Reading Reviews for The Place That August Brings
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LilyTheSilverDoe7 The Place That August Brings

1st July 2012:
This was really good - I love your writing style!

 Report Review

Review #2, by SweetSorrow The Place That August Brings

3rd January 2010:
Oh wow. That was so interesting! I don't think I've come across more sophisticated language. You use words so well and in such an intriguing way...It's beautiful! The characterization is stunning, too. The way they converse and the little subtleties they have, its all just really remarkable. I wish I could write like you!

I especially found the narrator very interesting. You added another character in there besides Lily and Severus! And the use of parenthesis was very interesting, too. Very modern and new, and I liked it a lot. Overall, I'm blown away by this. Its so delicate and beautiful and gah! Great job!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Brittany The Place That August Brings

6th October 2009:
Completely lovely.

I too enjoy the header art as well :)

This would be nice made up in a little hand-made book. Haha.

 Report Review

Review #4, by MercyWaters The Place That August Brings

7th September 2009:
That was brilliant! Your writing style is beautiful, and VERY unique! I've never read anything like it!

-Mercy

10/10

 Report Review

Review #5, by J E P Andela The Place That August Brings

6th September 2009:
This was really nice. You definately get my vote for the Dobby..

Well written and just plain beautiful..

:) -JP-

 Report Review

Review #6, by Laugharama_llama The Place That August Brings

5th September 2009:
This was beautiful! I'm voting for this in the Dobby Awards right now!

 Report Review

Review #7, by TallestTower The Place That August Brings

5th September 2009:
I've never read a Lily/Severus ship before - not because I avoid them, I just never had.

Maby I shouldn't have started with this one, it sets the bar very high and I'm not sure I will find another as good as this easily, if at all.

I loved it... the way it was written, the description, the everything!

This phrase stuck with me.

"Outside, the wind begins to howl, and it prowls around the hut in hopes of being welcomed inside."

But I loved all of it... that is just a definate phrase I can copy easily. Otherwise I'd be pasting the whole chapter into this reveiw. Brilliant.

Thankyou for writing!

P.S I liked the header art :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Gutterflower The Place That August Brings

2nd December 2008:
Fantastic. Absolutely amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Violet Gryfindor The Place That August Brings

25th October 2008:
Even the second time around, this story retains its beauty and brilliance, perhaps becoming greater in both categories. This is the best portrayal of the Snape/Lily ship that I've come across thus far, showing them together away from Hogwarts and away from the rest of the world.

My favourite aspect of this story are the asides and little details which add to the narrative, making it something new and different to read, bringing it as close to poetry and prose can get. Then there's the header/banner art, which is very eye-catching and perfectly suited to the story. This is a great piece of writing, perhaps my favourite of all your stories. ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much, Susan! Not only for the compliments, but for reviewing again after the original review got deleted. That means a lot to me. ♥

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login