Reading Reviews for Renaissance
96 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mari Affirmations

14th August 2015:
This was delightful, and the characters felt authentic. Thank you for sharing it!

Author's Response: Aw, I love it when people find older stories like this. So glad you enjoyed! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by phoebe_s Affirmations

10th August 2015:
Ugh this was so so SO GREAT. I've read the Ignite/Stardust/Oblivion trilogy and I decided to look around your other stores AND I'M SO GLAD I DID (I adore the way you've written the Golden Trio in that series btw, however brief their appearances are).

Fantastic writing, first off. I love love love your style of writing. You also did a great job with characterization- Harry is a hoot, Hermione is... wonderfully Hermione. And I absolutely LOVE what you've with Ron. I am just so happy to see him matured so much, but at the same time seeing those flaws that we all know he has (and love him despite them).

I also love how this is mainly a Ron-centric story, really. I feel like we don't get much of those, especially since he gets so much hate (SCREW THE HATERS).

The plot was so fun. Not too complicated, not too emotionally draining, but fun, mysterious with just the right amount of angst. I haven't read too many Ron/Hermione full length COMPLETED fics that involve you know, actual mystery and plot and magic and all that jazz (other than just focusing of the love stuff) and this was so refreshing, so AWESOME to read.

I would love if you did a fic about the Golden Trio as adults battling evil with the help of the next generation (but mostly it being the Golden Trio)- I think you'd do a FANTASTIC job. This is mostly wishful thinking really (I've been in the mood for a fic just like this, but you know how hard it is to find good fics) but I do think you'd do an amazing job.

ANYWAY sorry for rambling so much. You've done such great work here. I can tell that you've grown so much as a writer from the ISO trilogy, but this was really fantastic too! I will repeat this once again: love love LOVE this fic! :D

Author's Response: Hey, people are finding this old thing still! I have a lot of fondness for it as I almost abandoned it halfway through.

Writing the Trio older was a lot of fun. Harry was at his best being a peripheral presence, I liked writing Hermione as rather flawed, but it really was Ron's show. I wanted to make him a real hero, but still very much the Ron we love (haters gonna hate, no place for them here).

It wasn't much about the plot, so I felt okay keeping a light touch, but I did want there to be Action! And Mystery! And things for Ron and Hermione to wrestle with alongside romance and magic.

Older Golden Trio shenanigans would be fun, wouldn't it? I think my biggest obstacle for that is I don't know if I CAN write a different version of the Next Gen to the Stygian-verse's. It's a problem.

Thank you so much for coming back and reviewing this! So glad you enjoyed!

 Report Review

Review #3, by StarFeather Understandings

11th July 2015:
Gryffindor/ House Cup/ Amazing Race5

Hi, I stopped by from the Forums. The banner and the summary caught my eyes.

The first half of the story is the conversation between McGonagall and Ron, which made me wonder how long it passed since the battle of Hogwarts. I'm amazed by the fact that Ron grew up. He talked with McGonagall on equal.

Then Ron noticed ,the Sorting Hat was stolen. People notice how the Sorting Hat was important in Harry Potter World for the first time when it was stolen.

McGonagall needed young bloods. It's understandable when we think how many people they've lost during the battle. I guess Hermione will be one of staffs at Hogwarts?

Ron suggested making to do list, which must be influenced by Hermione!


 Report Review

Review #4, by kayleefrank Affirmations

28th January 2015:
This is a really good story. Thanks for writing it! Can't wait to read your next story!

Author's Response: Very glad you enjoyed! Thanks for reviewing, plenty of my other stories up on this site.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Sophie Complications

16th December 2014:
Sorry, that was for another story! :-o

Author's Response: Thank you, I was confused. :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Sophie Complications

16th December 2014:
We call ALS MND in the UK. I had a suspicion that is what Burke had. Thank you for the update. :)

Author's Response: Having just seen the above, this makes more sense.

 Report Review

Review #7, by scorprose Affirmations

28th November 2014:
I have been searching for something to read in between Starfall and Oblivion and thus stumbled on this story. Wow!!! Many people have already commented on how good your writing is. It shows in the way you intricately weave your plot with genuine and fresh ideas. Brilliant portrayal of Ron as he is mostly sidelined in most stories. This is Ron's story with so many of his good characters highlighted. Even in Starfall I could see that Ron has not been overshadowed in the few instances he is shown. (Though Hermione has more focus). As for Harry, that line when he justifies Barlowe, "And I donít know what influence youíve got, but last I checked, people still havenít forgotten I killed Voldemort.Ē, I was like whistling in my head. How aptly written. All harry fans would be delighted with that portrayal of confidence in him.
Also, the most brilliant of this story is the ending. A happy ending goes a long way when it gives the readers something to hope for. Please consider your readers genuine request while writing Oblivion's climax. Try for a happy and hopeful ending for Scorp and Rose. (The hope for scorpius is still on as Fred is still in waiting behind the viel and scorp has the chalice too. If Matt could come from dead why cant Scorp. This may be the point Lockett is after) I know it's your story and your charatcters but do pl consider because we have come to live and think along with these characters in this fantasy you weave. Its again your brilliant writing which is to be blamed.

Author's Response: Ahh, Renaissance, the story I finished because I was too stubborn to have an abandoned piece on my page. That and I enjoyed it, of course. I loved writing Ron, so I'm glad you were entertained by the portrayal of him (I'd love to have more of him in the Stygian Trilogy, but Hermione's presence makes the most sense).

Harry's Finishing Move - I figure he'd hate himself for it, kind of resent using his fame, but Barlowe was explicitly trying to use HIS fame to get away with murder, literally. I can see Harry, an older, more confident Harry, thinking 'Two can play at that game, and I play it better!'

Happy ending is canon. ;) I do like happy endings, don't let my writing fool you otherwise. Or, I should say, bittersweet endings; characters have to work hard to get to their end point, but life is a long and complicated road and if I don't end something as resolved, I try to end it with the long and winding road still ahead, and hope in there. I don't think I've ever ended a story where people were just miserable and doomed and nothing was ever going to change. So make of that what you will!

Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by brttknee Understandings

5th June 2014:
Just started reading this story and am so excited to see what lies ahead for Ron, Hogwarts, and dear Minerva. Great work!

Author's Response: Glad people are still coming across this story! It's complete, so I hope you enjoy the ride. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Deepak Affirmations

21st February 2014:
Good one, that. Thanks

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #10, by Mrs_H Affirmations

27th July 2013:
Thanks for sharing this lovely story! Excellent plot, interesting characters, good pacing. Very well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! It feels like an old piece of work of mine by now, but a good fun one.

 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle Understandings

17th July 2013:

I thought this was a really great opening chapter at both engaging my interest and explaining the situation to me, and I also thought it was really well-written! :) The idea of a Ron and McGonagall conversation where both are colleagues is a funny thing to think about given the nature of their relationship in JKR's books (usually McGonagall telling Ron off or something!), but I think it's something really interesting to explore in this post-hogwarts fic!

Already I'm really intrigued at wondering why and how someone managed to take the sorting hat! I'm also really interested at Ron's apparent animosity towards Hermione, and how it all happened! It'd be interesting to see how that conversation goes! So I feel like your plot sounds really unique and would be a really interesting story to read - so hopefully I'll be able to finish reading this story! Overall, I really enjoyed reading this chapter, and your writing is awesome, particularly with all the dialogue in this! :)

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing this! It's long over but I did enjoy writing this story. I rather enjoyed extrapolating on the feelings and relationships to try to get a grasp of how they might be 5 or so years down the line. That and the plot was fun to come up with! So I'm glad this was still read, and still enjoyed, even after these few years.

 Report Review

Review #12, by PhoenixTailAndHolly Affirmations

24th June 2013:
I absolutely loved this story. You have a great talent, and should you ever aspire to become a writer, I would read anything you created.

I was secretly hoping that Ron would somehow be voted as the new headmaster, though that would obviously break canon. McGonagall's lecture on how Hogwarts needed a younger generation, combined with the urban legend that Hogwarts would provide for a headmaster if need be kind of had me hoping for it.

Rated 10/10!

ps. I would love for you to read one of my stories. Perhaps even leave a review? ;)

Author's Response: I was very happy with how this story worked out. Alas, canon suggests Ron would not make headmaster, and I don't think his temperament would hugely suit! But he had a good adventure and got the girl back anyway. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by sinwillys822 Affirmations

29th August 2012:
Aww what a cute ending to the story. 10's all around.

Author's Response: Thanks, and thanks for all of your reviews, they're much appreciated! Glad you enjoyed the story.

 Report Review

Review #14, by sinwillys822 Confrontations

29th August 2012:
Oh wow I figured they wanted her for the sorting hat, I can't wait to read what happens next.

Author's Response: Good to see the twists and turns are working. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #15, by sinwillys822 Competitions

29th August 2012:
Oh man the story is really getting good I can't wait to read what happens next.

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it! Thanks for reviewing.

 Report Review

Review #16, by shadowycorner Affirmations

28th August 2012:
Aaah, I loved this! I loved this story and this chapter and this ending. I don't know what to say anymore. I'm a little sad it's over, but it's great how it ended. I definitely need to check out more of your work. This was one of the best stories I've read on the site. It hooked me straight away and the writing was so professional. I loved how, like you mentioned, the romance was driven by the plot. You've done a great job with all the characters. Ron and Hermione were perfectly in character as being adults. i found them and their behavior extremely realistic. Harry, without all the depression we've seen in the books, was very refreshing and quite lovely. The OCs were incredible. Barlowe was an interesting villain an Stubbs was simply amazing. I almost wish I could read something more about him. If you ever include him into a story or decide to write a story about him, please let me know, because he was one of the special OCs, the ones that stand out and you just adore them.

This plot was so creative. every chapter got better and better, and I liked how exciting this was. It was a story I now consider my head canon. It's something that could've easily happened in the Wizarding World.
And oh my lord the bits of romance, the in between the lines moments and emotions...simply wonderful.

As for this chapter and conversation between malcolm and's interesting, because I always thought Hermione would be a great Unspeakable and I can imagine her really considering it. It was perfect, though, how you portrayed that immediate shift in her thoughts toward the house-elves. That's pure Hermione right there, it was great!

This final scene between Ron and Hermione was so touching. It really, really made me happy. This entire story did. i can tell you that I enjoyed this very much! Thank you for sharing. :)

I guess I said almost everything in my previous reviews, I would only repeat myself. I loved reading this and it was terrific and oiginal. You are a talented author, both in telling the story and painting a picture. I will forever adore Renaissance by Slide!


Author's Response: Thank you very much for the kind words. I do try to set myself high standards for my writing rather than viewing it as "just" fanfiction and I'm glad that's paid off for your enjoyment. I was quite pleased with the plot of this one, and that's partly why it ended when it did - without more ideas for the plot, without any ways to extend or develop Barlowe's plans into something more long-term, I thought it best to let it end. I'm a big fan of OCs, as you may learn if you read more of my work, and I try to keep everything I write that's canon-compliant, compliant with itself - I like it to be my own, in-my-own-head, extended universe. So, yes, Stubbs will show up in other work of mine, because Hogwarts will need a headmaster in years to come!

I also think Hermione would make a fine Unspeakable. Though it would limit some of her other talents, because her passion for change is a real virtue and one she ought to channel - and she does. She's an activist as well as an intellectual and being an Unspeakable would neglect that. And I'm also pretty happy with the end scene between her and Ron, it really wrote itself and Ron demonstrated all the ways he's such a sweetheart.

Thanks, again, for all your reviews and I'm very glad you enjoyed the ride.

 Report Review

Review #17, by shadowycorner Resolutions

28th August 2012:
Yay, I'm the 80th reviewer! *does a dance*

This chapter took me like three seconds to read. Seriously, it was so exciting it went by really fast. I swear I really and litterally gasped when Barlowe stabbed Ron. SERIOUSLY SLIDE, you made me make weird noises of anguish into the silence of my room. I cheered that Ron disarmed him and then lost my breath. I mean, I knew he would be alright, but just for a little moment, you really shocked me there!

And oh my God, what cheering and grinning it was when Harry arrived. It was such a classic scene, to have the hero arrive at just the appropriate moment. Harry saves the day again! I also loved how he told off Barlowe about his abilities to sway the people his way. It was a nice touch to have Hermione observe this was closest Harry would get to bragging, but only because it was really, really important. Gotta love Harry!

I can't believe there's only one chapter left now. Off to read it. this one was really awesome, as usual. :) Great job!


Author's Response: Ooh, 80 reviews! Huzzah!

Yes, this chapter's quite a belter. I can't deny I was snickering to myself at stabbing Ron. It's for a reason, I swear, not just because I'm evil (a little because I'm evil)! That it had an impact even though you know he'll be all right just makes it so much the better.

Harry's a sweetheart of a hero - I would agree with Hermione that he wouldn't brag, but he would do what he needed to in order to get the bad guy down, rescue his friends, and save the day. And it is fitting, of course, that it is Harry who saves the day. Even if Ron and Hermione weren't accepting and accustomed to him always being the one who gets the credit, I think they'd be okay with it this time!

Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ginger Lust Affirmations

27th August 2012:
Wow. What a beautiful ending. Quiet. Just the two of them, finally getting to talk. Finally talking! Without the danger of their surroundings blowing up!
I really enjoyed this story, am very happy with the ending. In fact, I would have loved if this story had continued, viewing a little more into their live together. But I quite accept that this is the way you wanted it to end.

Thank you for a wonderful story. I thoroughly enjoyed it. You did JK's story great justice. Looking forward to reading more of your stories.
Great job!!!

Author's Response: I could have probably continued with more Ron and Hermione but was running out of plot. That said, I have very much enjoyed writing the two of them, so who knows what I'll do in future? But don't hold me to that. I'm comfortable with it bridging some of the gaps of canon and having a little fun along the way.

And I'm very glad you enjoyed the story! I'm quite happy with it myself. Thank you for your kind words and your support. Cheers!

 Report Review

Review #19, by water_lily43175 Affirmations

27th August 2012:
So, before we get onto the review, I had another 'Slide's stories are canon' moment last night. We were watching DH2 and it got to the bit with the diadem and I thought "it's okay though, because it gets fixed in the end." TRUE STORY. And this was during the FILM, when it gets kicked into the Fiendfyre. Seriously. Your fics are practically ingrained in my mind now.

Reading this again just gets me more excited about Stubbs being Headmaster in Ignite. He truly is AMAZING. And there is seriously something cool about Ron's blood mending the sword. Goblins and their magic are creepy like that.

Part of me feels a little bit sorry for Trevelyan here. Because he REALLY fell for the wrong girl. But, at the end of the day, he wasn't madly in love with her, he just asked her out for dinner! Not the end of the world. He'll move on. Plenty more fish in the sea. Harry's "Who IS that?" is amusing. Random dude floating around his life for the past few days, bless him.

Harry's "how dare you two have an adventure without me" attitude. Amazing. The guy likes his peace and quiet, but if there's action and excitement, he's there!

This chapter is beautiful for the subtle way in which everything is wrapped up. It doesn't feel as though it tries too hard for Hermione to see everyone, it all just seems to FLOW. That can be the worst thing about bringing a story to its end, but you do it masterfully well here. And I just love the Romione conversation. "Both of us were wrong, but one of us was more wrong." Hermione FINALLY working this out, finally working out what's most important to her (although the use of 'finally' is a bit harsh here, she actually twigged a few chapters ago, but, you know, broken windows and kidnappings have gotten in the way of her heartfelt confession). And Ron's adorable way of asking her to move in with him. Oh, I love him too much.


Author's Response: They're totally canon *nods*. And also my heart would break if such items of historical value were lost forever. Though God knows how one actually recreates something out of Fiendfyre.

I am very fond of Stubbs. I admit the blood thing only occurred at the eleventh hour when I realised I had a broken sword and it NEEDED FIXING but when the idea came to me it was too perfect. Creepy and yet a little cool. And yeah, Trevelyan'll be fine - he liked her, he enjoyed time with her, there will be other fish in the sea indeed. That he never met Harry did amuse me - when major characters inadvertently never run into one another for a whole story, I like to hang a lampshade on it.

I had originally intended to do this chapter with Ron seeing McGonagall and Stubbs, but then realised that'd need a bigger time-skip and I'd have to do some of it from Hermione's POV to have her talking to Trevelyan. It just made more sense with Hermione wrapping it up, and as the story began with Ron, I liked it ending with her (hence the callback of the opening lines of this chapter and the opening lines of the whole story). It was fortuitously easy to get everyone either into Hogwarts or the hospital. So these kinds of "doing the rounds" chapters can be a pest but this one did write itself.

And now Hermione throws herself on her sword to accept faults. Which she did kind of need to do, because even if Ron's a grouch he does tend to blame himself. But as she points out, he's such a sweetheart he forgives her right away anyway. I want to hug him myself in this chapter, after fussing so much he wrote himself and made the ending on I was really happy with. So there, it's done! Done, and only new content from here on out.


 Report Review

Review #20, by sinwillys822 Domestication

23rd August 2012:
I am happy for harry, and I guess Ron needs to talk to mione sooner than later.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry's got it more or less sorted, and Ron has to confront reality EVENTUALLY. Eventually. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by sinwillys822 Investigations

23rd August 2012:
I am happy that the headmaster is still the same as always I can't wait to read what happens next.

Author's Response: McGonagall will forever be McGonagall just as much as Phineas will forever be Phineas. The best headmasters leave impact. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by sinwillys822 Arrangements

22nd August 2012:
I think I know which one they want to work on, I can't wait to read what happens next.

Author's Response: Yes, there are a good few options, aren't there? Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by sinwillys822 Explanations

21st August 2012:
I like the way the story is going and can't wait to read what happens next. The ditching through interview sounds like when I got ditched by email. We cry a little and then move on. Until next chapter.

Author's Response: We could move on, but this is Ron and Hermione. They never do anything calmly/sensibly. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ginger Lust Resolutions

18th August 2012:
OMG! Bureaucrats! They're animals. Thank goodness Harry knew it was time to use his status as savor of the wizarding world. And ya know he felt just in doing so with the other two that were instrumental in ridding the world of Voldemolt and two best friends there with him. YAY! Go Team Golden Trio! :-) -sorry.. just got off (night) work. Sleepy!
And when Ron got stabbed.. I think I fainted! OK.. not fainted but in shock for sure. You scared me.
Great job.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry's not a man for bragging but now's the time to use his fame. It's most apt that he'll use his influence to stop someone who would use THEIR influence for harm. Their social currency hasn't quite won out yet, and if anyone thinks they can out-do the Boy Who Lived - well, Barlowe's wrong.

Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by water_lily43175 Resolutions

17th August 2012:
Nearly at the end!

I actually love Trev here. "To hell with that!" Yeah Trev, people DIED, don't let that get brushed under the carpet!

It truly is maddening when Barlowe is going on about how he'll get away with EVERYTHING because of who he is. Frustrating that such corruption still exists. And, like I said last time, I was screaming at Hermione to use Harry's connections here. In the end it was fine, because he just used them himself. Like a BOSS.

I love Stubbs here. He'd better turn up soon in Ignite please!

Ungh, Ron being stabbed. Nearly had a heart attack first time that happened! Can't believe you did that to me. Even though I knew he was going to live...

Author's Response: With all that's happened, it's easy to forget that Trevelyan's been on this case longest and has been amongst those who've suffered most from Barlowe's schemes. Ron and Hermione (well, barring Ron's kidnapping) have mostly just been inconvenienced by it. It's important someone remind them what this is about - and it's about murder.

I'm glad Barlowe's rant about his power comes across as frustrating. Because it should be, because he should stand a good chance at getting away with it - except for that he's coming face to face with Harry Freaking Potter, which he didn't figure on. I do like smug Harry in this sequence.

Tee hee. The stabbing's IMPORTANT. And not just to upset you all. Well, maybe a little to upset you all...

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>