Reading Reviews for Rosewater
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by justonemorefic Rosewater

14th July 2013:
I haven't read a Bellatrix fic in ages. It's so serene compared to what I'm used to, and I suppose in her madness, she must have had memories, wishes, and nostalgia stored somewhere. I love the focus on decay - "a host to languid tendrils of dust and age" - it kind of reminds me of the old manor houses in Gone With The Wind falling into disrepair with the war, and Southern royalty losing their wealth. Especially with lines like these: "There was elegance in antiquity, that she knew. Elegance in the old world and it was the old things that mattered." In Bellatrix's eyes they were like royalty, she was taking back what was hers.

I like the quiet build up - she's taking this long stroll around the manor, but with such war-heavy thoughts ("Order could only be restored through force"). She comes to life with the perfume - representing her, I would think. They're strong, musky things, difficult to get rid of. She blooms again after being freed, to take her place beside her master. It's wonderful imagery!

Lovely one shot! ♥

 Report Review

Review #2, by irrelevant Rosewater

5th February 2010:
Quite short, but seems so powerful. I can't really describe what I felt reading your story. So complete it is, catching a moment i such depth... a really artistic, beautiful, deep, descriptive, completely believable, thought-triggering and inspiring, perfect piece of work. Bellatrix, her actions, thoughts, personality... it's her, spot on. Wow is all I can say... and wow again.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and review, irrelevant. I was so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this little one-shot. Your comments really made me blush! ^_^

I hope you have a pleasant week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #3, by Rettopyrrah Rosewater

3rd June 2009:
Just as an after thought. I also loved that Bellatrix still held her family views. She still had an air of elegance and authority about her, despite having been locked away in Azkaban for so many years.

Your vocabulary and phrases were amazing. To be completely honest, I don't think the banner suits the story entirely, but maybe that's just me. The banner is pretty darn cool though.

There were just a couple of spelling mistakes, but they can be excused ^^

10//10

Author's Response: Wow, two reviews for the same fic! I feel so spoiled ;) Actually, I'm getting a new banner for this fic...the current one was the first I'd ever made and I'm not quite adept at graphics as is. ^_^

Again, thanks for everything! I really do appreciate your feedback. Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #4, by Rettopyrrah Rosewater

3rd June 2009:
Oh. My. Word.

HOLY FLAMING COWS

I absolutely love it. It's amazing. I love the theme. It's really different and the way you write... I could imagine I was there. Absolutely fabulous. Loved how you wrote it from Bellatrix's point of view.

10/10

:wanders off to add to favourites:

Author's Response: Thank you so very much! It was wonderful hearing from you. I'm so glad you enjoyed this little drabble. ^_^ Take care and have a lovely weekend!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #5, by JohnnyPickAlot Rosewater

26th April 2009:
This one-shot was definitely powerful. It got the point across and hit you like a hammer to a nail.
I love your style and the vocabulary you integrate into your writing. It's just superb.
Thank you for the deep yet bitter sweet read.
-Sarah

Author's Response: Hi Sarah!
Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review! I really do appreciate your kind comments, they were so thoughtful. ^_^ Take care!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #6, by alyosha Rosewater

20th March 2009:
I've been here before. I remember that tree.

I think my last review was more in depth than this one is going to be but i just thought i'd make this pointless memorandum anyway.

Love this story.

Author's Response: Thank you, alyosha! Your comments were most appreciated. I'm so glad you enjoyed this little one-shot. I hope you have a great weekend! ^_^

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #7, by momotwins Rosewater

26th December 2008:
Wow. That was really amazing. Your imagery and description are fantastic! Absolutely flawless piece.

Author's Response: Thank you, momotwins! You are truly too kind ^_^ I'm so glad you enjoyed this little one-shot. Have a great week!

Best,
celticbard


 Report Review

Review #8, by Varda Rosewater

8th December 2008:
The start draws a reader in, that's certain!

One thing I noticed was that you have very descriptive sentences, but you don't go into detail of one subject beyond two or three sentences before switching to an entirely different subject and repeating the process. What I'm saying is that it could be a bit more wordy in some areas, I guess-- dive deeper, still! It's quite fun sometimes! ;)

Semi-colon usage would help your story flow more in areas, though I've read some stories where the author intended the story to not flow well-- if that's the case here, ignore this. xD Not to say that yours doesn't flow well; just saying that you could make it even more so. Does that make sense?

I love the words you chose-- archaic, provincial, languid, antiquity, gentility; loving the vocabulary there, as I feel they suit Bellatrix very well.

'Years she had sat in her cell and years it had taken fir her to realize...' -- You probably mean 'for' here. *takes pleasure in killing the rebel typo for you*

'Bellatrix entered the decaying room with distrustfully.' -- Should be 'with distrust', methinks.

I also really love the ending line!! Very interesting read, Lee Anne! My advice that I give to everyone, even those with excellent stories; read your story out loud to yourself. Sometimes you'll notice things you never had before!

I'll be working on reading one of your chapters every Sunday. ^_^ Take care!

- Alex

Author's Response: Hi Alex!
Thanks a million for taking the time to review! Hehe, yes, I do have a tendency to overwrite. I took a fiction writing class down at my college this semester and my professor said that all young writers are just in love with words and end up bogging their stories down with descriptions. That certainly is me! ^_^ This fic was actually written for a challenge on another site. It was supposed to describe a perfume without actually naming it. I suppose I went a little overboard with the imagery, haha.

Thanks so much for pointing out the mistakes! I'll fix them straightaway. I do read my stories out loud, actually. These goofs escaped my notice, however. Gah! I hate those pesky typos ;) They are pure evil!

Again, thank you SO much for the review. Your advice was so helpful. I'm going to do a quick rewrite with semi-colons this time.

Have a great week!

Best,
Lee Anne



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login