Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for After the Horcrux
  
733 Reviews Found

Review #1, by leigia Unplanned

15th July 2017:
Liking the story but can't stand this chapter.

He's on a mission yet both Ron/Ginny treated him like crap. Ugh. They knew the truth yet believed the lie wholeheartedly to hurt him even though he's obviously injured. Who needs enemies with them around.

Author's Response: Yeah, I guess so they are bad friends but they had to sit around and watch Ginny suffer. She is also a friend.

 Report Review

Review #2, by leigia Classes and Homework

14th July 2017:
Am surprised that Hogwarts can't seem to accommodate the older students. Weird since there always seemed to be empty classrooms in the castle.

Author's Response: I suppose of students would want to switch the Slytherin house there would be room. There would be a difference between classrooms and dorms. It also helps with the plot.

 Report Review

Review #3, by leigia The Way of Family

14th July 2017:
Why is Ginny playing seeker? She preferred being chaser over seeker. It's weird to see her being competitive about it during the match.

Good for Ron/Hermione doing their thing.

Author's Response: When I plotted this story it was right after reading Deathly Hallows. I figured Ginny would make a better Seeker than a Chaser, because of her size.

 Report Review

Review #4, by leigia Ron and Hermione's big announcement

14th July 2017:
Enjoying the story.

This chapter is really weird the parents are desperately trying to control/exert their influences on the quartet on how to live their lives. Clearly they're more interested in 'do what I say than i what I did'.

Ginny's promise is good, but the parents' attitudes clearly show lack of faith. Considered this is the summer after the war, I'm surprised nobody have rebelled against the parents' old-fashioned prudish attitude.

Author's Response: Arthur and Molly are not that different than many parents. They are concerned about what everyone else will think of their children. I think they are concerned about Ginny being as eager as they were when they were that young. My experience with fun loving youth, has been many times they are the strictest parents, because they know what the kids are plotting behind their back.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Minerva The Wedding -for everyone else

19th April 2014:
This has been the best fan fiction that I have read so far! Thank you for keeping it so close to JK Rowling's original work. Definitely the best story I have read on this site so far. Amazing work!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, and I am glad you enjoyed it so much.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Doug james The Wedding -for everyone else

6th April 2014:
Just finished reading your whole novel and have greatly enjoyed it all. Generally very well written (minor irritation to continual use of words such as 'snogging' and 'kip' - no problem with using them but occasional use of 'kiss' or 'sleep or snooze' would probably work better). Sorry but that aside your action scenes were excellent, character interaction was good and overall a very gripping story. Making the french the villains was an interesting sub plot and perhaps with such a vicious and violent attack on muggles in France and then carrying this attack into diplomatic negotiations in London this storyline could have been pursued further as the deaths and loss of Harry's home and Kreacher were rather swept under the carpet. Very nice touch at the wedding to bring the deathstone back into play and allow some of Harry's questions to be finally answered. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review and I am glad you enjoyed it. I used the terms snogging and kip to make the story more British in language and terms. As I was writing this story I tried to bring in as much of the side stories as I could without distracting from Harry and Ginny's relationship.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #7, by budabobo The Wedding -for everyone else

28th December 2013:
Loved this story could not stop reading.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I am glad you enjoyed it so much.

 Report Review

Review #8, by FriendofMolly Ron and Hermione's big announcement

22nd September 2013:
Manwe,
Poor Molly. Her family is growing up and away from her. She's not ready for that. I wonder if She and Arthur are so protective with Ron and especially Ginny, because of their own early and rushed marriage. The interchange between Harry and Ginny was fantastically mature. I look toward what happened next.
FoM

Author's Response: They are just very old-fashioned people. There are proper ways for the children to act.

 Report Review

Review #9, by FriendofMolly I Didn't Mean That

21st September 2013:
Manwe,
The mistakes of Youth and being in love. She probably should have stayed. I'm curious, where was Kreacher? It's hard to believe that he would allow anyone, even Ginny, in and not at least greet her. Hm? There is something else bothering me. Why she asked Harry what she did? Is it possible that something happened in the last year at Hogwarts? I will go on.
FoM

Author's Response: He knew they were there the entire time, but he also knew that his master would like to see them.
Ginny was just angry that he would think that she done anything like that. More on the reasons why she became more offended in later chapters.


 Report Review

Review #10, by FriendofMolly July 1998 Part II

20th September 2013:
Manwe,
Absolutely stunning. This story has many twists and turns. I like watching the surprises pop up. Though I don't understand why you made Harry a bad cook. He certainly did his share of preparing meals when he lived at #4. Perhaps he didn't do much more than the basics.
Got to move to the next,
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! If the story didn't have so many twists than it would get rather boring to read.
Harry isn't as bad of a cook as it may seem. He just made a bad mistake. He fell asleep and let the food burn.


 Report Review

Review #11, by FriendofMolly July 1998 Part 1

20th September 2013:
Manwe,
I am shocked that it took this long for Hermione to acknowledge what Ginny knew instinctually. That the Horcrux suppressed Harry's magical core and abilities. Now that he is free of it, his Magic will only get stronger. I'm glad you had Harry chat with George the way he did. It's called the reality of Tough Love. Now that George has heard that Fred has not really left him, now he'll pluck up the courage to continue the laughter and joy. I do hope the vigilantes that Harry stopped are the only ones. If not perhaps Andromeda and Teddy should stay at Grimmauld Place for a while. The Thug who crucioed
Teddy should get the longest sentence. How would that be possible, since use of the Unforgivables is Life in Azkaban. I must go on.
FoM

Author's Response: The Ministry could place him in a cell with Greyback. That would make the stay rather unpleasant.
My take on George is a person whose grief has created almost a dark side to him. His humor gets a little more vicious, but he still cares even though he will always be angry at Fred being taken away from him.


 Report Review

Review #12, by FriendofMolly The Man-Who-Loves-Me

20th September 2013:
Manwe,
It's good to watch the characters look back and review just what they have gone through. Ginny having to put up with the "Tart Brigade", is unfair, after all she's been through. But she does triumph as we all know she and Harry, marry and build a beautiful life together.
I must continue,
FoM

Author's Response: I had all these things I wanted to put into the story from Ginny's POV, and the only way I could do that was through a chapter like this.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #13, by FriendofMolly I Can't Believe You Two

19th September 2013:
Manwe,
After the victory in the Goblin City, and the healing of Harry, it's time for some fun. And you really know how to add the humour. Everyone cannot stand to think of their parents still fooling around. Anyone reading the books can tell that Molly and Arthur are as in love now as they were when they first got together. I have to continue. I don't want to miss out on one of Molly's blowups. Hee hee hee.
FoM

Author's Response: It is interesting human trait that many people will see an older couple holding hands and showing affection in public and think it is wonderful unless it is their parents.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #14, by FriendofMolly Goblin City

19th September 2013:
Manwe,
Wow!!! Your description of the take down of the Goblins and their city, was awesome. Your ability to write and bring your readers right into, the action, is unique and so incredibly real. I could almost feel the shattering of the shield. Now I must continue, as my memory of what happens next is a bit foggy.
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you! I always enjoy hearing that readers could almost feel the action of the story.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMolly Finding the Grangers

18th September 2013:
Manwe,
Now, it's coming back. I'm just going to say well done and the chills are running my spine. So I must continue on.
FoM

Author's Response: Glad you are enjoying it so much.

 Report Review

Review #16, by FriendofMolly Off to Australia

18th September 2013:
Manwe,
I'm not so fussed about your timeline. Something tells me, it will resolve itself.
Also Harry is the first one to ask that nothing special should be done for his birthday. Yet I'm sure he'll want to go all out for Ginny's as it is her "coming of age" birthday. Now for the chapter it was really good. I, too, am a bit suspicious of the attention they were getting. I'm sure they find it's a Magical Hotel. I think Kingsley might have had a hand in it. I can't wait to see what happens next. It's been so long since I first read this.
FoM

Author's Response: I mentioned the timeline, because it is different from canon. Very intuitive about the hotel.

 Report Review

Review #17, by FriendofMolly The Wizengamot and Diagon Alley

17th September 2013:
Manwe,
Another good solid chapter. It's fascinating to see how each author treats the information on the Horcruxes. I'm glad it was the Geezergamot who were the audience, otherwise the knowledge could lead another would be Dip Lord to try it. I am enjoying your account immensely.
FoM

Author's Response: You had mentioned that you will go an read the sequels after finishing this story. I covered why the Wizengamot would be safe for Harry to tell the information to in the story "Forgotten"

 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMolly A New Day

17th September 2013:
Manwe,
It's been a while since I read this. I can't believe I didn't leave a review for this chapter. I enjoyed it thoroughly. I see you have added some sequels. So after I finish this I will indeed read those. Outstanding.
FoM

Author's Response: Welcome back FoM, I appreciate that you want to reread my story.
M.V.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Ursula The Taming of Zabini

4th August 2013:
I really had high hopes when i started reading this story. You have a very good style of writing. I expected to read it through quickly because I loved the first chapters. However halfway this chapter I decided to stop reading. You have a great concept but I don't like it if it's so out of character. You seem to hate the Weasleys because you turned them all into grumpy gits. Hermione and Ron don't even seem to be friends with Harry anymore and the fact that everyone is blaming Harry for breaking up with Ginny doesn't seem right at all. Especially Hagrid. The way he talks to Harry just seems off, Hagrid would never speak to him like that

Author's Response: I am writing this response for the possibility that you understand my point of view on this subject. There have been many references to the Weasleys caring for Harry. However, he is dating their daughter and they will always take her side. Hagrid cares for Harry, but he also likes Ginny just as much. As a friend of both he doesn't want anything to come between them.
Finally, if you are so upset by the conflict at this point, then maybe you should stop, because it only gets worse before it gets better.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Sterling H The Wedding -for everyone else

28th June 2013:
This should be published!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. It will need some grammar corrections and Jo would have a lot of objections.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Pip The Wedding -for everyone else

12th June 2013:
Enjoyed the book. The story was great and characterization s spot on. However, please get an editor to keep your tense consistent. Unbelievably annoying and almost had me stopping when I really wanted to enjoy it.

Author's Response: thank you!

 Report Review

Review #22, by priyam The Wizengamot and Diagon Alley

10th May 2013:
I like this story very much. but u could have brought up more about the grief that fred, lupin and tonks's death has caused them.. nevertheless it's a great story.

Author's Response: Everyone grieves differently. This has also been looked at from Harry's POV. Other people's grief may not be in his "field of vision". They are not totally over it, as each must face their own demons and triggers.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Dani The Wedding -for everyone else

10th March 2013:
omg I love this story xxx you did a really good job xx

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #24, by atty_jannie The Wedding -for everyone else

14th June 2012:
This story is bloody brilliant :)))
seriously, whenever harry and ginny has problems, i also get a tight feeling in my stomach. the story is captivatingly good.

Author's Response: Thank you! glad you enjoyed it so.

 Report Review

Review #25, by Texasboy07 The Wedding -for everyone else

11th May 2012:
Just finished the story and FANTASTIC use of cannon with your own twist,LOVED IT!!!great job

Author's Response: Thank you for the review and I am glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>