Reading Reviews for A Whisper in the Night
  
49 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Willowwolf Chapter 1

10th August 2013:
It's been years, are you ever gonna post more?

 Report Review

Review #2, by Fawks5 Chapter 11

17th August 2012:
EK!!! Please, please, please! update soon!

Little Scorpius is SO cute!

I REALLY like your story and I can't wait to read your next chapters!

~Fawks5

 Report Review

Review #3, by Fawks5 Chapter 7

17th August 2012:
That was a very interesting but very good turn of events. I can't wait to see how it turns out!

Please update soon!

~Fawks5

 Report Review

Review #4, by ejb Chapter 11

19th November 2009:
this is so sweet and endearing. i cried in the first few chapters... i love it so far :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by StarBright Chapter 11

12th November 2009:
I'm really really enjoying this story so far! I have one question, though. Who is Scorpius' mother in this story? Does it have something to do with the strange laughter? Anyways, I can't wait til you update again!!! Great story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Harry and Ginny Chapter 11

30th September 2009:
i read this story and i'm enjoying reading it a lot. what happened to Scorpius' mother? what's going to happen now between Draco and Astoria? will u update soon please?^_^

10/10

Harry and Ginny

 Report Review

Review #7, by samitaclover Chapter 11

15th September 2009:
oh my god!!! little scorpius is so cute!!! i am really glad you updated! its been forever...so...

PLEASE UPDATE SOON AGAIN!!!
~clover

 Report Review

Review #8, by Jimmbo Chapter 2

14th September 2009:
Again very nicely written, I wonder how many random names beginning with A you can come up with...

Author's Response: hahaha. I didn't even notice that I was over doing the A thing as I was writing it... lol.

thanks so much for reviewing :]

~emily


 Report Review

Review #9, by Jimmbo Chapter 1

14th September 2009:
I've never read a Astoria fic before and so I'm excited about this one. Nice chapter and great descriptions. Looking forward to reading more!

 Report Review

Review #10, by melpomene Chapter 10

10th August 2009:
This is my favourite chapter, by far. The tension vibrating between Draco and Astoria is amazingly well done. I'm glad that you didn't rush it. Their relationship translates effortlessly, even with the lack of dialogue between the two of them. And I think that's the beauty of it. You are not forcing them to have a long winding out of character conversation about nothing. And now we get to see Narcissa and Lucius! It's refreshing to see them written in a new light and still retain bits of thier personality.

The only thing that bugs me, and really its only a minor thing, is that you haven't updated this gem of a story! XD

here's to wishing you do,
sincerely,
nickel/melpomene

 Report Review

Review #11, by Laxmi Black Chapter 10

10th July 2009:
Ahh I absolutely love this story...it is so touching and beautiful! Please update soon as I am dying to know what happens next! Your writing is absolutely amazing and so addictive...please please please update!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Laxmi Chapter 10

26th June 2009:
Such a beautiful, tear-jerking chapter! Please update soon...I'm dying to read the rest of it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by silver_swan24 Chapter 10

19th April 2009:
You have to update faster!! i love this story. i love Jane Eyre and i love how you incorporated the story to the Wizarding World. Although i kind of know where the fire and maniacal laughter came from, i still can't wait for your own version. The plot is similar but still unique from the novel. i love it. i am so looking forward for the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #14, by nicole Chapter 10

3rd April 2009:
I love love love this story! Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #15, by samitaclover Chapter 10

18th March 2009:
okay i recently had an obsession with the tv series of the book jane eyre...but then i came across your story and now i am officially obsessed again!!!

UPDATE SOON!
~clover

 Report Review

Review #16, by Nora Chapter 10

18th March 2009:
oh finally u updated! thank u! anyway can u update as much as possible?? I luv this story! can u do a lily scorpius story cuz theres not much of that...

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dandylion200 Chapter 10

5th March 2009:
This was a wonderful chapter! I love Narcissa and Lucius for once =D
Please update soon!

xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by DefyingBoundries Chapter 10

2nd March 2009:
eee! update.please???

 Report Review

Review #19, by DefyingBoundries Chapter 7

2nd March 2009:
aw what a sweet chapter

 Report Review

Review #20, by DefyingBoundries Chapter 3

2nd March 2009:
yay for you lol its a good story

 Report Review

Review #21, by Blissbug Chapter 2

14th January 2009:
Hi, I'm back for your second review.

So once again you dispence wonderful details that keep my interested in the reading, I really appreciate writers who pay attention to their fictional surroundings.

Just so you know, terms like apparition and disapparition, side-along-apparation, the first letter is capitalized. That's how JK wrote those terms and that's generally how they're suppose to be written in fan fiction as well.

The interaction with the family is very telling, you do a lot of excellent charaterization through your dialogue, but I would caution you to remember that the best dialogue is the realistic dialogue. I'd suggest actually reading some of those sentences out loud, see how they feel on your tongue, how they sound. Don't be afraid to let your characters talk like actual people.

Also, if you've seen my other review you'll see my notes about your grammatical issues concerning dialogue tags. You've got several places herein where that's an issue. A good beta can actually help lots where that is concerned, maybe you might think about finding one.

over-all though I find this story to be interesting, the idea is neat, the setting rich and there seems to be lots and lots of angst, which you can never go wrong with ;)

BB
8/10

 Report Review

Review #22, by Blissbug Chapter 1

14th January 2009:
Hi Lily_James4Ever, I'm here to review, finally. I'm so sorry it took me this long to get here :(

First off, I really like that you use physical detail to anchor us with the character. The combination of physical sensation, enviromental details and glimpse's of her mental state bring home the sense of hopelessness.

I honestly don't mind the background because you manage to give us that information without replying completely on summerization. You feed us the information we need to know slowly and effectively.

One little grammatical thing here: in a sentence where you have a dialogue tag (he said/she said) you use a comma within the quotation marks instead of a period, because technically the dialogue tag is still part of the sentence and a period would effectively end the sentence. Also, unless you're using a name, you don't capitalize the first letter. See example below.
ex)"I'm here Professor." She replied languidly. (Incorrect Form)
ex))"I'm here Professor," she replied languidly. (Correct Form)

I also appreciate the details about Hogwarts, it really makes the reading richer and I'm very much interested in what you'll do with Drumstrang. This was a good read.

BB
9/10

 Report Review

Review #23, by BLONDEBOOKWORM Chapter 9

14th January 2009:
I love this story! You've made the whole Scorpius-Astoria relationship so sweet. Please, please, please update soon! x

 Report Review

Review #24, by ravenclaw_chick279 Chapter 9

13th January 2009:
yay! *clapping wildly! write more pls? ok! yay ur my fave!

 Report Review

Review #25, by amelia Chapter 8

30th December 2008:
hi, commenting to get you to UPDATE!!! the counter says last update 11/03...what's up with that??? you can't leave us all hanging here..what's going to happen? I love your take on the draco/scorpius situation...I'm pretty sure you're the only fanfic who suggests scorp is not astoria's son (or one of the few, since I can't be positive) And I LOVE the allusion to Jane Eyre...I'd personally always thought that was a great post-Voldy occupation for the mentally scarred Draco. Since you trademark such an original idea, why not run with it? seriously, great ideas aren't often, so keep writing this one! 9/10 because I'm frustrated by your lack of update. i promise ratings will continue going down if continue not updating. maybe.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for bugging me to update... you got me up and running again!

I haven't seen many fics about Draco and Astoria, really, so I'm not sure how other people have their relationship. And I'm glad you like the Jane Eyre allusion... I thought it was kind of a good direction to go as well :]

Thanks so much for all of the encouragement, I really appreciate it!

~emily


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>