Reading Reviews for Forget-Me-Not
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HollyStone73 Forget-Me-Not

17th July 2013:
This was soo sad, but also incredibly sweet. I love that Neville gave his mother the forget-me-nots and that Alice still shared it with Frank despite not really knowing who he was and why she was doing it. I think that was proof that their love endured in some way whether or not either of them remember it. I think throwing in the scene of them together at Hogwart's was the prefect way to end it off too as it put a ore significant meaning to the flowers. Great job on this one!!

Author's Response: Thanks Holly! I like to think their love endured too. I'm glad you liked this story, and thanks again for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarik Forget-Me-Not

25th October 2012:
Hello, thought I'd come by and read and review some of your work!

This is an amazing one-shot. I'm not particularly fond of writing romance either, but you've nailed it with this piece.

The St. Mungo's scene was very carefully written, with lots of lovely little details included, e.g. "crisp white sheets, starched pillowcases, shiny bedpans", and the bit about the shiny gum wrapper. I loved those little things! And another one of my favourite lines: "Quite frankly, Mr. Longbottom did not care what she said"

This line, standing by itself, is delightfully wry, and it just adds that edge, that spark of personality ("quite frankly!") to Mr. Longbottom's character. It's very subtle and nuanced. Your depiction of the Longbottoms as mentally and psychologically damaged by the Cruciatus curse is full of compassion, and it has a sort of calmness of tone which makes the whole story even more heartwrenching when you take into account the underlying tragedy and the fact that they'll probably never recover.

One thing: I'm assuming you're using a limited third person narrator (i.e. third person narration closely following the inner thoughts of the characters of Alice and Frank). There are a couple of moments where this was disrupted, especially in the line: "The man said something else, and gently prying the flowers from his mothers hand, brought them towards her face."

Not sure if you're aware of this, but you've shifted into Neville's POV suddenly with the reference of "his mother". Because Mrs L doesn't know that she's his mother. It's a little distracting. Also, the other line where Mr. L is referred to as the young man's "father". OK I hope I'm not making anything too confusing here.

Anyway, this was wonderful. And the last scene was especially sad because...well, we all know what will happen to the two. I love the gorgeous symbolism of the forget-me-not, and the sadness and irony of it.

This is a beautifully written piece, and I hope you do write more lovely oneshots like these~

Author's Response: It's taken me an embarrassingly long time to respond to this! Gah!

Anyway, thank you so much for your kind comments, and especially for pointing out that shift in POV. I completely didn't notice it until now, and you're absolutely right!

Thanks again for your thoughtful review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Bryarly Forget-Me-Not

29th July 2012:
I'm fairly sure you'll get sick of my reviews quite soon :)

I'm not really sure how I feel about this one, it's well written, and you've got the insanity thing down the way I think of it, although I guess I always thought the communication was more a thing of inability than not understanding, but I can live with that.

The love thing is something that I find interesting, Alice and Frank have always been a pairing I enjoyed reading because I thought of their love as something lasting beyond what their minds did, although I suppose there's no way to tell because they never had the opportunity to lose it, although that's quite a macabre way to look at it.

Still, I enjoyed reading it, and I think Forget-Me-Nots are beautiful flowers, and you still write excedingly well,

9/10

Bryarly :)

Author's Response: Bryarly, I promise I never, ever, in a bajillion years, get sick of reviews--especially written so thoughtfully by reviewers like you!

To address inability vs. not understanding, I think at the time I wrote this, I was trying to bridge a way for readers to relate to Frank and Alice while still understanding that they are insane. That might be why it looks less like an inability to form rational thoughts and more like Frank and Alice just don't understand. It was easier to show Frank and Alice having rational thoughts that don't make sense in our world than it was to jumble them up.

Thanks for another fantastic review, Bryarly!


 Report Review

Review #4, by AmeliaQ Forget-Me-Not

19th September 2011:
So good!! It made me cry);

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your comments Amelia! *hands tissues* Thanks for reading!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Voldy_needs_a_hug Forget-Me-Not

26th October 2009:
that was...deep...

very...emotional...

mad me cry =|

Author's Response: *gives hug*

Thanks for reviewing (and for crying--it means that I did my job right with this piece).


 Report Review

Review #6, by Moon Woman Forget-Me-Not

13th April 2009:
O.M.G! That was just amazing!

And i do think that Frank and Alice's love lasted.

Liz

Author's Response: Why thank you.

And it's nice that you think their love lasted, even though they're not (or at least, I don't think) aware of it. But then...is awareness necessary to love?

Thanks for the review Liz!


 Report Review

Review #7, by emmapotter Forget-Me-Not

6th March 2009:
I almost cried! That was so good! I can't believe you're not a romance writer! You're awesome! It's actually sad, and amazing the way you've connected up Neville bringing Alice blue flowers, the blue sky she was staring at below the maple tree and Frank's blue eyes! Really nice!
Can't wait to read more of your stuff!
10/10!!
~emma

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Ever since I found out that forget-me-nots are blue (I have actually never seen one before) I couldn't resist bringing out the blue in other places too.

Thank you for the kind review, emma!


 Report Review

Review #8, by If Time Fails Forget-Me-Not

2nd March 2009:
Ah, I loved this...it's kind of sad that they don't truly remember :"{

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I know it's sad, but it's a true fact of life... :(

 Report Review

Review #9, by lyrix82 Forget-Me-Not

25th October 2008:
Okay, That was sad! You had me nearly in tears during the first bit where Neville and his Grandma were visiting. Very interesting concept, very well done.Thanks for an excellent read.xx

Author's Response: Thank you for all your wonderful reviews! I'm so happy (and ashamed that I never got around to answering these earlier) that you liked my stories. This one is actually my new favorite one shot. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by amieharry_ginny Forget-Me-Not

25th October 2008:
OMG this is such a sad story. The way you expressed their feelings was heartbreaking. This story was so sad that it brought tears in my eyes. All your stories are actually sad but this was so special because i doubt anybody would have expressed Alice's and Frank's feelings while they were already in that "position" the shiny paper, the blob, the mush, the scent . ahhh so sad *sniffles*

You are an absolutely amazing writer, you writing is beautiful, your characterization is spot on, the way you express emotions in your fic is Perfect *huggles*

Lots and lots of hugs and kisses

~Amie

Author's Response: *blush* Aw thanks, Amie. I'm so glad you've enjoyed reading my stories (especially this one, because I don't think many people notice it).

In the whole whirlwind of college, your reviews have totally made my day, so again, another HUGE thank you!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Random Writer Forget-Me-Not

25th October 2008:
First off I have to say I love the way that you incorporated forget-me-nots into the story, it really fit in seamlessly. And I loved the ending of the story-the little flashback scene it was almost wistful and very well done. The last sentence especially is just perfect, I adore it.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Random Writer!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Psyche3 Forget-Me-Not

14th October 2008:
I am just floored by everything I've read by you today! This one especially, the depth and feeling that went into it was so evident, as was the depth and feeling that came out of me while reading it.

I was so, so frustrated in the first portion, just as I imagine Alice was! Always that nagging feeling of almost remembering, of being on the edge of knowing - and while each day is a routine, each day is also new and strange and not quite familiar. A smell, a face, a habit - there, but not.

Frank - oh, it was so sad - he just didn't care. Neville and Augusta were just peripheral bystanders, really.

But then the second part - my heart swelled with the two of them, with the way they were, with the affirmation that whatever came, they loved each other.

Very nicely done - I think I need to go cry in a corner for a while, now. ;) Thanks - again - for sharing!

Author's Response: Aw, oh no! I went from making youl augh to making you cry! I'm sorry, even though I'm absolutely flattered that you had such nice things to say about this.

Thanks - again- for leaving me such kind reviews!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login