Reading Reviews for Dudley Evans
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lunaz Dragon Bones

22nd February 2014:
I hope one day you will continue this story. I enjoyed reading it very much. Dudley is slowing changing,hopefully for the better. You are doing a good job of showing this.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rusty Weasley Midnight Flight

5th August 2013:
I like the idea of Dudley not always being horrible.

 Report Review

Review #3, by PotterandPadfoot4eva Dragon Bones

2nd February 2011:
AWESOM AWESOME AWESOME!!! Update soon please!

 Report Review

Review #4, by steph Dragon Bones

30th August 2010:
this is so cool! i'm new here and this is like the tenth story ive read ! i have only ever read completed stories but i couldnt resist with yours ! please update soon !

 Report Review

Review #5, by Melina_Foster Dragon Bones

15th February 2010:
Can't wait for next chapter!

Author's Response: With summer coming up I will have more time to work on it. Thanks!

 Report Review

Review #6, by heart portry Dragon Bones

7th April 2009:
Hi there,
Really enjoyed this to date, hope you are going to continue with it! this is well written and I am looking forward to Ch7!??
Hopefully dear Dud's will really learn something before the year is out!
CA x

Author's Response: Thanks. It may be awhile before I can continue with this story.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ollie Vander A Stuttering End

9th June 2008:
Hmm, actually, I don't think Dudley is a failure at anything. His problem, as Harry told Ron, is nerves. If he doesn't think he can do it, he can't. He told himself he could fly, and so he did. It will be interesting to see how this works out later on.

There's not much more to say...the story is becoming a little boring with just day by day, but I sence it will pick up soon.

Please get the next chapter up ASAP, I can't wait.

Author's Response: Sorry that the story feels "boring" to you. I've been trying to convey Dudley's difficulties and his progress towards figuring out what he must do to make it in his new environment. Everything I write in a story has some purpose, so try to hang in there. I'm afraid if you're looking for action/adventure this is probably not the story for you.

While Dudley can probably do most things he sets his mind to, he can't be good at everything. He is a failure at a lot of things at the moment... he fails to see how he must change, and he often fails to meet the standards set for him. This will change in time of course, but there are a lot of things Dudley must do before he figures that out.

Thanks for your reviews!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #8, by I luv James P II A Stuttering End

9th June 2008:
Ok, so, I just didn't want to log in, but that's my username. Excellent work. I really love it.

Author's Response: Thanks!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ollie Vander Dear Mum

9th June 2008:
Another great chapter. Dudley's feelings come into play well, and suit the story.

I just had an idea although it is pretty cliche. I was wondering "When does Hermione come in?" Then I thought, "Oh, crush city!" Just a little idea. Going on, and I will leave a longer review at ch. 5!

Author's Response: Hm... I think because of Dudley's age he hasn't really started thinking about girls yet. So far his life has been about himself and his friends/"cronies." It doesn't surprise me then that he only sees Harry and Ron instead of Harry, Ron, and Hermione. Also, at this point in the story, Hermione isn't part of the golden trio yet because it's still before the troll incident at Halloween. I have other plans for Dudley's love life, but thanks for the comments and idea!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ollie Vander Dudley Evans

9th June 2008:
Wow, I am flattered! I'm glad I made you think. Your version is coming along splendidly.

One comment before I move on, "He only wished his friends were there with him." Friends? I think more of cronies.

Author's Response: While we see them as cronies, Dudley sees them as friends. Many people in real life don't understand the difference between: True Friends, Acquaintances, and Cronies. Dudley may be one of these people. He chooses to see himself as having friends rather than followers... this kind of sounds like Voldemort to me but that won't be Dudley's end fate.

Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ollie Vander Intrusions

9th June 2008:
Hey, JW. Sorry it took so long to get back to your story. I'm glad I did.

I thought this chapter was great with two minor exeptions I will tell you in a minutes. I want to pinpoint the parts I liked.
1.) Your humanizing of Dudley works well. It is compatible although original.
2.) Cool idea to have Madam Hooch take him. Her characterization seems good as well.
3.) I love the way you characterized Harry. It's not particuallart canon, but I think that if this was how things turned out, it would be absolutley perfect.
Now for some critism:
1.) I think that Dudley should have been a bit ruder to Snape. What you have is fine, but it would have been a little more canon.
2.) I don't think the aparation idea was great. Someone who has just learned about wizards would not be too keen on it. Just for future refrences.

Anyway, nice job, going on.

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments.

The fact that somebody who just learned about wizardry would not be keen on apparation was the point... I wanted Dudley to be freaked out a little bit for several reasons: 1) to show the difference between his and Harry's reactions to apparation 2) for a little bit of comic relief.

The fact that Dudley wasn't rude to Snape was because he is intimidated by him and is learning where not to overstep his bounds. Things have been very different for Dudley recently and he is learning that things are not the same in his life as they were before.

I appreciate your comments and that you took the time to review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Skippy A Stuttering End

6th June 2008:
A most interesting idea. It's a well told story so far, I hope you keep to some cannon, but please do diverge from it. Best of luck with future chapters.

Author's Response: Thanks!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #13, by mollzersTHEmarauder A Stuttering End

31st May 2008:
Aw, I think this is really good. Keep the chapters coming!! =)

9/10

Author's Response: Thanks! I'll try!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Lily's_eyes A Stuttering End

29th May 2008:
Are you gonna have Dudley meet Cedric. I think he's a third or fourth year because in GOF he's 17. I can already see the dilemma during the triwizard tournament, rooting for Cedric or for Harry.

Author's Response: I'm not sure how that will play out yet... I hadn't really thought about it but you bring up an interesting point. Because Cedric is in Hufflepuff, Dudley will know who he is, but I don't know that Dudley will have any 1:1 contact with him.

Thanks for the question!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Weasleys Forever A Stuttering End

27th May 2008:
Good chapter. Dudley just can't see that his actions have consequences. Hopefully he will learn. I wonder what his mum thought of the letter she received.

Keep writing.

Author's Response: Dudley never sent the letter because he knew his father would never let her receive it... it took a giant to get Harry's letter to him after all... Dudley was more using the letter as a theraputic outlet like a journal. We'll see more letters from him in the future that go to no one.

Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #16, by Weasleys Forever Dear Mum

27th May 2008:
I half think poor Dudley, but then I see what he is doing to himself, and have no sympathy at all. I hope he turns out to be even half decent. His parents did him no favours by spoiling him so much, and he is really a horrible human being at the moment.

Well written.

Author's Response: Don't worry, things will eventually look up for Dudley once he realizes what he is doing to his own life.

Thanks for continuing to review for me!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #17, by Weasleys Forever Dudley Evans

27th May 2008:
Good chapter. I can really picture Dudley in Hufflepuff. Hufflepuff takes what's left when the other houses take what they value first, a dumping ground for those not good enough for the other houses.

Bring down Dudley!!

Well written.

Author's Response: Lol, I like to think that Hufflepuffs are loyal and very friendly... attributes Dudley badly needs.

Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #18, by Weasleys Forever Intrusions

27th May 2008:
Good chapter. I never really thought about what happened to pupils that had no money. Interesting idea.

Keep writing.

Author's Response: Yeah, I wanted to humble Dudley by making him have no money, but that left me with an interesting problem to come up with a solution to.

Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Weasleys Forever Midnight Flight

27th May 2008:
This is a very interesting original idea for a story. Well written. It is a good first chapter because it leaves me wanting to read more, which is exactly what a first chapter should do.

Keep writing.

Author's Response: Thanks, and thanks for the review! Just what I needed to hear to lift my spirits!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #20, by malikali Midnight Flight

26th May 2008:
intresting story, ive never thought about the possibility of Dudley being a wizard.

Author's Response: Thanks! I prefer writing the interesting stories compared to the "same old/same old" stories and plot lines that everybody has heard before.

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #21, by talon A Stuttering End

26th May 2008:
Good chapter keep them coming.

Author's Response: Thanks! Will do!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #22, by Pretty_Princess Dear Mum

25th May 2008:
poor dudley, he has no friends, i know someone in real life with no friends except 1 to 2 that are from school. and that's me. I felt like crying. Why doesn't dudley hang-out with luna she's my 3rd favorite girl character. You are doing a good job, keep up the work.

Author's Response: Hm... I never had a lot of friends in school for some reason or other. Instead I tried to content myself with one or two good friends rather than a dozen acquaintances.

Dudley has some things to figure out before he can have any friends. He has to know that he needs to be the type of friend he wants to have before anybody will want to be friends with him. So far several people have made attempts at being Dudley's friend, but he alienates them or lies to them, and then doesn't understand why. I'm trying to make Dudley grow and mature a bit to where he should be for his age.

Thanks for the review! It's appreciated!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #23, by sinwillys822 Dear Mum

23rd May 2008:
i actually liked this chapter. he does need a little humbling.

Author's Response: Heh, I think he's going to get a lot more humbling before the story is over. Thanks for the review!

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #24, by sinwillys822 Dudley Evans

23rd May 2008:
thats ok about the mix up but u have made a good point about what house you put him in.

Author's Response: Thanks,

-JW.


 Report Review

Review #25, by triangle Dear Mum

23rd May 2008:
Chapter 3 and 4 are great. You may want to read over the 4 chapter for a few word mistakes.

Author's Response: Thanks. Yeah, sometimes I write late at night and post right away without proofreading it that well. Glad you liked it though!

-JW.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>