Reading Reviews for The Essence of Revenge
  
361 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ail Daimler

14th August 2014:
Hey Mate rely awesome story but wheres the sequel?
Waiting fr it pls dnt disappoint.

Author's Response: Dear Ail
Glad you enjoyed Essence. Although the sequel was on this site for 5 years, sadly it has been hidden by the site admin who tell me that they used a word filter (I had no idea they existed) to ascertain that it contained a forbidden plot line. An updated version of this and the sequel will appear shortly on another site.


 Report Review

Review #2, by mellypotter1223 Ginny

10th September 2012:
This is a mid chapter review, but I need to ask this. Who's Sean? There is no "Sean" in these stories who is in Harry's year and house. I assume you mean Dean or Seamus. Also. I really liked this writing and detail in the first part of the chapter, but I think, even tho it is a completed story, u need to go thru the dialogue and fix the grammatical errors with punctuation. There are not only all the spots with no commas or periods in the quotes, but I also notice a few spots where u put a period where there should be a question mark. The words r fine. It's just the punctuation that needs working on.

Author's Response: Many thanks mellypotter1223, I agree completely and between writing my current work (the sequel to this) I am starting to update these early, pre beta, chapters to fix the punctuation and actually add more detail (as well as correct the now infamous sean typo Lol). I hope you will notice that as the chapters progress they improve, especially after I had a beta. Glad you are enjoying the story, look forward to any further reviews you may leave. Many thanks.
tgfoy.


 Report Review

Review #3, by BKL8008 Daimler

13th March 2012:
A perfect ending. I don't think there's anything I can add that I haven't already said in 35 other reviews! An excellent read.

Author's Response: And my sincere gratitude to you for reviewing each and every chapter, I really do appreciate it. Thank you.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #4, by BKL8008 Beside the seaside.

13th March 2012:
Nice that they found Ted's body and brought closure, and drawing Andromeda closer to the family. Onward!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Many thanks.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #5, by BKL8008 Taking Umbridge

13th March 2012:
Well done bit with the trial! Let's hope this is the end of Umbridge.

Author's Response: I am, in retrospect (always dangerous), a little unsure of how I portrayed the trial so I am glad you liked it.
many thanks once again.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #6, by BKL8008 Jet Power

13th March 2012:
Another great read. Still expecting a final showdown between Vernon and Dudley. Glad to see the Twins recovered. Will try and finish up this excellent tome tomorrow!

Author's Response: Then there is the sequel of course, if you so desire.
Thanks once again.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #7, by BKL8008 Incedolixire

12th March 2012:
Another great one. The last bits are coming together. I do hope to see Teddy as a ringbearer at the wedding? Good touch with Draco, too. Glad it's working out for him.

Author's Response: I thought you didn't like Mushy stuff? Lol.
Yes Draco needs to rebuild his life, has to start somewhere.
Many thanks.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #8, by BKL8008 A Year to the day.

12th March 2012:
Nice ceremony. Very well described without being 'windy'. Still wondering about those Whitby ghosts...

Author's Response: Glad you liked the ceremony. Don't worry, they haven't been forgotten.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #9, by BKL8008 Pawns in the Game.

12th March 2012:
You know, it could almost end here. But I'm glad it's not. Good (well, you know what I mean) ending with the Twins. The Umbridge plot was amazing!

Author's Response: I suppose it is an ending of sorts, but it never seemed like a natural one to me, besides I promised a wedding and the "horrors" of mushy stuff to you didn't I. ;-)
Customary thanks for your review.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #10, by BKL8008 The Thirty Soldiers.

12th March 2012:
I didnt' realize the story was this old! This chapter was "just smashing" as a friend of mine would say. Very exciting! Love it when a plan comes together.

Author's Response: Yes it is quite a while since I wrote and posted this story. Glad you are still enjoying it.Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #11, by BKL8008 Revelations and Deception.

12th March 2012:
I love it when a plan comes together. Wondering what will become of the Twins, though? Now I feel sorry for them.

Author's Response: Many thanks again.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #12, by BKL8008 The Visitor

12th March 2012:
And now I know who it is! Wish I'd thought of that! I was grasping for 'bad guys' in my works. Excellent! Love the bit with Dudley now. I guess we an all change.

Author's Response: Glad I kept you guessing for a while. Glad you liked it. Many thanks.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #13, by BKL8008 The Bath

12th March 2012:
In a word - wonderful. And not overly mooshy, either. ;)

Author's Response: Rofl, don't worry, the countdown to the wedding with plenty of Mooshy stuff (well weddings should be shouldn't they) has begun. :-)
Glad you liked it, many thanks as always.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #14, by BKL8008 The Anchor

12th March 2012:
Yes it is a cliffhanger, but a well placed one!
Onward.

Author's Response: And upward I hope, they have thier uses, cliff hangers that is. Thanks for continuing to review, I do apreciate it, even this long after completing this story, it will help guide my thoughts when I get round to re editing.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #15, by BKL8008 Voices

12th March 2012:
Still gripping! Just can't wait to see the climax! I love kids, as is evidenced by my writing, and my spoiled nephews, but I hate these twins! LOL

Author's Response: Glad you are enjoying my efforts still.
Best wishes.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #16, by BKL8008 Pensieve

12th March 2012:
I like the idea of the Pensieve, almost as if Harry is digging for something to show them. I hope Kingsley is on to the Wolfe Twins in this one? Not much left of Slytherin, is there?!

Author's Response: He certainly recognises them doesn't he?
The pensieve is an idea I cannot claim, just it's use in this context. I love JKR's idea of being able to record and view memories.
My usual thanks to you.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #17, by BKL8008 Those left behind

12th March 2012:
Now that was exciting! This Erebus concept is fascinating, much like my use of Circe legends. Can't wait to see how you resolve this.

Author's Response: Glad you like the Erebus concept.
Many thanks as always.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #18, by BKL8008 Erebus

12th March 2012:
Interesting twist. Maybe the Vengeance (reminds me of Dickens?) will think they've won now?

Author's Response: Dickens was not my influence,but I see where you are coming from in thinking that.
many thanks again for your review.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #19, by BKL8008 Yuletide Falicitations.

12th March 2012:
The ceremony was very moving. Glad to see Harry and the Creevey's worked it out. All in all, a great read. One thing: being of the House of Black, Andromeda would have probably known about the ballroom, nursery, etc. Just a thought.

Author's Response: Interesting thought, but again not all answers are here, sorry but that question is answered later (though not necessarily in this story). Glad you enjoyed it.
Many thanks.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #20, by BKL8008 Old Nemesis

12th March 2012:
Nice concept with Malfoy being the groundskeeper! I really enjoyed that. The bit with the little boy in the village was a nice touch, too. This was a really moving chapter. I think only someone who has experienced such a loss could possibly capture it so well?

Author's Response: You can't reach my age without experiencing the death of close family my friend, however luckily to date not as close a relative as Harry had.
Thanks again.
Tom.


 Report Review

Review #21, by BKL8008 Rescuing Kingsley

12th March 2012:
Anxious to see who these people really are - the general, etc., and what Draco will do when confronted. Nice bit with Kingsley and his paperwork.

Author's Response: yes it is intriguing isn't it.
Thanks BKL8008.
all the best.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #22, by BKL8008 Vengeance

12th March 2012:
Now this was EXCITING! I was totally glued to it. I didn't really understand the bit the letter to Kinsley - the tip off. I read it twice, but still didn't know why someone who knew would write him a letter. Also, I had a bit of a problem with the RoR not being able to tell them who had used it last. What if Neville, who "really gets the room" (DH7) had ordered it to divulge who had last been in it? I know, nit-picking...still, hands down, a very thrilling ride here!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it, not all answers are here yet my friend. I can't recall the Ror being said to record it's users (that could be the result of an aging brain though), so didn't add it as it would have made for a very short story.
Thanks once again my friend.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #23, by BKL8008 Potter's Perambulation.

12th March 2012:
I don't know why, but I couldn't get "into" this chapter. It's not that it's worse, or badly written than the others. I really can't explain it. I like the ideas presented, but something about it just doesn't 'grab' me like all the others have so far? I am not, by any means, attempting to discourage or slander; I'm simply pointing it out. I know I have had chapters that took months to refine, only have the same reaction. For some reason, it just happens. Still, I am intrigued with the story.

Author's Response: fair enough BKL8008, don't worry I understand. Glad you are still enjoying the story though.
Many thanks.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #24, by BKL8008 Whitby

11th March 2012:
Not sure what to make of the ghosts here. I would make one bit of constructive criticism: you need to watch punctuation in run-on sentences. It makes it very difficult to understand who is saying what, and what they mean. Other than that, very good tale so far. I've been reading for hours.

Author's Response: Well done on getting this far and reviewing every chapter so far. Yes I know, I was (am) re learning punctuation etc whilst writing this. I will get round to re editing it.
The ghosts are a bit of a mystery aren't they. ;-)

Many thanks as always.
Tom


 Report Review

Review #25, by BKL8008 Birthday Surprises.

11th March 2012:
Again, very nice. I found the whole marriage proposal thing overdone, however. hehe. But that's just me. You can see by now that I don't like romantic fluff. :) I LOVED the bit with Aunt Muriel! nasty old bat...too bad Teddy didn't puke on her.

Author's Response: Sorry, I know the proposal could be too much for some, Fluffy stuff is needed on certain occassions though (wait for the wedding Lol). Glad you liked Muriel, I think Teddy has better sense than to waste the food though :-).

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>