14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lady Asphodel Better Than Firewhisky

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was a pretty cool insight of Ginny's side to the kiss on the Half Blood Prince.

I liked how you had Ginny refuse the butterbeer and how you went in detail about the excitement.


Bringing in Ron and Hermione's oblivious crushes on each other was a nice touch as well!


Then, of course, I really loved how you brought the memory of Ginny's Valentine to Harry from Chamber of the Secrets! It really showed that she have been waiting for the Boy-Who-Lived!

You did pretty good writing this! I saw no mistakes, so that's great too!


~ House Cup 2014 - Event 5 Review


- Asphodel

 Report Review

Review #2, by randomwriter Better Than Firewhisky

7th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review: Decree Number two

Hello there :)

I really like Harry and Ginny's relationship and feel that they're both very well suited for each other. I've read this very chapter (Sectumsepra) a million times, honestly. Because it was such a cute moment and it felt as if Harry was finally getting some happiness and respite.

I think you've done a great job of taking that moment and building on it. You've added small details that make this sweeter. You've also written about her crush from her POV well. It's easy to relate to her. I also think that it was nice to see the same moment through her eyes because we all know how long she'd been waiting. I think that the addition of the last part after they leave the CR was a nice touch!

Good work :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Better Than Firewhisky

7th July 2014:
Hey there!!

Aww this was so cute. I mean, we know how it happened but it was lovely to read it from ginnys POV too!

I thought you characterised her well... She had that spark about her and willingness to go for it with harry. Her quick decision to leap into his arms was of course perfectly timed.

I also really liked how you integrated the things that happened so seamlessly into your story. The expressions on Ron and Hermione's faces... The wolf whistling from the crowd. It made the whole piece feel more real after knowing JKs version!

Anyway, this was really cute! Great job :)

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review
Educational Decree 2

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore Better Than Firewhisky

7th July 2014:
Hello there! I'm here reviewing stories for the house cup which break education decree #2 - that students must remain six inches apart at all times :P

This story was really cute! I like the idea of having written a series of different couples' first kisses and Harry and Ginny are such a cute couple as well, so it was sweet to read this and it made me smile. I liked the fact we saw the build up to the kiss from Ginny's perspective instead of Harry's and then the way that you wrote the kiss was great as well, because it tied in with the books really well but we learnt about it from Ginny's experience. Then I thought that the part after the kiss, when Harry asked Ginny to be his girlfriend, and all of that dialogue that you included in that section, was really cute and believable as well. You did a great job with this story and it was really well written as well, I thought, since I didn't notice any spelling or grammar mistakes in this. Good structure and flow as well!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by Addicted2snickers Better Than Firewhisky

6th July 2012:
Aww! Great story! Your a very good writer. I like how you changed the scene a bit and in a different POV. Very well written, good spelling, great characterization and good grammar. I really enjoyed it. Keep on writing! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I definitely wanted to break away from the norm, and it was nice to write this from Ginny's perspective, as opposed to simply re-writing Harry's view.

(Sorry for the delay in responding!)


 Report Review

Review #6, by writergirl8 Better Than Firewhisky

4th June 2009:
Omg how could you even think that you messed up this kiss? it's perfect... keep up the writing! ~writergirl8

Author's Response: Thank you!! It makes me super happy to hear that. And I won't - I promise!

 Report Review

Review #7, by WotcherLizzieGinny Better Than Firewhisky

30th March 2009:
my favorite couple! Thanks!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it =)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ellie Better Than Firewhisky

26th November 2008:
I'm turning into a puddle of sappy girl hormones. I want me a kiss, particularly from any of these delightful wizard boys! ;)
On to the next!

Author's Response: Haha, so do I! They're all so dashing in their own ways that it makes them irresistible! Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Georgia Weasley Better Than Firewhisky

26th October 2008:
You know Harry/Ginny are my first love in ships. I know you did them justice on this one. Telling it from Ginny's POV was great, since we don't get hers in JK's stories. The actual moment was so intense, and I could just feel the butterflies in her stomach for her! Another good one!

Author's Response: I'm so glad!! I wanted to stay in canon, so I chose to do their kiss from Ginny's view, and apparently it paid off. Thank you again!!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Moondanser83 Better Than Firewhisky

26th October 2008:
I've always been torn about this scene in the book. I mean the setting and everything is perfect, but I'm one of those people who wanted to "boo" when Harry and Ginny got together... It just doens't work for me... but whatever... regardless of my personal preference you did an incrediable job that had me just as torn reading this as I was reading the book...lol

Wonderful... as always :)
~Moon~

Author's Response: Thank you! Everyone has a couple or two that bother them. I actually know of a few people who would rather Harry had been with Cho.

Either way, thank you so much for reading even though you're not fond of the couple. I really appreciate it!


 Report Review

Review #11, by amieharry_ginny Better Than Firewhisky

26th October 2008:
Awww super cute. The way you described H/G kiss was more realistic and imaginative than R/Hr because it wasn't too similar to the books. But seriously i loved this whole series and the good thing was i didn't find any flaws in this one-shot you are really improving and great job with the description. I especially liked the "eager to feel once again what was better than Firewhisky." Perfect way to describe H/G kiss. 10/10

Author's Response: I think this kiss had more freedom in writing than Ron + Hermione's, because in this, they go out into the corridor, and then the chapter ends. With Ron and Hermione, we know exactly what happens right after.

I'm so glad you liked it, and it's great to know that I'm improving. Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #12, by searching17 Better Than Firewhisky

25th October 2008:
Awww this was really cute! I've been meaning to find a fic on HPFF that had this important romance scene (one of the only in Harry Potter) from Ginny's eyes, and you certainly did do it justice. The conversation Harry and Ginny have after their kiss is also very believable, I wouldn't think it any different! I think your First Kiss series is making me believe that every single one-shot in it is pure canon. :P

You did such a great job on Harry and Ginny's kiss in this one-shot. Ginny's thoughts were totally in character, and I love how you incorporated Ron and Hermione's relationship into this also. :] 10/10!

~Estrella

Author's Response: *Wipes brow in relief* I figured I might have some fans angry at me if I didn't do them justice. It's good to hear that I did!

Thank you for the canon compliment! I love it when my work is thought to be in canon, as I always strive for it to be so. And of course, I couldn't help but slip a Ron and Hermione moment in. I try to wherever I can, haha. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #13, by hanna's Mom Better Than Firewhisky

3rd October 2008:
great job. You did very well re-telling this part without plagerising it.

Author's Response: Thank you!! It's good to know it worked!

 Report Review

Review #14, by presi Better Than Firewhisky

3rd October 2008:
ofcores we all knew how this one happend but i like seeing Ginny's point of view!

MEL

Author's Response: It was great to write a moment that JKR included from the other character's perspective. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login