Reading Reviews for Loss
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by theelderwand NEVER IN SADNESS

23rd November 2009:
Ok. I think I got somthing in my eye...

Hard to write here. Staring at the screen...

Absolutely amazing, painful, story. I particularly like the following:

"Ron turned to look at her, and could see the traces of tears on her cheeks. He knew that she had been crying while he was downstairs. He went to her, and took her in his arms, holding her as if someone was going to steal her away from him at any second. She clung to him in desperation, and they both began to weep again."

Just excellent, superb writing, that.

Molly's reaction. I think its accurate. If it had been premeditated, I'd have had trouble accepting it. But, as it was a "blurt out" I think it made sense, that it flowed.

Fabulous work here. Thank you for that.

Incidentally, SD (formerly ghost chicken) shared "Remember Me" with me over the weekend. You had me teary eyed by the end.

You are exceptionally talented.

Author's Response: WOW! Thank you for your kind words. The thing was, although this story is really my own story, it was easy to write. A whole easier than it was to live through it.
Dear Molly, Writing her part was the hardest part of doing this story. But I think that I caught her reactions honestly. I believe that is precisely how she would have reacted.
I am delighted that you liked my story so much.
I just wish that Sheila was still with us to enjoy my others. I do miss her. :-(

Robert


 Report Review

Review #2, by theelderwand PAINFUL DECISIONS

23rd November 2009:
No reprieve. I was afraid of that.

What an absolutely horrible choice to be given.

Again, you have written this scene superbly. And, again, you have Ron and Hermione so perfectly in character.

I have this odd feeling it was almost painful for you to write this story, but your muse just wouldn't let you off the hook.

Excellent. Tragic, but excellent.

Author's Response: You're right. This was a story that I had to write. After more than 30 years, I had to tell it. It was painful, but it was honest, I believe.
Thanks again for your wonderful review.

Robert


 Report Review

Review #3, by theelderwand The Waiting Game

23rd November 2009:
You have almost nothing actually happening in this chapter and yet you still have me glued to the screen. There's a phrase for that: excellent story-telling.

"Neither of them ever knew of the tears that escaped their eyes as they slept."

Wow. This is a very engrossing, very powerful, very subdued, yet emotional chapter.

Gotta read the next...

Author's Response: Thanks!

Robert


 Report Review

Review #4, by theelderwand Testing, Testing

23rd November 2009:
You've written Ron and Hermione exceptionally well. They are very much in character, at least the way I'd envision them. The suspense is killing me here. Even though it already appears that the news is bad.

Again, your writing is tight. This is a very well done tale.

Author's Response: Thanks again.
Ron isn't always a self-centered prat. He can be loving and deeply caring when he has need to be. Like now.

Robert


 Report Review

Review #5, by theelderwand The Horror of Discovery

23rd November 2009:
I was afraid of that. Birth defect.

Short chapter? Yes. But it packs a wallop.

And, again. Your writing is tight.

Nice work.

Author's Response: You sure know how to make a writer feel good!
Thank you so much!

Robert


 Report Review

Review #6, by theelderwand Curses and Tears

23rd November 2009:
Howdy,

siledubhghlase recommended this story to me. And, as usual, her advice is good. Absolutely loved the opening here. Especially the way you keep the reader from knowing which couple we're seeing. Good build up, good writing. You've got me petrified here.

Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Glad that you're liking it. Yeah, the opening was fun to write and I wrote it that way for that very reason.
I could have written it as a H&G story, but I think it works much better as a R&H story.
Harry would have dwelt on it for years and his and Ginny's lives would have suffered badly for it.
R&H learned how to put it behind them and get on with their lives, but never forgetting this.
Thanks for the nice review.

Robert


 Report Review

Review #7, by lauraf68 NEVER IN SADNESS

29th August 2009:
Dear Nightrunner,

SNIFF! That is a very touching, emotional accout. I'm sorry to hear it was based on a factual account of a portion of your life. Even though I did have trouble conceiving a child and gave birth to a premature baby who was hospitalized for the first 6 weeks of her life, I know that the issues we went through does not come close to compare with the saddness this event must have caused you and your family. Luckily I have a sweet healthy little 9 year old who blesses us with her presence every day and I thank God we have her.

Thank-You for your story, and I look forward to reading more of your fan fiction. ~~Lauraf68

Author's Response: Thank you, Laura. It was a terrible time in our lives. I am so glad that you have your little girl, (actually, young lady now)>
You are so lucky.
Thanks for the sweet review. I really do appreciate it.

Robert


 Report Review

Review #8, by siledubhghlase NEVER IN SADNESS

26th April 2009:
Robert:

This is magnificent and it's in my Favorites. What a god-awful thing to have to face, but I think Ron and Hermione made the right choice.

For them to go through an entire pregnancy knowing the baby was already dead would be just cruel...to the baby as well as themselves and the family.

Molly's outburst is no surprise. I'm not a big abortion fan, but there are times when it's medically necessary and this is, like Adam Myers said, one of those times. I'm essentially a Right-to-Lifer in that "abortion on demand" is an outright abomination--unless there's some kind of rape involved.

I'm glad Arthur was able to rein Molly in with Ginny's professional support and opinion. I thought Ron was quite eloquent as he delivered this devastating news. It's amazing what the man I call a ginger god can do when he has to.

However...thanks for the happy ending.

Hugs,
Sheila

Author's Response: >Blushing<
"Magnificent?" Really? Thanks, Sheila!
In all honesty, though, what other choice did they really have? No other option was left to them. A terrible, sad choice, but the only one they had.

And yes, continuing the pregnancy would have been unspeakably cruel. IMO, it would have utterly destroyed their love.

Ah, Molly, what a sweetheart. Her capacity to love is surpassed only by Harry. As is her sense of right and wrong. She reacted emotionally, instead of thinking it through. For her, protecting life is paramount, especially of little ones. For her, it was a normal, and completely understandable reaction. Bless her heart.

Like you, I find that abortion on demand is abhorrent. Those that perform them, and those who help them, are going to have to stand before God one day and have to explain why they became mass murderers.
Did you know that since Roe v. Wade became law, there have been more than 45,000,000 AOD's performed in this country alone?
Like you, I hate it, and am definitely a Right-to-Life advocate. As if you couldn't tell from the story.

Aruthur has never been, in canon, or in most fanfic stories, and very strong or authoritive character. He's just kinda of a laid back, easy-going guy. But this time, he came down hard on Molly, as well he should have.

Ginny, having seen anacephaly, did not want her brother and sister-in-law to have to suffer through it. She loves them both too much to let that happen.

Ron, bless him, isn't always the clueless wonder he seems to be. This episode in his life has made him mature a lot, literally overnight. He doesn't often speak from his heart like this, so when he does, you had better listen to him, because he does have something to say.

As I have said, I have been down the road that they were on, and I know the pain they felt. It was the worst time of my life, I think. And 33 years later, it still causes me pain. I keep thinking about all of the 'what if's'.
But writing this story has eased that pain. A lot.

I'm glad that you liked it, Sheila. I just wish that more people would read it. Ah well, such is the life of a fanfic writer. :-)

Robert


 Report Review

Review #9, by siledubhghlase PAINFUL DECISIONS

25th April 2009:
I was kind of thinking anencephaly, but I couldn't come up with the term. The other possibility was the one where there is a brain stem, but nothing else. I don' t know what that's called...unless it's just another form of anencephaly.

I'm crying...

Author's Response: That's about the sum of it, Sheila. It is another form of the syndrome.
Check out the Wikipedia page for it to learn more.

Robert


 Report Review

Review #10, by siledubhghlase Curses and Tears

25th April 2009:
Robert:

Nothing's happened yet and I'm crying already.

Sheila

Author's Response: Hi,love. Just wait. You'll cry more before you finish this story.

Robert


 Report Review

Review #11, by Emily Gail NEVER IN SADNESS

16th April 2009:
Robert!

This was so good! I am totally crying right now. This was so sweet and sad and amazing and I hate that they had to make that decision, but no one should be in that situation.

Great job, again.
Emily Gail

Author's Response: I'm so glad that my story made you cry.
I know that sounds odd, but as a writer, it means that I have touched your heart. And that, to me, as a writer, is a very good thing.

No, they should not have been in that position. But when I wrote this story, I was speaking from experience. I went through this 33 years ago. Believe me, this was not an easy story to write.

But telling the story did ease my mind, my heart, and my pain.

"Shared pain is lessened, shared joy is increased."
Thanks for the review Emily Gail.
(BTW, are there two of you, or just one? I'm curious because you use "we" in responses to reviews of your stories. Just wondering.)

Robert


 Report Review

Review #12, by HorrorCake The Horror of Discovery

11th June 2008:
Even though its short, I liked it anyway! (I email my stories to myself to back them up by the way.)

Author's Response: Thanks. The next chapter is awaiting validation now, and it's a bit longer. But, there will be at least 3, maybe 4 more chapters before the story is complete.
It gets better, IMNSHO.

I have started backing my stories up on a memory card, and then putting them on my other computer.
When they complete, I burn them to a cd, so I have more than one back-up now.
I have learned my lesson, the hard way.

Thanks for the review. :-)


 Report Review

Review #13, by HorrorCake Curses and Tears

7th June 2008:
Sounds like the beginning to a good story! I like your summary too, it makes the story sound very inviting to read.

Author's Response: Thank you! Sometimes writing a summary can be tougher than writing the story! Chapter 2 is awaiting validation, but I warn you, it's a short one. I somehow lost the story in a computer glitch, and I am re-writing it. Hopefully, it will be even better than the original.
So stay tuned! There's more to come.


 Report Review

Review #14, by keys_701 Curses and Tears

6th June 2008:
Wow. VERY, very good so far. I'm glad you mentioned it in the reply to my other review for "A Surprise Visit" (by the way, very good people,you should most definately read it!). Oh gosh, I'm scared to know what's actually going on, I have a feeling about what it might be, I won't say anything about my suspicion though, but if what I'm thinking is right (which it probably isn't) that's really really sad. See, I'm going all mushy and it's only the first chapter! Boy am I an emotional train wreck on legs. Keep up the good work and I really love your writing! 1000/10!

Author's Response: Thanks, Megan. I am really delighted that you like and are enjoying my stories.
This story is, I have to admit, a sad story, and it's one that I went through about 30 years ago. So it's not just Ron & Hermione's story, but mine as well.
There's an old saying among writers that says, "Write what you know". So that's what I'm doing here.
Anyway, I have a couple of other stories in the works. "Penance" is one that will surprise you, I think, and "The Third Kind Of Magic' will rock your world.
Okay. no more hints! :-)
If my writing is having an effect on you, then I hope that my stories will affect others, too.
Thanks for being such a great supporter!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login