Reading Reviews for Clockwork
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elenia Clockwork

11th August 2012:
Hey ^^

I always have weird feelings about this pairing. I don't really support it (Jily all the way) but I still find myself oddly fascinated by it. There were so many wondeful choises on your author page, but I still ended up picking this.

But I'm glad I did! Because this was a marvellous one-shot. I think this is maybe as much that could've happened between Sirius and Lily before she started a relationship with James, so I found this to be very believable.

I especially enjoyed all those little details you managed to slip into your writing and all those comparisions to a clock, the metaphors were really beautiful.

You did a good job with Lily's emetions! That must have been a hard time for her, how she lost her best friend and even though James tried to defend her, his arrogance didn't do him any good. It all must have been very confusing for Lily.

Sirius was very much in character too. I especially liked it how you didn't make him open up to Lily. Even though he realised she could see through the guards he had put up, he still refused to admit anything.

All in all, a very beautiful and whole one-shot! Well done! And thank you for all your work in the House Cup!

~Elenia

 Report Review

Review #2, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Clockwork

5th May 2012:
I'm having fun reading some of your older work. Hopefully my reviews don't drive you crazy! I actually don't believe in this pairing myself. Sirius/Lily? I'm James/Lily all the way no matter what (okay, so maybe there was a time where I was Lily/Severus --- shush! Don't tell anyone!)

But I enjoyed this. I liked this part the best:

Don't be ridiculous, she thought crossly. Of course she wanted to help, it's what she did best. And helping people wasnít about her... it was about being a good person.

To be fair, nobody knew they needed her help until she gave it.


I don't know if it's a female thing or what but I'm just like this. I'm convinced everything I say is helpful and when people don't ask for my help (even though most of the time they do) I still have to help them anyway. It kind of takes away the whole 'it's not about you' thing because it's really about them but I don't know...I just think giving advice is what I do best.

Hey, that's what my friends always tell me!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Rumbleroar goes roar Clockwork

24th December 2011:
Really loved it! :) Well done!

Author's Response: thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Secret Santa Clockwork

18th December 2011:
Hello :)

Though I am not a huge fan of Sirius/Lily, this story was really good! Once again, your description and characterization are amazing! You really seem to understand Lily's character and way of being, making it easy to relate to her feelings. And I really like how, after she storms from the common room, Sirius is the one who ends up following her. It brings up my favorite line :)

"Or does he have to have you running around for him like a dog?" Sirius coloured and looked away uncomfortably." ~This made me giggle. I couldn't help it. I figure Lily doesn't know and it just...I couldn't help but love it.

Also! I loved the imagery and the clock comparisons! You have it in the beginning and the end, and it's an excellent way to tie the two parts together! It fit in with Lily's personality really well, and just helped the flow of the story. So great job!

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheProphecy Clockwork

21st March 2011:
Again..wow!

I swear I come onto your page and I am just a gushing ball of gushiness.

Again I adored this one, the characterisation was amazing, the emotions were perfect. The reaction in myself, I was honestly there stood next tot hem, feeling the same emotions they did.

I thought you wrote it splendidly! Though the only thing was a couple of times it felt a tiny bit jerky at the beginning - I think here was where it got a bit like that - "Luckily, there was no one else in the Gryffindor Tower for her to unleash her anger to, or else they would have been dearly sorry" That paragraph.

But other then that it was wonderful! Well done! :)

Hannah x

Author's Response: thank you so much, Hannah! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Alice Charms Clockwork

24th June 2010:
So glad I stumbled on to this! This a fantastic one shot! I really loved how it felt, which was very real and true to the series. The Lily and Sirius was well fitted to the context and time this event happened. I also really loved the stream of clock work, it was like the reader could here the ticking as they read. This is the first story of yours I've read and now I'm so excited to see more.

All the best,
Alice

Author's Response: thank you so very much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Indigo Seas Clockwork

9th March 2009:
Eh, I was in a bad-fanfiction funk and so I decided to pop in your author page to read some of your magnificent stories! And this one did not disappoint! ;) (Did I scare you with that "eh"?)

Yeah, Marina, this was, to put it lightly, amazing. Really, really amazing. So amazing, in fact, I can't believe how absolutely amazingly amazing it is. OK, I'll stop now. XD

But, yeah, great stuff. I loved the whole "clockwork" and "wound up" thing. It really tied the whole story together. The time element was, well, amazing!

I'm just going to say it again, to make it loud and clear: Amazing. Spell it? OK: A - M - A - Z - I - N - G!!!

I really don't know what else to say, except that it was amazing. Had enough of the amazings? Too bad: AMAZINGLY AMAZING (double zinger!)

Wow, this review pretty much has nothing but "amazing" in it. ^__^ Aw, well. Great stuff, Marina. It was honestly, you guessed it, amazing.

10/10

- Rin

Author's Response: hello Rin! You have to stop surprising me so much! well, no, I'd rather you didnt stop but you know what I mean ^.^

I'm so happy you found it, er, amazing (XD)! I'm always in two minds about this fic, because I don't believe in the ship but I had a lot of fun writing it. I've started 3 Sirius fics and this is the only one I've been able to complete! He's quite a hard to get into, I think.

thanks so much! This made my day :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by datbenik513 Clockwork

6th February 2009:
It's incredible how a grain of sand, falling into a Swiss watch, can corrupt that precise mechanism.
It's incredible what an effect an innocent-looking kiss can have on two people.
I have been in a situation like this before and I relived that beautiful event again and again, while I was reading this story.
I was mesmerized. Full stop.
A full blown 10.

Hugs,

Zoltan

Author's Response: *blushes* I'm actually surprised by this review - i consider it one of my weaker fics, but I'm so glad you liked it. I loved writing about the clock and the metaphors that go with it. (Marina = pun queen).

thanks so much :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by dracoslover1 Clockwork

25th October 2008:
Good job here. I like your characterizations of Lily and Sirius. I like the situation that you set up and the guilt that Lily feels for kissing Sirius. It is amazing work that you have here. I liked it.

Author's Response: wow thanks :) that's a lovely review *dances*

 Report Review

Review #10, by Elf_ears13 Clockwork

13th October 2008:
I really enjoyed the pacing of this piece - it all unfolded so naturally that it didn't even seem uncanon. Lovely. I especially liked the way you brought in little Potterish details, like seeing "into people's souls as quickly as a dementor could suck it out." This really feels like a little slice of canon that went unnoticed, tucked away in the recesses of Rowling's brain, and I love it. The cogs and the clockwork, green on grey, everything was so poetic and wonderful.

There were a few cases toward the beginning that sounded odd - an it's in place of its, the Marauders "barge" in rather than the past tense "barged" - which sort of made that part sound awkward in comparison with the fluidity of the second half. I love love love the dialog, especially when Lily realized how cheesy she sounded and blushed. It all sounded so real, so aptly awkward. Wonderful.

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Tor Petty Clockwork

11th October 2008:
My gosh, I LOVE this story so far. Such detail, and you don't portray Lily perfect OR too fiery. She's a real person in this story, with real flaws. Not just a random cliche concocted in the depths of fanfiction.

I like how you began this after the Snape's Worst Memory incident, and you didn't even need to tell us right off that that's where we were at - we just knew from your description. Marvelous.

Analogies = Amazing. Especially the dementor one.

UGH! WHAT WONDERFUL DIALOG! I'M INSANELY IMPRESSED!

Fruit she couldn't taste... You know, I'm usually not one for Sirius/Lily, but you make it sound so natural - as if she couldn't help it. And, if I was ever around Sirius Black, I don't think I could be able to help it, either. Nice work.

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #12, by blimey Clockwork

8th October 2008:
This was great! I love all the parts comparing Lily's life to a clock, and the romance was very subtle and well done. Your descriptions were done very well, and I can't think of anything that could make this better - good job!

Author's Response: thank you! the clock bits were so much fun to write :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Pegasus1979 Clockwork

8th October 2008:
Hello again.
I'l be honest, I'm not a fan of fics that go against canon relationships, but that being said, I appreciate this for what it is - a well written story.
Your descriptions are excellent and the pace is smooth.
Well done!

Author's Response: thank you so much, and I'm pleased you could look past the ship :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login