2013:
Firstly, Oliver Wood-- *swoon*

And I love Rona’s romantic reluctance, and general stubbornness. All of their secrets and lies are written excellently--sometimes you’ll have told us the truth, and I’ll still find myself believing one of their fibs for a moment, before I figure it out.

Also, I LOVE how you worked in bits from the plot of Prisoner of Azkaban--when Oliver was angry at McGonnagal for not letting Harry have the Firebolt. Brilliant! It’s so interesting reading something that takes place during that Harry Potter time period from a completely different point of view. And really insightful, when you think about it--shows how, apart from the key players in the series, everyone’s lives mostly just went on as usual up until Book 5.

Well done! Loving it : D

P.S. Also, my roommate adores K-dramas, and I’ve watched a few of them when she’s had them on. I thought they were really quite good, and though I haven’t had more time to watch them, I was excited to see you mention it. Not that it’s relevant. Just a sort of fun fact.

Author's Response: I like to imagine everything in this fic as one big web, and everyone's caught in it, twitchy-legged and moaning for water :'D It was never supposed to be about twisty lies, but they sort of piled up naturally, which is exactly what happens in real life.

I didn't pay much attention to canon to be honest, but I tried to put a bit of the books in where I could - at least Quidditch side. There was a whole chapter devoted to Quidditch, after all, so I'd make the most of that.

I grew up on Asian dramas, so it's sort of ingrained into my life. The school-age rom-coms are so cuuute c: I love Coffee Prince, and Nodame Cantabile (Japanese).

 Report Review

Review #24, by Penelope Inkwell Well, That was Unexpected

1st April 2013:
Another great chapter. And wow, I really did not see that ending coming.

And, in continuance, I might be wrong--I had to puzzle them out--but I think you have some autocorrect issues again:

Each time it’s meant to say “eyes” it says “puppies”
-girl = bunny rabbit
-kiss = hug
-face = purse
-voice = underwear
-hamsters = lips
-"respect personal boundaries" = er...snogging? I’m not really sure what that one’s meant to be
-garden shed = I’m really not sure what that signified, either, actually

No one else in reviews seems to have noticed anything amiss? I don’t know if it wasn’t there before or if I’m just out of the loop on a prank, but I thought--if you were to want to edit it--it would make it easier to have a list than to have to comb through it yourself.

Still an excellent story! Just with some rather strange noun substitutions.

Author's Response: I responded to your other review too; bahaha, I wonder how much of the effect is changed with uh, respecting personal boundaries. The latest chapter of etc. has some rocking changes I put on the tumblr - "Civil bunny rabbits and frogs, apples of their mothers' puppies", oh dear that sentence.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Penelope Inkwell News Spreads Faster Than a Snitch

31st March 2013:
First of all, I absolutely love your work. I’ve been reading ‘Etc. Etc.’, and then I stumbled onto this. I can’t believe it’s your first fanfic! Your writing style is really topnotch. I do believe you’re the best fanfic writer I’ve stumbled across so far. Truly.

That said, I did want to let you know that there seem to be some strange word substitutions in this chapter, though someone has probably already mentioned it.

Like, every time the word is meant to be have “ass” in it, like class or embarrassed or passed, it turns into eyebrow: ‘cleyebrow’ or ‘embareyebrowed’, etc.

What I assume was meant to be ‘voice’ has been changed to ‘underwear’, which is particularly amusing at the passage, He lowered his underwear again. They were drawing an audience.”

And ‘face’ has been changed to ‘purse’.

It was a little distracting, but sort of fun to decode. Just letting you know!

Author's Response: Hey! Glad you enjoy it! I hope you get this response soon: It's April Fools at HPFF, so there are word replacements across the site :) It should clear up in a few days, so you might want to continue reading then.

Thank you so much for reading my stories!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>