Reading Reviews for Calliope's Guide To Hogwarts
  
47 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Sarah Friends, Enemies and Frenemies

19th March 2011:
Before I say anything else, I really love your story. I believe that it has a great background and promising plot, but I also think you are trying too hard.
Some of the paragraphs seem forced with extensive grammar and vocab, and only in these spots does it seem like your characters are not speaking in their own voices. I don't really expect many teenagers to say 'visage' or other words that are not normally used in everyday conversation.
Which makes me think that you are trying too hard to make your story artistic. The spots in which you don't spend such effort, I actually like your story more. It seems more natural and flowing in these spots.
If I say anything else, I will say that you should read your chapter aloud. Everything that I find wrong with your story is minuscule to everything I like, but there are a few grammar mistakes that I think you need to take care of.
Otherwise, your story is very real, and very natural.

 Report Review

Review #2, by beckyducky The Truth About Christina and Oliver

13th March 2011:
I love your take on the oliver/oc pairing. I am especially happy that you're not excluding harry dearest. :D Thanks for writing this!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by S2rawanammouriS2 Mistakes Shape Us

23rd November 2010:
Ahhh!! I just found this story last night, and it's amazing!! I just finished it all and I can't wait for the next update, although I'm not sure that's coming anytime soon seeing as you haven't updated since MARCH!! Ughh, well I hope you update soon, and I hope the next chap is just as brilliant as this one! By the way, the way you depict Oliver is totally hott, as opposed to the guy that plays him in the movies. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ashley Mistakes Shape Us

9th June 2010:
sorry for not reviewing this story before, i thought it was time to do it now :) I really like this story! its well written and you make som valuable points in it about people and relationships.

Anyway, Oliver was a ass, Roger was a jackass, now I hope that Oliver admits that he's in love with her and that they can hock-up ;) you did some hot moments, at the quidditch dance and in the common room (before they fought, that is) :)

hope you update soon :)
Love,
Ash

 Report Review

Review #5, by miss_aurora Mistakes Shape Us

19th March 2010:
I'm totally speechless about this chapter as there're so many things i want to write in this box but as I'm lacking time, I'm afraid I'll only be able to leave a short comment. When I thought that I would be happy with the breakup, well it's not really that happy for me, in fact I feel rather disappointed, not with the story but with the way Roger act. It's just totally, idk, irritating. Too hypocrite. Phew, I just glad that it's over.

In any case, thank you for the wonderful update! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Akiko44 Myth Versus Reality

29th December 2009:
Well I feel it is quite a scandal that there are only three other reviews for this chapter. I just spent the last four hours reading chapter one to chapter eight. This always remains to be my least favorite part, coming to the end of an exceptionally enjoyable story and reading the last available chapter when that chapter is not the epilogue. Oh, dreary day. But anywho, on with the praise, if not to make your day better then perhaps to bring about the surfacing of another chapter for me to gobble up.

I'll admit, the first chapter moved a little slow, but it was still enjoyable. The chemistry between Oliver and Chrissie is almost unbearable to read because sometimes things are just utterly hilarious. (As testament to the fact that I'm reviewing, which I sometimes don't do, but niftily enough I no longer have to sign in to review, oh yay. ) I love stories like this, but yet i hate them as well; I love when they get together but then they fall apart and then we have to wait for them to get back together.

The structure is very easy going and fun to follow, and I adore all your characters; but Karin I just can't figure out.

HOW DARE ROGER DAVIES, THE BLASTED MAN WHORE!!! I'm very excited to see how exactly Chrissie reacts, how wood reacts, and how they interact from this point on. Personally I'd like to see Wood kick Davies ass all over the place during the party when the truth has come to light; in a funny sort of way of showing some compassion and allowing Chrissie to regain some dignity I suppose.

OH! Another thing I'm completely taken with is the addition of music to the chapters, more than a few of those songs I simply adore =)

I fear I've spent more time rambling than reviewing, but as it were, do you need a beta reader *wink wink* ?

Random I know, forgive me.

There are a few spelling or grammatical errors I noticed when reading, but not so many that I was pulling my hair out; just the small ones like 'on' where 'of' belongs or 'and' missing the 'd' because your finger probably missed the key.

I loved this story, it's spunky and a great read; I thought then date where Davies showed her parts of the castle she never knew about was a really inventive idea for a date.

Cheers.

 Report Review

Review #7, by the midnight avenger The Truth About Christina and Oliver

8th December 2009:
awesomeness! I'm an Oliver fangirl, so obviously I really liked it. the ending was my favourite part, although Tess is definetly another good part of the story. 7C, that sounds interesting. great job, I can't wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Lol, I'm an Oliver girl too! I got so upset when they took the Oliver avatars of the hfpp forums.
Tess is really in her own world and I love the girl to bits for that reason.
I'm glad you really liked the first chapter and thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Caoimhe Myth Versus Reality

6th December 2009:
Loved it! Can't wait for more! I want to see more between Wood and Chrissie. They need more communication, please! :)

Author's Response: Lol Wood and Chrissie are still there, and they'll have a slightly larger role together in the next chapter, but I'm afraid she's gotta move on from Roger first.
If Chrissie and Wood actually communicated, there would be no story and nothing for me to write about. Give them time, they're gonne be doing a HUGE amount of communicating in the chapter after the next!
I think you might like it! :-)
Thanks for the review Caoimhe.
P.S. Irish?


 Report Review

Review #9, by miss_aurora Myth Versus Reality

6th December 2009:
Oh my, I finally see an update, a long one as well (though I think the previous chapter was even much longer for it was divided into two parts). Here I am quite satisfied with Oliver's jealousy (or so I had hoped), while Roger is actually right beside Chrissie. Oh my, that's lovely.

I love Jackie, especially about her thoughtful opinion and concern about Crissie. Where had Roger disappeared? Well, I just hope that he didn't do what I'm thinking he was at the moment.

Speaking about Troy reminds me of my last visit to Turkey a few months ago, and indeed, there are myths which truth are questionable, yet they are still important. Like before, I'm a fan of Calliope's articles :D

The scene I love the most in this chapter is when Chrissie ran into Wood at the common room late at night. It's indescribeable, but it was somewhat heart-wrenching. I really couldn't understand why, but that's just how I feel.

The truth hurts, and it doesn't help when you witnessed your boyfriend in the middle of snogging session with another girl, as it simply hurts even more. Phew, bad memory... :(

Thank you for the update anyway, and I apologize if this review sounds so random (since I was distracted and such).

Author's Response: Hey Miss Aurora. Thanks so much for your long review, I really appreciate it.
Jackie is a really underused character in my opinion. I keep forgetting how much I love her. Because she isn't the most overt of the girls, she often gets forgotten, but I've brought her more to the forefront for the next chapter. But I'll try for her sake, to remember to use her more often.

Turkey is amazing, isn't it? I saw the site of Troy (presumed, though we'll never get definitive proof) when I was 13 and I loved it. I also studied Classics in college so I could go on about myths for days! :-p

You know your favourite scene was never meant to be in the chapter. I just started writing it one night while listening to the song and I loved it so much, I couldn't take it out.

Yeah the truth does hurt, and Chrissie had to realise first-hand how wrong she had been about everything. In the next chapter she's gonna have to learn to change her outlook and it's gonna be hard for her.
So lastly, thanks so much for your very detailed review. They are my favourite!!!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Amulya_HPfan Myth Versus Reality

5th December 2009:
I liked it, I really did! It was almost like a mini-story in itself, because I felt like a lothappened. Also, the last line-it was perfect. It summed everything up, which is quite hard to do.

Author's Response: Why thank you so much!
Lol the last line was written something like a year ago, I kid you not. I was a little worried that the story had changed so much in the last year, that I couldn't end the chapter like I had originally planned.
That's kinda what I thought when I first began writing this story, each chapter was a story in itself. I think I just watch too much television for my own good! :-)
Again thank you so much for your review!!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by marieluz The Idiosyncrasies of Our Educational Years

30th November 2009:
Woah. Idiosyncrasies is a big word.

Good job! I really like this story!

P.S. This is my 2,000nth review! Ah!

Author's Response: Lol I actually found it in my Word thesaurus and had to use it at the time! :-)

Thank you, I'm glad you really like. I really like writing it! lol

Wow, 2,000 reviews is majorly impressive! Kudos to you!
I think you should get a big Congratulations for that one. I doubt I would ever be that high lol


 Report Review

Review #12, by marieluz The Truth About Christina and Oliver

30th November 2009:
Ooh. I like an arrogant Oliver. Good job!

Author's Response: Arrogant Oliver is fun! :-)

Cocky Oliver is even more fun!

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Whisperer Has The Whole School Gone Boy Crazy? (part 2)

19th September 2009:
Yay! I can't wait for the next chapter :D Great job by the way!

 Report Review

Review #14, by miss_aurora Has The Whole School Gone Boy Crazy? (part 2)

11th September 2009:
Wood and Davies...
Sorry, I was rather biased about reading their love rivalry any further :p

I personally love how Crissie's mind works, which was displayed further on her columns. And Oliver's attitude is too complicating. I mean, after all the teasing and cheating and such, he just dumped her or something along the line, yet was still jealous. Uh well, the reason is understandable, still...

Anyway, thanks for the update! :D

Author's Response: Lol Oliver is confusing, but he never cheated on her. He did dump her, but I always found boys at that age way too idiotic to really realise what they were doing. :p
I think Oliver's realising very fast that you don't realise what you had before it's gone. The poor boy!
Thanks for your review and it's gonna get more interesting in the next chapter with the whole Wood and Davies :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by Princess Maiden Has The Whole School Gone Boy Crazy? (part 2)

7th September 2009:
Yay 2 updates. I was following this story on fanfiction but I saw you updated here and I've been waiting for you for like ages. I love how you write, how you manage to integrate different things in (I can never do that). Also Pride and Prejudice is also one of my favourite books too!

Anyway hope to see another update soon!

x

Princess Maiden

Author's Response: I'm sorry you've been waiting for ages, but I'm back, somewhat. :D
Lol I love the way people have realised the importance of Pride and Prejudice to me. It really is my favourite book.
I'll be back soon enough with another chapter and thanks for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #16, by Lucky Has The Whole School Gone Boy Crazy? (part 2)

6th September 2009:
I really love the story. I hope to read more soon!

Author's Response: Lol thanks! I promise it won't take me eight months to update again! :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Caoimhe Has The Whole School Gone Boy Crazy? (part 2)

5th September 2009:
Ah, I like how you're throwing Pride and Prejudice in there! LOVE that book! Please write more soon!

Author's Response: It is an amazing book lol! :D
I'll be back with more and it won't take eight months this time.
Thanks for the review! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Naty Has The Whole School Gone Boy Crazy? (part 2)

4th September 2009:
Sque you have no idea how much I love this story. That scene in the fifth chapter with Chrissie and Wood ( lol somehow that sounds a lot better than chrissie and Oliver) was so hot! And then there was me thinking 'Omg how will I survive without an update?!'. And then you did update :D. Chapters were well awesome, although as a reader you KNOW roger is up to no good, he' still so
charming in your story! Can't wait for the next update :D

Nat

Author's Response: Lol thanks for that review! :D
I'm really starting to feel sorry for Roger, as no-one seems to want to trust the guy. He is a good enough guy! Lol I really think Chrissie's starting to develop a type; charming boys! :D
Update will be up soon enough!
Agrolass


 Report Review

Review #19, by giantsquidlover Are Secrets The Best Policy?

5th August 2009:
Uk I can't believe Oliver! So hurtful. I hope they work it out. Please please write more soon!!

Author's Response: Yeah, he's being a real teenage boy there, hurting girls' feelings! lol
Thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by giantsquidlover A Public, Personal and Gendered Obsession With Quidditch

5th August 2009:
ooh i really like it so far! Love the part at the party with oliver and chrissie. i also like how you combine parts of the book in with your own story.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Dancing_by_Magic Are Secrets The Best Policy?

28th July 2009:
I really hope that you haven't abandoned this story!!! It's fabulous!

 Report Review

Review #22, by RonNiffler Friends, Enemies and Frenemies

17th June 2009:
Great chapter can't wait to read more!

 Report Review

Review #23, by MidwinterMasque Are Secrets The Best Policy?

26th March 2009:
AAH!

More, I want mooore!!
Why did you have to stop now, of all places? Update now, or face my wrath.

xx

ps, brilliant story, in case you hadn't gathered that from my response.

 Report Review

Review #24, by black seclusion The Truth About Christina and Oliver

11th March 2009:
I love the beginning! It's very hilarious yet completely relatable.

 Report Review

Review #25, by EW4eva Are Secrets The Best Policy?

28th February 2009:
Update please! Though I completely understand about the busy thing. Its my first year in college and I've barely had time to breath this semester let alone update my own stories!! But do try to update as soon as you can! Thanks for the great story!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>