Reading Reviews for Requiem for the Nameless
  
86 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CoLorful DreaM July 9th, 1976

16th September 2011:
8 of 15.

Wow, this was really good. It was tense, full of emotion and... keeping emotions inside. Although Regulus was the one who wanted to look like stone man, both brothers had their part in the separation, here talking about the past separation, not the simple moving out of Sirius.

You really make me understand Regulus and his judgement which is nothing but complex and really interesting to follow. Really good defined characterization!


Ramona

Author's Response: Your reviews have been so nice. I feel like a broken record, but THANK YOU. It means a lot that you've decided to reward me with reviews and that you're enjoying what you're reading. Hugs!

 Report Review

Review #2, by CoLorful DreaM June 7th, 1975

16th September 2011:
7 of 15.

Hm... I didn't really take in account the Slytherin-Gryffindor rivalty, as my head was stuck to another arguement that was, though, not mentioned in here. Lily was a muggle born. Wouldn't it be something not so good, taking in count Regulus' education to even talk to a mudblood, Gryffindor or not?

Well, on the overall, that was my only complaint. I really enjoyed the chapter. It was realistic and really interesting. I especially enjoyed Regulus passing thought on how James was taking his place as Sirius' brother.

Ramona

Author's Response: Regulus doesn't know Lily, so he doesn't know she's a Muggleborn just yet. When he finds out, he won't be nearly as nice (but that's the only spoiler I'm giving you). ;)

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #3, by CoLorful DreaM August 20th, 1974

13th September 2011:
6 of 15.

Really well written and believable. Sirius seems really in character - proud Gryffindor, constantly causing his parents 'problems'. I really like the way you portrayed Regulus. Although with such mercy for unimportant creatures like house elves, he just trusts in the family's beliefs. That's how I always imagined him.
Sirius' comment “Clearly neither of you could, seeing as you both married in the family.” was really well put! That was just my thought as reading his parents' arguements.

Ramona

Author's Response: Yeah, Regulus is a really interesting one, certainly not black and white. I put those details in there hoping to make him into a really dynamic character. Sirius, too! The Black brothers are two of my absolute favorite characters. They both made really important contributions to the war against Voldemort, though they were technically on opposite sides.

Anyway, thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by fred is dead October 23rd, 1977

27th February 2010:
This was probably the most gripping chapter yet. Your descriptions are so vivid and the raw emotion felt by Regulus radiates off your writing. You are a true talent :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! That means a lot.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Tinkerbell01 July 9th, 1976

19th February 2010:
Gina! My loffly sister! ;)

I absolutely love this chapter. When Sirius was saying his goodbye, it's almost like Regulus wanted him to stay. Even though they know their life they has as a Black, it's like some part of him wanted his little brother. Same goes with his mother. It's sort of like a Cinderella story, but backwards. Wonderful work, once again, love! ♥

Author's Response: ALICIA! :)

Thank you so much, hun! I'm so glad you liked this chapter. It was a very emotional chapter, clearly, and it took a lot out of me to write. But to hear your reaction to is just... priceless.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Nevaline Caroline October 23rd, 1977

12th February 2010:
Dear Unwritten curse
I know it took very long for me to review but I've been under lots of pressure but I guess I thought “better late than never”.
Well wow. I'm wordless. I really liked it and this is the second story so far where I can't find any faults.
I was happy to see that you didn't make him look evil but that you didn't make him too good. I liked the fact that he got acquainted with Lily and that he felt remorse in the end. I also liked the fact that Sirius didn't hate him.
The flow was really good I think and so was the characterization but that's just me.
I was overjoyed to find a fanfic with Regulus.
That's all. Oh. And keep writing.
NC

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! :) I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it. I definitely tried to make Regulus more gray than black and white, if you know what I mean. We all know he's got an 'evil' side, seeing as he was a Death Eater, but I want to show his more human side. Glad to see you got that out of my writing thus far!

Thanks again! I really appreciate the time you took to read and review! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jellyman August 20th, 1974

22nd January 2010:
Hey Gina! I'm here for the TGS Review Exchange but I'm not going to lie and say I haven't wanted to read this for ages :P

This was a fabulous premise! Love, love, love it. You've captured a broken family very well, I just adore it. I loved the metaphor type thing when Regulus stabbed the floorboards - I'm willing to believe it was him late in life, balancing two lives.

My only slight bit of critique for this chapter would have been the setting - I just can't see "The Most Noble House Of Black" in such disrepair while Orion and Walburga were still living there. They're quite wealthy, nothing at all like Gaunts who lost their wealth so I just don't think peeling wallpaper and spiders would have been an issue. However, that is just my opinion and really only came from like one line of description. Something to think about anyway ^_^

I might not get all the reviews completed by the 22nd but rest assured, I'll get to them either today or tomorrow :)

Brilliant start!
10/10
xx

Author's Response: Georgia!! :)

Thanks so much for the review, darling! I'm so glad you enjoyed this first chapter!

Ah, yes. I completely see what you're saying. I somehow incorporated the state of Grimmauld Place as it is in the books into my interpretation of the past. I'll definitely go back and edit that.

Thank you so much! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Rose_Weasley123 August 20th, 1974

13th January 2010:
Hey Gina! Here with your requested review from TGS :D. I've been meaning to read something of yours for ages (except for Draw, O Coward- read that and it was amazing), so I'm really glad you requested this. First I’ll comment on the things you wanted me to focus on ^^.

Characterisation- I can’t say much about this really, because it’s a prologue, but I think you’ve done really well with this so far. Regulus is a very underwritten character In fan fiction, and out of the ones I’ve read I think you’ve done it best. You’ve really captured how I always envision his character. I love the little references you included to canon, such as his kindness to Kreacher and the fact that joining the Death eaters appeals to him. He contrasted very nicely with Sirius, and you can already see them starting on the paths they are eventually going to take. Sirius was done really well, I thought. His argument with his parents was just right, and you got his mannerisms and actions down really well. The Black family seemed perfectly in canon, and very interesting canon.

Your characterisation really is excellent, especially for just one chapter. All the characters are well defined, and they leap off the page as real people. They really are excellent, and to me the characters are what make a story. I think my favourite characters so far to read are the parents- they’re deliciously nasty and pure-blooded.

Flow- I don’t know why you’d worry about this ^^. It’s perfect, really. Nothing felt rushed, and each section melted perfectly in to the other one. I think you did really well, actually. The pacing was perfect as well ;).

Description- I’ve always loved your description, and this chapter was no let down. You’ve found just the right balance between dialogue and description. It’s so easy to go overboard or just have dialogue, but it was perfectly fine. I spotted one or two lines where you could have showed more than tell, but that was very minor.

Dialogue- The dialogue felt naturalistic; I could imagine it being spoken in real life. It even provided a little humour, which lightened up the mood ever so slightly. I don’t know if that’s what you wanted, but for me it was a good thing. Sirius’s lines were really funny in some places ^^. I love the ways he highlighted what was wrong with pureblood mania. Anyway, the point is I really enjoyed it.

Plot- As I said before, stories about Regulus are really underwritten, so kudos for originality. Also, this was a really interesting plot so far ^^. I know I can’t say much after reading a prologue, but I really enjoyed it, and it looks like it will turn in to an excellent read.

Overall- This was really good (I’m not surprised, really ^^), and it was a lovely thing to read. You introduced the characters really well, and set up an interesting plot for the rest of the story. I really want to read more, and I hope you come and rerequest! ^^

-Becca :D

Author's Response: BECCA!

So sorry this took so long to reply to. I'm completely floored by everything you've said. And, well, thank you. Thank you for taking the time to get so in depth and to give me feedback on so many aspects of this chapter.

I'm thrilled to hear that the characters felt real to you. I think that is my biggest worry when writing, so to hear your praise in that aspect is wonderful.

Yes, I was hoping Sirius's dialogue would lighten it up a bit. The Black family is quite dark, but I see Sirius as this youthful, vibrant soul and I wanted to show that through subtle humor. Glad you picked up on that.

Again, thank you. You're the best! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by sverige October 23rd, 1977

7th January 2010:
Aww sorry, I know I've been slacking but I'm back :)

But holy cow I was practically panicking WITH him! It's genius, hurtling the reader through so much sudden horror without hardly any time to grasp our minds around it ourselves, and then giving us a chance, with Regulus, to reflect on what were only moments. I feel like I, too, understand what it's like to be a death eater.
But I'm curious; why kill a family who, according to Regulus, was not muggleborn? Was he wrong?
And also, freakin GENIUS with the quote again! His whole "I feel like two people," it's him and the monster he's becoming. And that gives all the more emphasis on the line "And he had done nothing to stop them." He wasn't thinking 'why am i being so cowardly not to do what I'm supposed to?' No. It's his good side, the 'non-monster.' The hope left in him.

AAHHH you are amazing! This is why I'm still up at 3:45am though I have to wake up at 7:30 lol

Author's Response: Oh no, he was right. They weren't Muggleborn.

This is where the disillusionment starts to occur. Regulus has witnessed an entirely unecessary murder. I'll let your mind wander off and ponder why they were murdered. Perhaps they were vocal about their disgust of the Death Eaters. Perhaps they were Order members. Perhaps they simply knew too much. Either way, they were not Muggleborn, and did not, under Regulus's notion of the Death Eater's duties, deserve to be killed.

And now begins the regret. And the second-guessing. And the beginning of Regulus turning against Voldy-pants. :P

Wow, you got it! The whole 'second-self' bit was literally Regulus a bit tipsy, but figuratively him becoming two people. On one hand, there is the boy raised by pureblood parents, wanting to be the perfect son, to hate muggles, to want them eliminated because it's what he's told to believe. On the other hand, there is Regulus the independent boy who is beginning to understand himself and what he wants - to be free from obligation and judgment.

Wow, I ramble.

Thanks for another great review, Eva. :) I will allow you to go to sleep instead of going directly to the piano to work on your song. That you can do another day. Haha.


 Report Review

Review #10, by sverige April 4th, 1977

7th January 2010:
I think this chapter, length and all, is the perfect puzzle piece at this point in the story. I loved it! It's the first time I've read it, but it was actually quite emotional. I almost wanted to cry, to be honest! And that line when you said that a whole lifetime had passed between them and so they perceived each other as complete strangers, is brilliant and strong! And when Sirius pushed himself between the two, that's actually one of the most dramatic parts in the story so far, I think. Keep it up :)

Author's Response: I initially had Lily break the two of them apart (which she does eventually) and Sirius just stand there idly... but a friend suggested I switch it around, and I couldn't resist. So that part is an edit, but I'm super glad you enjoyed it.

Wow, I'm tired. :| I don't know what else to say except thank you for the review, and I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter!

*falls asleep at keyboard* (I suggest you do the same, considering you have stuff to do tomorrow, my friend.)


 Report Review

Review #11, by sverige February 19th, 1977

7th January 2010:
btw, that quote you have at the beginning is P-E-R-F-E-C-T!
Also, I don't know what it is, but it's as if the journey from Hogwarts to go see Voldemort is missing something. Maybe, if I were in Regulus' shoes, I would be asking more questions, professionally of course to sound like I wasn't afraid, but about the process, if that was the way to go each time, who the man was, and if it was that easy, to simply ask to go and join and then go. Or, if it is more in Regulus' character that he doesn't want to ask so as to seem more brave, that the fear that is pulsing through him is emphasized more in his thoughts or feelings.
OOH! idea!.. possibly. When you say that he knows he is moments from coming face to face with his fate, maybe elaborate on that. On the hugeness of the importance of fate. On him contemplating leaving practically everything behind, (that which we realize as traces of hope) to devote to this.
OR... you know when he says that this wasn't what he was expecting, you could elaborate more on what he was expecting earlier.
These are just hunches as far as ideas, I know you appreciate anything. But tell me if there's something I've missed too! Other than that, this chapter especially at the end does give me goosebumps!

Author's Response: You already left me a review for this chapter, silly. :P

As to your comments - he did ask a question, and Evan ignored him. So he gave up. Plus, he's a pretty solitary guy, so he's more likely to keep quiet about things.

Also, I didn't want to make it melodramatic. Because the reality is, Regulus doesn't truly know what he's getting himself into. He's nervous about the unknown, not the Dark Lord. It's written in third person, not through his eyes, so you have to remember that while the 'narrator' knows that he's about to make the biggest mistake ever, Regulus doesn't.

So he's fearful, but not over-the-top OH MY GOODNESS DEATH. Haha.

I do need to work on my separation between narrator and character. I suck at it right now. And I know it's confusing. *smacks self*

But thanks for (another) review at this CRAZY hour of the morning. :D You're a pal!


 Report Review

Review #12, by collette michelle July 9th, 1976

24th December 2009:
First, I love the quote at the chapters beginning! I must have read it five times in a row, it will be saved to a post-it, I do reckon. So true it is, my many siblings are proof!

Now, your review! I am glad you like them; this must mean they make sense, which is always my worry! So Yay.

I have never read Sirius’s leaving from Regulus’s POV, a few times from Sirius’s, but never his brothers. And it just breaks my heart. I can’t imagine either of my older siblings being like ‘Oh, I’m going to up ad leave, for good!’ at that age. Poor Regulus, who still seems to have a bit of honest to him, he hasn’t yet been taken under the whole ‘Death Eater’ ploy. I mean come on, he wishes in a sense; he could run off with his brother and his reason for hating James, oh, so believable and heartbreaking all at the same time. It doesn’t surprise me that he would hate James for such a reason.

Then we have their quick little ‘confession’, oh how I wished it would have been more, loving. But I don’t think that would have been too realistic. More so, just me wanting it to be happy!

I really loved this chapter, beginning to end. I think you showed this ‘landmark’ moment very well, with what I could consider as an accurate portrayal. The beginning was somewhat kind-hearted, and the end was… it was in ‘true Black fashion’. Being in Regulus’s head throughout it all was very interesting. I liked seeing it that way. And now, how it feels he must prove himself to his parents, to be the ‘good son’ he has always been to them.

Things are about to get interesting, are they not?

I hope this review made sense, I did part of it before dinner and then the rest after. Ha! As always, do come back and request again! I every much enjoy this story.
xx.
Collette

Author's Response: COLLETTE.

You are entirely too sweet! I don't know what to say other than thank you. I can't tell you how much I appreciate you reading this so closely and giving me such in-depth reviews.

I'm glad that you were able to connect with this chapter and that it felt real to you. That's absolutely great for an author to hear, as I'm sure you well know. (:

Sorry this took so long to respond to, but THANK YOU for all you've said. It means a lot!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Ann Ravenwood August 20th, 1974

22nd December 2009:
"She joined the Death Eaters, you know. She's a part of something now, something respectable." I like the black humor concept of the DE as a social club.

I thought RAB was older than Sirius in the canon.

Aren't arguments fun to write? :)

Author's Response: Haha, yes. I agree. The Black family is rather ridiculous (in a comical way). :) But I love them oh-so much!

Nope, Regulus is actually about a year and a half younger than good ol' Sirius.

Oh, they are! Especially when they involve Sirius. He's my favorite character. *sighs* Regulus is up there, too, though.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by collette michelle June 7th, 1975

22nd December 2009:
I’m baaaccckk!
(isn’t that a line from some scary movie…)

Okay, back on topic, Review, yes!

I’ve always liked Regulus. Well… I’ve always liked the idea of him, we never did learn much of him other then the R.A.B things. I think to have been one of Voldemort’s supports, and to then go against him, is something soo. oh I don’t know. The thought behind it all must have been so deep to get to that point. I am starting to see that with your version of him, there is a complexness to him that really makes him a 3-D character (that is it right term, yes?) He has dimensions and depths. He understands what is going on around him, and in way, he too supports it, but not so much the blatant obviousness of it all.

I think you’re portrayal of Lily and James was great, as was the portrayal of Sirius. I loved the moment when Regulus admits that he should be the one in Potters place, fighting with his brother. Whatever context it was in, it still showed that complexity that has become of Regulus. That he doesn’t necessarily hate Sirius, though he disapproves of certain things.

I also loved that Regulus went and approached Lily after, even if it has just been for ‘winning’ against both James and his brother. There interaction was great. His defiance to being called ‘Sirius’s Brother’, as it should be, or as well as the fact that Lily knew his name! It’s believable (to me) that Lily would be willing to talk to him, in a sense isn’t he similar to the ‘tortured soul’ that is Snape, whom Lily was a friend too. I am interest to see if this chat comes into play later.

Just as last time, great chapter. I really love this story so far. Your portrayal of Regulus is great and I can’t wait to read more. Please do come back again, love! You have me hooked.

xx.
Collette

Author's Response: COLLETTE. :) :)

Once again, I don't know what to say! I don't deserve all of your praise! *hides*

I really worked hard to make the conversation between Lily and Regulus believable. They both had to have very real motives for talking, otherwise it would've felt awkward and forced. So I'm glad I accomplished that realistically. Thank you.

You're hooked? Wow! What a compliment. :) Thank you again. Your reviews are so inspiring. Really, I want to go straight back into writing, which is really saying something (since I have't updated in AGES).

THANK YOU.


 Report Review

Review #15, by collette michelle August 20th, 1974

19th December 2009:
Gina, love!

I am so glad you requested something, I just love all your stories. This is one I have been meaning to read, whenever I had the time, which seems like never.

Moving on! I don't think I have read much of something more from Regulus's POV, so this was a treat. With that said, I think you did a marvellous job with it, really. You were so able to capture the strong emotions of the black family felt by Sirius and his parents without having it be their POV. And I feel, for just the bit I have read, that you characterised them all well. I have never read something that focuses on the Black family, and I love what I have read so far. It was a great start to draw the reader in.

I am looking forward to reading more of this! Please do come back to my thread and request! I have much more free time during Holiday, so I can get lots of reading in! ;]

Looking forward to reading more!
xx.
Collette

Author's Response: Collette! :)

I am so, so sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this review! But I want you to know that I am incredibly grateful for your words. And all I can tell you is that I am so glad you enjoyed it, and that you flatter me too much! haha.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #16, by anon April 4th, 1977

29th November 2009:
omg i LOVE this story!

it's sooo good!

PLEASE update soon!!! 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by The Empress June 7th, 1975

17th October 2009:
I liked this segment as well. The way you described James and Lily's interaction was really good. And how Regulus felt about seeing his older brother with replacements was great. You really capture the heart of a matter.
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Hello again!

Yes. I really feel for Regulus. It's difficult being replaced in any sense, but it's made worse when it's within family.

Thank you for another great review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by The Empress August 20th, 1974

17th October 2009:
Gina dear, I'm finally here with your requested review. Sorry it took so long. Anwway...
I really like this. You really caught the emotional upheaval in the Black household and the toll it took on the brothers. Well done. I like the characterisation of Regulus, and Sirius. Great story!
~Shiloh

Author's Response: Hey there, Shiloh! :)

Thanks so much! I'm thrilled to hear you liked it. :D I stress so much over Regulus's characterization, but it seems to have paid off! Haha.

Once again, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #19, by Phoenix_Flames August 20th, 1974

6th October 2009:
Ahh, Gina! I'm finally around to reading this! YAY!

I like how you have this organized - almost like it's a journal or notebook of events. It's different. :)

I love Regulus stories. I do. I don't know what it is about them that always sets a spark in me. They are so unique to come acorss and it's even more rare when they are this astounding. The relationships inside the Black family are so intricate and deeply sewn. You portrayed them excellently. And I particularly like Kreacher. Regulus displays a good amount of kindness towards him. It's heart warming and nice to know that someone has a heart for him. :) And it's also nice to see that Regulus isn't as mean as the rest of his family. :D

And poor Sirius. Wow. Although that is exactly how I imagine everything. It's very sad.

Anyways. Great job. You are an amazing writer. You definitely deserve to be a prodigal. ;)

Great job! I honestly can't wait to read the next chapters!

Author's Response: And now I'm finally around to writing a response! Haha. :D

Oh my goodness, thank you! It means a lot to me that you thought I portrayed their relationships well. Because really, that is a big concern of mine. This story is about Regulus's life, yes, but it's also about the reasoning behind his change of heart and eventual death. And family was a HUGE part in that. Okay, enough of my rambling... Just, well, THANK YOU. ^.^

*huggles*


 Report Review

Review #20, by Tinkerbell01 June 7th, 1975

2nd October 2009:
Gina! This was simply wonderful! You write Lily's hatred towards James just awesomely. :P I love how you're having Lily befriend Regulus, even though he is a Slytherin. That shows what a truely kind person she is. It's amazing.

Gina, seriously. How can you write so amazingly! Ha. This is just an amazing chapter, I'm looking forward to the third! You know what to do! ;)


xx

Author's Response: I'm blushing, Alicia! :D

Lily is one of those characters that I don't really know, if that makes sense. So I'm really struggling with her characterization, because I can't seem to peg her down. But hearing praise from you makes me feel better!

Gah, thank you so much! *huggles*


 Report Review

Review #21, by Tinkerbell01 August 20th, 1974

1st October 2009:
GINA! This was absolutely amazing! Really! You don't hear many stories about Sirius' life growing up and yours is refreshing and new. Why haven't you told me about this story? lol

I'm afraid I don't have much to criticize, because it's just simply wonderful! Your descriptions on Regulus' thoughts and his parents/brother, are awesome!

Do request furthur chapters when you have the time? I'm very much looking forward to hearing more about life at the Blacks. ^_^


xx

Author's Response: ALICIAAA! :D

I've said it once and I'll say it again - you are such a sweetheart! Thank you so much for your kind words!

:)


 Report Review

Review #22, by Elesphyl August 20th, 1974

2nd September 2009:
Hey Gina! Kalina here, from INKSTAINS with your review! Anyways, I really liked this! I thought Regulus and Sirius were both very well characterized, and I loved how Regulus was torn between his brother and his parents. It was heartbreaking! How old is Regulus in this, out of curiosity?

The flow was very nice, and you portrayed the fighting scene - from the point of view of an outside observer - very, very nicely. I've added this to my favorites! One thing I did notice was that you have a tendency to "tell" and not to "show". For example:

He had done nothing wrong; why did he feel so terrible?

Because you mention guilt in the previous sentence, you don't need the question. Let the reader ask the question for themselves. It's just a small thing, but it improves your writing a great deal.

Fantastic job, my dear. ^_^
XOXO, Kalina

Author's Response: Hey Kalina! :)

Regulus is 13 in this particular chapter. I should probably mention that, at least in my AN. Anyway, I'm so glad you liked my characterizations! That is my favorite part of writing, but also the part that I freak out about the most. Haha.

Aw, you're adding this as a favorite!? *huggles* Thanks so much! I'm so flattered!

Thanks so much for pointing that sentence out to me. That's something I struggle with. I'll definitely work on that, because I do agree that it'll improve my writing. And that's the main goal of all authors, isn't it? :)

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #23, by TwilightPrincess April 4th, 1977

24th August 2009:
Annyeong haseyo! Ilia here from TGS with your (incredibly late) review!

Oh, goodness, I've missed this story! Thank you for forcing it upon me. Heaven knows I don't do anything fun for myself unless it's in my review thread =)

How did you know that fight scenes are my absolute FAVORITE to read? This one was just phenomenal. I'm obsessed with fight scenes because I love the prodding with words that almost always comes before anything big happens. I love the tension, the crowd of people that forms out of nowhere, the clever one-liners. And this scene had all of those things! Happy birthday to me! But seriously, I think this chapter was amazing because of it. I love that you had James being such a prick about Regulus's parents - I like that you had him say that Sirius wouldn't say anything about it so he'd ask Regulus. That's an interesting sort of cover for James to start a fight with good ol' Reg. Great idea.

I started getting excited at this line: Why don't you call me bloodtraitor one more time... see what happens. I just knew that something awesome was about to happen. You did a great job of showing the shift of power from James to Regulus. Before this line, James was clearly controlling the situation, and once he said this, it showed that Regulus was gaining control and James didn't like it. Awesome. I could gush for hours about how much I loved the lines exchanged between James and Regulus when their wands were at each other's throats. "You first." Like their pals going through the doorway at the same time. Brilliant! I love it.

The only bit I didn't quite care for was that Lily was the one to break them up. Isn't she tired of doing that? =P I think it would have been interesting to see Sirius in between the two of them. That would have presented a whole new challenge for him - does he want to protect his best friend or his brother? I don't mean to put words into your mouth; I'm just saying what I thought.

I love this story. LOVE! Keep it up ^_^

Ganbare! Tanoshinde ^_^

.:.Ilia.:.

Author's Response: Hey Ilia! I totally do not mind that this review was late, because it was absolutely amazing! Gosh, how I've missed your reviews. :)

Aw, thanks! I'm usually the one to flee from fight scenes (like the fourth year girls in this chapter), but I've seen them portrayed in fiction quite a bit. So I tried to pull in things that I've learned, and was hoping I'd pulled it off realistically. I'm SO glad that you think I have! :D Thanks!

Bah! Your analysis of the fight is amazing! You really do enjoy fight scenes, don't you? ;) I'm just ecstatic you liked mine!

Oh my gosh, you're totally right. Lily is always the one to break up fights. And I LOVE the idea of Sirius breaking it up. Seriously, as soon as you said that, I had a "Why didn't I think of that?" moment. As soon as I have the time, I am going to edit that into the scene. And I'll let you know when I do. Thank you so, so much for the advice!

Gah, thanks for the awesome review! I love hearing from you!


 Report Review

Review #24, by GubraithianFire April 4th, 1977

21st August 2009:
Hi Gina! I'm here with your Inkstains review ^_^ And I must tell you, I'm glad I finally got the chance to actually review your work, because I am a (regrettably silent) fan of yours. So here I am, making my presence known!

Regulus fics as a whole make me kind of... uneasy. He's such a complex character, and a lot of times you see him stuck in a generic love triangle with Sirius and an OC; I think that does not speak to what he really was like, or his potential in fanfic. So for one, thank you for writing a serious Regulus fic. Secondly, I'm so happy that this is an actually really good one. Because with serious stories, it takes some serious skill to pull off. And I know you are seriously skilled. Thirdly, I'm even happier (if you can imagine that) to see Regulus having a sort-of-but-not-really interest in Lily. I've read only one story before that explored the wonder that is Regulus/Lily, which delved, if I remember correctly, into a physical relationship between them. This is not, and I appreciate that a lot. Lily is sweet but not quite idolized (by you or by Regulus), a reminder that all is not lost for him.

But back to Regulus. What I especially liked about this story was your characterization of him. The feeling of always being shown up by the brother, that's important and unique. At least, I think so; I'm not sure if it's been done before, but it makes so much sense. There was a line in an earlier chapter, the one where Sirius ran away, when Regulus is blamed, even though it's Sirius who did the deed. I really, really empathized with him there, and could see where that would lead him. The concept of being "nameless," by the way, is not an entirely original one, but you turned it on its head - as opposed to being the wallflower OC, it's Regulus; and I appreciate that a lot.

All in all, this was a delight to read. I haven't read a serious Regulus fic for a really long time. You reminded me why I should. 9/10, and I hope you update soon!

Author's Response: You're a fan of my writing?! Pssh. I am a huge fan of yours! :D

Aww, I'm so glad to hear you say that I've pulled this off! Yes, Regulus is an incredibly complex character. I could talk about him for days and not get bored. *huggles Reg* And I've really been working hard to show every aspect of his personality, circumstance, etc. It's been a blast!

Oh, Regulus/Lily. I've gotten mixed responses to their relationship. Personally, I think there is a lot of potential there. Of course there is also the potential to completely botch things up if it's presented in the wrong way, which is why I freak out over every detail. Heh. ^.^ It's definitely not going to rely on physical interactions. I just can't see that happening between the two of them...

Gosh, I'm speechless! And flattered! :) *major huggles* It's such a relief to hear that this is all working out, and that my points are coming across to my readers. Ah!

Thank you, thank you, thank you! What a wonderful review to cheer me up on a rainy, icky day. :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by mascarableeds April 4th, 1977

20th June 2009:
I thought this was a really good chapter, although it was short. After the last chapter, it was good to see how Regulus's life is after he's become a death eater, and to give some of the atmosphere building in Hogwarts at the time. I absolutely loved how you showed Sirius and Regulus's current relationship- that was absolutely heartbreaking. I thought that you wrote Lily brilliantly also.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! This chapter wasn\\\'t in the original plan, but as soon as my friend asked if there would a scene with James confronting Regulus, I HAD to add one. :) So glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>