Reading Reviews for And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by xlilyx And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

26th August 2011:
this is actually rather depressing but insanely good! :) i loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Blindside And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

23rd May 2011:
Wow, its really hard to imagine both Lily and Sirius as being that horrible of people.

Author's Response: There's a bit more to it than that. They called it off anyways :) Thank you so much for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ashleyxx And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

7th June 2009:
wow. That was an amazing piece of writting, you should be extremely proud of it, I am.

Author's Response: Thank you so much.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Scoot And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

13th November 2008:
Incredible, but the doves are somewhat...creepy. I can't think of a better word, but the ending made me think that. Lily and Sirius together...while she's with James, wow. I mean, the way you described the emotions and the way you wrote this was just beyond words. I must say I loved it though.

This might sound a little random, but have you ever read The Golden Compass series? You're ending reminded me of how the last book, The Amber Spyglass ended. Not exactly, but the general idea of it, and I love it. One last stolen moment together before they part for good as lovers. I think it was mostly this line that I drew the comparison from "youíll know how much I love them and every time we hear one itíll bring us back to this day and you wonít forget just as I wonít forget". It was wonderful though :)

Author's Response: Hey! :] Thank you so much for your review! :] No... I havent actually read the GOldeCompas series, well, i started on the first book and then never finished it when I was 12 or something:p guess its just a coincident:/ thank you s much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by A random guy And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

1st June 2008:
Really good story, I bet this really happened :P

Author's Response: haha... thanks random guy:P

 Report Review

Review #6, by Slywolf9 And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

1st June 2008:
How very tragic! I could toatlly see that happenning. I am always a Sirius/Lily fan, really, I am. I loved it, it was very well written and so poignant. You have a wonderful style, I really enjoyed this. :]

Author's Response: Thank you for that lovely review XD

 Report Review

Review #7, by HarmonyRose And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

1st June 2008:
Wow. That's just about all I can say...you did a magnificent job with this one shot. I absolutely love it when someone writes a story about Sirius and Lily because it seems so impossible. You did a wonderful job with the pairing AND I loved how you kept the reader in the dark about who she was talking to in the beginning. I kept wondering if it was James and then when you finally revealed it was Sirius, I was like WHAT?!? Good job with the detail and descriptions. Overall I give you 10/10.

Author's Response: Thnak you so much!:] haha... good I surprised you:P

 Report Review

Review #8, by Stephooo And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

30th May 2008:
Wow
That's all I can say.
Wow

Author's Response: Thanks:] Haha...

 Report Review

Review #9, by madmoo And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

29th May 2008:
wow. i really thought at the begining the guy was james! ah well wasn't what i expected it to be but it was amazing! keep writing like this it was really good -madmoo-

Author's Response: haha.. yeah that was what I was going for - to make you believe it was James and not Sirius. thanks for the lovely review:]

 Report Review

Review #10, by jennaBee And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

23rd May 2008:
Very beautifully written! Congrats,

Jenny

Author's Response: Thanks:]

 Report Review

Review #11, by square And the Doves Sing Her Lullaby

23rd May 2008:
The anonymity at the beginning of the story was very powerful. It brought the reader in to focus on Lily's feelings; her trepidation and attachment to Sirius, and the veiled feeling that they were doing something they shouldn't be. The way you revealed their identities was very well done, just throwing in their names nonchalantly, as if we should have known all along who they were and it makes the reader feel as if they actually did.

I particulalry liked your characterisation of Sirius - he was very hesitant, and yet the way you portrayed it practically shouted his tension. Reading it, you could easily see that he was holding everything back and keeping it in check, and it added a very (dare I say it? :P ) romantic quality to the entire thing. I'm assuming that's what you were going for, because the entire piece, particularly the ending, was very poignant and lovely.


The main risk with a romance fic is that you might fall into the fluffy-cliche trap, and thankfully you avoided it with leaps and bounds! There were just a few typos here and there, and words missing (I do that a lot, when my brain's going faster than my typing and I end up skipping odd words), and getting a beta wouldn't hurt. Or even just someone to do a quick once-over and point out any obvious mistakes. The standard of your writing was very high though, and I enjoyed reading it. :o)

Author's Response: Wow... That was the most amazing review I've EVER recieved! You just completely nailed it, I'm really in shock about how much you spotted and picked up.

The typo's; I tend to do that, I dunno, it's really hard spotting them on the screen and I didn't print it out as I usually do. I really get caught up in the moment when I write and yeah, type really fast.

Afterwards when I read it through once again I spotted some mistakes, but I couldn't correct them because of the queue closer and all...

The cliches: haha... Well, I absolutely despise cliches so I was certain that my story was not about to become just another annoying fluffy one-shot. I'm very happy to hear it wasn't since I tried ever so hard not to.

Thanks for your amazing review and I'm so happy that you enjoyed it:]


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login